• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Internet use and Internet users: cross-country and cross-regional comparisons

Priority areas of development: sociology
2016
The project has been carried out as part of the HSE Program of Fundamental Studies.

This study represents a combination of three inderdisciplinary subprojects that are related to each other but have each their own objectives, methods, and results.

The goal of the first subproject, "Behaviour of Vkontakte Users: a Regional Analysis Based on Improved Big Data Methods", is to establish the relations between network, textual, and sociodemographic characteristics of users or groups of users and track their regional differences and similarities.

Empirical base: a random sample of users for the Vkontakte social network who declare their location to be in Russia that includes data on the activity on the "walls", texts, data on friendship and metadata (gender, region and so on). The sample contained 7827384 statuses from the "walls" of 42459 users from 69 regions of Russia.

Methods: data collection: automated scraping via the official API. Analysis: descriptive statistics, correlational and regression analysis, topic modeling of stable topics on a subsample of texts of 36396 users united into a single text for each user.

Results: the majority of content in the social network relates to mundane or recreational topics and does not touch sensitive social issues, with the exception of the Ukrainian conflict and religious topics (Christianity and Islam). The most important differences in content have been found depending on the user's gender, and the differences reproduce gender sterotypes ("female' topics include cooking, beauty, and children; "male" topics, soccer and politics). Differences in topical content, activity, and user metadata due to the user's region and town size are almost nonexistent, which indicates territorial and geographical independence of online behaviour. However, on the individual level the rates of activity, feedback, and connectivity between users have great differences and are distributed according to a power law. These results are very important for the methodology of constructing samples from social networks.

The objective of the second subproject, ``Inter-Country Comparison of the Influence of Internet Consumption on Protest Behaviour", was to establish a connection between the consumption of online news and participation in peaceful street protests.

Empirical base: approximately 50 thousand respondents from 49 countries of the sixth wave of the international World Values Survey project, collected over 2011-2014, and country-level parameters from official international sources (e.g., World Bank).

Methods: data collection: the database is freely available. Analysis: multilevel logit and probit regression.

Results: reading news online is statistically significantly (but not strongly) positively related to the probability of protests in all countries, and there is no country where the relation would turn out to be negative. The effect of the news is stable to a number of control variables; it is stronger than the effect of receiving news from friends and from newspapers, but weaker than the effect of interest in politics. Besides, people who combine interest in politics and reading news online are significantly more inclined to protest than people who are only interested in politics or only consume news on the Web.

The objective of the third subproject, ``Developing Probabilistic Models for Natural Language Processing and Internet User Behaviour'', was to develop new probabilistic models and algorithms for processing texts generated by Internet users and to model behaviour and ranking in the context of Internet users.

Empirical base: this project analyzes the properties of new algorithms. Topic modeling algorithms were tested on a collection of blog posts from the LiveJournal social network, in total 101481 posts and 172939 unique words. Ranking algorithms were tested on the data on team tournament results in the form of vector representations of players, in total 680 tournaments and approximately 50000 participants.

Methods: data collection: automated scraping via the official API. Analysis: new topic models were tested for stability with normalized Kullback-Leibler divergence and Jaccard similarity; for quality (topic coherence), with AUC and tf-idf coherence. The predictive power of the new ranking algorithm based on training a deep neural network was evaluated by comparing the predictions with real results of tournaments.

Results: in experiments with topic modeling algorithms, the GLDA algorithm with a new regularizer based on defining local density functions was proposed; it has led to significant improvements in topic modeling stability while at the same time preserving its quality. It has also been established that existing regularizers can both somewhat improve stability (e.g., regularizer in the form of Dirichlet distributions) and reduce it (e.g., sparsity regularizer for the "documents-topics" matrix). In experiments with the new neural network architecture, after two-three training epochs the network achieved the accuracy level of 65-69% which remained at the same level in further training. This level corresponds to the basic TrueSkill model and is only slightly worse than a more complex Bayesian model developed previously, which suggests a possibility to solve the Bayesian rating problem without developing complicated Bayesian models with complex custom optimization algorithms.

