• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Analysis of the demographic and socio-economic behavior of households at different stages of the life cycle and assessment of social and tax policies impact on the dynamics of the standard of living and its differentiation

Priority areas of development: economics
2016
The project has been carried out as part of the HSE Program of Fundamental Studies.

The object of this study is Russian households and population, social and fiscal policy, pension policy, government policies towards fostering conditions for active ageing, socio-cultural conditions for building welfare state profession identities. The subject of this study is the material well-being and living standards of the population, consumer behavior, the redistributive impact of government policies, socio-economic inequality, income stratification, overall dynamics of the social structure, middle class, poor segment of the population, public perception of poverty and inequality, elderly population inclusiveness and subjective well-being, pensioner participation in the labor market, childcare management for mothers with preschool children, cultural resource of the professional status of specialized occupations.

The objectives of the project include a complex analysis of the demographic and socio-economic behavior of the population and households at different life-cycle stages and the assessment of the impact of redistributive social and fiscal policies on living standards its differentiation, as well as the analysis of the social structure dynamics of Russian society during the influence of the 2014-2015 economic downfall. Independent focuses of this research project will be the study of the employment at different life-cycle stages, intergenerational exchanges and inclusiveness of the elderly as one of the conditions of active ageing in Russia, as well as the socio-cultural conditions for building profession identities. This project continues the study started in 2013-2015 and is aimed at providing a comprehensive informational basis for the study of income, living standards, inequality, and consumer behavior of households and the simulation of the effects of government policy on households, and at the development of a comprehensive research base and data for the study of active ageing conditions.

The research methods desk research; multivariate statistical analysis; microsimulation modelling, including techniques for the evaluation of the efficiency of fiscal policies, with the implementation of demand modeling systems (Quadratic Almost Ideal Demand System (QUAIDS) and Random Assignment Scheme (RAS)), improvements to the Olivieri microsimulation model (Olivieri et al., 2014); methods of income stratification in the Russian society; spatial demography techniques (spatial data analysis); descriptive and econometric analysis of sample surveys; theoretical and methodological; analysis of field logs, in accordance with quality of survey evaluation (in-depth interviews); interdisciplinary analysis of post-Soviet cinema and media portrayals of occupations.

The data sources include: micro-data of the “All-Russian population census” of 2010, sample surveys of the Federal State Statistics Service (Rosstat) – “Sample monitoring of population income and participation in social programs” (SMPI) of 2012 and the “Comprehensive monitoring of living conditions” (CMLC) of 2011 and 2014, the “Russian Longitudinal Monitoring Survey” (RLMS-HSE) for the years 2005-2015, European Social Survey (ESS) for 2014, World Values Survey (WVS) for 2010-2014, monitoring data of the Institute of Sociology of the Russian Academy of Science (IS RAS) “Dynamics of social transformations in contemporary Russia in the socio-economic, socio-cultural, and ethno-religious context” for 2014-2016, survey of the Institute for Complex Strategic Studies of the Russian Academy of Science “Rich and poor in contemporary Russia” (March 2003) and the IS RAS survey “20 years of reforms from the view of Russians” (April 2011), “What Russians wish for” (March 2012), “Poverty and the poor in contemporary Russia” (April 2013), “The middle class in contemporary Russia” (February 2014), “Citizen activism: new subjects in societal political actions” (March 2014), “Analysis of values” by the Centre of Comparative Social Studies in 2012, direct survey of women with preschool children, carried out in Moscow in 2015;  statistical resources published by the Federal State Statistics Service (Rosstat), World Bank, the United Nations, WHO; qualitative sociological data – cinema representation in the media and in-depth interviews with medical personnel.

The main results: The research project showed that the cumulative effect of fiscal and social policies on the distribution of income is moderate in comparison to other countries. The main limitations to a more efficient redistribution of income through the tax-fiscal system are (1) a large share of indirect tax proceeds, which is regressive, (2) the neutrality of direct tax systems, and (3) a low share of expenditure on transfers to individuals with low-income levels. Fiscal policies also significantly affect the intergenerational redistribution of income: households of working-age individuals (with or without children) subsidize pensioner households. The indexation of pension and wages at a rate lower that the inflation rate in 2015 and 2016 caused a significant reduction of income in the bottom four income deciles in comparison to the top six income deciles.

