• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Northern Caucasus: aspects of linguistic and ethnic diversity

Priority areas of development: humanitarian
2015
Department: Laboratory of the Caucasian Languages
The project has been carried out as part of the HSE Program of Fundamental Studies.

Goals of the project: Within the project, we study language structures and genetic diversity of various ethnic groups in the Caucasus, including: genetics studies of Tabasarans within their historical settlement area; online phonetic dictionaries of the minority languages of the Northern Caucasus; synchronic studies in various domains of morphology and syntax of the languages of the Caucasus as well as their diachronic analysis; studying of various sociolinguistic aspects of the language situation – collecting data on multilingualism and language convergence.

Collection of empirical data included:

  • collection and analysis of genetic samples from various locations in Daghestan, controlled for kin relations and affiliation of the donor with one of the patrilineal clans;
  • collection of sociolinguistic data (multilingualism questionnaires, lists of lexical and structural borrowings and other);
  • documentation of minority languages;
  • fieldwork and corpus-based collection of grammatical data.

Methods used

The project uses linguistic proper, sociolinguistic and genetic methods of data analysis. Linguistic methods stricto sensu include corpus-based studies and comparative diachronic and synchronic analysis of the grammar. The study of the semantics of localization markers is based on the classification proposed by Dmitri Ganenkov (Ganenkov 2008, 2010). Studying language situation in Daghestan is based on collecting sociolinguistic questionnaires focused on multilingualism (Dobrushina 2013). Sociolinguistic methods thus include interviewing our respondents about  historical patterns of multilingualism in Daghestan through eliciting family histories of bilingualism. Genetic methods are focused on patrilineal kinship and thus only include genetic material from Y-DNA; we use the same panel of 20 microsatellite sequences to determine patrilineal connections between our donors.

Empiricaldata

As a multidisciplinary project, we use data of diverse nature. Genetic research is based on genetic samples obtained from male donors (the analysis being limited to Y-DNA, as explained above). Another source of the data is our fieldwork and corpora; these are data on morphology and syntax of the languages in the area. We also collect wordlists from the same languages, both to establish mutual distances between the languages and to determine the intensity of language contact. Finally, the main source of empirical data on multilingualism are oral interviews with highlanders.

Outcomes

During 2015, the following outcomes were obtained.

We have carried out a research of diachronic change in the strategies of infinitival complementation in Udi languages (from Caucasian Albanian, the ancestral language, to the modern dialects). We have considered three matrix predicates, ‘know, be able’, ‘start’ and ‘want’ – together with subordination strategies they allow. The research is based on the textual data available for these languages. Diachronically, these data show that both morphosyntactic and lexical changes in these constructions comply with the Complement Deranking Hierarchy (Cristofaro 2003).

We have analyzed the semantics of the locative marker -q- in Andi, Akhvakh, Godoberi and Chamalal. The meaning of this morpheme is usually defined as Apud. However, the examples of the uses given by the authors suggest that this does not reflect the true or the full range of the uses of the morpheme. Grammars do not provide evidence sufficient to suggest an alternative analysis. For Akhvakh, Andi and Godoberi dictionary have been used as sources. For Andi, we have also used the data collected during the fieldtrip of 2015 to the villages of Zilo and Rikwani, Botlikh district of the Republic of Daghestan. Basing on these data, we provide an analysis of the semantics of this localization suggesting that its spatial uses are transitional from Apud to prolative.

Also during the fieldtrip, we have collected preliminary data on the uses of the existential particle ži in the Rikwani dialect of Andi. Unlike the morphology of the Andic languages, their syntax has been poorly studied (the exceptions are Akhvakh, with a series of articles by Denis Creissels, and Bagvalal, described in detail by Aleksandr Kibrik and his team, as well as Godoberi, closely related to Andi and described by the same authors). Our data were collected through elicitation as based on typological studies of the copular constructions in the languages of the world.

