• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Inequality in the labor market

Priority areas of development: economics
2017
The project has been carried out as part of the HSE Program of Fundamental Studies.

Goal of research:  Determination of inequality in the labor market in the micro-level (individuals, enterprises, regions). The realization of the goal of research was carried out through the following directions: human capital, labor income, employment structure, employment conditions

Object of study: enterprises, regions and individuals in the labor market

Methodology:

Analysis was carried out through using of different econometric methods and models, including Ordinary least squares (OLS-regression), logistic regression, probit regression, Two-stage least squares regression, Oaxaca-Blinder and Brown decomposition, fixed and random effects models.

Empirical base of research:

  • Data of Federal State Statistics Service (2002-2017) by Russian regions
  • Russian Longitudinal Monitoring Survey of Higher School of Economics (2000-2017)
  • Data of Federal State Statistics Service Labor Force survey (1995-2015)
  • Enterprise survey «Interaction of internal and external labor markers» (2014) that represents Russian enterprises.
  • Russian enterprises' Senior executives database (5000 Senior Executives, 2000-2017)

Results of research:

The results of research characterize different aspects of inequality in the Russian labor market. We found that that internal and external migration of the population reduces the speed of convergence of the Russian regions in terms of wages. At the same time, the convergence of Russian regions does not depend on the quality of the human capital of migrants.

Workers of foreign origin who are employed in the Russian labor market since the 1990s and from the 2000s differ in their socio-demographic characteristics and level of labor income from local workers. At the same time, their long stay in the Russian labor market leads to decrease of the inequality of their labor income and the labor income of the local population.

During the period of 1995-2015, there was a significant ageing of the Russian workforce. In 2015, 10% of workers were over working age. At the same time, the level of pensions in Russia is 30-35% to the level of the average wage, which put considerable limitations for leaving the labor market for elderly workers. The population leaves the labor market only in case of serious health problems. At the same time, there is a limited demand for older workers which reflects the segmentation of their jobs by professions and sectors of the national economy.

Over the past 15 years, the proportion of young people aged 25-29 has increased in Russia. At the same time, young people in Russia are characterized by low variability for various health diseases. Neither disability, nor chronic diseases have a significant impact on the choice of the sphere of youth employment. At the same time, health has a significant impact on the choice of the university, the labor income of individuals and the distribution of hours of work between employment in the labor market and household activities. Poor health leads to the higher probability of choice of the universities with a low rating, a reduction in wages and a reduction in hours of work in the labor market.

The investment of enterprises in the education of workers can help to reduce the inequality in the labor market. However, the results of our study shoes that in spite of the fact, that the majority of Russian enterprises state the existence of vocational training programs, the share of trained employees remains relatively low. In Russia, as in many other developed and developing countries, the probability of training decreases with age. A particularly significant reduction in participation in training is observed for the age group of workers over 50 years. The main reason for the low level of employee participation in vocational training is the low technical advancement of Russian enterprises and lack of competition in the output markets.  

The results of analysis of gender inequality in terms of salaries in Russian universities have confirmed the existence of gender wage gap in faculty salaries the Russian academic sector: on average, male faculty members earn 16-18% more than their female colleagues. The problem of ‘glass ceiling’ does exist at Russian HEIs: it is more difficult for women to raise higher in the academic hierarchy, though this might partially be due to self-selection.

The study of the application of various personnel policies by the organizations in relation to personnel and their impact on the performance of organizations makes it possible to draw a number of conclusions. Vocational training positively affects the labor productivity of enterprises. However, the financial status of enterprises that train workers in the workplace is worse compared to those that do not train employees.

Enterprises that use contingent labor have better financial status and higher level of labor productivity.  However, an increase in the share of contingent employees in enterprises raises the level of labor productivity only to a certain critical level, after reaching it, a further increase in the share of contingent employees lead to a decrease in labor productivity.

