• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

­­­Factors of career trajectories of bureaucratic elites, informal institutions, and provision of public goods

Priority areas of development: economics
2015
The project has been carried out as part of the HSE Program of Fundamental Studies.

Goal of research: analysis of characteristics and performance results of the Russian bureaucratic elite and the study of the institutional environment that dictates its performance framework and determines its norms and values.

The object of the research was formal and informal institutions and public norms and values in Russia as well as their comparison to those in China.  This year we concentrated on the study of social capital and culture – the topics that only recently have started to attract attention of political economists but are crucial to the understanding of economic processes. Moreover, although Russia and its regions remained the center of our research, some of this year’s papers focused more closely on Russia-China comparison. 

Methodology: methods of new institutional economics and adjacent disciplines – political science and sociology; methods of data collection and data processing designed to solve problems of endogeneity and causality;  field and natural experiments.

Empirical base of research: data collected since the establishment of the International Center for the Study of Institutions and Development in 2011, and also new data gathered in 2015. Sources of the data are varied: statistics, archives, ICSID own databases. They include socio-economic indices of the Russian regions and biographies of the Russian bureaucratic elite (the open part of the databases can be accessed via http://iims.hse.ru/csid/databases) that are being constantly updated and extended and that have played a key role in much of the ICSID research; data on the history of Russian institutions from archives; surveys of Russian attorneys and of homeowners associations in 2014 and 2015, as well as other data collected for specific ICSID projects.

Results of research: allowed to make a significant contribution to theoretical and empirical research into political elites, social capital, collective actions and social policy; they also let us expound and update theories applicable to transition economies and developing countries. The results of the research are undoubtedly new and up-to-date thanks to the unique data we used in our research.

Analysis of the bureaucratic elites was developed further to include a comparison between Russia and China that helped us understand differences in governance and in business-government relations in these two countries. These variations that create different incentives for bureaucrats (growth-oriented in China unlike those in Russia) have a decisive effect on economic growth. We also found that differences in levels of administrative decentralization and local government competition help account for differences in business-government relations in the two countries and the more dynamic business environment overall in China.

In addition to that, we studied in some detail a problem of electoral accountability of bureaucrats in a competitive authoritarian regime. Using data on the outbreak of wildfires across Russia in 2010, we learned that voters in especially fire-stricken areas  punished the ruling United Russia party for its incompetent response to the disaster in the proportional representation system.

We also analyzed characteristics of the institutional environment that dictates performance incentives for bureaucrats. We defined and investigated mechanisms that explain the effect of cultural norms on economic performance; we empirically tested the impact of shocks on trust for institutions, namely, government; we identified the effect of economic, social and human capital of attorneys on their independence and their work as full members of civil society. We could propose a synthetic theory of collective actions that unites a theory of group interests with a theory of defensive organizations. The group theory is now given priority by researchers; it suggests that groups lobby their interests and create institutions for a limited number of people. However, the theory of defensive organizations corresponds more with the features of transition economies, such as Russia, where institutional deficiencies facilitate a development by the groups of good institutions for everybody.

Furthermore, in 2015 we continued the study of redistribution of taxes. This is particularly important in the time of the crisis and the necessity to increase the efficiency of public spending. We could find a link between support for more redistribution and tax evasion opportunities. This is possible in the context of weak institutions and it should be taken into account when planning government redistribution policies.

Finally, a separate task of our work in 2015 was creation and extension of databases. An important result is a development of four databases using both the already existing data and new data collected in 2015. ICSID now has the following databases: 1) socio-economic indices of the Russian regions; 2) historical roots of modern institutions in Russia; 3) biographies of the Russian bureaucratic elite; 4) vocational education in Russian.

Additionally, we achieved some results as far as advancement of methodology is concerned. Notably, we were able to modify the methodology of field experiments with regard to transition economies and developing countries where constructing correct samples and measuring results of experiments are often problematic. We also specified methods of collecting data about vocational education, characteristics of elites and historical roots of modern institutions

Level of implementation,  recommendations on implementation or outcomes of the implementation of the results

Comparison of government systems in Russia and China allowed us to recommend policy measures to facilitate coordination between regional governments and local branches of federal government agencies and to link performance evaluation of the latter with economic growth and social development of the region. These provisions could help design growth-oriented incentives for bureaucrats and thus promote economic growth in the Russian regions.

