• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

The Monitoring Survey of Innovative Behavior of the Population: social demand for new and emerging technologies

2016
The project has been carried out as part of the HSE Program of Fundamental Studies.

Aim of the research

The aim of the project is to study the social demand for new technologies. Achievement of the aim assumes description of existing models in the application of innovation among Russian population, classification of innovative behavior for different socio-demographic groups.

Objectives of the research include:

  • analysis of the existing concepts of innovative behavior of the population;
  • analysis of innovative behavior of the Russian population and its involvement in S&T;
  • studying social demand for new and emerging technologies;
  • definition of the factors supporting people’s engagement in innovation processes.

Methodology

The method of collecting information is a representative survey of the Russian population, conducted by NGO "Levada Center" commissioned by the ISSEK HSE. Data analysis included such methods as descriptive statistics, cross-tables analysis, correlation analysis, correspondence analysis, and other methods of data grouping.

Empirical base of the research

The empirical base of the project is a representative survey of the population of the Russian "Social demand for new and emerging technologies." The survey was conducted 13-24 November 2015. A representative sample of the Russian population covers 1671 people aged 16 years and older in 137 settlements of 45 regions of Russia. Additionally data from surveys conducted in the period from 2009 to 2014 were used to study the dynamics of public opinion about science, technology and engineering. International comparisons involves OECD data, the US National Science Foundation surveys, the European Commission researches (Eurobarometer project).

Key results

The results of data analysis showed that Russians see in science more positive consequences than negative ones. However, public opinion on the impact of science differs for the various aspects of life. Thus, the respondents evaluates in the most positive way the impact of science on the standard of living, while the impact of science on the environment in perceived by the Russians in a very controversial way. A significant proportion of the population guess the potential risks of scientific and technological development are high enough to apply some restrictive measures to scientific researches. Therefore, the analysis showed that the public opinion on science in Russia could hardly be considered as unequivocally positive.

However, the analysis focused on the social demand for some of the new and emerging technologies. The analysis showed that the technologies could be ranked by the level of public interest. The most attractive technologies for respondents were well-known and clearly useful ones. Among these technologies were, for example, electric car and solar batteries for households. Biotechnological innovations appeared to be the most unclaimed ones. Among them were synthesized meat products, the cookies made from crickets crushed into the flour, and clothes from recycled waste. The reason for the low interest - anxiety caused by these technological innovations.

The monitoring results were presented in a number of scientific articles and at the various scientific conferences. The list of the conferences is the following: 1st International Conference on the social impact of science (25.07.016 - 07.29.2016 Spain, Barcelona), 21th International Conference on science and technology indicators (14.09 2016 -. 09.16.2016 Spain, Valencia), 14th annual Open innovation Conference and Member (08.01.2016 - 08.03.2016 USA, Boston), 9th Conference on models based on innovation and the development of data (16.06. 2016 - 06.17.2016 Russia, Moscow). The findings were published in a data book "Science. Innovation. Information Society: 2016 "(in Russian and English), prepared for printing in the relevant section of the book “Science Indicators: 2017». In addition, the monitoring results are regularly published in the analytical reports of international organizations (e.g. the OECD), and used in various monographs devoted to the problems of innovative development of Russia.

Level of implementation, recommendations on implementation or outcomes of the implementation of the results

The results of the research can be used by public authorities responsible for the implementation of science policy in the Russian Federation. The poll showed that Russians' attitude to science is generally positive but it has a significant admixture of alertness. The majority of respondents are willing to admit that the science has a positive impact on society, at the same time remains a significant proportion of those respondents who consider it’s necessary to introduce some restrictive measures to scientific researches. This suggests the need to conduct a thoughtful politics to raise the level of public confidence in the institution of science.

In addition, the mass survey results may be useful for organizations working in the sphere of science, technologies and innovations. Analysis of the collected data showed that public interest in technological innovations is not very high. Now only a very small number of technologies can be described as demanded by the most Russians. The findings allow conduct a preliminary work to identify the real social demand for innovation, the identification of specific customers for different innovative products and further segmentation of their audience.

Publications:


Fursov K., Nefedova A., Thurner T. What user-innovators do that others don't: A study of daily practices // Technological Forecasting and Social Change. 2017. Vol. 118. P. 153-160. doi
Fursov K., Thurner T. God Helps Those Who Help Themselves! A Study of User-Innovation in Russia / NRU HSE. Series SCIENCE, TECHNOLOGY, INNOVATION "SCIENCE, TECHNOLOGY, INNOVATION". 2016. No. 59. doi
Fursov K., Thurner T. Make it work! – A study of user-innovation in Russia. // Science and Public Policy. 2017. Vol. 44. No. 3. P. 392-402. doi

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Мониторинг инновационного поведения населения: социальный спрос на новые и возникающие технологии

2016

Цель работы

Целью проекта является изучение социального спроса на новые технологии. Реализация этой цели основывается на описании существующих в России моделей освоения населением инноваций, классификации инновационного поведения разных социально-демографических групп.

