In the 1950s, a golden candlestick was found in the ventilation system in one of the rooms of this building – a reminder of the fact that it was initially a jewellery factory. During the Soviet era, the building housed a leather and footwear training school, dormitory and a continuing education institute for engineering and technical personnel.

Gold and silver factory

The redbrick building on Malaya Ordynka is a typical example of eclectic late 19th century architecture. Built as a factory for jewellery production, after 1917 it met a very different fate. This building owes its presence to two people – Nemirov and Kolodkin. Although both died long before its construction, without them there would have been no factory and no remarkable company that has made such a great contribution to the Russian jewellery industry.

Nikolai Vasilyevich Nemirov, originally from Vologda, came to Moscow in his youth already trained as a silversmith. Ivan Ivanovich Kolodkin, a Moscow merchant, had a small jewellery business and retail shop. He hired Nemirov as his clerk. The Kolodkins did not have children, and the young, efficient, and honest Nikolai Nemirov, who worked for many years at the firm, became the merchant’s heir and obtained the double surname. In 1868, a Moscow magistrate approved Nikolai’s petition to henceforth be called Nemirov-Kolodkin. It was at this time that the N.V. Nemirov-Kolodkin Trading House began to grow as a jewellery company that became known not only in Russia but also in Europe. Its products are now in many museums around the country and in private collections.

N.V. Nemirov-Kolodkin
Photograph, late 19th century

In the 1850s, Nikolai Nemirov married Daria Artemevna, a merchant's daughter, and received a large dowry as a result. After adding his wife’s savings to his own resources, in 1872, he opened his first small factory. Nemirov-Kolodkin and his wife lived in their own house on Bolshaya Ordynka, and the factory was located nearby. They needed people to manage the factory, and the couple (they also did not have children) decided to invite Nikolai’s nephews from Vologda.

They were Alexander Nikolaevich and Nikolai Nikolaevich Druzhinin, Ivan Alexandrovich Lapin and Alexei Nikolaevich Davydov. They all settled in their uncle’s house and became salesmen.

The high artistic and technical quality of items produced by Nemirov-Kolodkin was noticed by the Moscow Court Office. Beginning in 1876, the company regularly began to fill orders for silverware for Moscow’s imperial palaces. Things were going well, and by the 1880s, the trading house not only owned the factory but also a store on Ilyinka Ulitsa, as well as several shops in Moscow and Nizhny Novgorod.

Nikolai Vasilyevich did not forget about charity. He donated to educational institutions and to an almshouse for impoverished blind women to which he bequeathed his home after his death. The Nikolai Vasilyevich and Daria Artemevna Nemirov-Kolodkin Almshouse stood on Bolshaya Ordynka until 1917.

Nemirov-Kolodkin died in 1886, leaving his company to his nephews’ two families – the Davydovs and Druzhinins. In 1892, they established the N.V. Nemirov-Kolodkin Manufacturing and Trading Association. The heirs managed not only to maintain but also to increase the scale of the enterprise.

Catalogue of the N.V. Nemirov-Kolodkin Manufacturing and Trading Association, 1905. At the top – an illustration of the factory – Building No. 17 on Malaya Ordynka.

The advertising literature of the heirs’ partnership read, 'The increasing number of orders, especially for various types of church vessels, has compelled the Association to open its own factory to produce gold and silver jewellery and church vessels from various materials. This factory is currently located on Malaya Ordynka in the building of the Association.’

In 1891, the successors of Nemirov-Kolodkin bought from the peasant Sergei Uvarov the holding on Malaya Ordynka where Building No. 17 now stands. According to the survey of the area for 1887, the holding contained four one-story wooden structures. Two of them faced the street, and the others stood in the courtyard. The archival inventory states: ‘the structures are in a solid state, and with proper maintenance can stand for the period defined by the Company's charter.’ But they did not stand for long: all the wooden houses were demolished so they could be replaced by a two-story brick building for a factory to produce gold and silver jewellery and church vessels.