We have collected data on and described the lexical domain of temperature in modern Eastern Armenian. The research was made within the methodological framework of lexical typology and based on corpus data. Eastern Armenian has adjectival terms for tactile temperature, verbal terms for personal temperature and nominal terms for ambient temperature. As shown in the study, this part-of-speech distribution has non-trivial correlates in derivational morphology. Although the hot domain is more lexically diversified, with a long list of non-derived nouns and adjectives and a special class of ‘fire temperatures’ (in addition to the better attested crosslinguistically tactile and personal and ambient temperatures), corpus statistics (in www.eanc.net) indicate that Eastern Armenian has a neatly articulated triangular system with one lexical item dominating the hot domain, both tactile and ambient, while it is in the cold domain that it has two almost equally frequent lexical items more or less specialized in tactile vs. ambient domain. A brief survey of temperature terms shows that only few of the words currently used for temperature have robust Indo-European etymologies. New words, often of unknown descent, appear in the language, some of them ousting the previously dominant lexical item for ‘hot’ into metaphorical domain.

A vast amount of audiodata, coming from the villages of Mehweb, Tsukhta, Balkhar and Rikwani, has been processed and annotated. The files have been annotated in Praat using Praat scripting language. The final objective is building a phonetic database of East Caucasian stops. A systematic instrumental acoustic analysis of the sound inventory of East Caucasian languages, one of the richest in the world, has never been done before. With some exceptions, the detailed analysis of these inventories in (Kibrik, Kodzasov 1990) is mostly based on perceptual analysis. The results and the design of the research have been discussed with Ian Maddieson, an outstanding phonetician, professor of the universities of Berkeley and Albuquerque, during his visit to HSE this Fall. We are discussing possible ways of his further participation in the project.

We have studied multilingualism in three clusters of villages in highland Daghestan. The first cluster includes the villages of Shangoda, Uri and Mukar, whose inhabitants speak Avar and Lak. The second cluster includes the villages of Rikwani, Zilo and Kizhani, whose inhabitants speak Andi and Avar; historically, Chechen was also present here. The third cluster includes Quli, Balxar, Culikana and Shukty in Akusha district. Shukta speaks Dargwa, while the other three villages speak Lak as the first language. Multilingualism in Daghestan has not been made subject to quantitative analysis outside the research done by Nina Dobrushina.

Daghestanian have a very clear idea of who belongs to which patrilineal clan, even when they are unaware of the exact family relationship between each clan member. We conducted a study aiming at a comparison of this social knowledge with the real genetic affiliation as seen through the data in our genetic samples. We considered the minimal number of evolutionary events necessary for transition between the observed sequences of loci in individuals as genetic distances between individuals and compared these distances pair-wise within clans, between clans and between villages. Statistically, the difference between the first set of pairs (within clans), on the one hand, and the second and third set of pairs (between clans and between villages), on the other, is highly significant and clearly supports the social idea of affiliation of individuals with patrilineal clans.

Publications:


Valency classes in the World's languages / Ed. by B. Comrie, A. Malchukov. Berlin : De Gruyter Mouton, 2015.
Daniel M., Khurshudian V. Valency Classes in Eastern Armenian, in: Valency classes in the World's languages / Ed. by B. Comrie, A. Malchukov. Berlin : De Gruyter Mouton, 2015. P. 483-540.
Ganenkov D. Infinitival Complementation from Caucasian Albanian to Modern Udi // Journal of Historical Linguistics. 2015. Vol. 5. No. 1. P. 110-138. doi
Чечуро И. Ю. Семантика локализации -q- в андийских языках // В кн.: Сборник научных статей по материалам Четвертой конференции-школы «Проблемы языка: взгляд молодых ученых». [б.и.], 2015. С. 297-311.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Северный Кавказ: аспекты языковой и этнической плотности

Приоритетные направления развития: гуманитарные науки
2015

Цель исследования: В ходе проекта осуществляется анализ различных аспектов лингвистических структур и генетического разнообразия этнических групп народов Кавказа. Речь идет о генетических исследованиях табасаранцев в зоне исконного проживания; о создании фонетических словарей по языкам  Северного Кавказа; об исследовании синхронного состояния различных фрагментов морфологии и синтаксиса нахско-дагестанских языков и их реконструкции в диахронии. Кроме того, было продолжено изучение различных социолингвистических аспектов языковой ситуации – сбор данных по многоязычию и языковой конвергенции.