Enterprises that use fixed-term contracts have a lower level of labor productivity. The increase in the share of workers with fixed-term employment contracts positively affects the growth of labor productivity only to a certain level. If the share of workers with fixed-term employment contracts exceeds this level, then the growth of labor productivity in enterprises slows down.

We also found that for the banking sector enterprises in case of deterioration of financial performance and during periods of crisis, the turnover among the members of the board of banks increases. Thus, the personnel policy with respect to the change of leading bank executives operates according to market principles, facilitating the selection of more competent and efficient managers.

Level of implementation, recommendations on implementation or outcomes of the implementation of the results

The results of the project were published in different academic journals and preprint series (6 articles, 2 preprints), were discussed at seminars and conferences in Russia and foreign countries. The results of the project are also used in educational process in the preparation of teaching aids, manuals and lectures on labor and personnel economics.

The results of the survey, obtained from enterprise data, can be demanded by the Ministry of Industry and Trade of the Russian Federation and the Ministry of Economic Development of the Russian Federation for the development of measures to create incentives for ensuring labor productivity growth and financial efficiency of enterprises and organizations. There can be developed different measures for improvement of competitiveness of Russian economy and development of industrial sectors through investment in human capital and efficient use of human resources, including labor of immigrants, young and older workers.

The results of the project have policy implications and can be applied for advancement of economic and social policies. They are relevant for the Ministry of Labor and Social Protection of the Russian Federation to reduce the disparity in labor income, conditions and employment structure of different socio-demographic groups.

The results of the study can be used by the Ministry of Education of the Russian Federation to develop measures for the development of vocational education and training, as well as measures to ensure the training of the personnel in the conditions of technical advancement of workplaces.

Publications:


Polyakova E., Kuleva M. Cultural employment in Russia and Europe: a comparative analysis / Centre for German and European Studies Bielefeld / St. Petersburg. Series WP 2014-04 "CGES Working Papers". 2018.
Smirnykh Larisa, Woergoetter A. THE IMPORTANCE OF INSTITUTIONAL AND ORGANIZATIONAL CHARACTERISTICS FOR THE USE OF FIXED-TERM CONTRACTS IN RUSSIA // Journal for East European Management Studies. 2019. № 1. С. 89-121. doi
Roshchin S., Travkin P. Determinants of on-the-job training in enterprises: the Russian case // European Journal of Training and Development. 2017. Vol. 41. No. 9. P. 758-775. doi
Solntsev S., Roshchin S., Vasiliev D. Recruiting and Job Search Technologies in the Age of Internet // Foresight and STI Governance. 2017. Vol. 11. No. 4. P. 33-43. doi
Roshchin S., Travkin P. Determinants of Job-Related Training in Enterprises: The Russian Case / NRU Higher School of Economics. Series WP BRP "Economics/EC". 2017.
Смирных Л. И. Какие предприятия используют временных работников? // В кн.: Неустойчивость занятости: международный и российский контексты будущего сферы труда / Под общ. ред.: В. Н. Бобков; науч. ред.: В. Н. Бобков. М. : РеалПринт, 2017. Гл. 2.4. С. 97-109.
Неустойчивость занятости: международный и российский контексты будущего сферы труда / Под общ. ред.: В. Н. Бобков; науч. ред.: В. Н. Бобков. М. : РеалПринт, 2017.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Неравенство на рынке труда

Приоритетные направления развития: экономика
2017

Цель работы - определить неравенство на рынке труда по следующим основным направлениям: человеческий капитал, трудовые доходы, структура занятости и условия занятости на рабочих местах путем проведения анализа на микро уровне (индивиды, предприятия, регионы).

Объектом исследования являются предприятия, регионы и индивиды на рынке труда.

Используемые методы

Эмпирический анализ осуществлялся с использованием современных эконометрических методов и моделей, включая метод наименьших квадратов, модификации пробит (логит) моделей (probit, biprobit), системы одновременных уравнений (2sls), метод Оаксаки-Блендера и Брауна, а также моделей с фиксированными и случайными эффектами.