Ivan Ivanovich Mochalov, already an accomplished architect at the time, was invited to design the building. While almost all of his constructions in Moscow have been either lost or rebuilt, the factory building on Malaya Ordynka is one of the best of his preserved creations. Construction was completed in 1895.

Mochalov built a two-storey redbrick building with a richly decorated façade. At the end of the century, redbrick buildings were featured strongly in Russia’s architectural tastes. The bold symmetry of the building’s upper part is violated by the passage arch and the entry (currently built in); they are strongly shifted to the right edge.

Samples from Nemirov-Kolodkin’s firm. Price list of church vessels and samples from the N.V. Nemirov-Kolodkin Manufacturing and Trading Association in Moscow
1905

The façade is covered with ornate, carefully constructed brick elements that repeat the decorative motifs of ancient Russian architecture. This includes the passage arch itself, whose proportions and location compare to the archways of Russian churches dating from the 13th to 17th centuries, and pilasters with complex patterns. It also consists of decorative elements typical for the ancient Russian churches: interchanging square decorative brickwork, triangles, retaining blocks, kerbsides, etc. The picturesqueness of the façade’s composition is achieved by a combination of complex cornices, corbels, and pilasters. The architect added to them several beautifully decorated attics and gables (now lost). The second-floor windows have a semi-circular completion, which, coupled with the building’s brick décor, makes elegant palace. The ground floor with rectangular windows is stricter; its façade is divided by smooth, tall pilasters.

The façades facing the courtyard and alleys are more succinct and strict. Their only decoration are the semi-circular windows on the second floor. The walls of the first two floors are thicker. A pipe – a required functional accessory for a factory – towers above the building, a reminder that casting and other high-temperature operations were once performed here.

From the first years of the factory’s existence on Malaya Ordynka, the manufacturing operations were perfectly equipped with the latest technology and outfitted with steam and electric motors. Work was done by talented artists – draftsmen, painters and jewellers. Silver and gold tableware was made here, embossed and smooth, along with jewellery made of diamonds and other precious stones – necklaces, brooches, rings, bracelets, earrings, lockets, and others.

A special department of the factory was engaged in the manufacture of church vessels ‘on behalf of the Holy Synod, the synod and diocesan monasteries, religious brotherhoods and many individuals’ (from the company’s advertising). The range of these products was enormous: metallic iconostasis, holy doors, chandeliers, dressing for altars, banners, vestments, candlesticks, crosses, and much more. All of this was made to the highest quality. It was not by chance that the N.V. Nemirov-Kolodkin Manufacturing and Trading Association was the supplier of the Court of Her Imperial Highness Grand Duchess Elizabeth Feodorovna in the early 20th century.

Educational Institution

The events of the autumn of 1917 were calmly met by the factory’s owners; everyone was certain that the disorder would not last long. The factory continued to operate until August 1918, after which it was nationalized. In 1920, it was transferred to Glavzoloto, as were all other jewellery manufacturers in Moscow.

Factory No. 1 of the Electro-Technical Trust, which produced accessories for electricity, was housed in the vacated building and remained there until the war.

In 1948, the name of the street was changed, and it began to carry the name of the playwright A.N. Ostrovsky, whose museum house was located at the beginning of the street (No. 9). Around the same time, the former factory has also underwent changes. The building was occupied by the leather and footwear training school, as well as its dormitory.

The new owners carried out a major rebuilding, or, more precisely, additional building. From 1948 to 1952, two floors were added to the building, giving it four storeys in total. The décor from the street façade was preserved and carried over to the additional floors as much as possible, as were the location and size of the windows and the internal layout. Only the thickness of the walls became much smaller. All work was done by German POWs.

 

Malaya Ordynka. To the right from Building No. 17
Malaya Ordynka. To the right from Building No. 17
Photograph: V.K. Sergeev, 1962, personal archive

The courtyard façades were given a grand appearance. Their walls were plastered and painted. The central part of the main entrance was completed in the spirit of Stalin's neoclassicism. The centre is accented by a group of flat pilasters with elaborate column caps at the end. Above them is a triangular gable with a round window. The upper floors are loaded with wide balconies three windows wide. The rest of the courtyard façades received the pairs of smaller balconies. In the 1990s, two balconies located above the passage arch were demolished due to their unsafe condition. Now only traces indicating their former location are visible.