We also proposed some guidelines to strengthen independence of the community of Russian attorneys so that they could become full-fledged members of civil society. This means more demand for legal services from business, improvement of the system of higher education in legal profession as well as more efforts on the part of attorneys to develop their professional associations and to foster integration of isolated members into the legal community. These factors, and not only the status of law, have a great impact on the independence of attorneys.

Finally, the study of redistribution policy in the context of weak institutions tells us about the need to take into consideration (when planning this policy) a link between required redistribution and opportunities for tax evasion. Groups that have more opportunities to evade taxes favour more redistribution.

The results of the research might interest not only the academia and researchers (that is demonstrated by ICSID papers being presented at the leading international conferences and accepted for publication by Russian and foreign peer-reviewed journals) but also different governmental institutions, the expert community and representatives of civil society. Scientists from different international universities have taken a keen interest in the research conducted at the Center and in our unique databases.

International cooperation: An important part of work of theInternational Center for the Study of Institutions and Development was devoted to the development of international cooperation. The center organized two international events: a conference “Institutions, Elites and Collective Action in the Developing World” in Moscow and a workshop “Comparative Studies of Regional Governance in China and Russia” in Hong Kong. ICSID researchers also participated in a number of well-known conferences abroad. We launched a successful Visiting researchers program that allowed 15 researchers from different countries and universities to visit the center in 2015.

Publications:


Frye T. M., Gehlbach S. G., Marquardt K., Reuter O. J. Is Putin's Popularity Real? // Post-Soviet Affairs. 2017. Vol. 33. No. 1. P. 1-15. doi
Remington T. F. Regional Variation in Business-Government Relations in Russia and China // Problems of Post-Communism. 2016. Vol. 63. No. 2. P. 63-74. doi
Rochlitz M., Kulpina V., Remington T. F., Yakovlev A. A. Performance incentives and economic growth: regional officials in Russia and China // Eurasian Geography and Economics. 2015. Vol. 56. No. 4. P. 421-445. doi
Yakovlev A. A., Frye T. M. Elections and Property Rights: Evidence from a Natural Experiment in Russia // Comparative Political Studies. 2016. Vol. 49. No. 4. P. 499-528. doi
Казун А. П. Рейдерство в регионах России: индикаторы и факторы // Мир России: Социология, этнология. 2015. Т. 24. № 3. С. 33-60.
Yakovlev A. A., Kazun A., Khodzhayeva Y. Wer steht auf Seiten der Verteidigung vor russischen Gerichten? // Russland-Analysen. 2015. No. 296. P. 12-17.
Kazun A. Violent Corporate Raiding in Russia: Preconditions and Protective Factors // Demokratizatsiya: The Journal of Post-Soviet Democratization. 2015. Vol. 23. No. 4. P. 459-484.
Казун А. П., Ходжаева Е. А., Яковлев А. А. Адвокатское сообщество России. СПб. : Институт проблем правоприменения Европейского университета в Санкт-Петербурге, 2015.
Remington T. F., Cui X. The impact of the 2008 labor contract law on labor disputes in China // Journal of East Asian Studies. 2015. Vol. 15. No. 2. P. 271-299.
Yakovlev A. A., Frye T. M. Elections and Property Rights: Evidence from a Natural Experiment in Russia / NRU Higher School of Economics. Series PS "Political Science". 2015.
Frye T. M. Property Rights and Development, in: Emerging Trends in the Social and Behavioral Sciences: An Interdisciplinary, Searchable, and Linkable Resource. Stanford : Center for Advanced Studies in the Behavioral Sciences, 2015. doi P. 26-52. doi
Борисова Е. И., Кулькова А. Ю. Культура, имена и экономическое развитие // Вопросы экономики. 2016. № 1. С. 81-106.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Факторы продвижения в бюрократической элите, неформальные институты и производство общественных благ

Приоритетные направления развития: экономика
2015

Цель работы: изучение характеристик и результатов деятельности российской бюрократической элиты и институциональной среды, задающей рамки ее функционирования и определяющей ее нормы и ценности.

Объектом исследования выступали институты и общественные нормы и ценности в России, а также сравнение их с таковыми в Китае. При этом в этом году мы уделили большее внимание социальному капиталу и культуре – темам, которые только недавно стали привлекать внимание экономистов, но которые крайне важны для понимания сути экономических процессов. Кроме того, хотя мы по-прежнему концентрировались на России и ее регионах, акцент ряда выполненных в рамках исследования работ переместился в сторону сравнения России и Китая.

