• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Development of theoretical and methodological approaches to studying activities of innovation process participants

Priority areas of development: economics
2017
The project has been carried out as part of the HSE Program of Fundamental Studies.

Relevance of studying behaviour of innovation process participants is due to the growing interest, in Russia and elsewhere, in knowledge creation, transfer, and practical application. Economic theory covers an increasingly wide range of actors active in knowledge and technology markets (producers and consumers of products and services, intermediary institutions, skilled personnel, specific social groups), applying increasingly diverse analytical approaches based on collecting, processing, and structuring data from various sources – which allows to identify “hidden” phenomena and players.

The goal of the study for 2017 was develop techniques for researching the knowledge market and assessing behaviour patterns of various economic actors.

The analysis was focused on methodological and analytical approaches to studying and structuring the following aspects:

Companies’ and research organisations’ innovation strategies, specifically those aimed at involvement in innovation and strengthening cooperation (objective 1);

Knowledge-intensive services companies’ activities and functionality, in particular regarding demand for specific innovation-related services (objective 2);

Strategies and behaviour patterns of doctorate holders, and application of their competencies (objective 3);

The role of users in creation of innovations (objective 4).

Methodology and techniques. The long-term project in question belongs in the integrated theoretical-empirical research class. Ultimately it’s aimed at accumulating various data, including analytics, on specific features of interaction between various components/actors of innovation systems (in Russia and abroad); extending theoretical coverage, elaborating and refining practical conclusions which would help collect information required for shaping evidence-based science, technology, and innovation (STI) policy.

The 2017 project builds upon the results obtained by the ISSEK team, including the following projects implemented in the scope of the HSE Basic Research Programme in 2007-2017: Monitoring activities of innovation process participants (ongoing since 2009); Monitoring innovation behaviour of the population (ongoing since 2009); Russian National Innovation System: development trends and policy areas (2011-2012); Monitoring careers of researchers – doctorate holders (ongoing since 2010), Monitoring the knowledge-intensive services sector (ongoing since 2007), etc.

Specific characteristics of innovation behaviour are being analysed in the course of the study, including various aspects of knowledge creation, dissemination, and application; labour turnover; and perception of policies.

Macroeconomic, microeconometric, sociological and statistical analysis techniques are being applied and developed in the scope of the project, to identify key interconnections and assess specific factors affecting companies’ and other organisations’ choice of STI strategies; methodological approaches and techniques (recommendations) employed in the scope of international programmes are being further developed and adjusted, such as Careers of Doctorate Holders (CDH), European Manufacturing Survey, etc.

The empirical basis of the study comprises arrays of relevant statistical data, results of original representative and targeted surveys of companies and other organisations active in the STI sphere, industry, and services, and households (in 2007-2017); various available databases of survey and monitoring results conducted in Russia and other countries, and implemented by international organisations.

The study yielded the following results (in the scope of objectives 1-4):

(1) New analytical approaches were developed to identify innovation system participants’ roles and objectives, ways to adapt economic behaviour models to changing conditions (among other things due to global challenges or increased competition in product, technology, and other markets); various taxonomies; and areas and forms of such actors’ cooperation.

(2) The scope and key characteristics of the knowledge-intensive services sector were identified, among other things for international comparison purposes; innovation activities of the sector companies were analysed; approaches to studying demand for knowledge-intensive services were tested (assessing the level of co-production, and consumption of such services by customers); growth of the sector’s specific segments was measured (engineering, information technologies, financial brokerage).

(3) Development of a methodology for studying strategies and behavioral practices of employees of higher scientific qualifications in the system of innovation and knowledge economy, the use of their competencies for economic growth; identification of the characteristics of primary and secondary employment, professional and social mobility in the international and national labor market.

(4) Assessing the role of end users (as a group of the total economically active population) in creation and dissemination of innovations; structuring present-day analytical approaches to measuring innovation activity of the population, and assessing the scope for extending methodologies and tools for statistical observation of innovation activities to cover economic activities of households.

Practical application. Implementation of the project will increase the explanatory power of existing analytical models and allow to suggest new  approaches to develop (among other things) substantiated recommendations on strengthening the information basis for making management decisions in the STI sphere.  It would help increase the validity of these decisions and select efficient regulation tools and areas on the basis of best international practices.