The results of behavioral microsimulation of the effects of tax policy reform show that an increase in VAT rates from 10% to 20% and from 18% to 30% increase indirect tax proceeds by 61%-64%, which is significantly lower than the increase in tax proceeds under constant consumption.

In spite of this, there exists considerable potential for fiscal consolidation in Russia without either increasing indirect taxes, or cutting back on the services provided to the poor segment of the population, or increasing inequality. This set of possible measures is composed, first of all, to a more widespread application of the currently limitedly used mechanisms of income and proceeds verification of the recipients of social transfers, and the expansion of social assistance programs targeted to the poor. Second of all, the expansion of the income tax base and the effective execution of current tax legislation, as well as a reduction in the dependence of the government budget on regressive tax system proceeds (e.g. VAT) and increasing the progressivity of direct taxes (e.g. income tax and tax on enterprise profits). Last of all, the increase of the retirement age and the introduction of certain restrictions on the income of employed pensioners.

Results of stratified analysis confirm that the current stratification system in Russia is more in line with developed countries than developing ones. The model of income stratification of the Russian society remains robust – so far – to the current economic crisis. The middle class remains highly heterogeneous, and its formation is still underway.

The observed over the past 15 years decrease in the scope of poverty and a shift in its main causes created a shift in the attitude of the Russian population towards the poor population, and displaced this issue to the fringe of social awareness. The main trends in the dynamics of social perceptions of inequality show a change in the comparative importance of the main types of social inequality, its deepening, and the exacerbation of the perceptions of the problem of inequality.

The results of an econometric analysis of the factors causing the exit of pensioners from the labour market shows a statistical significance of economic factors. The simultaneous inclusion into the model of the two variables which characterize the pressure of pensions to “exit” the labour market, and the “remain” pressure of the share of wages in household income, shows that the wage effect exceeds that of pensions. This allows us to conclude that policy measures, aimed at restricting only the income of highly paid pensioners will be more effective than those, which prohibit all pensioners from working and receiving state pensions simultaneously.

The research shows that socio-cultural identity of occupations is composed of the priorities and ideals, which are mainly broadcasted in the broad socio-cultural context by the mass media. Professionals create their own value-normative frameworks of their occupation, based state regulations, the commodity relations on the market of goods and services, related to their profession, the framework of organized culture, etc. The occupational ideologies of professions in the welfare state is formed both top-down – by the department, the management of organization, the experts of the respective scientific disciplines – and bottom-up - when specialists have to cope with uncertainty, or have to explain their personal achievements and failures, or the achievements and failures of their organizations.

The degree of implementation, recommendations regarding implementation or the results of implementation of the research outcomes: The results of this project (relating to the analysis of the redistribution effects of social and tax policies, the pension system, and active ageing policies) were used in the preparation of the 2016 analytical briefs and expert recommendations, including those, which were directed at the government of the Russian Federation.

The microsimulation results of the redistributive effects of the tax-benefit policies in Russia in 2010 and 2014 and the effect of direct and indirect tax reforms on the income distribution and consumption behavior of households and the resulting conclusions and recommendations to the tax and social policies can be useful in the practices of the of the  Ministry of Labor and Social Protection of the Russian Federation and the  Ministry of Finance of the Russian Federation.

Area of application: The results of this project can be used by the Ministry of Labor and Social Protection of the Russian Federation, Ministry of Finance of the Russian Federation, the Federal State Statistics Service (Rosstat), and other government agencies in the course of development of new policies and the analysis of the effectiveness and efficiency of existing measures in the area of tax, social, family, and economic policies in Russia.

