• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Student
Title
Supervisor
Faculty
Educational Programme
Final Grade
Year of Graduation
Sergei Kirienko
Sports and Spectacular Aspects of American Wrestling (on the Case of WWE)
Applied Cultural Studies
(Master’s programme)
8
2018
This research is devoted to the American professional wrestling of World Wrestling Entertainment. The purpose of the study is to investigate, why it is impossible in professional wrestling (on the case of WWE) to distinguish between reality and the imaginary world. In order to achieve this purpose wrestling is compared with different cultural practices. In the second part professional wrestling is considered as theatre and as serial. In the third part wrestling is described as sport. The fourth part is devoted to correlation of wrestling with circus and performance.

The research demonstrates that professional wrestling is the unique cultural practice, which can’t be described like any known area. Besides, the mechanism of wrestling perception by the fans is analyzed. Finally, the reasons why it is impossible in wrestling to separate the real world from the imaginary one are defined.

Student Theses at HSE must be completed in accordance with the University Rules and regulations specified by each educational programme.

Summaries of all theses must be published and made freely available on the HSE website.

The full text of a thesis can be published in open access on the HSE website only if the authoring student (copyright holder) agrees, or, if the thesis was written by a team of students, if all the co-authors (copyright holders) agree. After a thesis is published on the HSE website, it obtains the status of an online publication.

Student theses are objects of copyright and their use is subject to limitations in accordance with the Russian Federation’s law on intellectual property.

In the event that a thesis is quoted or otherwise used, reference to the author’s name and the source of quotation is required.

Search all student theses

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта
ФИО студента
Название работы
Руководитель
Факультет
Программа
Оценка
Год защиты
Кириенко Сергей Сергеевич
Спортивные и зрелищные аспекты американского рестлинга (на примере World Wrestling Entertainment)
8
2018
Данное исследование посвящено американскому рестлингу компании World Wrestling Entertainment. Цель исследования – выяснить, почему в рестлинге (на примере деятельности компании WWE) невозможно отделить реальность от вымысла. Для этого рестлинг соотносится с различными культурными практиками. Во второй главе рестлинг рассмотрен как театр и как сериал. В третьей главе рестлинг описан как спорт. Четвёртая глава посвящена соотнесению рестлинга с цирком и с перформансом.

Исследование демонстрирует, что рестлинг является уникальной культурной практикой, которую нельзя описать как какую-либо конкретную область. Кроме того, проанализирован механизм восприятия рестлинга фанатами, и отсюда выведены причины, по которым в рестлинге невозможно отделить мир реальный от мира воображаемого.
Текст работы (работа добавлена 28 мая 2018г.)

Выпускные квалификационные работы (ВКР) в НИУ ВШЭ выполняют все студенты в соответствии с университетским Положением и Правилами, определенными каждой образовательной программой.

Аннотации всех ВКР в обязательном порядке публикуются в свободном доступе на корпоративном портале НИУ ВШЭ.

Полный текст ВКР размещается в свободном доступе на портале НИУ ВШЭ только при наличии согласия студента – автора (правообладателя) работы либо, в случае выполнения работы коллективом студентов, при наличии согласия всех соавторов (правообладателей) работы. ВКР после размещения на портале НИУ ВШЭ приобретает статус электронной публикации.

ВКР являются объектами авторских прав, на их использование распространяются ограничения, предусмотренные законодательством Российской Федерации об интеллектуальной собственности.

В случае использования ВКР, в том числе путем цитирования, указание имени автора и источника заимствования обязательно.

Расширенный поиск ВКР