• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site
National Research University Higher School of EconomicsStudent ThesesThe Effect of Board of Directors Structure and Composition on Financial Performance of Russian Companies.

Student
Title
Supervisor
Faculty
Educational Programme
Final Grade
Year of Graduation
Kseniia Botsman
The Effect of Board of Directors Structure and Composition on Financial Performance of Russian Companies.
Finance
(Master’s programme)
2017
The main purpose of this research is to analyze the impact of board of directors structure and composition on financial performance of Russian companies.

In order to achieve the purpose of this work the following objectives have identified: to analyze domestic and foreign experience of theoretical and empirical research on the topic; to identify the specifics of internal corporate relations and the work of board of directors; to identify the main characteristics of board of directors that affect on the effectiveness of companies' activities; to conduct an empirical analysis of the influence of board of directors composition and structure on financial performance of companies, with the help of building and testing the received models on data of Russian companies; to formulate the recommendations for Russian companies for optimizing the board of directors composition and structure to solve the task of increasing the efficiency of companies' activities.

According to the results of the empirical analysis the following have been identified: nonlinear dependence between the size of board of directors and financial performance for both models with accounting and market indicators of financial performance; it was found that small and large boards of directors are more effective; the inverse relationship between the involvement of the chairman of board of directors of this firm in the work of board of directors of other firms and financial performance for models with accounting indicators of financial performance (the return on assets and the return on equity); direct relationship between the share of independent directors on board of directors and financial performance for models with market financial performance (Q-Tobin's and the market value added).

Thus, the findings allowed to formulate recommendations for Russian companies for optimizing the board of directors composition and structure to solve the task of increasing the efficiency of companies' activities.

Student Theses at HSE must be completed in accordance with the University Rules and regulations specified by each educational programme.

Summaries of all theses must be published and made freely available on the HSE website.

The full text of a thesis can be published in open access on the HSE website only if the authoring student (copyright holder) agrees, or, if the thesis was written by a team of students, if all the co-authors (copyright holders) agree. After a thesis is published on the HSE website, it obtains the status of an online publication.

Student theses are objects of copyright and their use is subject to limitations in accordance with the Russian Federation’s law on intellectual property.

In the event that a thesis is quoted or otherwise used, reference to the author’s name and the source of quotation is required.

Search all student theses

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта
Национальный исследовательский университет «Высшая школа экономики»Выпускные квалификационные работы студентов НИУ ВШЭВлияние состава и структуры совета директоров на финансовую результативность российских компаний.

ФИО студента
Название работы
Руководитель
Факультет
Программа
Оценка
Год защиты
Боцман Ксения Олеговна
Влияние состава и структуры совета директоров на финансовую результативность российских компаний.
Финансы
(Магистратура)
2017
Целью исследования является анализ влияния состава и структуры совета директоров на финансовую результативность российских компаний.

Для достижения поставленной цели необходимо было решить следующие задачи: проанализировать отечественный и зарубежный опыт теоретических и эмпирических исследований по тематике; определить особенности внутрикорпоративных отношений и работы совета директоров в российских компаниях; выявить основные характеристики совета директоров, влияющие на эффективность деятельности компаний; провести эмпирический анализ влияния состава и структуры совета директоров на финансовую результативность компаний, построив и протестировав на российских данных полученные модели; сформировать рекомендации для российских компаний по оптимизации состава и структуры совета директоров для решения задачи повышения эффективности деятельности компаний.

По итогам проведенного эмпирического анализа были выявлены: нелинейная зависимость между размером совета директоров и финансовой результативностью как для моделей с бухгалтерскими показателями финансовой результативности, так и для моделей с рыночными показателями; установлено, что более эффективными являются малые и большие советы директоров; обратная зависимость между вовлеченностью председателя совета директоров данной фирмы в работу советов директоров других фирм и финансовой результативностью для моделей с бухгалтерскими показателями финансовой результативности, где зависимой переменной являлись рентабельность активов и рентабельность собственного капитала; прямая зависимость между долей независимых директоров в совете и финансовой результативностью для моделей с рыночными показателями финансовой результативности, где зависимой переменной являлись Q-Тобина и добавленная рыночная стоимость.

Полученные выводы позволили сформировать рекомендации для российских компаний по оптимизации состава и структуры совета директоров для решения задачи повышения эффективности деятельности компаний.

Выпускные квалификационные работы (ВКР) в НИУ ВШЭ выполняют все студенты в соответствии с университетским Положением и Правилами, определенными каждой образовательной программой.

Аннотации всех ВКР в обязательном порядке публикуются в свободном доступе на корпоративном портале НИУ ВШЭ.

Полный текст ВКР размещается в свободном доступе на портале НИУ ВШЭ только при наличии согласия студента – автора (правообладателя) работы либо, в случае выполнения работы коллективом студентов, при наличии согласия всех соавторов (правообладателей) работы. ВКР после размещения на портале НИУ ВШЭ приобретает статус электронной публикации.

ВКР являются объектами авторских прав, на их использование распространяются ограничения, предусмотренные законодательством Российской Федерации об интеллектуальной собственности.

В случае использования ВКР, в том числе путем цитирования, указание имени автора и источника заимствования обязательно.

Расширенный поиск ВКР