Задачи научного исследования:

  • анализ существующих концепций инновационного поведения населения;
  • анализ инновационного поведения населения РФ и вовлеченности населения в инновационные практики;
  • изучение спроса населения на новые и возникающие технологии;
  • определение факторов интеграции населения в инновационные процессы.

Объект исследования 2016 г. – население России.

Предмет исследования – спрос населения на новые и возникающие технологии.

Используемые методы

Методом сбора информации является репрезентативный опрос населения России, проводимый АНО «Аналитический центр Юрия Левады» по заказу ИСИЭЗ НИУ ВШЭ. На этапе обработки данных использовались анализ линейных распределений, таблиц сопряженности, корреляций между переменными, корреспондентный анализ, а также другие методы группировки данных.

Эмпирическая база исследования

Эмпирическая база работы представляет собой массив репрезентативных данных опроса населения России "Социальный спрос на новые и возникающие технологии". Опрос был проведен 13-24 ноября 2015 г. по репрезентативной выборке населения России, опрошено 1671 человек в возрасте 16 лет и старше в 137 населенных пунктах 45 регионов России. Для изучения динамики общественного мнения о науке, технологии и инженерных используются данные опросов, проведенных в период с 2009 по 2014 год. Для международных сопоставлений используются данные ОЭСР, Национального научного фонд США, Европейской комиссии (проект Eurobarometer).

Результаты работы

Результаты анализа данных показали, что россияне видят в науке, в целом, больше пользы, чем вреда. При этом сохраняется структура оценок населением влияния науки на различные стороны жизни. Так, наиболее позитивно респонденты оценивают влияние науки на уровень жизни, в то время как наиболее неоднозначной оказывается оценка влияния науки на состояние окружающей среды. При этом остается заметной доля тех россиян, которые при оценке потенциальных рисков научно-технологического развития, придерживаются мнения о том, что по отношению к науке возможно и даже необходимо применение определенных рестриктивных мер. Все это говорит о том, что отношение населения России к науке вряд ли стоит считать однозначно положительным.

Отдельно были изучены социальные аспекты спроса населения России на некоторые новые технологии. Анализ показывает, что сами технологии могут быть ранжированы по уровню проявленного к ним интереса. Наибольший интерес вызывают «понятные» технологии, часто упоминаемые в СМИ и позволяющие извлекать очевидную пользу от их применения в быту. Среди таковых технологий оказались, например, электромобиль и бытовая солнечная батарея. Наименьший интерес россияне проявили к новинкам из области биотехнологий – синтезированным мясным продуктам, печенью из перемолотых в муку сверчков и одежде из переработанных отходов. Причина низкого интереса – беспокойство, вызываемое этими технологическими новинками.

Также в 2016 г. были разработаны методология исследования и инструментарий для реализации новой волны мониторинга инновационного поведения населения, была существенно доработана модель изучения пользовательских инноваций. Эмпирические данные для проведения соответствующего анализа были собраны в ходе реализации полевого этапа Российского мониторинга экономического положения и здоровья населения НИУ ВШЭ.

Результаты мониторинга представлены в ряде научных статей, отражены в выступлениях участников проекта на следующих конференциях: The 1st International conference Social Impact of Science (25.07.016 – 29.07.2016 Испания, Барселона), The 21st International conference on science and technology indicators (14.09.2016 - 16.09.2016 Испания, Валенсия), 14th Annual Open and User Innovation Conference (01.08.2016 - 3.08.2016 США, Бостон), 9th Conference on Model-based Evidence on Innovation and Development (16.06.2016 - 17.06.2016 Россия, Москва). Результаты исследования были опубликованы в кратком статистическом сборнике «Наука. Инновации. Информационное общество: 2016» (на русском и английском языках), подготовлен к печати соответствующий раздел сборника «Индикаторы науки: 2017». Кроме того, результаты мониторинга регулярно публикуются в аналитических докладах международных организаций, используются в монографиях и статьях, посвященных проблемам инновационного развития России.

Степень внедрения, рекомендации по внедрению или итоги внедрения результатов НИР

Результаты настоящего исследования могут быть использованы, в первую очередь, государственными органами, ответственными за реализацию политики в области науки в Российской федерации. Опрос показал, что отношение россиян к науке хоть и является в целом положительным, однако имеет заметную примесь настороженности. Хотя большинство опрошенных готовы признать, что от науки в целом больше пользы, чем вреда, при этом значимой остается доля тех, кто считает необходимым введение рестриктивных мер в отношении научных исследований. Это говорит о необходимости проводить вдумчивую работу с населением для поднятия уровня доверия к самому институту науки.

Также результаты массового опроса могут заинтересовать организации, работающие в сфере разработки инновационных продуктов и услуг. Анализ собранных данных показывает, что интерес населения к технологическим новинкам не очень высок. На данный момент лишь очень небольшое число технологий можно обозначить как востребованные со стороны россиян. Результаты исследования позволяют провести предварительную работу по выявлению реального социального запроса на инновации, выявлению потребителей конкретных инновационных продуктов и дополнительной сегментации аудитории.

Применение результатов исследования

Результаты исследования представлены в научных публикациях, статистических сборниках, аналитических докладах, а так же в информационных бюллетенях и в СМИ.

