• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site
  • HSE University
  • Student Theses
  • Investigation of MOS/DMOS-transistors die Bonding Methods by Applying Au-Si / Ag-Pt Alloys and Nickel-plated and Gold-plated Packages

Student
Title
Supervisor
Faculty
Educational Programme
Final Grade
Year of Graduation
Maxim Ichetovkin
Investigation of MOS/DMOS-transistors die Bonding Methods by Applying Au-Si / Ag-Pt Alloys and Nickel-plated and Gold-plated Packages
D.V. Bykov
Electronic Engineering
(Master’s programme)
8
2018
The purpose of this work was to investigate the die bonding technology of MOS/DMOS transistors with Au-Si / Ag-Pb alloys in nickel-plated and gold-plated packages. Two types of bonding were investigated: Au-Si eutectic, and lead-silver solder PSr-2.5.

To improve the quality of bonding by a eutectic alloy the operation of preliminary purification of the oxide layer from the back surface of the silicon wafer by ion bombardment with argon was applied. In addition, metallization was used: 0.01 μm of titanium and 0.1 μm of gold. Then, cathodic electrodeposition of gold 4-7 μm in thickness was carried out.

It is shown that it is possible to eliminate the formation of voids between the package and the die of the device, and to reduce the thermal resistance (Rt) between them, due to the metallization of the back side of the silicon wafer and the use of preliminary purification of the back side of it. As a result, we obtained an average Rt = 0.48 ° C / W with a die area of 42 mm2. Before soldering with lead-silver solder, a preliminary purification was carried out and further metallization of the back side of the wafer with Ti-Ni coating (0.1 Ti and 0.1 Ni) was made.

It has been revealed that for soldering with PSr-2.5 solder, it is more expedient to use nickel-plated packages, rather than gold-plated packages, since it allows to obtain a smaller Rt. As a result, the average Rt = 0.48 ° C / W for a nickel-plated case was obtained, and 0.66 ° C / W for a gold-plated at a crystal area of 42 mm2.

Student Theses at HSE must be completed in accordance with the University Rules and regulations specified by each educational programme.

Summaries of all theses must be published and made freely available on the HSE website.

The full text of a thesis can be published in open access on the HSE website only if the authoring student (copyright holder) agrees, or, if the thesis was written by a team of students, if all the co-authors (copyright holders) agree. After a thesis is published on the HSE website, it obtains the status of an online publication.

Student theses are objects of copyright and their use is subject to limitations in accordance with the Russian Federation’s law on intellectual property.

In the event that a thesis is quoted or otherwise used, reference to the author’s name and the source of quotation is required.

Search all student theses

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

ФИО студента
Название работы
Руководитель
Факультет
Программа
Оценка
Год защиты
Ичетовкин Максим Иванович
Исследование технологии монтажа кристаллов MOS/DMOS-транзисторов сплавами Au–Si / Ag–Pt в никелированные и позолоченные корпуса
8
2018
Цель настоящей работы состояла в исследовании технологии монтажа кристаллов MOS/DMOS-транзисторов сплавами Au–Si / Ag–Pb в никелированные и позолоченные корпуса. Было проведено исследование двух типов пайки: эвтектикой Au–Si, а также припоем свинцово-серебряным ПСр-2.5.

С целью улучшения качества пайки эвтектическим сплавом была применена операция предварительной очистки слоя окисла с обратной стороны кремниевой пластины при помощи ионной бомбардировки аргоном, а также нанесение металлизации: 0.01 мкм титана и 0.1 мкм золота. Далее производилось гальваническое осаждение золота толщиной 4 – 7 мкм.

Показано, что исключить образование пустот между корпусом и кристаллом прибора, а также снизить тепловое сопротивление (Rt) между ними возможно, благодаря металлизации обратной стороны кремниевой пластины и применению предварительной очистки обратной стороны. В результате получили среднее Rt = 0.48°С/Вт при площади кристалла 42мм2. Перед пайкой свинцово-серебряным припоем также была произведена очистка с дальнейшей металлизацией обратной стороны пластины покрытием Ti-Ni (0.1 Ti и 0.1 Ni).

Выявлено, что для пайки припоем ПСр-2.5 целесообразней использовать никелированные корпуса, а не позолоченные, так как это позволяет получить меньшее Rt. В результате получили среднее Rt = 0.48°С/Вт для никелированного корпуса, а для позолоченного 0,66°С/Вт при площади кристалла 42мм2.
Текст работы (работа добавлена 28 апреля 2018г.)

Выпускные квалификационные работы (ВКР) в НИУ ВШЭ выполняют все студенты в соответствии с университетским Положением и Правилами, определенными каждой образовательной программой.

Аннотации всех ВКР в обязательном порядке публикуются в свободном доступе на корпоративном портале НИУ ВШЭ.

Полный текст ВКР размещается в свободном доступе на портале НИУ ВШЭ только при наличии согласия студента – автора (правообладателя) работы либо, в случае выполнения работы коллективом студентов, при наличии согласия всех соавторов (правообладателей) работы. ВКР после размещения на портале НИУ ВШЭ приобретает статус электронной публикации.

ВКР являются объектами авторских прав, на их использование распространяются ограничения, предусмотренные законодательством Российской Федерации об интеллектуальной собственности.

В случае использования ВКР, в том числе путем цитирования, указание имени автора и источника заимствования обязательно.

Расширенный поиск ВКР