Publications:


Kratzer J., Meissner D., Roud V. Open innovation and company culture: Internal openness makes the difference // Technological Forecasting and Social Change. 2017. Vol. 119. P. 128-138. doi
Meissner D., Polt W., Vonortas N. Towards a broad understanding of innovation and its importance for innovation policy // The Journal of Technology Transfer. 2017. Vol. 42. No. 5. P. 1184-1211. doi
Carayannis E., Meissner D. Glocal targeted open innovation: challenges, opportunities and implications for theory, policy and practice // The Journal of Technology Transfer. 2017. Vol. 42. No. 2. P. 236-252. doi
Adegbile A., Sarpong D., Meissner D. Strategic foresight for innovation management: A review and research agenda // International Journal of Innovation and Technology Management. 2017. Vol. 14. No. 4. P. 1-34. doi
Vlasova V., Roud V. Cooperating with Universities and R&D Organizations: Mainstream Practice or Peculiarity? / NRU Higher School of Economics. Series WP BRP "Science, Technology and Innovation". 2017. No. 75/STI/2017.
Усоскин В. М., Белоусова В. Ю., Козырь И. О. Финансовое посредничество в условиях развития новых технологий // Деньги и кредит. 2017. № 5. С. 14-21.
Miles I. D., Belousova V., Chichkanov N. Innovation Configurations in Knowledge-Intensive Business Services // Foresight and STI Governance. 2017. Vol. 11. No. 3. P. 94-102. doi

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Разработка теоретических и методических подходов к исследованию активности субъектов инновационного процесса

Приоритетные направления развития: экономика
2017

Актуальность изучения поведения субъектов инновационного процесса обусловлена усилением в России и в других странах интереса к процессам генерации новых знаний, формам их передачи и практического использования. Экономическая наука уделяет внимание все более широкому кругу акторов, действующих на рынке знаний и технологий (производители и потребители продуктов и услуг; институты-посредники, квалифицированные кадры, отдельные социальные группы), используя все более разнообразные аналитические подходы, базирующиеся на сборе, обработке и систематизации данных из различных источников, что позволяет выявить «скрытые» явления и игроков.

Цель научного исследования 2017 г. состояла в развитии методов исследования рынка знаний и оценки поведенческих паттернов отдельных экономических акторов.

Объектом анализа стали методологические и аналитические подходы к изучению / систематизации:

  • инновационных стратегий предприятий и научных организаций в части вовлечения в инновации и развития кооперации (задача 1);
  • функций организаций сектора интеллектуальных услуг в части востребованности отдельных сервисов при осуществлении инноваций (задача 2);
  • стратегий и поведенческих практик работников высшей научной квалификации, использования их компетенций (задача 3);
  • роли пользователей в генерации инноваций (задача 4).

Используемые методы. Реализуемый долгосрочный проект относится к классу комплексных теоретико-эмпирических работ. В конечном счете,  он нацелен на аккумуляцию разнообразных сведений, включая аналитику, о специфике взаимодействия различных элементов / акторов инновационных систем (в России, за рубежом); расширение теоретических постановок, уточнение и детализацию практических выводов, которые позволяют формировать информационную основу доказательной политики в сфере науки, технологий, инноваций (НТИ).

Проект 2017 г. развивает результаты работ коллектива ИСИЭЗ НИУ ВШЭ, в том числе выполненных по Программе фундаментальных исследований, в 2007-2017 гг.: Мониторинг инновационной активности субъектов инновационного процесса (с 2009 г.); Мониторинг инновационного поведения населения (с 2009 г.); Национальная инновационная система России: тенденции развития и направления политики (2011-2012 гг.); Мониторинг научных кадров высшей квалификации (с 2010 г.), Мониторинг интеллектуальных услуг (с 2007 г.) и др.

Исследуются непосредственные характеристики инновационного поведения, включая различные аспекты генерации, распространения и использования новых знаний и компетенций, циркуляции кадров, восприятия мер политики.

В рамках проекта используются и совершенствуются методология и методы макроэкономики, микроэконометрики, социологического и статистического анализа, нацеленные на выявление ключевых взаимосвязей, оценку роли отдельных факторов в определении стратегий предприятий и организаций в сфере НТИ. Развиваются методологические и методические подходы (рекомендации) международных программ исследований (Careers of doctorate holders, CDH; European Manufacturing Survey и др.).

Эмпирическая база исследования объединяет массивы релевантных статистических данных, результатов собственных репрезентативных и целевых опросов организаций и предприятий сферы НТИ, промышленности, секторов услуг и населения (2007-2017 гг.); доступные базы данных разного рода обследований и, мониторингов, проводимых в России и зарубежных странах, а также реализуемых международными организациями.