Задачи исследования включают сбор и анализ генетического материала из различных зон исконного проживания этнических групп Дагестана (с контролем родственных отношений и принадлежности доноров к тому или иному патрилинейному клану - тухуму); сбор социолингвистических данных (анкет по многоязычию, данных по лексическим и структурным заимствованиям); документирование малых языков; полевую и корпусную работу по сбору грамматических данных.

Используемые методы:

В проекте используются собственно лингвистические, социолингвистические и генетические методы анализа данных. К анализу собственно языковых данных относятся методы корпусного анализа (corpus-based), сопоставительного диахронического и синхронного анализа грамматики. Исследование семантики локативных показателей в нахско-дагестанских языках опирается на предложенный в работах Д.С. Ганенкова анализ и классификацию употреблений локативных показателей в нахско-дагестанских языках (Ганенков 2005, Ganenkov 2008, 2010). Исследование языковой ситуации в Дагестане осуществляется путем сбора социолингвистических анкет по многоязычию (Dobrushina 2013). Социолингвистические методы, таким образом, включают анкетирование информантов и направлены на выявление традиционных паттернов многоязычия в Дагестане. Генетические методы анализа направлены на анализ патрилинейного родства и поэтому включают генетический материал только Y-хромосомы. Использована отработанная ранее методика, использующую панель из 20 микросателлитных последовательностей на Y-хромосоме для определения родства по мужской линии.

Эмпирическая база исследования:

Будучи междисциплинарным, проект опирается на эмпирические данные существенно различной природы. С одной стороны, базу генетических исследований составляет генетический материал, полученный от доноров-мужчин (мы осуществляем анализ локусов на Y-хромосоме). С другой стороны, нашим материалом являются различные полевые и корпусные данные по грамматике – морфологии и синтаксису – языков Кавказа. С третьей стороны, в ходе работы собираются словники этих языков – как для установления взаимной дистанции языков, так и, наоборот, для определения уровня интенсивности языковых контактов. Наконец, основным источником эмпирических данных являются устные интервью с жителями горного Дагестана.

Результаты работы:

В течение 2015 г. были получены следующие конкретные результаты.

Проведено исследование диахронических изменений в стратегии присоединения придаточных в форме инфинитивного дополнения в удинских языках (от их исторического предка, кавказского албанского, до современных диалектов). Рассматриваются три матричных предиката – «уметь, мочь», «начинать» и «хотеть» - и характерные для каждого из них стратегии подчинения. В качестве материала для анализа используются доступные текстовые материалы. С диахронической точки зрения данные, проанализированные в ходе работы, позволяют заключить, что как морфосинтаксические, так и лексические изменения в конструкциях соответствуют Complement Deranking Hierarchy (Cristofaro 2003).

Проведен сопоставительный анализ семантики локативной морфемы -q- в андийском, ахвахском, годоберинском и чамалинском языках. Традиционно значение этой морфемы описывается как "около", однако примеры употреблений, приводимые авторами, говорят о том, что такое описание не соответствует её истинному значению. При этом материалов, на основании которых можно было бы интерпретировать реальные использования морфемы, в грамматиках эти языков недостаточно. Для ахвахского, андийского и годоберинского языков использованы словарные источники. Для андийского языка также использовались данные, собранные в ходе экспедиции 2015 года в села Зило и Риквани Республики Дагестан. Основываясь на этих данных, была проанализирована семантика данной локализации в этих языках и сделан вывод о том, что ее локативные употребления для разных языков в целом могут быть описаны как находящиеся в промежуточной стадии эволюции от "около" к пролативу.

Также в ходе полевой работы получены предварительные результаты исследования употреблений экзистенциальной частицы ži в рикванинском говоре андийского языка. В отличие от морфологии андийских языков, их синтаксис мало изучен (исключения составляют ахвахский язык с серией публикаций Д. Крейселя, багвалинский язык, подробно описанный А.Е. Кибриком и его коллегами, а также, в меньшей степени, близкий к андийскому годоберинский язык, описанный тем же коллективом авторов). Данные собирались методом анкетирования с опорой на работы по типологии связочных предикаций в языках мира.

