• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Monitoring of civil society

Priority areas of development: sociology
2014
Department: Centre for Studies of Civil Society and Non-Profit Sector
The project has been carried out as part of the HSE Program of Fundamental Studies.

Goal of research: to evaluate current position of social society for development and applying of state policy to support and evolve its institutions, NCOs particularly, provide full, authoritative and regularly updated information needed for analysis and prediction of development of civil society in Russia to those actors who are interested in it. 

Subject of research:

  • population of Russia and different social groups;
  • noncommercial non-state organizations (NCO);
  • members, militants, volunteers, employees, heads of NCO;
  • other actors of civil society in our country.

Tasks of research:

  • system identification of monitored object;
  • creating of data base of indicators of current position of civil society in Russia;
  • preparation of analytical materials that could as well explain processes of russian civil society as describe empirical data about the current position of civil society in Russia
  • modeling and prediction of ways to develop civil society in Russia.

Used methods:

 

  • analysis of findings of theoretical and empirical, Russian and foreign investigations;
  • collecting of empirical data using sociological methods (surveys, interviews, focus group).
  • analysis and generalization of empirical data based on principles of historicism, comparative historical, comparative legal and formal-legal methods
  • mathematical methods of data analysis (in particular ANOVA, factor analysis, cluster analysis (hierarchic, K-means), regression analysis, including multiple regression, binary logistic regression, TOBIT и HECKMAN regression, CHAID-analysis, etc.);

 

Empirical base of research:

  • results of the previous rounds of studies on NPOs and on Russian civil society, conducted by the HSE Centre for Studies of Civil Society and the Nonprofit Sector during the 2009-2013;
  • The mass Russian population survey on the subject “Donations and mutual aid in modern society”. Information was collected through structured interviews at the places of respondents’ residence. 2000 respondents older than 18 years old were questioned in 43 subjects of the Russian Federation. Multi-level stratified territorial random sample was used. Statistical error of obtained data is not higher than 3,3%.
  • The mass Russian population survey on the subject “Motivation of volunteering”. Information was collected through structured interviews at the places of respondents’ residence. 2000 respondents older than 18 years old were questioned in 43 subjects of the Russian Federation. Multi-level stratified territorial random sample was used. Statistical error of obtained data is not higher than 3,3%.
  • The mass Russian population survey on the subject «Social activity of population” . Information was collected through structured interviews according to special plan. Sample consists of 2000 respondents selected according to socio-demographic characteristics represented Russian adults according to sex, age and type of residence. Statistical error of obtained data is not higher than 3,3%. Each interview was conducted using structured questionnaire. The choice of regions id based on stratified sample that provides equal contribution of every region in final materials of research.
  • Russian representative survey of NGO leaders. The sample size was 1000 NGOs. The program of studies and tools developed by IV Mersiyanova and LI Jacobson. The survey was conducted in 33 regions of Russia by quota sampling, using representative quotas on organizational and legal forms and year of registration of NGOs. In accordance with the set quotas interviewed leaders of organizations located in urban districts, towns and other municipalities in the territory of 33 subjects of the Russian Federation.

Results of research:

New empirical data about the current position of civil society in Russia is obtained as a result of the research, methodology of monitoring investigations of civil society in its different aspects is specified, theoretical conceptions explained processes of civil society are developed.

a) in theoretical area:

  • taking into account psychological characteristics such as personal features, values, general beliefs and special preferences; emotional spectrum (including variety of emotions, ability to control emotions, personal level of happiness or depressiveness); goal-setting (including orientation on participation in formal or informal volunteering or other kinds of social activity: social, entertaining, religious; intelligence level (in particular level of verbal, social and emotional intelligence); cognitive abilities (in particular knowledge about formal and informal volunteering, NCO, civic intiative and associations, nonprofit sector); the level of consciousness (including self-control, will power, ability to overcome negative influence, self-esteem) theoretical conception of research of volunteers’ motivation is developed.

b) in methodological area:

  • methodology of monitoring research of civil society in its different aspects is specified.