Эмпирическая база исследования

В качестве эмпирической базы исследования использовались следующие массивы данных:

  • данные Росстата по  субъектам Российской федерации за 2002-2013 гг.
  • Российский мониторинг экономического положения и здоровья населения НИУ ВШЭ (РМЭЗ-ВШЭ) за 2000-2015 гг.;
  • данные Росстата по проблемам занятости (ОНПЗ) за 1995-2015 гг.;
  • опрос предприятий «Взаимодействие внутренних и внешних рынков труда» (ВВВРТ) за 2014-2016 гг., которые являются репрезентативными по России в целом;
  • оригинальная база данных по сменяемости руководителей российских банков и финансовым показателям их деятельности.

Результаты работы

Результаты исследования характеризуют отдельные стороны неравенства на российском рынке труда.

Для регионов было установлено, что внутренняя и внешняя миграции населения снижают скорость конвергенции российских регионов по заработной плате. При этом конвергенция российских регионов не зависит от качества человеческого капитала мигрантов.

Работники иностранного происхождения, которые находятся на российском рынке труда с 90-х и с 2000-х годов, различаются по своим социально-демографическим характеристикам и уровням трудовых доходов от местных работников. При этом их длительное пребывание на рынке труда России приводит к сближению их трудовых доходов с трудовыми доходами местного населения.

В течение 1995-2015 гг. произошло заметное старение российской рабочей силы. В 2015 году каждый десятый работник был старше трудоспособного возраста. При этом уровень пенсий в России составляет 30-35% к уровню средней заработной платы, и ограничивает для большинства пожилого населения уход с рынка труда. Население покидает рынок труда только при ухудшении здоровья.  Вместе с тем существует ограниченный спрос на пожилых работников, он отражается на сегментации их рабочих мест по отраслям экономики и по профессиям.

В течение последних 15 лет в России увеличилась доля молодежи в возрасте 25-29 лет. При этом молодежь в России отличается низкой вариативностью по различным заболеваниям. Ни инвалидность, ни хронические заболевания не оказывают значительного влияния на выбор сферы занятости молодежи. Вместе с тем, здоровье оказывает значимое влияние на выбор ВУЗа, трудовые доходы индивидов и распределение ими часов работы между занятостью на рынке труда и деятельностью в домашнем хозяйстве. При плохом здоровье высока вероятность выбора ВУЗов с низким рейтингом, понижение заработной платы и сокращение часов работы на рынке труда.

Инвестиции предприятий в образование работников может способствовать снижению неравенства на рынке труда. Однако, как показывают результаты исследования, большое количество предприятий в России заявляет о наличии программ обучения, при этом доля обученных сотрудников на них остаётся относительно низкой. В России, как и во многих других развитых и развивающихся стран вероятность обучения сокращается с возрастом. Особенно заметное сокращение участия в обучении наблюдается в возрастной группе работников старше 50 лет. Основная причина низкого уровня вовлеченности работников в обучение – это низкий технико-технологический уровень производства предприятий и отсутствие у них серьезной конкуренции на рынке товаров и услуг.

Результаты оценки гендерного неравенства заработных плат профессорско-преподавательского состава российских вузов показывают, что преподаватели - мужчины зарабатывают на 16-18% больше, чем –преподаватели- женщины. В российских вузах женщинам сложнее продвинуться на более высокие должности в иерархии вузов, хотя это отчасти является следствием эффекта самоотбора.

Изучение применения организациями различных кадровых политик в отношении персонала и их влияния на показатели деятельности организаций позволяет сделать ряд заключений.

Обучение работников, как с отрывом, так и без отрыва от производства оказывают положительное влияние на уровень производительности труда предприятий. Чем больше работников проходит обучение на предприятиях, тем выше уровень производительности труда на этих предприятиях. Однако финансовое положение предприятий,  которые обучают работников на рабочем месте, хуже, чем предприятий, которые не обучают работников.