 

Publications:


Maria Varlamova, Anna Ermolina, Oxana Sinyavskaya. Active Ageing Index as an Evidence Base for Developing a Comprehensive Active Ageing Policy in Russia // Journal of Population Ageing. 2017. Vol. 10. No. 1 (special volume). P. 41-71. doi
Abramov R., Iarskaia-Smirnova E. R., Салтыков Д. И. Gendered Identities Among Medical Professionals in Post-Socialist Russian Cinema, in: Gendering Postsocialism: Old Legacies and New Hierarchies / Ed. by Y. Gradskova, I. A. Morell. Routledge, 2018. P. 231-244.
Iarskaia-Smirnova E. R., Lyons K. Social work in FSU countries: mapping the progress of ‘the professional project’ // European Journal of Social Work. 2018. Vol. 21. No. 1. P. 114-127. doi
Тихонова Н. Е. Влияние кризиса на жизнь российского среднего класса // Общественные науки и современность. 2016. № 4. С. 48-64.
Овчарова Л. Н., Попова Д. О., Рудберг А. М. Декомпозиция факторов неравенства доходов в современной России // Журнал Новой экономической ассоциации. 2016. №  3(31). С. 170-186.
Anikin V. A. Occupational Propensity for Training in a Late Industrial Society: Evidence from Russia // International Journal of Training and Development. 2017. Vol. 21. No. 4. P. 249-284. doi
Avram S., Popova D., Rastrigina O. Accounting for gender differences in the distributional effects of tax and benefit policy changes / Institute for Social and Economic Research, University of Essex. Series EM "EUROMOD Working Paper Series". 2016. No. 7/16.
Biryukova S., Sinyavskaya O. V., Nurimanova I. More money — more births? Estimating effects of 2007 family policy changes on probability of second and subsequent births in Russia, in: European Population Conference 2016. Demographic Change and Policy Implications. EAPS, 2016.
Тихонова Н. Е. Российское общество: «проклятие» социальной однородности или движение к классовой дифференциации? // В кн.: XVII Апрельская международная научная конференция по проблемам развития экономики и общества: в 4 кн. / Отв. ред.: Е. Г. Ясин. Кн. 1. М. : Издательский дом НИУ ВШЭ, 2017. С. 9-17.
Sinyavskaya O. V., Ermolina A. A. Not poor but vulnerable: analysis of risks and factors of income poverty of Russian pensioners // Social Indicators Research. 2018
Anikin V. A., Lezhnina Y. P., Mareeva S., Slobodenyuk E. D., Tikhonova N. E. Income Stratification: Key Approaches and Their Application to Russia / NRU HSE. Series WP BRP / PSP "Public and Social Policy". 2016. No. WP BRP 02/PSP/2016 . doi
Sinyavskaya O. V. Russian Federation country note, in: 12th International Review of Leave Policies and Related Research 2016. L. : Institute of Education University of London, 2016. Ch. 4.31. P. 296-303.
Lopez Calva L. F., Lustig N., Matytsin M., Popova D. Who benefits from fiscal redistribution in the Russian Federation?, in: The Distributional Impact of Taxes and Transfers: Evidence From Eight Developing Countries. Washington : The World Bank, 2017. doi Ch. 7. P. 199-233. doi

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Изучение демографического и социально-экономического поведения домохозяйств на разных стадиях жизненного цикла и оценка влияния социальной и налоговой политики на динамику уровня жизни и его дифференциацию

Приоритетные направления развития: экономика
2016

Объектом исследования являются население и домашние хозяйства России, социальная и налоговая политика, пенсионная политика, политика государства в сфере формирования условий для активного долголетия, социокультурные условия формирования идентичности профессий социального государства. Предметом данного исследования является благосостояние и уровень жизни населения, потребительское поведение, эффекты перераспределительной политики государства, социально-экономическое неравенство, доходная стратификация, общая динамика социальной структуры, средний класс, группа бедных, общественное восприятие проблем бедности и неравенства, социальная активность и субъективное благополучие пожилого населения, трудовое поведение пенсионеров, организация матерьми ухода за маленькими детьми, культурный ресурс профессионального статуса выбранного рода специализированных занятий.