c) in the area of obtaining new empirical information

  • features of volunteers’ motivation including personal characteristics, values, general beliefs and special preferences, emotional spectrum, goal-setting, intelligence level, cognitive abilities, the level of consciousness are founded out;
  • characteristics of participation of Russians in donations using methodology comparable to methodology of the project “Giving in the Netherlands Panel Survey” are observed;
  • degree of Russians’ readiness to participate in social activity is analyzed;
  • features of social activity in different sociodemographic and professional groups and also factors and psychological barriers prevented self-organizing and engagement in social activity are observed;
  • characteristics of Russians’ engagement in ethic consumption are founded out;
  • data base of groups of indicators (about 130) gave opportunity to have dynamic observations of civil society is obtained.
  • factors influenced on engagement of elderly Russians in volunteering are observed;
  • NCO’s opportunities to be a “school of democracy” for their members are analyzed.

Level of implementation, recommendations on implementation or outcomes of the implementation of the results

Monitoring of civil society gives opportunity to make valid conclusions about the main parameters of civil society and nonprofit sector, support empirical base including interregional and intertemporal comparisons and also predict the development of institutions of civil society.

Materials of current research were used:

  • for the preparation of informative analytical bulletin about the development of civil society and nonprofit sector in Russia that is edited by the Center for Studies of Civil Society and the Nonprofit Sector NRU HSE.
  • for the summer school “Theoretical and empirical researches of social innovations as a factor of development of civil society, nonprofit sector and volunteering” conducted by the Center for Studies of Civil Society and the Nonprofit Sector NRU HSE on summer 2014.

The significance of study results are that they can be used in:

  • government and municipal management in the development of concepts of federal, regional and municipal level programs and in legal acts in the field of development and support for the civic engagement and feasibility of non-profit organizations;
  • in the training of staff in government and municipal management;
  • in the curricula of educational institutions of different fields, including NPO management, government and municipal management, in the frame of staff qualification courses for government municipal management.

Publications:


Якобсон Л. И. "Школа демократии": формирование "гражданских добродетелей" // Общественные науки и современность. 2014. № 1. С. 93-106.
Якобсон Л. И. Выступают ли российские НКО в роли «школы демократии»? // В кн.: XIV Апрельская международная научная конференция по проблемам развития экономики и общества: в 4-х книгах. Книга 2 / Отв. ред.: Е. Г. Ясин. М. : Издательский дом НИУ ВШЭ, 2014. С. 471-480.
Mersiyanova I. V., Kononykhina O., Sokolowski W., Salamon L. M. RUSSIA, in: Social Origins of Civil Society. , 2015.
Krasnopolskaya I. Corporate Volunteering And Its Influence On Employee Civil Engagement In Russia / NRU Higher School of Economics. Series SOC "Sociology". 2014.
Мерсиянова И. В. Отношения доверия и недоверия в практиках гражданского общества в России С. 399-409.
Mersiyanova I. V., Ivanova N., Korneeva I. Russians’ participation in cash donations: factors and level of involvement / NRU Higher School of Economics. Series SOC "Sociology". 2014. No. 53/SOC/2014.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Мониторинг состояния гражданского общества

Приоритетные направления развития: социология
2014

Цель исследования состоит в оценке текущего состояния гражданского общества для разработки и реализации политики государства в области поддержки и развития его институтов, в частности, негосударственных некоммерческих организаций, обеспечения заинтересованных сторон актуальной, полной, достоверной и регулярно обновляемой информацией, необходимой для анализа и прогноза развития гражданского общества в России.

Объект исследования:

 

  • население России и его отдельные социальные группы;
  • некоммерческие негосударственные (немуниципальные) организации (НКО);
  • члены, активисты, волонтеры, сотрудники, руководители НКО;
  • другие акторы гражданского общества в нашей стране.