Используемые методы: новой институциональной экономики и пограничных областей – политологии и социологии, методы сбора и обработки данных, призванных решать проблемы эндогенности и каузальности, полевых и естественных экспериментов.

Эмпирическая база исследования: данные, накопленные за предшествующие четыре года работы МЦИИР, а также новые, собранные в 2015 году. Это данные из различных источников, в том числе статистических, исторических архивов, а также данные, полученные посредством специальных обследований МЦИИР. Среди них данные о социально-экономических показателях регионов России и российской бюрократической элиты (открытая часть баз размещена по ссылке http://iims.hse.ru/csid/databases), регулярно обновляемые и пополняемые, уже не первый год составляющие основу многих проектов МЦИИР; данные по истории российских институтов из архивов; данные по опросу адвокатов и ТСЖ 2014 и 2015 гг., а также ряд данных, собранных под нужды конкретных проектов МЦИИР. Создание баз данных являлось одной из задач исследования МЦИИР 2015-го года.

Результаты работы: позволили получить новые результаты в теории и эмпирических исследованиях элиты, социального капитала, коллективных действий, социальной политики, а также уточнить теории для стран с переходной экономикой и развивающихся стран. При этом ввиду уникального характера использованных нами данных, новизна полученных результатов сомнений не вызывает.

Так, направление анализа бюрократических элит было логичным образом расширено до сравнения России и Китая и позволило понять различия в государственном управлении и взаимодействии государства и бизнеса в упомянутых странах. Эти различия, создающие принципиальную разницу в стимулах бюрократов – ориентированных на экономический рост в Китае и не ориентированных на таковой в России – оказывают решающее воздействие на экономический рост. Мы также выяснили, что разница в уровнях административной децентрализации и конкуренция между местными органами управления определяют различия в отношениях государства и бизнеса в двух странах и в целом более благоприятные условия ведения бизнеса в Китае.

Кроме того, мы подробно изучили вопрос подотчетности бюрократии в условиях ограниченной политической конкуренции. Используя различные данные об ущербе от лесных пожаров 2010 года, мы обнаружили, что жители особенно сильно пострадавших районов уменьшили число голосов за Единую Россию на выборах в региональные парламенты.

Мы также подробно анализировали характеристики институциональной среды, во многом задающей и определяющей стимулы бюрократии и результаты ее деятельности. Мы выделили и проанализировали механизмы, объясняющие влияние культурных норм и ценностей на экономические результаты; эмпирически оценили значимую роль шоковых событий для доверия институтам, в частности, правительству; выявили влияние экономического, социального и человеческого капитала адвокатов на их независимость и соответственно на их работу как полноценных представителей гражданского общества. Оказалось возможным предложить к использованию синтетическую теорию коллективных действий, объединяющую теории групп интересов и защитных организаций. Преимущество в исследованиях сейчас отдается теории групп, предполагающей, что группы лоббируют свои интересы и создают институты для узкого круга лиц. Однако теория защитных организаций представляется в большей степени отвечающей реалиям переходных экономик, в частности России, в которых недостатки институтов порождают создание группами хороших институтов для всех.

Наконец, в 2015 году мы продолжили изучение вопросов, связанных с перераспределением собранных налогов. Это особенно актуально в условиях кризиса и необходимости повышения эффективности расходования средств. Нами была  получена связь между поддержкой большего перераспределения и возможностями уклонения от уплаты налогов. Такое возможно в условиях слабых институтов, и это стоит учитывать при планировании государственной политики перераспределения.

Отдельной задачей исследования 2015 года было создание баз данных. И в этой части результатов можно говорить о создании четырех баз данных – на основе собиравшихся в предыдущие годы данных и масштабных работ по созданию баз этого года. В итоге сейчас МЦИИР располагает следующими базами: 1) социально-экономических показателей и качества институтов в регионах России; 2) исторических корней современных институтов в России; 3) бюрократической элиты; 4) о системе профессионального образования в России.

Что касается развития методологии исследований, то и в этой части МЦИИР были достигнуты определенные результаты. В частности, была модифицирована методика полевых экспериментов, применительно к условиям стран с переходной экономикой и развивающихся, для которых характерны проблемы построения правильных (с точки зрения теории полевых экспериментов) выборок обследования и измерения результатов экспериментов. Наконец, мы уточнили методологию сбора данных о профессиональном образовании в России, характеристиках элиты, исторических корнях современных институтов. 

