• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Student
Title
Supervisor
Faculty
Educational Programme
Final Grade
Year of Graduation
Alexander Dmitriev
Usefulness of "Other Comprehensive Income" for Investment Decisions: Russian and Foreign Practice
Corporate Finance
(Master’s programme)
7
2019
In 2011, the IASB (International Accounting Standards Board) changed

IAS 1 (International Accounting Standard) called «Presentation of Financial Statements». From this moment, companies under IFRS standards obligated to reflect Other Comprehensive Income (OCI) in the Comprehensive Income report. Right after this changes IASB published a discussion staff paper in order to highlight significant role of OCI under IFRS. It was stated that OCI is designed to improve the forecast value of Comprehensive Income statement when company value estimated by investors. On top of this OCI was intended to make the reporting more clear and transparent for investors. The paper reflected IASB positive opinion about usefulness and value relevance of OCI. However, the changes in IAS 1 was followed be extensive debates within professional accountants and researches. During the debates, one side advocated the needs to reflect OCI as part of comprehensive income statement, while the other pointed out the complexity and overall low informational content of the OCI.

Existing researches of OCI usefulness showed mixed results. Evidence of OCI value relevance and usefulness was obtained using data from US and South-Korean markets and no signs of OCI value relevance were found in Italy and Germany. What concerned Russian market - there was no significant studies of OCI on Russian market as of 2019.

This paper analyzes the features and difficulties of reflecting OCI under IFRS as well as examines its usefulness, based on the latest available data from the US market for the period from 2015 to 2018. Additionally this study focused on examples from Russian marker to show significance and usefulness of OCI.

The analysis showed that OCI has additional usefulness as compared with operating income and can explain the profitability of company’s shares (using sample from US market). Manipulations with OCI as well as significant volume of OCI and its dependency on local currency fluctuations was shown using sample from Russian market.

Student Theses at HSE must be completed in accordance with the University Rules and regulations specified by each educational programme.

Summaries of all theses must be published and made freely available on the HSE website.

The full text of a thesis can be published in open access on the HSE website only if the authoring student (copyright holder) agrees, or, if the thesis was written by a team of students, if all the co-authors (copyright holders) agree. After a thesis is published on the HSE website, it obtains the status of an online publication.

Student theses are objects of copyright and their use is subject to limitations in accordance with the Russian Federation’s law on intellectual property.

In the event that a thesis is quoted or otherwise used, reference to the author’s name and the source of quotation is required.

Search all student theses

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

ФИО студента
Название работы
Руководитель
Факультет
Программа
Оценка
Год защиты
Дмитриев Александр Александрович
Полезность "Прочего совокупного дохода" для принятия инвестиционных решений: российская и зарубежная практика
Корпоративные финансы
(Магистратура)
7
2019
В 2011 году совет по МСФО внес поправки в стандарт

(IAS) 1 «Представление финансовой отчетности», обязав компании, составляющие отчетность согласно МСФО, отражать в обязательном порядке прочий совокупный доход (ПСД) в отчёте о совокупной прибыли компании. При этом совет по МСФО опубликовал дискуссионную статью, в которой была отмечена значимая роль ПСД, как элемента призванного улучшить прогнозную значимость отчёта о совокупном доходе, а кроме того сделать его более понятным для пользователей. В это документе отразилось мнение совета о полезности и значимости ПСД. Этим изменения предшествовали обширные дебаты в профессиональной среде, в ходе которых одна сторона отстаивала необходимость отражения ПСД в составе совокупного дохода, а другая указывала на сложность и общую низкую информационную значимость этого компонента отчётности.

Существующие исследования полезности ПСД демонстрируют смешенные результаты. Доказательства его полезности и значимости были зафиксированы на данных с рынков США и Южной-Кореи, а отсутствие на данных Италии и Германии. В то же время значимые исследования по ПСД в разрезе российской практики на начало 2019 года отсутствуют.

Данная работа анализирует особенности и сложности отражения ПСД в отчётности и проводит исследование его полезности на основе последних доступных данных с рынка США за период с 2015 по 2018 годы. Отдельно рассматривается российская практика.

Полученные результаты демонстрируют наличие дополнительной полезность ПСД, по сравнению с традиционными показателями финансовой отчетности, и его значимости в определении доходности акций (на выборке компаний США). Приводятся примеры манипуляций с ПСД и демонстрируется его влияние на финансовые результаты компаний в российской практике.
Текст работы (работа добавлена 27 мая 2019г.)

Выпускные квалификационные работы (ВКР) в НИУ ВШЭ выполняют все студенты в соответствии с университетским Положением и Правилами, определенными каждой образовательной программой.

Аннотации всех ВКР в обязательном порядке публикуются в свободном доступе на корпоративном портале НИУ ВШЭ.

Полный текст ВКР размещается в свободном доступе на портале НИУ ВШЭ только при наличии согласия студента – автора (правообладателя) работы либо, в случае выполнения работы коллективом студентов, при наличии согласия всех соавторов (правообладателей) работы. ВКР после размещения на портале НИУ ВШЭ приобретает статус электронной публикации.

ВКР являются объектами авторских прав, на их использование распространяются ограничения, предусмотренные законодательством Российской Федерации об интеллектуальной собственности.

В случае использования ВКР, в том числе путем цитирования, указание имени автора и источника заимствования обязательно.

Расширенный поиск ВКР