 

Задачи исследования:

  • системная идентификация предмета мониторинга;
  • создание информационной базы по показателям текущего состояния гражданского общества в России;
  • подготовка аналитических материалов, как имеющих теоретический объяснительный потенциал для процессов российского гражданского общества, так и описывающих эмпирические данные о текущем состоянии гражданского общества в России;
  • моделирование и прогнозирование сценариев развития гражданского общества в России.

Использованные методы:

  • анализ результатов теоретических и эмпирических российских и зарубежных исследований;
  • сбор эмпирических данных социологическими методами (опросы, глубинные интервью, фокус-группы).
  • анализ и обобщение эмпирических данных с опорой на принципы историзма, сравнительно-исторические, сравнительно-правовые и формально-юридические методы;
  • математические методы анализа данных (в частности дисперсионный анализ, факторный анализ, кластерный анализ (иерархический, методом K-means), регрессионный анализ, в том числе множественная регрессия, бинарная логистическая регрессия, модели усеченного выбора (TOBIT и HECKMAN регрессия), CHAID-анализ и др.);

Эмпирическая база исследования:

  • Результаты предшествующих исследований российского гражданского общества и некоммерческого сектора, проведенных Центром исследований гражданского общества и некоммерческого сектора НИУ ВШЭ в 2009-2013 годах;
  • Всероссийский репрезентативный опрос населения по теме: «Денежные пожертвования и взаимопомощь в современном обществе». Объем выборки составил 2000 в возрасте от 18 лет и старше. Сбор информации был осуществлен методом формализованного интервью по месту жительства респондентов в 43 субъектах Российской Федерации. Использовалась многоступенчатая стратифицированная территориальная случайная выборка. Статистическая погрешность полученных данных не превышает 3,3%.
  • Всероссийский репрезентативный опрос населения по теме: «Мотивация волонтерской деятельности». Объем выборки составил 2000 в возрасте от 18 лет и старше. Сбор информации был осуществлен методом формализованного интервью по месту жительства респондентов в 43 субъектах Российской Федерации. Использовалась многоступенчатая стратифицированная территориальная случайная выборка. Статистическая погрешность полученных данных не превышает 3,3%.
  • Всероссийский репрезентативный опрос населения по теме: «Общественная активность населения». Объем выборки составил 2000 в возрасте от 18 лет и старше. Сбор информации был осуществлен методом формализованного интервью по месту жительства респондентов в 43 субъектах Российской Федерации. Использовалась многоступенчатая стратифицированная территориальная случайная выборка. Статистическая погрешность полученных данных не превышает 3,3%.
  • Всероссийский репрезентативный опрос руководителей НКО. Объем выборки составил 1000 НКО. Программа исследования и инструментарий разработаны И.В. Мерсияновой и Л.И. Якобсоном. Опрос проводился в 33 субъектах РФ по квотной выборке, с использованием репрезентативных квот по организационно-правовым формам и годам регистрации НКО. В соответствии с заданными квотами опрашивались руководители организаций, расположенных в городских округах, городских поселениях и иных муниципальных образованиях на территории 33 субъектов РФ.

Результаты работы:

В результате исследования получены новые эмпирические данные о текущем состоянии гражданского общества в России, уточнена методология проведения мониторинговых исследований гражданского общества в его отдельных проекциях, разработаны теоретические концепции, объясняющие процессы гражданского общества.

a) В области теории:

  • разработана теоретическая концепция исследования мотивации волонтеров с учетом психологических характеристик, таких как личностные особенности, ценности, общее мировоззрение и специфические предпочтения; эмоциональный спектр (включая разнообразие эмоций, способность контролировать эмоции, личностный уровень счастья или депрессивности); целеполагание (включая склонность участвовать в неформальном или формально организованном волонтерстве или заниматься иными видами общественной деятельности – социальной, досуговой, религиозной); интеллектуальный уровень (в частности, уровень вербального интеллекта, а также социального и эмоционального интеллекта); когнитивные возможности (в частности, представления о неформальном и формально организованном волонтерстве, НКО, гражданских инициативах и ассоциациях, некоммерческом секторе); степень самосознания (в том числе, степень самоконтроля, сила воли, способность противостоять негативным воздействиям, самоуважение).

