• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Modern childhood: New reality of  adolescent communication

Priority areas of development: humanitarian
2014
Department: Center of Leadership Development in Education
The project has been carried out as part of the HSE Program of Fundamental Studies.

Goal of research: The goal of the research is to reveal and describe main features of adolescent communication and then to form a grounded hypothesis about psychological features of modern teenagers.

To study the contents and main themes of adolescent communication we have developed a projective technique, called 'Remake'. During the application of this technique teenagers retake the old Soviet film dedicated to their peers. This technique enables the discussion of important themes for teenagers and allows to identify the most important features.

To examine the contents and characteristics of communication between adolescents in social networks quantitative and qualitative methods were applied. First, we have conducted semi-structured interviews with adolescents. And secondly, we developed a questionnaire containing questions regarding the frequency, duration, content of communication, preferred topics and number of friends in social networks.

Empirical base of research: In the first stage of the research (conducted using projective techniques "Remake") N adolescents aged N years participated. In the second phase of a study on social networking, interviews were held with 10 adolescents aged 13-17 years. Using standardized questionnaires were interviewed another 252 of adolescents aged 12-16 years, students of 6th grade and 9th grade.

Results of research: During the implementation of the two stages of the research the following results were obtained. Key topics of real communication among adolescents are topics of mutual aggression arising during the discussion of intimacy. The main content of communication between adolescents remains a topic of boundaries between personal and public. Themes of bullying, blackmail, betrayal, etc. are correlated to the violation of the border of "Me" or "We". Thus, projective empirical study allowed us to remove the limitations associated with secrecy and censorship of adolescent communication with adults.

Age dynamics of social networks use by adolescents and active usage of social networks for self-identification/self-presentation are detected. It is shown that self-presentation in social networks has huge potential for self-exploration and self-transformation because of technical possibilities. The adolescents' self-presentation in social networks captures new images of "Me", the history of relations between friends and mutual preferences. Age dynamics of the relationships between adolescents and parents was identified. This dynamic comes from adolescent openness to greater secrecy of feelings.

Level of implementation,  recommendations on implementation or outcomes of the implementation of the results

The obtained results can be used to design new methodological tools for the study of adolescents. The results of the study can enrich courses of Developmental psychology and pedagogy, as well as to be useful for the development of recommendations on the organization of project activities among schoolchildren. On the basis of data about the use of social media guidelines for schools can be developed.

Publications:


Polivanova K. N. The new reality of adolescent peer interaction: Introduction of a new Instrument / NRU HSE. Series WP IE "Научные доклады Института образования". 2015.
Polivanova K. N. Historical Crisis of Childhood. 35 Years Later // Journal of Siberian Federal University. Series: Humanities & Social Sciences. 2014. Vol. 7. No. 12. P. 2166-2172.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Современное детство: новая реальность подросткового общения

Приоритетные направления развития: гуманитарные науки
2014

Цель работы: выявить и эмпирически описать точки отличий общения подростков со сверстниками; сформулировать на основании этих данных обоснованные гипотезы относительно психологических особенностей современных подростков.

Используемые методы: В работе были применены методы как качественного, так и количественного исследования.

Содержание взаимодействия подростков в реальном общении изучались с помощью специально разработанной методики «Ремейк», основанной на проективном методе. Методика состоит в организации трехнедельной деятельности подростков по созданию современной версии старого советского фильма о подростках. Разработанная программа деятельности подростков позволила активизировать обсуждение реалий жизни подростков конца 60-х и выявить материал и содержание общения современных школьников.

Содержание и характеристики общения подростков в социальных сетях изучалось количественными и качественными методами: проведены полуструктурированные интервью с подростками, разработана анкета, содержащая вопросы относительно частоты, продолжительности, содержания общения, предпочитаемых темах, числа друзей и частоты обновления их состава.

Эмпирическая база исследования: В первом этапе исследования, проводимого при помощи проективной методики «Ремейк», приняли участие N подростков в возрасте N –N лет. Во втором этапе исследования, посвященном общению в социальных сетях, было проинтервьюировано 10 подростков в возрасте 13-17 лет и опрошено при помощи анкеты еще 252 подростка в возрасте 12-16 лет, обучающиеся в 6-х и 9-х классах.

Результаты работы: В ходе реализации двух этапов исследования были получены следующие результаты. Ключевыми темами реального общения оказываются (по содержанию) темы взаимной агрессии на материале обсуждения интимности. Внутренними содержанием общения остается тема граничности личного и публичного, а заявленные темы травли, шантажа, предательства и т.д. объединяются вокруг нарушения границы «Я» или «мы». Таким образом, качественное проективное эмпирическое исследование позволило снять ограничения, связанные с цензурированностью подростковой продукции, адресованной взрослому, и выявить как материал (интимность, взаимная агрессия), так и содержание общения – граничность личного и публичного.

Обнаружена возрастная динамика использования социальных сетей подростками, активное использование пространства соцсетей для самопрезентации. Показано, что самопрезентация в соцсетях в силу технических возможностей обладает огромным потенциалом самоисследования и самоизменения, поскольку фиксирует как новые образы «Я», так и историю отношений между подростками, используя фиксацию взаимных предпочтений, сближений или отдалений. Также выявлена возрастная динамика отношений  подростков с родителями: от открытости к все большей закрытости собственных переживаний.

Степень внедрения, рекомендации по внедрению или итоги внедрения результатов НИР

Полученные результаты могут использоваться как основание проектирования и разработки новых методических средств изучения психолого-педагогических характеристик школьников основной и старшей школы, должны войти в курсы возрастной психологии и педагогики,  а также рекомендаций по организации проектной деятельности школьников.

Данные по соцсетям необходимы для проектирования их использования в образовательном процессе основной школы.

Публикации по проекту:


Polivanova K. N. The new reality of adolescent peer interaction: Introduction of a new Instrument / NRU HSE. Series WP IE "Научные доклады Института образования". 2015.
Polivanova K. N. Historical Crisis of Childhood. 35 Years Later // Journal of Siberian Federal University. Series: Humanities & Social Sciences. 2014. Vol. 7. No. 12. P. 2166-2172.