Цель работы: Комплексный анализ демографического и социально-экономического поведения населения и домохозяйств на разных этапах жизненного цикла и оценка влияния перераспределительной социальной и налоговой политики на динамику уровня жизни и его дифференциацию, а также анализ динамики социальной структуры российского общества под влиянием экономического спада 2014-2015 гг. Самостоятельными фокусами исследования станут изучение занятости на разных этапах жизненного пути, межпоколенных обменов и социальной активности пожилых как условий для активного долголетия в России, а также социокультурных условий формирования профессиональной идентичности. Данный проект продолжает исследование, начатое в 2013-2015 гг., и направлен на формирование комплексной информационной базы для изучения доходов, уровня жизни, неравенства и потребительского поведения домохозяйств и моделирования эффектов влияния государственной политики на сектор домохозяйств, а также на формирование комплексной базы информационных ресурсов и данных для изучения условий для активного долголетия.

Используемые методы: кабинетное исследование; многомерный статистический анализ; микроимитационное моделирование, в том числе с использованием методов оценки эффективности бюджетно-налоговой политики, с применением моделей спроса (квадратичной модели почти идеальной системы уравнений спроса (QUAIDS) и модели Random Assignment Scheme (RAS)), адаптации модели микромоделирования Оливьери и соавторов (Olivieri et al., 2014);  методика доходной стратификации российского общества; методы пространственной демографии (пространственного анализа данных); дескриптивный и эконометрический анализ данных выборочных обследований; теоретико-методологический анализ; анализ полевых данных, собранных в русле качественной методологии (углубленные интервью), междисциплинарный анализ постсоветских кинорепрезентаций профессиональной идентичности.

Эмпирическая база исследования: микроданные Всероссийской переписи населения 2010 г., выборочных обследований Федеральной службы государственной статистики (Росстата) – Выборочного наблюдения доходов населения и участия в социальных программах (ВНДН) 2012 г. и Комплексного наблюдения условий жизни населения (КОУЖ) 2011 и 2014 гг., выборочного логитюдного обследования Российский мониторинг экономического положения и здоровья населения НИУ ВШЭ (РМЭЗ-ВШЭ) за 2005-2015 гг., Европейского социального исследования (European Social Survey – ESS) 2014 г., Международного обследования ценностей (World Values Survey, WVS) 2010-2014 гг., данных мониторинговых исследований Института социологии РАН «Динамика социальной трансформации современной России в социально-экономическом, политическом, социокультурном и этнорелигиозном контекстах» за 2014-2016 гг., обследований ИКСИ РАН «Богатые и бедные в современной России» (март 2003) и ИС РАН: «Двадцать лет реформ глазами россиян» (апрель 2011), «О чем мечтают жители России?» (март 2012), «Бедность и бедные в современной России» (апрель 2013), «Средний класс в современной России» (февраль 2014), «Гражданский активизм: новые субъекты общественно-политического действия» (март 2014), Исследования Ценностей Центра сравнительных социальных исследований (ЦССИ) 2012 г., специализированного опроса женщин с детьми дошкольного возраста, проведенного в Москве в 2015 г.; статистические ресурсы Росстата, Всемирного Банка, ООН; качественные социологические данные – кинорепрезентации в продукции кинематографа и углубленные интервью с медиками.

Результаты работы: В исследовании показано, что общий эффект фискальной и социальной политики на распределение доходов в России является умеренным по сравнению с другими странами. Основные ограничения для более эффективного перераспределения доходов через налогово-бюджетную систему связаны с (1) большой долей налоговых поступлений от косвенных налогов, которые имеют регрессивный характер, (2) нейтральностью системы прямых налогов, и (3) низкой долей расходов на трансферты для индивидов с низким уровнем дохода. При этом фискальная политика также оказывает существенное влияние на перераспределение доходов между поколениями: домохозяйства индивидов трудоспособного возраста (с детьми и без детей) субсидируют домохозяйства пенсионеров. Индексация пенсий и заработной платы ниже уровня инфляции в 2015 и 2016 годах привела к большему снижению доходов четырех нижних децилей, по сравнению с доходами верхних шести децилей.