На предприятиях, которые используют заёмный труд, лучше финансовое положение и выше уровень производительности труда. Однако увеличение доли заёмных работников на предприятиях повышает уровень производительности труда только до некоего критического уровня, после достижения него дальнейшее увеличение доли заёмных работников приводит к снижению уровня производительности труда.

Предприятия, которые используют срочные трудовые договоры,  имеют чаще всего низкий уровень производительности труда.  Увеличение на них доли работников со срочными трудовыми договорами положительно влияет на рост производительности труда только до определённого уровня. Если доля работников со срочными трудовыми договорами превышает этот уровень, то рост производительности труда на предприятиях замедляется.

Для банковского сектора установлено, что при ухудшении финансовых показателей и в периоды кризисов увеличивается вероятность смены членов правления банков. Таким образом, кадровая политика в отношении смены ведущих руководителей банков работает согласно рыночным принципам, способствуя отбору более компетентных и эффективных менеджеров.

Степень внедрения и рекомендации по внедрению

Результаты исследования опубликованы (или находятся в печати) в журналах (6 статей, 2 препринта), прошли обсуждение на научных семинарах и конференциях в России и за рубежом. Они используются в учебном процессе при подготовке учебных материалов, пособий и при чтении лекций по курсам экономики труда и экономики персонала.

Результаты исследования, полученные на данных по предприятиям, рекомендуются для использования Министерству промышленности и торговли РФ и Министерству экономического развития РФ для разработки мероприятий по созданию стимулов для обеспечения роста производительности труда и финансовой эффективности предприятий и организаций.  На основании результатов исследования могут быть разработаны мероприятия для повышения конкурентоспособности российской экономики и развития реальных секторов экономики за счёт инвестиций в человеческий капитал и эффективного использованию человеческих ресурсов, труда иммигрантов, молодёжи и пожилых работников.

Результаты и выводы исследований могут быть применены при проведении экономической и социальной политики. Они актуальны для Министерства труда и социальной защиты РФ для снижения неравенства по трудовым доходам, условиям и структуре занятости социально-демографических групп населения.

Результаты исследования могут быть использованы Министерством образования РФ для разработки мероприятий по развитию дополнительного профессионального образования, а также мер по обеспечению подготовки кадрового потенциала предприятий в условиях роста технической вооруженности рабочих мест. 

Публикации по проекту:


Smirnykh Larisa, Woergoetter A. THE IMPORTANCE OF INSTITUTIONAL AND ORGANIZATIONAL CHARACTERISTICS FOR THE USE OF FIXED-TERM CONTRACTS IN RUSSIA // Journal for East European Management Studies. 2019. № 1. С. 89-121. doi
Polyakova E., Kuleva M. Cultural employment in Russia and Europe: a comparative analysis / Centre for German and European Studies Bielefeld / St. Petersburg. Series WP 2014-04 "CGES Working Papers". 2018.
Roshchin S., Travkin P. Determinants of on-the-job training in enterprises: the Russian case // European Journal of Training and Development. 2017. Vol. 41. No. 9. P. 758-775. doi
Solntsev S., Roshchin S., Vasiliev D. Recruiting and Job Search Technologies in the Age of Internet // Foresight and STI Governance. 2017. Vol. 11. No. 4. P. 33-43. doi
Roshchin S., Travkin P. Determinants of Job-Related Training in Enterprises: The Russian Case / NRU Higher School of Economics. Series WP BRP "Economics/EC". 2017.
Смирных Л. И. Какие предприятия используют временных работников? // В кн.: Неустойчивость занятости: международный и российский контексты будущего сферы труда / Под общ. ред.: В. Н. Бобков; науч. ред.: В. Н. Бобков. М. : РеалПринт, 2017. Гл. 2.4. С. 97-109.
Неустойчивость занятости: международный и российский контексты будущего сферы труда / Под общ. ред.: В. Н. Бобков; науч. ред.: В. Н. Бобков. М. : РеалПринт, 2017.