• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Opportunities for socio-economic integration of migrants in Moscow: the main barriers and the strategies for overcoming

Priority areas of development: sociology
2017
The project has been carried out as part of the HSE Program of Fundamental Studies.

Goal of research:

The goal of the study was to explore and describe how migrants use the social and economic infrastructure in Moscow, and how they create their own infrastructure in a situation of social exclusion. This year we have studied the ways in which the labor migrants are integrated into the religious institutions of the city; the ways in which the migrant families are integrated into the educational system of Moscow; and the ways in which the social structure of the city affects the use of urban space by migrants. The experience of socio-economic integration of migrants in Moscow is compared to practices found in other countries and other regions of Russia.

Methodology:

The study is based on qualitative data collected through in-depth interviews focused on such themes as the urban Muslim infrastructure, social structure of Moscow, recreational and educational infrastructure available for migrant children. Interviews were based on guides designed specifically for each of these research themes. For studying the urban Muslim infrastructure and recreational and educational infrastructure available for migrant children we also relied on participant observation.

Empirical base of research:

For the study, we identified three main themes: 1) urban Muslim infrastructure. The use of mosques by migrants from Central Asia and from the Caucasus; 2) recreational and educational infrastructure available for migrant children. Here we have conducted preliminary research into the work of NGOs involved in educational programs for migrant children. 3) Analysis of contribution of migration to changing the social structure of Moscow districts. We have conducted in-depth interviews with labor migrants (N = 25), parents of migrant children (N = 26), representatives of NGOs (N = 9) and “children’s clubs” (N = 3). We also conducted semi-formalized interviews with experts in the field of urban planning (N = 8). We also conducted participant observation in mosques and prayer halls, in “children’s clubs,” at the sessions conducted by NGOs, and at the educational centers attended by migrant children.

Results of research:

The Muslim space of cities is diverse. In recent years, migration has become one of the most obvious factors of changes of the Muslim public space in Moscow. Muslim migrants arriving to the city began attending mosques and prayer halls, making the Muslim urban space more heterogeneous. It increasingly consists of both “local” Muslims and “newcomers” who also bring new religious practices in mosques. In the second part of our study we analyzed the contribution of migration to the changes in the social structure of the capital’s districts. The urban space is poorly structured, especially in the suburbs. In these areas, the available social services are used by all population groups, including the migrants. Leisure facilities, however, are concentrated in the central part of the city and in the areas along the “axes of prestige”, as well as in major shopping centers. The third part of the study focused on the educational strategies of families with children. In Moscow, there emerged new infrastructure for migrant children, which is also a part of the informal economy. During the last year, several “children's clubs” have been created in Moscow attended by migrants from different countries and regions. Yet, such places remain invisible in the city, even though they perform the most important role in terms of facilitating inclusion of migrant children in the host society.

Level of implementation, recommendations on implementation or outcomes of the implementation of the results.

Results of this study can be drawn upon for framing and formulating migration policy by Moscow city government and its agencies, as well as for designing specific economic, social, and cultural programs in Moscow.

Publications:


Zelenova D. Contextualizing grassroots housing struggles in contemporary South Africa: Case study of the “Symphony Way Pavement Dwellers' Community”. // Social Movement Studies. 2019

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Возможности социально-экономической интеграции мигрантов в Москве: основные барьеры и стратегии их преодоления

Приоритетные направления развития: социология
2017

Цель работы

Целью исследования было изучить и описать, как мигранты используют социальную и экономическую инфраструктуру Москвы, и как, в условиях социальной исключенности, создают свою собственную. В этом году мы ставили целью изучить как трудовые мигранты интегрированы в жизнь  религиозных институтов; как семьи мигрантов встраиваются в образовательную систему города; как структура города влияет на использование мигрантами городского пространства. Этот опыт социально-экономической интеграции мигрантов в Москве мы сравнивали с практиками в других странах и регионах.

Используемые методы:

Методология предполагала проведение качественного исследования по трем направлениям исследования. Были поведены глубинные интервью по темам «мусульманская инфраструктура городов», «социальная структура Москвы», «досуговая и образовательная инфраструктура для детей мигрантов» с отдельным гайдом для каждого направления. Исследование также предполагало метод включенного наблюдения по направлению «мусульманская инфраструктура городов» и «досуговая и образовательная инфраструктура для детей мигрантов».

Эмпирическая база исследования:

Для проведения исследования нами были выделены три основные темы: 1) Мусульманская инфраструктура городов. Использование пространства мечетей мигрантами из стран Средней Азии, республик и стран Кавказа; 2) досуговая и образовательная инфраструктура для детей мигрантов. Были проведены первые исследования, направленные на изучение работы НКО, занимающихся образовательными программами для детей мигратов. 3) Анализ вклада миграции в изменение социальной структуры районов Москвы. Были проведены глубинные интервью с трудовыми мигрантами (N=25), родителями детей мигрантов (N=26), представителями НКО (N=9) и «детских клубов» (N=3). Были проведены полуформализованные интервью с экспертами в области городского планирования (N=8). Было проведено включенное наблюдение в мечетях и молельных залах, в «детских клубах», на занятиях НКО и в образовательных центрах, которые посещают дети мигрантов.

Результаты работы:

Мусульманское пространство городов разнообразно. В последние годы одним из очевидных факторов изменения мусульманского публичного пространства становится миграция. Мигранты-мусульмане, приезжающие в город, начинают посещать мечети и молельные залы. Мусульманское пространство городов становится гетерогенным. Оно состоит как из «местных» мусульман, так и из «приезжих». В мечетях появляются новые религиозные практики. Во второй части исследования был проанализирован вклад миграции в изменение социальной структуры районов столицы. Москва – один из самых «рыхлых» городов по пятну застройки при высокой плотности населения. Городское пространстве организовано слабо, особенно в окраинных районах. В них сохраняется набор социальных услуг, которым пользуются все группы населения, в том числе мигранты. Однако места проведения досуга концентрируются в центральной части города и районах вдоль осей престижности, а также в крупных торговых центрах. Третья часть исследования была направлена на изучение образовательных стратегий семей с детьми. В Москве появляется новая инфраструктура для детей мигрантов, являющаяся частью неформальной экономики. В последний год в Москве создано несколько таких «детских клубов», которыми пользуются мигранты из разных стран и регионов. В пространстве города такие места незаметны, они выполняют важнейшую функцию по включению детей в принимающее общество.

Степень внедрения, рекомендации по внедрению или итоги внедрения результатов НИР

Результаты исследования могут послужить основной выстраивания миграционной политики Москвы государственными органами, а также разработке экономических, социальных и культурных программ в г. Москве.

Публикации по проекту:


Gunko M., Bogacheva P., Medvedev A., Kashnitsky I. S. Path-Dependent Development of Mass Housing in Moscow, Russia, in: Housing Estates in Europe: Poverty, Ethnic Segregation, and Policy Challenges. Springer, 2018. Ch. 13. P. 289-311. doi
Zelenova D. Contextualizing grassroots housing struggles in contemporary South Africa: Case study of the “Symphony Way Pavement Dwellers' Community”. // Social Movement Studies. 2019