Publications:


Koltsov S., Nikolenko S. I., Koltsova O. Gibbs Sampler Optimization for Analysis of a Granulated Medium // Technical Physics Letters. 2016. Vol. 8. No. 42. P. 837-839. doi
Рыков Ю. Г. Общественные движения, профессионалы и поклонники в социальной сети «ВКонтакте»: измерение сетевой сплоченности онлайн сообществ // В кн.: Интернет и современное общество: сборник тезисов докладов. Труды XIX Международной объединенной научной конференции «Интернет и современное общество» (IMS‑2016), Санкт-Петербург, 22 – 24 июня 2016 г. СПб. : Университет ИТМО, 2016. С. 33-36.
Rykov Y., Nagornyy O. S., Koltsova O., Natta H., Kremenets A., Manovich L., Cerrone D., Crockett D. Semantic and Geospatial Mapping of Instagram Images in Saint-Petersburg, in: Proceedings of the Artificial Intelligence and Natural Language AINL FRUCT 2016 Conference, Saint-Petersburg, Russia, 10-12 November 2016 / Сост.: S. I. Balandin, А. Фильченков, Л. М. Пивоварова, J. Zizka. FRUCT Oy, 2016. P. 110-113.
Koltsov S., Nikolenko S. I., Koltsova O., Bodrunova S. Stable topic modeling for web science: Granulated LDA, in: WebSci 2016 - Proceedings of the 2016 ACM Web Science Conference. ELSEVIER, 2016. P. 342-343. doi
Sergei Koltcov, Nikolenko S. I., Olessia Koltsova, Vladimir Filippov, Svetlana Bodrunova. Stable Topic Modeling with Local Density Regularization, in: Internet Science, Proc. of 3d conf INSCI 2016, Lecture Notes in Computer Science series Vol. 9934. Switzerland : Springer, 2016. doi P. 176-188. doi

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Интернет-пользование и интернет-пользователи: межстрановые и межрегиональные сравнения

Приоритетные направления развития: социология
2016

Данное исследование – комплекс трех междисциплинарных подпроектов, которые связаны между собой, но имеют свои отдельные цели, методы и результаты.

Цель первого подпроекта «Поведение пользователей ВКонтакте в межрегиональном разрезе на основе усовершенствованных методов анализа больших данных» - установить связи между сетевыми, текстовыми и социально-демографическими характеристиками пользователей или групп пользователей и проследить их региональные различия или сходства.

Эмпирическая база – случайная  выборка пользователей социальной сети ВКонтакте, декларирующих свое местонахождения в России, включающая данные об активности на "стене", тексты, данные о дружбе и метаданные (пол, регион и др.). Объем выборки: 7827384 записей со «стен» 42459 пользователей из 69 регионов РФ.

Методы: сбор: автоматическая закачка через официальный API. Анализ: описательная статистика, корреляционный и регрессионный анализ, тематическое моделирование стабильных тем на подвыборке из объединенных по автору текстов 36396 пользователей.

Результаты: львиная доля контента социальной сети относится к повседневно-рекреационным темам, обходя стороной острые социальные вопросы, за исключением украинского конфликта и религиозных тем (христианство и ислам).  Наиболее значимым является различие контента в зависимости от пола пользователя, воспроизводящее гендерные стереотипы (женщины – кулинария, красота и дети, мужчины – футбол и политика). Различия в тематике, активности, в мета-данных пользователей, обусловленные регионом проживания и размером города, почти не выражены, что свидетельствует о территориально-географической независимости онлайн-поведения. Однако на индивидуальном уровне показатели активности, обратной связи и связности пользователей имеют колоссальные различия и распределены по степенному закону. Эти результаты имеют большое значение для методики построения выборок из социальных сетей.

Цель подпроекта «Межстрановое сравнение влияния потребления интернета на протестное поведение» - установление связи между потреблением онлайн-новостей и участием в мирных уличных демонстрациях.

Эмпирическая база: примерно 50 тысяч респондентов из 49 стран шестой волны международного опросного проекта World Values Survey, собранные в 2011-2014 годах, и показатели странового уровня из официальных международных источников (например, World Bank).

Методы: сбор: база данных находится в свободном доступе. Анализ: многоуровневая логит- и пробит-регрессия.

Результаты: чтение онлайн-новостей значимо позитивно (но не сильно) связано с вероятностью протестов во всех странах, и нет ни одной страны, где бы связь была отрицательной. Эффект новостей устойчив ко множеству контрольных переменных; он сильнее, чем эффект получения новостей от друзей и из газет, однако слабее эффекта интереса к политике. Кроме того, люди, совмещающие интерес к политике и чтение новостей, заметно более склонны протестовать, чем люди только интересующиеся политикой или только потребляющие новости в интернете.

