• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

­­­Russian Media Markets Between Modernization and Conservatism: Social Meanings, Managerial Gaps and Regulation

Priority areas of development: sociology
2016
Department: Laboratory of Media Research
The project has been carried out as part of the HSE Program of Fundamental Studies.

Goal of research is to investigate the conflict between two models (modernization one and conservatism one) of Russian media system, including its determinants, forms, consequences and contexts (economical, political, legal, technological and cultural).

Methodology. The following methods were used in the research project: structural-functional, institutional, actor-network analysis as well as social-constructivist, anthropological and media ecological approaches. Key empirical methods were secondary data analysis, statistical analysis (SPSS analysis), and social network analysis (R and ORA software).

Empirical base of research: results of statistical and social network analysis of database of state informational contracts (sample of 12 regions, 5209 contracts in total, signed in 2011-2014); results of secondary analysis of experts’ materials, data from other research organizations, industry reviews, normative documents.

Results of research. During the implementation of the research project authors revealed the following things:

  1. Dualistic nature of Russian media system is linked with conflict interrelationships between modernization vector and vector of conservative paternalism. Consequences of this situations is the construction of parallel protectionist quasi-markets, inequalities in the development of media markets of different regions, managerial gaps between implementation of liberal market practices and practices of state quasi-capitalism.
  2. Practices of state informational form such situation on media markets when public service function is distributed between actors of the markets (including commercial media outlets) through contracting mechanism. In this situation an end customer (audience) cannot influence on the choice of supplier and quality of producing content. Journalists are participated in quasi-market relations and state client imposes media companies “clientelistic” model of relations.
  3. Research of Russian TV market demonstrated that concentration of media capital in three media holdings, state-owned (VGTRK) or affiliated with state actors (Gazprom Media, Natsionalnaya Media-Gruppa), plays a crucial role in keeping TV as a reliable resource of political domination. Oligopolistic media market legitimizes ideology of the authorities and supports the discourse of authoritarianism.
  4. Accreditation of journalists can be used for limitation of their professional activities. The following schemes are possible: accreditation as work permit, unclear rules of accreditation, selective conditions for accreditation, accreditation as a mechanism of control of content; arbitrary procedures of accreditation; limitations as symmetric response. 
  5. Research of key trends of media, communication and content industries allows to forecast future media markets, in Russia and abroad. Development of media industries is affected by global challenges (economical, social, ecological etc.); new technologies play the main role in changes of industrial chains and business-models of media. Key trends in production of media content, its package, distribution and consumption are connected with robotics, smartification, sensorization and other technological innovations.
  6. Intensive development of communication and information technologies, rise of new content industries and media markets transform everyday life, practices of communities and social institutes. At the same time processes of mediatization are inspired by social needs, meanings and contradictions. Further vector of our research will be connected with investigation of mediatization of different socio-cultural environments and practices as well as with the development of mediatization theory. 

Publications:


Ним Е. Г. "Игрушко митингуэ": в поисках теории медиатизации гражданского протеста // Журнал исследований социальной политики. 2016. Т. 14. № 1. С. 55-70.
Kiriya I. The Impact of International Sanctions on Russia’s Media Economy // Russian Politics. 2017. Vol. 2. No. 1. P. 80-97. doi
Лапина-Кратасюк Е. Г., Запорожец О. Н., Епанова Ю. В. Цифровая навигация в пространстве города: проблемы методологии исследования / Российская Академия народного хозяйства и государственной службы. Серия SSRN-id2779629 "SSRN-id2779629". 2016.
Sherstoboeva E. The Evolution of a Russian Concept of Free Speech, in: Speech and Society in Turbulent Times: Freedom of Expression in Comparative Perspective. Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 2017. doi Ch. 12. P. 213-234. doi
Ilya Kiria, Nygren G., Glowacki M., Hok J., Orlova D., Taradai D. Journalism in the Crossfire. Media coverage of the war in Ukraine in 2014 // Journalism Studies. 2018. Vol. 19. No. 7. P. 1059-1078. doi

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Российские медиарынки между модернизацией и консерватизмом: социальные смыслы, управленческие разрывы и регулирование

Приоритетные направления развития: социология
2016
Руководитель: Кирия Илья Вадимович

Цель исследования: изучить конфликт двух моделей (модернизационной и консервативной) в российской медиасистеме, включая его детерминанты, формы, последствия и контексты (экономические, политические, правовые, технологические, культурные).

