• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site
Student
Title
Supervisor
Faculty
Educational Programme
Final Grade
Year of Graduation
Anastasia Varakina
Trademark Dilution
Jurisprudence
(Bachelor’s programme)
2017
A.I. Varakina

Trademark Dilution

In foreign jurisdictions, right holders for the purpose of protection of well-known trademarks use methods against "dilution" of such trademarks. In Russia, the concept of trademark dilution is not envisaged by the legislation. At the same time, attempts to apply certain provisions of the concept are present in judicial practice.

The purpose of this graduate paper is to research the concepts of trademark dilution effective in the EU and US, to analyze their implementation by Russian judicial practice. The objectives of the graduate paper are as follows: (i) determine the limits of the exclusive right to a trademark enshrined in the law and judicial practice of Russia; (ii) research the concepts of trademark dilution implemented in the EU and the US; (iii) analyze the Russian legislation and law judicial practice with respect to the weakening the distinctiveness of famous trademarks.

The subject of the study are the provisions related to trademark dilution and their enforcement in the US, EU and Russia. The object is the legal relations in view of the enforcement of mechanisms provided for protection against trademark dilution.

The graduate paper sets forth the following conclusions: 1. The scope of a well-known trademark may actually expand in such a way that the limits of the exclusive right may be extended in case of confusion. In this regard, the right holder should be given the special protection. 2. In the EU and the US, such protection is provided through the implementation of the trademark dilution concepts. 3. In Russia, the protection against trademark dilution is provided by the mechanisms of antitrust and civil law. The absence of the special method of protection is partially compensated by an expansive interpretation of the provisions of the civil law and the implementation of categories specific to the EU and US concepts.

Academic Supervisor:

V.O. Kalyatin, S.J.C., senior professor

Student Theses at HSE must be completed in accordance with the University Rules and regulations specified by each educational programme.

Summaries of all theses must be published and made freely available on the HSE website.

The full text of a thesis can be published in open access on the HSE website only if the authoring student (copyright holder) agrees, or, if the thesis was written by a team of students, if all the co-authors (copyright holders) agree. After a thesis is published on the HSE website, it obtains the status of an online publication.

Student theses are objects of copyright and their use is subject to limitations in accordance with the Russian Federation’s law on intellectual property.

In the event that a thesis is quoted or otherwise used, reference to the author’s name and the source of quotation is required.

Search all student theses

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта
ФИО студента
Название работы
Руководитель
Факультет
Программа
Оценка
Год защиты
Варакина Анастасия Ильинична
Размывание товарного знака
Юриспруденция
(Бакалавриат)
2017
А.И. Варакина

Размывание товарного знака

В некоторых иностранных правопорядках правообладателю предоставляется специальный способ защиты против "размывания" известного товарного знака. В Российской Федерации концепция размывания товарного знака не закреплена в законодательстве. В то же время, попытки применения некоторых положений концепции размывания товарного знака прослеживаются в судебной практике.

Целью настоящего исследования является исследование концепций размывания товарного знака, действующих в ЕС и США, анализ их имплементации в судебной практике РФ. Задачами исследования являются: 1. определение пределов действия исключительного права на товарный знак, закрепленных в законодательстве и правоприменительной практике РФ; 2. изучение концепций размывания товарного знака ЕС и США; 3. анализ законодательства и правоприменительной практики РФ при ослаблении различительной способности товарного знака.

Предмет исследования составляются нормы о размывании товарного знака и их правоприменение в США, ЕС и РФ. Объектом исследования являются правовые отношения, связанные с действием механизмов защиты против размывания товарного знака.

Выводы: 1. Сфера действия известного товарного знака может фактически расшириться, в связи с чем могут расширяться пределы действия исключительного права при возникновении смешения. В связи с этим правообладателю должна предоставляться специальная защита; 2. В ЕС и США такая защита предоставляется посредством имплементации концепций размывания товарного знака; 3. В РФ защита против размывания предоставляется посредством механизмов антимонопольного и гражданского права. Отсутствие специального способа защиты частично компенсируется расширительным толкованием норм ГК РФ и имплементацией категорий, характерных для концепций ЕС и США.

Научный руководитель:

В.О. Калятин, к.ю.н., старший преподаватель

Выпускные квалификационные работы (ВКР) в НИУ ВШЭ выполняют все студенты в соответствии с университетским Положением и Правилами, определенными каждой образовательной программой.

Аннотации всех ВКР в обязательном порядке публикуются в свободном доступе на корпоративном портале НИУ ВШЭ.

Полный текст ВКР размещается в свободном доступе на портале НИУ ВШЭ только при наличии согласия студента – автора (правообладателя) работы либо, в случае выполнения работы коллективом студентов, при наличии согласия всех соавторов (правообладателей) работы. ВКР после размещения на портале НИУ ВШЭ приобретает статус электронной публикации.

ВКР являются объектами авторских прав, на их использование распространяются ограничения, предусмотренные законодательством Российской Федерации об интеллектуальной собственности.

В случае использования ВКР, в том числе путем цитирования, указание имени автора и источника заимствования обязательно.

Расширенный поиск ВКР