• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Student
Title
Supervisor
Faculty
Educational Programme
Final Grade
Year of Graduation
Alina Kevorkova
Comparison of Component Principal Analysis and Latent Class Analysis be the Example of Labour Values
Sociology
(Bachelor’s programme)
2016
Latent variables are complex concepts, which require indirect measurement on the basis of observable variables. There are numerous methods for working with latent variables. The choice of certain method bears on the type of observed and latent variables. Given sociologists most frequently use observable variables with ordinal scale, the research is dedicated to the comparison of categorical principal component analysis (CatPCA) and latent class analysis (LCA), which are aimed to work with categorical original data. The fundamental difference between these methods is the consideration of latent variables as discrete (LCA) or continuous (CatPCA). The goal of the research is to determine if the work values of generations X and Y in Russia are discrete or continuous.

The empirical object of the study is generation X born in the period 1961 – 1981 and generation Y (1982 – 2005) in Russia. Generations were distinguished according to the theory of American sociologists Strauss and Howe.

The results of two statistical methods and its further comparison on the basis of objective (statistical) and subjective (interpretation) criteria show that CatPCA satisfies requirements better than LCA. The possible reason may lie in the fact that LCA treats latent variables as discrete and one-dimensional; therefore, each respondent is characterized by only one value. Whereas, latent variables are not mutually exclusive in CatPCA, thus every person can have several values.

Overall, CatPCA extracted three work values such as the value of the interesting job and flexible schedule, the value of financial benefits, the value of secure employment.

As a result of statistical tests, it can be concluded that there are no differences in work values of generations X and Y in Russia. It is worthwhile to mention that the theory of Strauss and Howe cannot be fully extrapolated on Russian society. The possible reason is the social and cultural differences in the history of two nations.

Student Theses at HSE must be completed in accordance with the University Rules and regulations specified by each educational programme.

Summaries of all theses must be published and made freely available on the HSE website.

The full text of a thesis can be published in open access on the HSE website only if the authoring student (copyright holder) agrees, or, if the thesis was written by a team of students, if all the co-authors (copyright holders) agree. After a thesis is published on the HSE website, it obtains the status of an online publication.

Student theses are objects of copyright and their use is subject to limitations in accordance with the Russian Federation’s law on intellectual property.

In the event that a thesis is quoted or otherwise used, reference to the author’s name and the source of quotation is required.

Search all student theses

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

ФИО студента
Название работы
Руководитель
Факультет
Программа
Оценка
Год защиты
Кеворкова Алина Арсеновна
Сравнение категориального метода главных компонент и латентно классового анализа на примере изучения трудовых ценностей
Социология
(Бакалавриат)
2016
Латентные переменные – это сложные концепты, требующие косвенного измерения с помощью наблюдаемых индикаторов. Существует немало методов измерения латентных переменных, выбор которых зависит от типа наблюдаемых данных и латентных переменных. В социологии чаще всего используются наблюдаемые переменные с порядковыми шкалами низкой размерности. Данное исследование посвящено сравнению двух методов, категориального метода главных компонент (CatPCA) и латентно классового анализа (LCA), направленных на выявление латентные переменных на основе порядковых шкал. Коренное отличие методов состоит в рассмотрении латентной переменной как одномерной и дискретной как в LCA или многомерной и непрерывной как в CatPCA. Цель исследования состоит в определении характера трудовых ценностей российских поколений X и Y как латентных переменных с точки зрения дискретности и непрерывности.

Эмпирическим объектом исследования являются российские представители поколений X и Y, рожденные в периолы 1961 - 1981 гг и 1982 – 2005 гг, соответственно, определенные согласно теории Страусса и Хове.

Построение двух статистических моделей и их сравнение по объективным (статистическим) и субъективным (содержательным) критериям показало, что модель CatPCA является более предпочтительной, возможно, благодаря тому, что , что в модели LCA каждому респонденту ставится в соответствие только одна трудовая ценность. Тогда как в модели CatPCA выраженность одной латентной переменной не исключает возможность выраженности других неявных переменных.

CatPCA позволил выделить три трудовые ценности: содержательной стороны работы и гибкого графика труда, материального вознаграждения за работу, стабильности и гарантии рабочего места.

В результате можно сделать вывод, что в России нет различий в том, какие ценности выражены у представителей поколений X и Y. Следует отметить, что теорию Страуса и Хове нельзя экстраполировать на российское общество. Причиной могут служить социо-культурные различия в истории двух стран.

Выпускные квалификационные работы (ВКР) в НИУ ВШЭ выполняют все студенты в соответствии с университетским Положением и Правилами, определенными каждой образовательной программой.

Аннотации всех ВКР в обязательном порядке публикуются в свободном доступе на корпоративном портале НИУ ВШЭ.

Полный текст ВКР размещается в свободном доступе на портале НИУ ВШЭ только при наличии согласия студента – автора (правообладателя) работы либо, в случае выполнения работы коллективом студентов, при наличии согласия всех соавторов (правообладателей) работы. ВКР после размещения на портале НИУ ВШЭ приобретает статус электронной публикации.

ВКР являются объектами авторских прав, на их использование распространяются ограничения, предусмотренные законодательством Российской Федерации об интеллектуальной собственности.

В случае использования ВКР, в том числе путем цитирования, указание имени автора и источника заимствования обязательно.

Расширенный поиск ВКР