Используемые методы: в работе применены структурно-функциональный, институциональный и акторно-сетевой анализ, а также социально-конструктивистский, антропологический и медиаэкологический подходы. Ключевыми эмпирическими методами стали вторичный анализ данных, метод статистического анализа с помощью программы SPSS, а также метод социального сетевого анализа с помощью программ R и ORA (для изучения базы госконтрактов в сфере медиа).

Эмпирическая база исследования: результаты статистического и социального сетевого анализа базы госконтрактов в сфере медиа (выборка 12 регионов, всего 5209 контрактов, заключённых в 2011-2014 гг.); результаты вторичного анализа экспертных материалов, данных исследовательских организаций, отраслевых обзоров, нормативных документов.

Результаты работы. В ходе проведенного исследования авторы пришли к следующим выводам:

  1. Дуалистический характер российской медиасистемы связан с конфликтным взаимодействием вектора модернизации и вектора консервативного патернализма. Следствие этой ситуации – выстраивание параллельных протекционистских квазирынков, диспропорции в развитии медиарынков разных территорий, управленческие разрывы между применением свободных рыночных практик и практик государственного квазикапитализма.
  2. Практика государственных информационных контрактов создает такую ситуацию на медиарынке, когда общественная функция распределяется между всеми участниками рынка через контрактацию (включая коммерческие медиа). При этом потребитель не может влиять на выбор исполнителя контракта и качество производимого контента, журналисты вовлекаются в квазирыночные отношения, а госзаказчик навязывает медиа клиентелистскую модель взаимодействий.
  3. Исследование российского телевизионного медиарынка показало, что концентрация медиаактивов в трех медиахолдингах, принадлежащих государству (ВГТРК) и аффилированным с государством акторам («Газпром-медиа», Национальная медиа-группа) играет ключевую роль в сохранении телевидения в качестве надежного ресурса политического доминирования. Создание олигополистического медиарынка легитимирует идеологию власти, поддерживая дискурс авторитаризма.
  4. Аккредитация журналистов может использоваться в целях ограничения их профессиональной деятельности. Возможны следующие схемы злоупотреблений: аккредитация как разрешение на работу, неясные правила аккредитации, избирательные условия предоставления аккредитации, аккредитация как механизм контроля за содержанием, произвольное применение процедур аккредитации, ограничения как симметричный ответ.
  5. Знание ключевых трендов в сфере медиакоммуникаций и индустрий контента позволяет спрогнозировать появление медиарынков будущего, в том числе и в России. На развитие медиаотрасли влияют глобальные вызовы (экономические, социальные, экологические и т.д.); главную роль в изменении индустриальных цепочек и бизнес-моделей в сфере медиа играют новые технологии. Ключевые тренды в производстве медиаконтента, его упаковке, дистрибуции и потреблении связаны с роботизацией, смартизацией, сенсоризацией и другими технологическими инновациями.
  6. Интенсивное развитие коммуникативно-информационных технологий, рост новых индустрий контента и медиарынков трансформируют повседневность, практики сообществ и социальных институтов. В то же время процессы медиатизации сами инспирированы социальными потребностями, смыслами и противоречиями. Дальнейший вектор нашего исследования будет связан с изучением медиатизации различных социокультурных сред и практик, а также развитием теории медиатизации.

Публикации по проекту:


Kiriya I. The Impact of International Sanctions on Russia’s Media Economy // Russian Politics. 2017. Vol. 2. No. 1. P. 80-97. doi
Ним Е. Г. "Игрушко митингуэ": в поисках теории медиатизации гражданского протеста // Журнал исследований социальной политики. 2016. Т. 14. № 1. С. 55-70.
Лапина-Кратасюк Е. Г., Запорожец О. Н., Епанова Ю. В. Цифровая навигация в пространстве города: проблемы методологии исследования / Российская Академия народного хозяйства и государственной службы. Серия SSRN-id2779629 "SSRN-id2779629". 2016.
Sherstoboeva E. The Evolution of a Russian Concept of Free Speech, in: Speech and Society in Turbulent Times: Freedom of Expression in Comparative Perspective. Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 2017. doi Ch. 12. P. 213-234. doi
Ilya Kiria, Nygren G., Glowacki M., Hok J., Orlova D., Taradai D. Journalism in the Crossfire. Media coverage of the war in Ukraine in 2014 // Journalism Studies. 2018. Vol. 19. No. 7. P. 1059-1078. doi