Собраны и систематизированы данные о выражении концептов температуры в восточноармянском языке. Исследование проведено в рамках лексико-типологического описания с опорой на корпусные данные. В восточноармянском языке существуют адъективные термины для обозначения тактильной температуры, глагольные термины для обозначения личной температуры и именные термины для обозначения температуры окружающей среды. Это распределение по частям речи имеет нетривиальные корреляты в словообразовательной морфологии. Несмотря на то, что область горячих температур более лексически разнородна, с большим числом непроизводных существительных и прилагательных и особым классом «температур огня» (кроме более известных типологически тактильных и персональных температур и температур воздуха), статистика корпуса (www.eanc.net) показывает, что армянский язык имеет отчетливую треугольную систему с лишь одним словом, обозначающим горячую температуру для тактильной зоны и зоны окружающей среды, в то время как область холодных температур делится на почти одинаковые по частотности лексемы, обозначающие тактильную температуру и температуру воздуха. Краткий обзор этимологии температурных терминов показал, что лишь для немногих слов надёжно прослеживаются протоиндоевропейские корни. Новые слова, зачастую неизвестного происхождения, вытесняют ранее основное обозначение горячего в метафорический домен.

Был обработан большой массив звуковых файлов, записанных в сёлах Мегеб, Цухта, Балхар и Риквани. Работа включала в себя фонетическую разметку аудиозаписей в программе Praat, осуществлённую при помощи скрипта на языке программирования Python, и обработку размеченных данных при помощи скрипта в Praat Scripting language и направлена на подготовку фонетической базы данных по нахско-дагестанским смычным. Акустический инструментальный анализ звукового инвентаря дагестанских языков, одного из самых богатых консонантных инвентарей мира, до настоящего времени практически не осуществлялся; подробное описание этих инвентарей в книге (Кибрик, Кодзасов 1990) опирается только на перцептивный анализ. Результаты работы подробно обсуждались с Ианом Мэддисоном, выдающимся фонетистом, профессором университетов Беркли и Альбукерки. Обсуждаются возможности совместной работы.

Исследовано многоязычие в трех «кластерах» сел в высокогорном Дагестане. Первый кластер включается в себя села Шангода, Ури и Мукар, жители которых говорят на аварском и лакском языках. Второй кластер включает села Риквани, Зило и Кижани, жители которых говорят на андийском и аварском языках; исторически в кластере было относительно распространено также знание чеченского языка. Наконец, третий кластер объединяет четыре селения: Кули, Балхар, Цуликана и Шукты. В последнем говорят на даргинском, а в остальных – на лакском языке. Многоязычие в Дагестане практически не подвергается количественному анализу вне рамок нашего проекта.

Проведено исследование, направленное на сопоставление социальных представлений о принадлежности к патрилинейному клану и генетического родства по мужской линии у народов высокогорного Дагестана. Проведен анализ минимального числа эволюционных событий, необходимых для перехода между состояниями изучаемых локусов у внутритухумных и межтухумных пар, а также для пар жителей одних селений и случайных пар. В результате исследования показано, что картина генетического родства по мужской линии, несмотря на отдельные исключения, хорошо соответствует социальным представлениям горцев о принадлежности к тем или иным патрилинейным кланам.

Публикации по проекту:


Valency classes in the World's languages. Berlin : Mouton de Gruyter, 2015. 
Daniel M., Khurshudian V. Valency Classes in Eastern Armenian, in: Valency classes in the World's languages. Berlin : Mouton de Gruyter, 2015. С. 483-540. 
Ganenkov D. Infinitival Complementation from Caucasian Albanian to Modern Udi // Journal of Historical Linguistics. 2015. Vol. 5. No. 1. P. 110-138. doi
Чечуро И. Ю. Семантика локализации -q- в андийских языках, in: Сборник научных статей по материалам Четвертой конференции-школы «Проблемы языка: взгляд молодых ученых»., 2015. С. 297-311.