Степень внедрения, рекомендации по внедрению или итоги внедрения результатов НИР

Сравнение систем государственного управления в России и Китае позволило предложить меры, направленные на обеспечение взаимодействия между региональными властями и территориальными органами федеральных ведомств в регионах и на "привязку" оценки деятельности последних к результатам экономического и социального развития региона. Эти меры могли бы способствовать созданию экономически ориентированных стимулов бюрократов и посредством этого обеспечить экономический рост в регионах России.

Кроме того, мы предложили меры по усилению независимости адвокатского сообщества России, с тем чтобы оно могло полноценно выполнять функции ячейки гражданского общества. Речь идет о необходимости усиления спроса на юридические услуги со стороны бизнеса, развития системы высшего юридического образования с упором на предоставление "знаний как", а не "знаний что", а также внутренних усилиях юридического сообщества, направленного на развитие профессиональных ассоциаций и интеграцию изолированных частей юридического сообщества. Вопрос обеспечения адвокатской независимости определяется не только состоянием закона, но и указанными выше факторами.

Наконец, изучение политики перераспределения в условиях слабых институтов позволяет нам говорить о необходимости учета (при планировании такой политики) связи между требуемым объемом перераспределения и возможностью уклонения от уплаты налогов. Спрос на больший объем перераспределения предъявляют обладающие сравнительными преимуществами в уклонении от уплаты налогов группы.

Полученные в этом году результаты могут быть интересны не только академическому сообществу (что подтверждает включение работ сотрудников МЦИИР в программы ведущих конференций и принятие их к публикации в ведущих российских и зарубежных журналах), но также органам власти, экспертам, представителям гражданского общества. Работа 2015 года также продемонстрировала сформировавшийся интерес к Центру, его научно-исследовательской деятельности и уникальным базам данных со стороны коллег из разных университетов мира.

Международное сотрудничество: в 2015 году МЦИИР активно развивал международное сотрудничество. Мы организовали два международных мероприятия – конференцию «Институты, элиты и коллективные действия в развивающихся странах»  в Москве и семинар  «Сравнительные исследования регионального управления в Китае и России» в Гонконге; активно участвовали в различных зарубежных конференциях; запустили программу приглашенных исследователей, в рамках которой Центр посетили 15 исследователей из разных стран и университетов мира.

Публикации по проекту:


Frye T. M., Gehlbach S. G., Marquadt K. L., Reuter O. J. Is Putin's Popularity Real? // Post-Soviet Affairs. 2017. Vol. 33. No. 1. P. 1-15. doi
Remington T. F. Regional Variation in Business-Government Relations in Russia and China // Problems of Post-Communism. 2016. Vol. 63. No. 2. P. 63-74. doi
Rochlitz M., Kulpina V., Remington T. F., Yakovlev A. A. Performance incentives and economic growth: regional officials in Russia and China // Eurasian Geography and Economics. 2015. Vol. 56. No. 4. P. 421-445. doi
Yakovlev A. A., Frye T. M. Elections and Property Rights: Evidence from a Natural Experiment in Russia // Comparative Political Studies. 2016. Vol. 49. No. 4. P. 499-528. doi
Казун А. П. Рейдерство в регионах России: индикаторы и факторы // Мир России: Социология, этнология. 2015. Т. 24. № 3. С. 33-60.
Yakovlev A. A., Kazun A., Khodzhayeva Y. Wer steht auf Seiten der Verteidigung vor russischen Gerichten? // Russland-Analysen. 2015. No. 296. P. 12-17.
Kazun A. Violent Corporate Raiding in Russia: Preconditions and Protective Factors // Demokratizatsiya: The Journal of Post-Soviet Democratization. 2015. Vol. 23. No. 4. P. 459-484.
Казун А. П., Ходжаева Е. А., Яковлев А. А. Адвокатское сообщество России. СПб. : Институт проблем правоприменения Европейского университета в Санкт-Петербурге, 2015.
Remington T. F., Cui X. The impact of the 2008 labor contract law on labor disputes in China // Journal of East Asian Studies. 2015. Vol. 15. No. 2. P. 271-299.
Yakovlev A. A., Frye T. M. Elections and Property Rights: Evidence from a Natural Experiment in Russia / NRU Higher School of Economics. Series PS "Political Science". 2015.
Frye T. M. Property Rights and Development, in: Emerging Trends in the Social and Behavioral Sciences: An Interdisciplinary, Searchable, and Linkable Resource. Stanford : Center for Advanced Studies in the Behavioral Sciences, 2015. doi P. 26-52. doi