Результаты динамического микромоделирования эффектов налоговой реформы показали, что при увеличении ставок НДС с 10% и 18% до 20% и 30% рост поступлений от НДС увеличивается на 61%-64%, что заметно ниже роста НДС при фиксированном потреблении.

При этом в России существует значительный потенциал для достижения бюджетной консолидации без увеличения ставок НДС и без сокращения услуг, предоставляемых бедным слоям населения или роста неравенства. Набор возможных мер связан, во-первых, с более широким применением очень ограниченно используемых в настоящее время механизмов проверки доходов и средств получателей социальных трансфертов, расширением адресных программ для бедных. Во-вторых, с расширением налоговой базы и эффективности исполнения налогового законодательства, а также отказом от чрезмерной зависимости бюджета от регрессивных косвенных налогов (например, НДС) и увеличением прогрессивности прямых налогов (например, подоходного налога и налога на прибыль организаций). В-третьих, с повышением пенсионного возраста и введением определенных ограничений на доходы работающих пенсионеров.

Результаты стратификационного анализа подтверждают, что по типу своей стратификационной системы Россия тяготеет скорее к развитым, чем к развивающимся странам. Модель доходной стратификации российского общества достаточно устойчива, в том числе – до сих пор – к текущему экономическому кризису. Средний класс характеризуется высокой неоднородностью, а процесс его формирования еще продолжается.

Наблюдавшееся в последние 15 лет сокращение масштабов бедности и изменение ее причин, привело к трансформации отношения россиян к бедным и вытеснению этой проблемы на периферию общественного сознания. Главными тенденциями динамики в общественном восприятии неравенств выступают изменение сравнительной значимости основных типов социальных неравенств, их углубление, обострение восприятия проблемы неравенств населением.

Результаты эконометрического анализа факторов выхода пенсионеров с рынка труда показывают также статистическую значимость экономических факторов. При одновременном включении в модель переменных, характеризующих «выталкивающий» вклад пенсии и «удерживающий» вклад зарплаты пенсионера в домохозяйственный доход, эффект зарплаты превышает эффект влияния пенсии. Это позволяет предположить, что меры, направленные на ограничение доходов работающих пенсионеров только с высоким уровнем дохода, будут более эффективны, чем меры, запрещающие всем пенсионерам одновременно работать и получать пенсию.

Исследование показало, что социокультурная идентичность профессии складывается вокруг приоритетов и идеалов, которые во многом транслируются в широком социокультурном контексте по каналам массовой коммуникации. Профессионалы сами создают ценностно-нормативные рамки исполнения своей роли, ориентируясь на государственные регламенты, коммодифицированные отношения на рынке услуг и товаров, относящихся к сфере профессиональной деятельности, рамки организационной культуры и т.д.  Идеологии профессий социального государства формируются как сверху вниз – ведомством, менеджментом организации, экспертами научных дисциплин, так и снизу вверх, когда специалистам приходится справляться с неопределенными ситуациями, объяснять себе и другим свои достижения и провалы, достоинства и недостатки работы своих организаций.

Степень внедрения, рекомендации по внедрению или итоги внедрения результатов НИР: Отдельные результаты исследования (в области анализа перераспределительных эффектов социальной и налоговой политики, пенсионного обеспечения и политики в сфере активного долголетия) были использованы при подготовке в 2016 г. аналитических записок и экспертных заключений, в том числе направлявшихся в Правительство России.

Особое практическое значение в деятельности Минтруда и Минфина России могут иметь результаты моделирования перераспределительного эффекта налогово-бюджетной политики в России в 2010 и 2014 гг. и прямых и вторичных эффектов налоговых реформ на распределение доходов и  потребительское поведение домохозяйств и вытекающие из них рекомендации к налоговой и социальной политике.

Область применения

Результаты данной работы могут быть использованы Министерством труда и социальной защиты РФ, Министерством финансов РФ, Росстатом и другими ведомствами в ходе разработки новых мер и анализа эффективности существующих мер налоговой, социальной, семейной и экономической политики России. 

