• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Student
Title
Supervisor
Faculty
Educational Programme
Final Grade
Year of Graduation
Aleksandr Belov
The Early Stages of the Epidemiological Transition in Russia
Demography
(Master’s programme)
2017
Historical researches help to understand modern time better. The modern Russian structure of death causes is disadvantageous in comparison with the European countries. Modernization of mortality in Russia had lagging character, successes were achieved through borrowed technologies but society was not perceived them, this slowed down the modernization. The contradiction of “technology / mass consciousness” was not eliminated, and made itself felt in the following decades. A significant gap in life expectancy with the European countries of Russia was reduced in the 1960s, but a new lagging began almost immediately, that continues today.

There is a theory of epidemiological transition in demography, according to which mortality, mainly from external causes, replaced by mortality from internal, degenerative causes, so life expectancy is growing. The first stage of epidemiological transition began in the end of 18th century in Europe. Until the end of the 19th century, Russia lagged behind European states in life expectancy due to the high level of infant mortality.

The epidemiological transition has many factors, therefore ethnographic studies, statistical, historical, cultural and medical information are used in the work.

The peculiarity of the early stages of the epidemiological transition in Russia is its intermittent nature. Another feature is the late onset of the overall modernization of the country in comparison with Europe.

Early stages of the epidemiological transition in Russia: the pre-revolutionary (discussion of the device of medical care for the entire population, the development of zemstvo medicine, the fight against popular ignorance), 1861-1917; soviet (the creation of a centralized healthcare system, a short-term increase in life expectancy, demographic stagnation), 1922-1941.

Student Theses at HSE must be completed in accordance with the University Rules and regulations specified by each educational programme.

Summaries of all theses must be published and made freely available on the HSE website.

The full text of a thesis can be published in open access on the HSE website only if the authoring student (copyright holder) agrees, or, if the thesis was written by a team of students, if all the co-authors (copyright holders) agree. After a thesis is published on the HSE website, it obtains the status of an online publication.

Student theses are objects of copyright and their use is subject to limitations in accordance with the Russian Federation’s law on intellectual property.

In the event that a thesis is quoted or otherwise used, reference to the author’s name and the source of quotation is required.

Search all student theses

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта
ФИО студента
Название работы
Руководитель
Факультет
Программа
Оценка
Год защиты
Белов Александр Игоревич
Ранние этапы эпидемиологического перехода в России
Демография
(Магистратура)
2017
Изучение прошлого поможет лучше понять настоящее. Структура причин смерти в современной России неблагополучна по сравнению с европейскими странами. Модернизация смертности в России имела догоняющий характер, успехи достигались за счет заимствования технологий, но общество было не готово к их восприятию, это тормозило модернизацию. Противоречие «технологии/массовое сознание» не было устранено, и дало о себе знать в последующие десятилетия. Существенный разрыв в продолжительности жизни с европейскими странами России удалось сократить в 1960-е годы, но почти сразу же началось новое отставание, сохраняющееся сегодня.

В демографии существует теория эпидемиологического перехода, согласно которой смертность преимущественно от внешних причин сменилась смертностью от внутренних, дегенеративных, это привело к росту продолжительности жизни. Первый этап перехода начался в конце 18 века в Европе. До конца 19 века Россия отставала от европейских государств по продолжительности жизни из-за высокого уровня младенческой смертности.

Эпидемиологический переход обусловлен множеством факторов, поэтому в работе используются этнографические исследования, статистические, исторические, культурологические и медицинские сведения.

Особенность ранних этапов эпидемиологического перехода в России – его прерывистый характер. Другая особенность – позднее начало модернизации смертности по сравнению с Европой.

Ранние этапы эпидемиологического перехода в России: дореволюционный (обсуждение устройства медицинской помощи всему населению, развитие земской медицины, борьба с народным невежеством), 1861–1917 гг.; советский (создание централизованной системы здравоохранения, кратковременное повышение ОПЖ, демографический застой), 1922–1941 гг. На протяжении этих этапов роль внешних причин смерти ослабевала, сопровождаясь культурным и экономическим подъемом, прерываемым войнами или неудачными реформами.

Выпускные квалификационные работы (ВКР) в НИУ ВШЭ выполняют все студенты в соответствии с университетским Положением и Правилами, определенными каждой образовательной программой.

Аннотации всех ВКР в обязательном порядке публикуются в свободном доступе на корпоративном портале НИУ ВШЭ.

Полный текст ВКР размещается в свободном доступе на портале НИУ ВШЭ только при наличии согласия студента – автора (правообладателя) работы либо, в случае выполнения работы коллективом студентов, при наличии согласия всех соавторов (правообладателей) работы. ВКР после размещения на портале НИУ ВШЭ приобретает статус электронной публикации.

ВКР являются объектами авторских прав, на их использование распространяются ограничения, предусмотренные законодательством Российской Федерации об интеллектуальной собственности.

В случае использования ВКР, в том числе путем цитирования, указание имени автора и источника заимствования обязательно.

Расширенный поиск ВКР