Результатами научного исследования стали (в разрезе задач 1-4):

(1) Развитие новых аналитических подходов к выявлению функций и задач акторов инновационных систем, путей адаптации моделей экономического поведения к меняющимся условиям, в том числе обусловленным глобальными вызовами, повышением конкуренции на продуктовых, технологических и других рынках; различных таксономий; направлений и форм кооперации этих акторов.

(2) Выявление границ и ключевых характеристик сектора интеллектуальных услуг, в том числе выделяемых в рамках международных сопоставлений; анализ инновационной активности компаний сектора; апробация подходов к изучению востребованности интеллектуальных услуг (оценка уровня со-производства и использования услуг заказчиком) и динамике отдельных сегментов сектора (инжиниринг, информационные технологии, финансовое посредничество).

(3) Разработка методологии исследования стратегий и поведенческих практик работников высшей научной квалификации в системе инноваций и экономики знаний; использования их компетенций для экономического роста; выявление характеристики первичной и вторичной занятости, профессиональной и социальной мобильности на международном и национальном рынке труда.

(4) Выявление роли конечных пользователей (из общей численности экономически активного населения) в процессах генерации и распространении инноваций, систематизация современных аналитических подходов к измерению инновационной активности населения и оценка возможности распространения методологии и инструментария статистического наблюдения за инновационной деятельностью на экономическую активность домохозяйств.

Степень внедрения. Реализация проекта позволит расширить объяснительные возможности существующих аналитических моделей и предложить новые исследовательские подходы, в том числе для разработки научно-обоснованных рекомендаций по расширению информационной базы и процесса принятия управленческих решений в сфере НТИ, усилению их обоснованности и выбору эффективных направлений и инструментов регулирования с учетом лучших зарубежных практик.

Публикации по проекту:


Kergroach S., Meissner D., Vonortas N. Technology transfer and commercialisation by universities and PRIs: benchmarking OECD country policy approaches // Economics of Innovation and New Technology. 2018. Vol. 27. No. 5-6. P. 510-530. doi
Adegbile A., Sarpong D., Meissner D. Strategic Foresight for Innovation Management: A Review and Research Agenda // International Journal of Innovation and Technology Management. 2017. Vol. 14. No. 4. P. 1750019-1-1750019-34. doi
Kratzer J., Meissner D., Roud V. Open innovation and company culture: Internal openness makes the difference // Technological Forecasting and Social Change. 2017. Vol. 119. P. 128-138. doi
Miles I. D., Belousova V., Chichkanov N. Innovation Configurations in Knowledge-Intensive Business Services // Foresight and STI Governance. 2017. Vol. 11. No. 3. P. 94-102. doi
Усоскин В. М., Белоусова В. Ю., Козырь И. О. Финансовое посредничество в условиях развития новых технологий // Деньги и кредит. 2017. № 5. С. 14-21.
Vlasova V., Roud V. Cooperating with Universities and R&D Organizations: Mainstream Practice or Peculiarity? / NRU Higher School of Economics. Series WP BRP "Science, Technology and Innovation". 2017. No. 75/STI/2017.
Carayannis E., Meissner D. Glocal targeted open innovation: challenges, opportunities and implications for theory, policy and practice // The Journal of Technology Transfer. 2017. Vol. 42. No. 2. P. 236-252. doi
Meissner D., Polt W., Vonortas N. Towards a broad understanding of innovation and its importance for innovation policy // The Journal of Technology Transfer. 2017. Vol. 42. No. 5. P. 1184-1211. doi

См. также

Исследование активности субъектов инновационного процесса: развитие теоретической рамки и методических подходов

Исследование активности субъектов инновационного процесса: возможности применения новых методологических подходов

Измерение и моделирование паттернов инновационной деятельности: проблемы гетерогенности акторов

Измерение и моделирование паттернов инновационной деятельности

Изучение и разработка новых подходов к анализу и моделированию поведения субъектов инновационной деятельности и инновационных рынков: разнообразие акторов инновационных систем

Изучение и разработка новых подходов к анализу и моделированию поведения субъектов инновационной деятельности и инновационных рынков

Изучение и разработка новых подходов к анализу и моделированию поведения субъектов инновационной деятельности и инновационных рынков: операционализация инновационных стратегий

Ключевые слова