Публикации по проекту:


Maria Varlamova, Anna Ermolina, Oxana Sinyavskaya. Active Ageing Index as an Evidence Base for Developing a Comprehensive Active Ageing Policy in Russia // Journal of Population Ageing. 2017. Vol. 10. No. 1 (special volume). P. 41-71. doi
Abramov R., Iarskaia-Smirnova E. R., Салтыков Д. И. Gendered Identities Among Medical Professionals in Post-Socialist Russian Cinema, in: Gendering Postsocialism: Old Legacies and New Hierarchies / Ed. by Y. Gradskova, I. A. Morell. Routledge, 2018. P. 231-244.
Iarskaia-Smirnova E. R., Lyons K. Social work in FSU countries: mapping the progress of ‘the professional project’ // European Journal of Social Work. 2018. Vol. 21. No. 1. P. 114-127. doi
Тихонова Н. Е. Влияние кризиса на жизнь российского среднего класса // Общественные науки и современность. 2016. № 4. С. 48-64.
Овчарова Л. Н., Попова Д. О., Рудберг А. М. Декомпозиция факторов неравенства доходов в современной России // Журнал Новой экономической ассоциации. 2016. №  3(31). С. 170-186.
Anikin V. A. Occupational Propensity for Training in a Late Industrial Society: Evidence from Russia // International Journal of Training and Development. 2017. Vol. 21. No. 4. P. 249-284. doi
Avram S., Popova D., Rastrigina O. Accounting for gender differences in the distributional effects of tax and benefit policy changes / Institute for Social and Economic Research, University of Essex. Series EM "EUROMOD Working Paper Series". 2016. No. 7/16.
Biryukova S., Sinyavskaya O. V., Nurimanova I. More money — more births? Estimating effects of 2007 family policy changes on probability of second and subsequent births in Russia, in: European Population Conference 2016. Demographic Change and Policy Implications. EAPS, 2016.
Тихонова Н. Е. Российское общество: «проклятие» социальной однородности или движение к классовой дифференциации? // В кн.: XVII Апрельская международная научная конференция по проблемам развития экономики и общества: в 4 кн. / Отв. ред.: Е. Г. Ясин. Кн. 1. М. : Издательский дом НИУ ВШЭ, 2017. С. 9-17.
Sinyavskaya O. V., Ermolina A. A. Not poor but vulnerable: analysis of risks and factors of income poverty of Russian pensioners // Social Indicators Research. 2018
Anikin V. A., Lezhnina Y. P., Mareeva S., Slobodenyuk E. D., Tikhonova N. E. Income Stratification: Key Approaches and Their Application to Russia / NRU HSE. Series WP BRP / PSP "Public and Social Policy". 2016. No. WP BRP 02/PSP/2016 . doi
Sinyavskaya O. V. Russian Federation country note, in: 12th International Review of Leave Policies and Related Research 2016. L. : Institute of Education University of London, 2016. Ch. 4.31. P. 296-303.
Lopez Calva L. F., Lustig N., Matytsin M., Popova D. Who benefits from fiscal redistribution in the Russian Federation?, in: The Distributional Impact of Taxes and Transfers: Evidence From Eight Developing Countries. Washington : The World Bank, 2017. doi Ch. 7. P. 199-233. doi

См. также

Анализ социально-экономического неравенства и перераспределительной политики, оценка уровня и качества жизни различных социальных групп и исследование факторов здорового и активного долголетия

Социальная политика, социальная стратификация, компоненты благосостояния населения и проявления неравенства в России: анализ взаимосвязей на различных этапах жизненного цикла

Влияние изменений в экономической и социальной политике на потребительское поведение основных групп населения и формирование условий для активного долголетия

Мониторинг доходов, расходов и потребления российских домохозяйств

Оценка динамики благосостояния населения России и моделирование эффектов влияния налоговой, экономической и социальной политики на сектор домашних хозяйств

Анализ трансформаций в системе социального неравенства и процессов социальной мобильности в постсоветской России за период 1994-2013 гг.

20 лет спустя. Перемены в социальной структуре общества и социальном воспроизводстве россиян (по материалам повторных представительных опросов. Январь 1994 г. – декабрь 2013 г.)

Ключевые слова