The building preserves the layout of the post-war era – narrow corridors, location of classrooms and offices, and three staircases. An elegant, wide staircase begins from the spacious hall at the main entrance. The rest of the stairways are much more modest in their arrangement. On the second floor, one can find fragments of the original brick floor and trace the subsequent layers. Several doors from the middle of the 20th century remain in the building. One of them, padded in upholstery, is in the office of the building’s director.

For many years, the building was a symbiosis of academic and residential space. The training school wing overlooked the street, with the rest of the space reserved for housing. The damp basement of the building was also living space; here lived the housekeeper, the commandant, and workers. This situation continued until the 1960s when a bomb shelter with heavy metal doors was constructed.

The leather and footwear training school was replaced by an institute of continuing education for engineering and technical personnel. Its directors, as well as the administration of the former training school, lived here on the first floor. Students at the institute were trained for two months and lived in the dormitory that was in the far courtyard wing, as well as on the third and fourth floors of the central building. But the third floor was also used for academic purposes.

Living conditions in the building were not simple. On the ground floor, where a buffet is now located, there was a community kitchen with large stoves. Stoves were absent in the living room, as were bathrooms. Later, in the 1960s, they began to equip the apartments with all the necessary features, including bathrooms. But the utilities worked very poorly.

In the 1950s, a golden candlestick was found in the ventilation system in one of the living rooms – the last item produced by the Nemirov-Kolodkin factory. The gold was given to the state. In 1964, the building brought back memories of the past once again when an unexploded bomb from the war was found on the pavement outside the walls. Students and residents were hastily evacuated, and the bomb was defused. This happened under subsequent occupancy of the building by the Institute of Advanced Training for Managers and Specialists of Light Industry.

The principle of combining residential and academic facilities remained as it was previously, but new classrooms appeared. On the second floor, a screening room to show educational films was set up. To provide sound insulation, the walls were covered with leatherette panels that could absorb sound. This room remains preserved to this day.

In 1992, the street returned to its former name – Malaya Ordynka. In 1997, the Institute for Advanced Studies was liquidated together with the dormitory, and a year later, an order was issued by the ministry to transfer the functions of the liquidated educational institutions to other institutions of higher education. It was at this time that the building was transferred to the Higher School of Economics.

 

The building has been managed by the Higher School of Economics since 2012. The following are located here:

Faculty of LawHigher School of Jurisprudence, Higher School of Marketing and Business Development, Institute of Legal ResearchUNESCO Department on Copyright and Other Intellectual Property RightsEditorial Office of ‘Law. Journal of the Higher School of Economics’, Joint Department with White & Case, the Laboratory of Theoretical Research in Law and State.
 

Author: Anastasia A. Solovyova
Art historian, historian of Moscow. Author of Litsa rossiiskoi istorii: kolleksia portretov (Faces of Russian History: A Collection of Portraits); director of a film-walk Ot Kremlya do Novodevichy (From the Kremlin to Novodevichy), 1997; Research editor on Lubiansky Triugolnik (Lubianka Triangle), by A.V. Kolosov. Anastasia Solovyova has studied and written about the bells of Moscow and is a tour guide for ‘Moscow that isn’t there’ and a contributing author to the website ‘Get to know Moscow’.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Малая Ордынка, 17

Вышка.Фундамент


В 1950-е годы в вентиляции одной из комнат в этом здании нашли золотой подсвечник — напоминание о том, что изначально здесь была ювелирная фабрика. В советские годы в этом доме располагался кожевенно-обувной техникум, общежитие и институт повышения квалификации инженерно-технических работников.

Фабрика золотых и серебряных изделий

Краснокирпичный дом на улице Малая Ордынка является характерным примером эклектики конца XIX века. Построенный как фабричное здание для ювелирного производства, после 1917 года он имел совершенно иную судьбу.

