HSE: a New Official Status

The Higher School of Economics has been given the status of a National Research University.

On October 7th the final session of the judging committee took place, which selected universities for a development program and assigned them the status of National Research University. 28 applications from universities, finalists of the contest, were scrutinised by the committee members during the session.

As a result of this discussion, by secret vote, 12 universities were selected as winners. They receive the status of a National Research University and grants from the federal budget for their development programmes in 2009-2018 amounting up to 1.8 billion roubles each.

List of the winners of the contest of universities'development programmes, which are receiving a status of a National Research University

  1. The Higher School of Economics
  2. Tupolev Kazan State Technical University
  3. Moscow Aviation Institute (State Technical University)
  4. Bauman Moscow State Technical University
  5. Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology (State University)
  6. Lobachevsky Nizhny Novgorod State University
  7. Novosibirsk State University
  8. Perm State Technical University
  9. Korolev Samara State Aerospace University
  10. Plekhanov Saint Petersburg State Mining Institute
  11. Saint Petersburg State University of Information Technologies, Mechanics and Optics
  12. Tomsk Polytechnic University