Цель подпроекта «Разработка вероятностных моделей для обработки естественного языка и поведения интернет-пользователей» - разработать новые вероятностные модели и алгоритмы для обработки текстов, порожденных интернет-пользователями, а также для моделирования поведения и ранжирования в контексте интернет-пользователей.

Эмпирическая база: данный проект анализирует свойства новых алгоритмов. Алгоритмы тематического моделирования тестировались на коллекции постов блогеров из социальной сети ‘Живой Журнал’ объемом 101481 постов и 172939 уникальных слов. Алгоритмы ранжирования тестировались на данных побед/поражений команд, имеющих вид векторных представлений игроков, в объеме 680 турниров и около 50 000 участников.

Методы: сбор: автоматическая закачка через официальный API. Анализ: новые модели тематического моделирования тестировались на стабильность с помощью нормализованной меры Кульбака-Лейблера и коэффициента Жаккара, на качество (когерентность тем) – с помощью AUC и tf-idf согласованности. Предсказательная сила нового алгоритма ранжирования игроков, основанного на обучении нейронной сети, оценивалась через сравнение предсказаний с реальными результатами игр.

Результаты: В экспериментах с алгоритмами тематического моделирования предложен алгоритм GLDA с новым регуляризатором на основе задания функции локальной плотности, позволяющим существенно улучшить стабильность алгоритма, при этом, не снижая его качество. Установлено также, что существующие регуляризаторы могут как несколько повышать стабильность (напр., регуляризатор в виде функции Дирихле), так и снижать ее (напр., регуляризатор разреживания матрицы «документы-темы»). В экспериментах с новой архитектурой нейронной сети после двух-трех эпох обучения достигнут уровень качества 65-69%, который при продолжении обучения не менялся. Этот уровень соответствует базовой модели TrueSkill и лишь слегка уступает более сложной байесовской модели, разработанной ранее, что говорит о возможности избегать в таких задачах разработки байесовских моделей со сложными алгоритмами оптимизации.

Публикации по проекту:


Nora A. K., Olessia Y. K. Online News and Protest Participation in a Political Context: Evidence from Self-Reported Cross-Sectional Data / National research university Higher School of economics. Series WP BRP "Basic research program". 2018. No. WP BRP 58/PS/2018. 
Rykov Y., Meylakhs P., Sinyavskaya Y. Network Structure of an AIDS-denialist Online Community: Identifying Core Members and the Risk Group / Высшая школа экономики. Series SOC "Sociology". 2016. No. 71. 
Кольцов С. Н., Николенко С. И., Кольцова Е. Ю. Gibbs Sampler Optimization for Analysis of a Granulated Medium // Письма в Журнал технической физики. 2016. Т. 42. № 8. C. 837-839. doi
Koltsov S., Nikolenko S. I., Koltsova O., Bodrunova S. Stable topic modeling for web science: Granulated LDA, in: WebSci 2016 - Proceedings of the 2016 ACM Web Science Conference.: Elsevier B.V., 2016. С. 342-343. 
Sergei K., Nikolenko S. I., Olessia K., Vladimir F., Svetlana B. Stable Topic Modeling with Local Density Regularization, in: Internet Science, Proc. of 3d conf INSCI 2016, Lecture Notes in Computer Science series. Switzerland : Springer, 2016. С. 176-188. 
Rykov Y., Nagornyy O. S., Koltsova O., Natta H., Kremenets A., Manovich L., Cerrone D., Crockett D. Semantic and Geospatial Mapping of Instagram Images in Saint-Petersburg, in: Proceedings of the Artificial Intelligence and Natural Language AINL FRUCT 2016 Conference, Saint-Petersburg, Russia, 10-12 November 2016. St. Petersburg : FRUCT Oy, 2016. С. 110-113. 
Рыков Ю. Г. Общественные движения, профессионалы и поклонники в социальной сети «ВКонтакте»: измерение сетевой сплоченности онлайн сообществ, in: Интернет и современное общество: сборник тезисов докладов. Труды XIX Международной объединенной научной конференции «Интернет и современное общество» (IMS‑2016), Санкт-Петербург, 22 – 24 июня 2016 г.. Санкт-Петербург : Университет ИТМО, 2016. С. 33-36.