Появлению этого нарядного дома в Замоскворечье город обязан двум людям — Немирову и Колодкину. Оба умерли задолго до его строительства, но без них не было бы ни фабрики, ни замечательной ювелирной фирмы, внесшей большой вклад в русское ювелирное искусство.

Николай Васильевич Немиров был вологжанином. Он приехал в Москву в юности, уже обучившись мастерству серебряного дела. Иван Иванович Колодкин, московский купец, имел небольшое ювелирное дело и торговую лавку. Он взял Немирова к себе приказчиком. У Колодкиных не было своих детей, и молодой, дельный, честный Николай Немиров, много лет проработавший на фирме, стал наследником купца, получив к тому же двойную фамилию. В 1868 году Московским магистратом было одобрено прошение Николая Васильевича отныне именоваться Немировым-Колодкиным. С этого времени начинается становление и развитие ювелирной фирмы Торговый дом «Н.В. Немиров-Колодкин», получившей известность не только в России, но и в Европе. Ее изделия находятся ныне во многих музеях страны и в частных коллекциях.

Н.В. Немиров-Колодкин
Фото конца XIX в.

Еще в 1850-х годах Николай Васильевич женился на купеческой дочери Дарье Артемьевне, за которой получил большое приданое. Присовокупив к своим сбережениям средства жены, он в 1872 году открыл свою первую небольшую фабрику. Немиров-Колодкин с женой жили в собственном доме на Б. Ордынке, фабрика была неподалеку. Для ее управления нужны были люди, и супруги (у них тоже не было детей) решили пригласить племянников Николая Васильевича из Вологды. Это были Александр и Николай Николаевичи Дружинины, Иван Александрович Лапин и Алексей Николаевич Давыдов. Все они поселились в доме дяди и стали приказчиками.

Высокий художественный и технический уровень изделий, производимых Немировым-Колодкиным, был замечен Московской дворцовой конторой. С 1876 года она стала регулярно делать на фирме заказы на серебряную посуду для Московских императорских дворцов. Дела шли успешно, и к 1880-м годам торговый дом владел не только фабрикой, но и магазином на Ильинке, несколькими лавками в Москве и Нижнем Новгороде.

Николай Васильевич не забывал и о благотворительности: жертвовал на образовательные учреждения, на богадельню для слепых бедных женщин, которую завещал устроить в своем доме после смерти. Богадельня имени Николая Васильевича и Дарьи Артемьевны Немировых-Колодкиных просуществовала на Б. Ордынке до 1917 года.

Немиров-Колодкин умер в 1886 году, оставив миллионную фирму своим племянникам, двум семьям — Давыдовым и Дружининым. В 1892 году они учредили Фабрично-торговое товарищество преемников Н.В. Немирова-Колодкина. Наследники не только сохранили, но и увеличили масштаб предприятия.  

Прейскурант Фабрично-торгового товарищества преемников Н.В. Немирова-Колодкина. 1905 г. Вверху изображение фабрики — дом 17 на М. Ордынке

В рекламном проспекте Товарищества преемников можно прочитать: «Увеличивающееся поступление заказов, особенно же по исполнению разных предметов церковной утвари, заставило Товарищество открыть собственную фабрику для производства золотых, серебряных и ювелирных изделий и церковной утвари из разных металлов. В настоящее время фабрика эта помещается на Малой Ордынке, в собственном здании Товарищества».

В 1891 году преемники Немирова-Колодкина купили у крестьянина Сергея Уварова владение на М. Ордынке, где сейчас стоит дом № 17. Согласно обследованию территории на 1887 год во владении было четыре одноэтажных деревянных строения. Два из них выходили торцом на улицу, остальные стояли в глубине двора. В архивной описи сказано: «Строения находятся в прочном состоянии, при исправном содержании могут простоять определенный уставом Общества срок». Но простояли они недолго: все деревянные дома были снесены, чтобы на их месте построить двухэтажное кирпичное здание фабрики по производству золотых и серебряных изделий и церковной утвари.

Архитектором был приглашен уже состоявшийся к тому времени Иван Иванович Мочалов. Почти все его постройки в Москве утрачены или перестроены. Здание фабрики на М. Ордынке является одним из лучших по сохранности творений Мочалова. Строительство было завершено в 1895 году.

