The 10th bi-annual EACES conference 

EACES Doctoral Award

The European Association for Comparative Economic Studies (EACES) proudly announces the winner of the '2008 EACES Award' for the best doctoral dissertation in the fields of comparative economics and economics of transition. A total of ten dissertations have been submitted. In a two-stage selection process, the following candidates were short-listed in stage one (in alphabetic order):

Sanjaya Acharya, PhD from Erasmus University, Rotterdam
Venla Sipilä, PhD from University College London
Michael Troilo, PhD from University of Michigan
Zhao Wei, PhD from Institut de Recherche pur le Developpement, Bondy

Based on expert evaluations of these dissertations, the following dissertation has been selected as a winner: 

Sanjaya Acharya, Erasmus University Rotterdam
"Pro-Poor Growth and Liberalisation: CGE Policy Modelling"

Dr Acharya's dissertation analyzes the interaction between liberalization, growth and poverty on the basis of a computable general equilibrium (GCE) model using Nepalese 'Social Accounting Matrix' data. The work demonstrates great analytical rigour in applying sophisticated quantitative techniques to questions of high policy relevance in an under-explored empirical context. A wide range of liberalisation and internal policy reform simulations were carried out, leading to policy implications on how the economy could attain higher and pro-poor growth following alternative strategies of economic restructuring. In addition, he has been able to explore and find that staged external liberalisation is superior to a strategy where all liberalisation policies are implemented simultaneously, in terms of both growth and distribution.

The winner is expected to present his work in the form of a short lecture to the plenary session of the 10th EACES conference to be held in Moscow, Russia, on 28-30 August 2008.

EACES would like to use this opportunity to thank the following colleagues for their contribution to selecting the winner: Wladimir Andreff, Will Bartlett, Simon Burke, Bozidar Cerovic, Jens Hoelscher, Bruno Merlevede, Klaus Meyer, Koen Schoors, Marcello Signorelli, Wim Swaan, Urmas Verblane.