Статьи в журналах, индексируемых в WoS и/или SCOPUS

Fursov K., Thurner T. Make it work! – A study of user-innovation in Russia // Science and Public Policy. 2017. (in print).

Fursov K., Nefedova A., Thurner T. What user-innovators do that others don’t. A study of daily practices // Small Business Economics. 2017. (accepted).

Препринты на английском языке

Fursov K., Nefedova A., Thurner T. What user-innovators do that others don't. A study of daily practices Working papers by NRU Higher School of Economics. Series WP BRP «Science, Technology and Innovation». 2016. No. 62

Доклады на конференциях

K. Fursov How user-innovators can be identified? Evidence collected from the analysis of practices // The 21st International conference on science and technology indicators (14.09.2016 - 16.09.2016 Испания, Валенсия)

K. Fursov What user-innovators do that others don’t: A study of daily practices // 14th Annual Open and User Innovation Conference (01.08.2016 - 03.08.2016 США, Бостон)

K. Fursov What do we know about user-innovation in Russia? Evidence from a large-scale population survey // 9th Conference on Model-based Evidence on Innovation and DEvelopment (MEIDE) (16.06.2016 - 17.06.2016 Россия, Москва)

K. Fursov, A. Nefedova, T. Thurner Achieving Higher Levels of Economic Productivity: Potential of User-Innovation // 1st Conference on Social Impact of Science (25.07.016 – 29.07.2016 Испания, Барселона)

Войнилов Ю.Л., Нефедова А.И. Личные роботы и генная инженерия: к каким инновациям готовы россияне // Future Foundation Technology Ethics Conference (01.10.2016 Россия, Москва)

Статьи и доклады на русском и английском языке

Войнилов Ю.Л., Полякова В.В. Мое тело — моя крепость: общественное мнение о биомедицинских технологиях // Социология власти. 2016. № 1. С. 185-207

Разделы статистических сборников

Раздел «Общественное мнение о науке» в Индикаторы науки: 2017: статистический сборник / Науч. ред.: Л. М. Гохберг, Я. И. Кузьминов, К. Э. Лайкам, С. В. Салихов. Национальный исследовательский университет "Высшая школа экономики", 2016.

Раздел «Отношение населения к науке и инновациям» в Наука. Инновации. Информационное общество: 2016: краткий статистический сборник / Науч. ред.: Л.М. Гохберг, Я.И. Кузьминов, К. Э. Лайкам, С.В. Салихов. Национальный исследовательский университет "Высшая школа экономики", 2016.

Экспресс-информация

  • Общественное мнение о последствиях развития науки и технологий     

Публикации на портале iq.hse.ru:

  • Почему россияне боятся медицины будущего (https://iq.hse.ru/news/182808665.html)

Новости в СМИ

  • Какие новые технологии готовы принять россияне (http://scientificrussia.ru/articles/k-kakim-novym-tehnologiyam-gotovy-rossiyane_
  • Население России теряет "инновационный инстинкт" (http://www.ng.ru/science/2016-09-28/9_innovations.html)
  • Повседневные практики "изобретателей велосипеда" (https://issek.hse.ru/news/190803986.html)
  • Россия заняла предпоследнее место по позитивной оценке роли науки и техники в обществе (http://tass.ru/nauka/3566089)
  • Константин Фурсов: "Важно как можно шире рассказать о своем изобретении" (http://www.otr-online.ru/programmi/segodnya-v-rossii-27580/chto-i-zachem-57567.html)
  • Что и зачем изобретают россияне (http://юные-техники.рф/chto-i-zachem-izobretayut-rossiyane/)
  • Вечно юный техник (http://www.vedomosti.ru/opinion/articles/2016/08/02/651364-vechno-yunii-tehnik)
  • Опрос: россияне не доверяют современным биомедицинским технологиям (http://tass.ru/nauka/3313219)
  • Как укрепить позиции российской науки в мире (http://rosnauka.ru/publication/1423)
  • Российская наука: место в мире (https://issek.hse.ru/news/177629517.html)
  • Популяризация — для ученых? (http://strf.ru/material.aspx?CatalogId=221&d_no=114514) 
  • Опрос ВШЭ: как россияне относятся к достижениям науки (http://science.theoryandpractice.ru/posts/392-opros-vshe-kak-rossiyane-otnosyatsya-k-dostizheniyam-nauki)
  • ВШЭ: россияне мало интересуются наукой, но уверены, что много о ней знают (http://tass.ru/nauka/2648504)

Публикации по проекту:


Fursov K., Nefedova A., Thurner T. What user-innovators do that others don't: A study of daily practices // Technological Forecasting and Social Change. 2017. Vol. 118. P. 153-160. doi
Fursov K., Thurner T. God Helps Those Who Help Themselves! A Study of User-Innovation in Russia / NRU HSE. Series SCIENCE, TECHNOLOGY, INNOVATION "SCIENCE, TECHNOLOGY, INNOVATION". 2016. No. 59. doi
Fursov K., Thurner T. Make it work! – A study of user-innovation in Russia. // Science and Public Policy. 2017. Vol. 44. No. 3. P. 392-402. doi

См. также

Ключевые слова