В настоящий момент дом имеет П-образную форму. На улицу выходит одна из вертикальных перекладин буквы «П». Но первоначально были построены только две параллельные перекладины — уличная и в глубине двора. В начале XX века они были соединены еще одним объемом. Внутри здания при переходе из одного корпуса в другой до сих пор ощущается повышение-понижение пола в той части, где стыкуются более ранние и более поздние постройки.

Мочалов выстроил двухэтажный краснокирпичный дом с богато украшенным фасадом. В конце века эстетика краснокирпичных зданий заняла прочное место в архитектурных вкусах России. Подчеркнутую симметрию верхней части дома нарушают проездная арка ворот и рядом с ней — входной проем (в настоящее время заложен). Они сильно сдвинуты к правому краю.

Образцы изделий фирмы Немирова-Колодкина. Из Прейскуранта церковной утвари и образов Фабрично-торгового товарищества преемников Н.В. Немирова-Колодкина в Москве
1905 г.

Фасад обильно покрыт нарядными, тщательно выполненными из кирпича элементами, повторяющими декоративные мотивы древнерусской архитектуры. Это и сама проездная арка, пропорциями и расположением сопоставимая с арками русских храмов XIII-XVII веков, и пилястры со сложным рисунком. Он также состоит из элементов декора, типичных для древнерусских церквей: чередующихся ширинок, треугольников, сухариков, поребриков и пр. Живописность композиции фасада достигается сочетанием сложных карнизов, поясков, пилястр. К ним архитектор добавил несколько красиво оформленных аттиков и фронтонов (ныне утрачены). Окна второго этажа имеют полуциркульное завершение, что вкупе с кирпичным декором делает дом нарядным теремом. Первый этаж с прямоугольными окнами более строг, его фасад расчленен межоконными гладкими пилястрами.

Фасады, обращенные во внутренний двор и проулки, лаконичнее и строже. Их украшением служат лишь полуциркульные окна второго этажа. Стены первых двух этажей имеют большую толщину. Над зданием возвышалась труба — необходимая функциональная принадлежность фабрики, где выполняется литье и другие операции, связанные с высокой температурой.

С первых лет существования фабрики на М. Ордынке это было прекрасно оборудованное производство, оснащенное новейшей техникой, снабженное паровыми и электрическими двигателями. Работы выполняли талантливые мастера — рисовальщики, художники, ювелиры. Здесь изготавливалась серебряная и золотая посуда, с чеканкой и гладкая, украшения с бриллиантами и другими драгоценными камнями — колье, броши, кольца, браслеты, серьги, медальоны и др.

Особый отдел фабрики занимался изготовлением церковной утвари «по поручению Святейшего Синода, синодальных и епархиальных монастырей, церковных братств и множества частных лиц» (из рекламы фирмы). Спектр этих изделий огромен: металлические иконостасы, царские врата, паникадила, одежды на святые престолы и жертвенники, реликварии для святых мощей, хоругви, ризы, подсвечники, кресты и многое другое. Все это высочайшего качества и исполнения. Не случайно в начале XX века Фабрично-торговое товарищество преемников Н.В. Немирова-Колодкина было поставщиком Двора Ее Императорского Высочества Великой княгини Елизаветы Федоровны.

До самого конца существования товарищества наследники — Дружинины и Давыдовы — сохраняли высокую марку фирмы Немирова-Колодкина, а их производство было одним из первых по уровню и значимости в России.

Учебное заведение

События осени 1917 года были встречены хозяевами фабрики спокойно, все были уверены, что беспорядки долго не продлятся. Фабрика продолжала работать вплоть до августа 1918 года, после чего была национализирована и в 1920 году передана в «Главзолото», как и все остальные ювелирные производства Москвы.

В освободившемся здании разместили фабрику № 1 Электротехнического треста по производству арматуры для электричества. Она проработала здесь до войны.

