• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site
National Research University Higher School of EconomicsResearch projectsSocial capital of the Russian society and its impact on the economy: Structure, functions and evaluation methods

Social capital of the Russian society and its impact on the economy: Structure, functions and evaluation methods

2007

The purpose of this project was to develop the structure of social capital and methods of its evaluation and to test these methods in pilot studies of Russian samples.

Relevance of the notion of  social capital is related to two trends in social sciences. On the one hand, it has become another form of so-called economic intervention, i.e. the wide and not always justified spread of economic theory terminology and concepts into other sciences and fields of study. On the other hand, it perfectly complies with the need for inter-disciplinary analysis of political and socio-cultural factors of economic efficiency. 

The uniqueness of this research is attributed to the fact that until now Russian social psychology has not had complex, theoretically justified empiric studies of social capital, underlying cultural factors, and its interrelation with the economic and political social perceptions of people. In our research, we propose a new socio-psychological approach to the structure and evaluation of social capital.  

To reach this goal, we have focused on the following tasks:

  1. To develop a theoretical concept of social capital structure; to integrate sociological, psychological, and economic approaches to measuring social capital;
  2. To develop and test the tools of social capital evaluation;
  3. To evaluate social capital in Russia at the moment and to compare social capital of different age and ethnic groups.

Analysis of theoretical and empirical works on the issues of social capital by economists, sociologists, social psychologists has revealed that from the socio-psychological point of view, elements of organizational social capital can be divided into two major groups: content and formal-dynamic (structural). Content elements are a set of psychological images, regulating social exchange. Structural components characterize formal-dynamic aspects of objective inter-personal and inter-group interaction.

The core of the social capital is trust. When studying social capital, it is important to evaluate inter-personal trust, intra-group trust, inter-group trust (between co-workers and management, between different units and groups), trust in organization as a whole, trust in partners and clients (the so-called extra-organization trust) as well as institutional trust (trust in various social institutes).

The empirical study showed that the level of inter-personal trust is quite low among Russians at the moment. It has remained virtually unchanged for the last 15 years. Institutional trust is stronger among the youth than among the elderly; it is also higher in the center of Russia than in the periphery. Overall, we conclude that social capital indicators are rather poor in modern Russia, which may hinder economic development.

Using regression analysis, we have detected interrelations between social capital and socio-economic suggestions of the Russians. The strongest tie to productive economic suggestions is demonstrated by such social capital dimensions as institutional trust level, civil identity positivity, and the strength (intensity) of civil identity. The level of inter-personal trust is related to the economic paternalism approach.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта
Национальный исследовательский университет «Высшая школа экономики»Исследовательские проектыСоциальный капитал российского общества и его влияние на экономику: структура, функции, методы оценки

Социальный капитал российского общества и его влияние на экономику: структура, функции, методы оценки

2007


Цель проекта заключалась в теоретической разработке структуры социального капитала, методик его оценки и апробации данных методик в пилотажных исследованиях на российских выборках.

Востребованность понятия «социальный капитал» связана с двумя тенденциями в социальных науках. С одной стороны, оно явилось еще одной формой так называемой «экономической интервенции», то есть широкого и не всегда оправданного распространения терминологии и концепций экономической теории на другие науки; с другой стороны, оно как нельзя лучше отвечает необходимости междисциплинарного анализа политических и социокультурных факторов эффективности экономики. 

Новизна исследования связана с тем, что до настоящего времени в отечественной социальной психологии не было комплексных, теоретически обоснованных эмпирических исследований социального капитала, культурных факторов, лежащих в его основе и его взаимосвязей с экономическими и политическими социальными представлениями граждан. В своем исследовании мы предлагаем новый, социально-психологический подход к структуре и оценке социального капитала.  

Для реализации поставленной цели в рамках проекта решались следующие задачи:

  1. разработка теоретической концепции структуры социального капитала; интеграция социологического, психологического, экономического подходов к измерению социального капитала;
  2. разработка и апробация инструментария оценки социального капитала;
  3. оценка социального капитала в России в настоящий момент, сопоставление социального каптала представителей различных возрастных и этнических групп.

Анализ теоретических эмпирических работ по проблематике социального капитала в работах экономистов, социологов, социальных психологов, показал следующее.  С социально-психологической точки зрения, компоненты социального капитала организации можно объединить в две основных группы: содержательные и формально-динамические (структурные). Содержательные компоненты представляют собой совокупность психологических образов, регулирующих социальный обмен.  Структурные компоненты характеризуют формально-динамические аспекты объективного межличностного и межгруппового взаимодействия.

 «Ядром» социального капитала является доверие.  При изучении социального капитала важно оценивать межличностное доверие, внутригрупповое доверие, доверие межгрупповое (между сотрудниками и руководством, между сотрудниками разных подразделений и групп), доверие к организации в целом, доверие к партнерам и клиентам (так называемое внешнеорганизационное доверие), а также институциональное доверие (доверие к различным социальным институтам).

Проведенное эмпирическое исследование показало, что уровень межличностного доверия в настоящее время у россиян довольно низок. Он практически не изменился за последние 15 лет. Уровень институционального доверия выше у молодежи, чем у старшего поколения; у жителей центра России он также выше, чем у жителей регионов. В целом можно сказать, что показатели социального капитала в современной России довольно низкие, что может затруднять экономическое развитие.

С помощью регрессионного анализа выявлены взаимосвязи социального капитала с социально-экономическими установками россиян. Наибольшую взаимосвязь с продуктивными экономическими установками демонстрируют такие измерения социального капитала как уровень институционального доверия, позитивность гражданской идентичности и сила (выраженность) гражданской идентичности. Уровень межличностного доверия связан с установками на экономический патернализм.