• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Nestface: the use of live facade modules to maintain biodiversity

Daria Klimova a graduate of the international master's program ‘Prototyping future cities’ created the ‘Nestface’ project under the guidance of the Shukhov Lab leading expert Elena Mitrofanova. The study aims to rethink nature in the city.

Human being plays a significant role in reducing biodiversity especially in cities. One of the reasons for this violation is the complex relationship of a person with the natural environment. Active processes of globalization displace nature from the human environment – the city.

This project is based on the idea of ​​integrating natural biological species into the basic urban context using a parametric system of facade modules. A vertical green wall will support the surrounding ecosystem. First of all, the morphology of the structure is designed to serve birds and insects, which are the main eco-drivers in the city.

Swallows, swifts, sparrows often nest in secluded places of high-rise buildings. They easily tolerate anthropogenic stress and help not only restore the ecosystem, but also destroy insects harmful to humans.

Distributing modules over a wall surface is a parametric task. To do this, climate analysis is performed, and the resulting wall map is converted into a grid of modules of three typologies: a green module, an open socket, and a closed socket. To maintain such a system, the project uses an automatic water supply, depending on the readings of soil moisture. This approach makes possible the autonomous existence of the system without the active participation of people. In winter, the green part of the system exists in suspended animation, and birds continue to nest in closed modules.

The Nestface will provide the basis for ecosystem functioning, and birds and insects will diversify the façade. Also, with the help of a wall covered with greenery, it is possible to improve air quality and reduce the harmful effects of urban transport and production.

The urban environment can and should become a habitat not only for people, but also for other biological species. The non-interface project can serve as the basis for conscious interaction with the ecosystem and the establishment of strong ties between human being and nature.

At the same time, the project plays an important educational role. Adults and children will be able to observe wildlife at home, from a window or a balcony of their apartment.

Credits

Academic supervisor: Elena Mitrofanova

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Нестфейс: применение живых фасадных модулей для поддержания биоразнообразия

Дарья Климова, выпускница международной магистерской программы ВШУ «‎Прототипирование городов будущего», создала проект «‎Нестфейс» под руководством ведущего эксперта Шухов Лаб Елены Митрофановой. Исследование направлено на переосмысление природы в городе.

Человек играет значительную роль в сокращении биоразнообразия в целом и в особенности в городах. Одна из причин такого нарушения кроется в том, что горожане мало взаимодействуют с естественной средой. Активные процессы глобализации вытесняют природу из среды обитания человека, т.е. из города.

В основе этого проекта лежит идея интеграции естественных биологических  видов в городскую среду с помощью параметрической системы фасадных модулей.  Вертикальная зеленая стена будет поддерживать окружающую экосистему. В первую очередь, морфология структуры создает среду обитания для птиц и насекомых, которые являются основными эко драйверами в городе.

Ласточки, стрижи, воробьи часто гнездятся в укромных местах многоэтажек. Они легко переносят антропогенную нагрузку и приносят пользу не только восстанавливая экосистему, но и уничтожая опасных для человека насекомых.

Распределение модулей по поверхности стены – параметрическая задача. Для этого производится климатический анализ. На основе полученного микроклиматического анализа стены создаётся вертикальный патерн из трёх типов модулей: зелёный, открытое гнездо и закрытое гнездо.. Для обслуживания такой системы в проекте используются автоматическая подача воды в зависимости от показаний влажности почвы. Такой подход делает возможным автономное существование системы без активного участия человека.  Зимой зеленая часть системы существует в анабиозе, а в закрытых модулях продолжают гнездится птицы.

Нестфейс обеспечит основы для жизнедеятельности экосистем, а птицы и насекомые разнообразят фасад. Также с помощью покрытой растительностью стены возможно улучшить качество воздуха и сократить вредное воздействие от городского транспорта и производств. 

Городская среда может и должна стать средой обитания не только людей, но и других биологических видов. Проект нестфейс может послужить основой для осознанного взаимодействия с экосистемой и установления прочных связей между человеком и природой.

В то же время проект играет важную просветительскую роль. Взрослые и дети смогут наблюдать за живой природой у дома, из окна или прямо с балкона своей квартиры.