В 1948 году изменилось название улицы, она стала носить имя драматурга А.Н. Островского, дом-музей которого находится в начале улицы (№ 9). Приблизительно в это же время бывшая фабрика тоже претерпела изменения. Ее здание занял кожевенно-обувной техникум, здесь же располагалось его общежитие.

Новые владельцы осуществили крупную перестройку, вернее, надстройку. В 1948-1952 годах дом был надстроен еще двумя этажами, став четырехэтажным. При этом максимально был сохранен и перенесен на новые этажи декор уличного фасада, расположение и размер окон, внутренняя планировка. Только толщина стен стала значительно меньше. Все работы выполняли пленные немцы.

 

М. Ордынка. Справа дом № 17
Фото: В.К. Сергеева, 1962 г. Личный архив

Парадный вид приобрели дворовые фасады. Их стены были оштукатурены и покрашены. Центральная часть с главным входом была оформлена в духе сталинского неоклассицизма. Центр акцентирован группой плоских пилястр с замысловатыми капителями в завершении, над ними — треугольный фронтон с круглым окошком. Верхние этажи утяжелены балконами шириной в три окна. По паре балконов меньшего размера получили и остальные дворовые фасады. В 1990-е годы два балкона, располагавшихся над проездной аркой, были снесены из-за аварийного состояния. Сейчас можно разглядеть лишь следы, указывающие их бывшее местонахождение.

В здании сохранилась планировка помещений послевоенных времен — узкие коридоры, расположение кабинетов, три лестницы. Парадная широкая лестница начинается из просторного холла у главного входа. Остальные лестницы устроены гораздо скромнее.

На втором этаже можно найти фрагменты первоначального кирпичного пола и проследить последующие наслоения. В доме сохранилось несколько дверей полувековой давности. Одна из них, обитая дерматином, в кабинете директора здания.

Долгие годы дом представлял собой симбиоз учебных и жилых помещений. Учебный корпус техникума выходил на улицу, остальные помещения были отданы под жилье. Сырой подвал дома тоже был жилым, его занимали уборщицы, комендант, рабочие. Такая ситуация продолжалась вплоть до 1960-х годов. В 1950-е там же было устроено бомбоубежище с тяжелыми металлическими дверями.

Кожевенно-обувной техникум сменил Институт повышения квалификации инженерно-технических работников. Его директора, как и администрация бывшего техникума, проживали здесь же, на первых этажах. Студенты института обучались два месяца и жили в общежитии, которое находилось в дальнем дворовом корпусе и на четвертом и третьем этажах центрального корпуса. Но третий этаж был также и учебным. 

Бытовые условия в доме были не из простых. На первом этаже, где сейчас находится буфет, была устроена общественная кухня с большими плитами. В жилых комнатах плиты, как и ванны, отсутствовали. Позже, в 1960-е годы, стали обустраивать квартиры всем необходимым, в том числе и ваннами. Но коммуникации работали очень плохо.

В 1950-е годы в одной из жилых комнат в вентиляции нашли золотой подсвечник — последняя вещь, вышедшая с фабрики Немирова-Колодкина. Золото сдали государству. В 1964 году дом тоже напомнил о прошедших временах: на мостовой возле стены здания была обнаружена неразорвавшаяся бомба времен войны. Студентов и жителей спешно эвакуировали, бомбу обезвредили. Это произошло уже при следующих хозяевах дома — Институте повышения квалификации руководящих работников и специалистов легкой промышленности.

Принцип совмещения жилых и учебных помещений оставался прежним. Но появились новые кабинеты. На втором этаже был устроен кинозал для показа учебных фильмов. Чтобы обеспечить звукоизоляцию, стены кинозала были обиты дерматиновыми панелями, поглощающими звук. Этот зал сохранился до сих пор.

В 1992 году улице вернули прежнее название — Малая Ордынка. В 1997 году ликвидировали Институт повышения квалификации вместе с общежитием, а через год был издан приказ министерства о передаче функций ликвидированных образовательных учреждений другим высшим учебным заведениям, и здание было передано Высшей школе экономики.

Здание находится в оперативном управлении Высшей школы экономики с 2005 года.