• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Research Seminar

The seminar is a dissertation seminar designed to help student prepare and complete their MA thesis on a broad range of topics related to various aspects of international relations in Eurasia. This seminar is a multi-disciplinary one and it deals with both the theoretical and practical aspects of designing dissertation and successfully defending it. The purpose of the course is to assist students through the proposal and dissertation writing processes.

 The student will explore the field of Research proposal development and the conduct of Research projects as applied to their dissertation topic. They will also review the literature relevant  to their dissertation topic,  design a conceptual framework, develop data analysis plan . Under the supervision of the instructor, students will present their own work to the seminar for discussion, critique, and advice. On occasion, students may also present brief summaries of articles or books from the reading list that they consider particularly relevant or useful.

 Students will be able to critique Research proposals of each other & offer constructive advice.

 The seminar will be composed of two parts

 The First part will remind the students of the basic approached used in preparing dissertation proposals and will be run along the following lines:

 Topic.1 Dissertation proposal structure

Essential elements of the dissertation proposal include:

statement of problem

delimitation of topic

statement of purpose (personal motivation / interest in topic)

conceptual framework (theoretical approach used and  literature review)

 formulation of the research questions

 clear description of  methodology including methods of data collection & data analysis

statement of the  scholarly significance of the dissertation proposal

possible implications of the dissertation  (expected contribution to knowledge and/or practical implications) dissertation chapter outline

 Topic 2. Preparing for the research. Literature Review, Research Design, Working with Data

Doing a Review of Literature. Citation Rules. Reference Rules. Plagiarism

 Topic 3. Qualitative methods: Applications for the term paper

Building a  system of classification. Analysis: identification of the specific boundaries (start, end) of the events and event phases. Bearing in mind political context, social situation and cultural patterns. Content Analysis: identification of themes/topics.

 Topic 4. Academic writing: composition, structure and arguments

Nature of academic writing. Guidelines for academic writing in different genres with a focus on  abstract, essay, literature review, MA thesis. Laying out the composition of research after specifying research data and choosing methods of data analysis.

 The second part of the seminar will involve presentations by students of their dissertation outlines, research question, choice of methodology, ideas on collecting data and, finally, upon the completion of their first drafts, “test defenses” of their dissertations to the seminar leader and their peers.

 The second part of the seminar will also involve individual consultations and semi-structured work with smaller group of students who develop their thesis in adjacent scholarly fields.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Научно-исследовательский семинар

Семинар призван помочь студентам подготовить и защитить магистерскую диссертацию по широкому спектру тем в области международных отношений с фокусом на развивающихся рынках стран БРИКС, особенно на России и Китае. Семинар является междисциплинарным и рассматривает как теоретические, так и практические аспекты разработки диссертации и ее успешной защиты. Цель курса ­– помочь студентам в процессе подготовки исследовательского предложения и написания диссертации.

Студенты будут изучать процесс разработки исследовательского предложения и проведения исследовательских проектов применительно к теме своей диссертации. Они изучат литературу, имеющую отношение к теме их диссертации, разработают концептуальную основу и план работы с данными. Под руководством преподавателя студенты представят на семинаре свои работы для обсуждения, получения конструктивной критики и советов. Студенты могут также представлять краткие резюме статей или книг из списка для чтения, которые они считают особенно актуальными или полезными.

Студенты смогут обсуждать исследовательские предложения друг друга и давать конструктивные советы.

Семинар будет состоять из двух частей:

В рамках первой части студенты вспомнят основные подходы, используемые при подготовке диссертационного предложения, по следующим направлениям:

Тема 1. Структура диссертационного предложения

Основные элементы диссертационного предложения включают:

  • постановка проблемы
  • определение границ темы исследования
  • формулировка цели (личная мотивация / интерес к теме)
  • концептуальная основа (использованный теоретический подход и обзор литературы)
  • постановка вопросов исследования
  • четкое описание методологии, включая методы сбора и анализа данных
  • констатация научного значения диссертационного предложения
  • возможные применения диссертации (ожидаемый научный вклад и / или практические последствия)
  • план глав диссертации

Тема 2. Подготовка к исследованию. Обзор литературы, Структура исследования, Работа с данными

Обзор литературы. Правила цитирования. Правила оформления ссылок. Плагиат.

Тема 3. Качественные методы: применение исследования

Построение системы классификации. Анализ: определение конкретных границ (начало, конец) событий и фаз событий. Учет политического контекста, социальной ситуации и культурных особенностей. Контент-анализ: определение существенных проблем.

Тема 4. Академическое письмо: композиция, структура и аргументы

Характерные особенности академического письма. Руководство по академическому письму в разных жанрах с акцентом на реферат, эссе, обзор литературы, магистерскую диссертацию. Составление архитектуры работы после уточнения исследовательских данных и выбора методов анализа данных.

Вторая часть Семинара будет включать в себя презентации студентами своих «черновиков», исследовательского вопроса, выбранных методологий, идей по сбору данных. По завершении написания первых версий работы будут проводиться «тестовые защиты» диссертаций перед руководителем семинара и однокурсниками.

Вторая часть семинара также будет включать индивидуальные консультации и работу в небольших группах студентов, которые разрабатывают свои диссертации по смежным темам.