b) В области методологии:

  • уточнена методология проведения мониторинговых исследований гражданского общества в его отдельных проекциях.

c) В области получения новых эмпирических знаний

  • выявлены особенности мотивационного комплекса волонтеров с учетом личностных особенностей, ценностей, общего мировоззрения и специфических предпочтений, эмоционального спектра, целеполагания, интеллектуального уровня, когнитивных возможностей, степени самосознания;
  • выявлены характеристики участия россиян в денежных пожертвованиях по методике, сопоставимой с методикой голландского исследовательского проекта «Пожертвования в Голландии: панельное исследование» (Giving in the Netherlands Panel Survey);
  • выполнен анализ различной детерминации готовности россиян к общественной (социальной) активности;
  • выявлены особенности общественной активности в различных социально-демографических и социально-профессиональных группах, а также факторы и психологические барьеры, препятствующие самоорганизации и вовлечению в общественную активность;
  • выявлены особенности вовлеченности россиян в этичное потребление;
  • получена информационная база по группе показателей (порядка 130), позволяющей проводить динамические наблюдения за состоянием гражданского общества.
  • выявлены факторы, влияющие на вовлеченность пожилых россиян в добровольческую работу;
  • проанализированы возможности некоммерческих организаций выступать в качестве «школы обучения демократии» для участвующих в их деятельности.

Степень внедрения, рекомендации по внедрению или итоги внедрения результатов НИР

Мониторинг состояния гражданского общества  позволяет обоснованно судить об основных параметрах гражданского общества и третьего сектора, поддерживать эмпирическую  базу, в том числе для межрегиональных и межвременных сопоставлений, а также для прогнозирования развития институтов гражданского общества.

Материалы данного исследования использовались:

  • для подготовки информационно-аналитического бюллетеня о развитии гражданского общества и некоммерческого сектора в РФ, выпускаемого Центром исследований гражданского общества и некоммерческого сектора НИУ ВШЭ;
  • для проведения летней школы «Теоретические и эмпирические исследования социальных инноваций как фактора развития гражданского общества, третьего сектора и волонтерской деятельности», проведенной Центром исследований гражданского общества и некоммерческого сектора НИУ ВШЭ летом 2014 года.
Практическая значимость результатов исследования заключается в том, что они могут быть использованы:
  • в практике государственного и муниципального управления при разработке концепций, федеральных, региональных и муниципальных программ и нормативно-правовых актов в области развития и поддержки гражданского участия и работы некоммерческих организаций;
  • в процессе подготовки кадров государственного и муниципального управления;
  • в программах учебных заведений различной профессиональной направленности, в том числе по менеджменту НКО, государственному и муниципальному управлению, в программах курсов повышения квалификации кадров государственного и муниципального управления.

Публикации по проекту:


Якобсон Л. И. "Школа демократии": формирование "гражданских добродетелей" // Общественные науки и современность. 2014. № 1. С. 93-106.
Якобсон Л. И. Выступают ли российские НКО в роли «школы демократии»? // В кн.: XIV Апрельская международная научная конференция по проблемам развития экономики и общества: в 4-х книгах. Книга 2 / Отв. ред.: Е. Г. Ясин. М. : Издательский дом НИУ ВШЭ, 2014. С. 471-480.
Mersiyanova I. V., Kononykhina O., Sokolowski W., Salamon L. M. RUSSIA, in: Social Origins of Civil Society. , 2015.
Krasnopolskaya I. Corporate Volunteering And Its Influence On Employee Civil Engagement In Russia / NRU Higher School of Economics. Series SOC "Sociology". 2014.
Мерсиянова И. В. Отношения доверия и недоверия в практиках гражданского общества в России С. 399-409.
Mersiyanova I. V., Ivanova N., Korneeva I. Russians’ participation in cash donations: factors and level of involvement / NRU Higher School of Economics. Series SOC "Sociology". 2014. No. 53/SOC/2014.