• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Social inequality, factors of education quality at school and students’ choices of educational trajectories

Priority areas of development: sociology, humanitarian
2017
The project has been carried out as part of the HSE Program of Fundamental Studies.

Goal of research:

Track 1. To analyze the dynamics of PIRLS, TIMSS and PISA results of students from different social groups and territories.

Track 2. To analyze characteristics of math teachers, their beliefs and the ways they implement a differentiated approach in teaching in the context of unequal access to educational resources.

Track 3. To analyze institutional and individual factors and their relationship to students’ academic outcomes and students’ choices of educational trajectory.

Methodology:

Track 1. Descriptive analysis of educational results of students from different social groups in the 2000s. Quantitative analysis with the D Duncan index were used to estimate  educational inequality and segregation of students. The results of Russia were compared with other countries.

Track 2. We implemented analysis of a series of interviews based on the grounded theory approach [Glaser, Strauss 1968]. We also did ethnographic analysis of math lessons video records giving an interpretation to the role-play interaction schemes between teachers and students, to the students involvement and class climate. Finally, to study math teachers’ attitudes and teaching practices in the 11th grade we used a quantitative analysis, in particular an order logit regression.

Track 3. To assess the relationship between the practices parents used to teach children to read and students’ reading literacy in the primary school we used linear (OLS), logistic and ordinal logit regression. The analysis was conducted on the full sample of students and on  the sub-samples by mother education levels. School climate factors in the upper grades were studied with the use of confirmatory factor analysis (CFA) and item response theory (IRT). Students’ educational trajectories, as well as the factors related to affluent students’ achievements were estimated with logistic regression and decomposition analysis. And finally we used descriptive analysis to compare the dynamics of students’ trajectories after the 9th grade in different regions of Russia.

Empirical base of research:

Track 1. The work is based on the data from PIRLS, TIMSS and PISA studies for Russia and other countries collected in the 2000s.

Track 2. We used the data of the study "Trajectories in Education and Careers" (http://trec.hse.ru/) (HSE), as well as data of 30 semi-structured interviews with high schools math teachers. These interviews were conducted in nine Russia’s regions.

Track 3. We used PIRLS data, data from the longitudinal project "Trajectories in Education and Career", as well as information from open state sources of Rosstat and EMISS, EISOD of the Ministry of Education and Science of Russia and the portal "Statistics of Russian Education" were used.

Results of research:

Track 1. The dynamics of the results of the students from different social groups is estimated. There has been a slight improvement in the results of Russian schoolchildren and a decrease in social and territorial inequalities during the 15 years of observation. However, these changes do not apply to all subject areas. This can be explained by the improvement in the results of the students from low cultural capital families living in small towns and rural areas. The achievement scores of students from families with higher cultural capital living in large cities did not show any significant growth. The same time schools in Russia became more segregated in the period from 2003 to 2012. The comparison with other countries confirmed the tendency of increasing segregation.

Track 2. Different aspects of the differentiated approach in math teaching were analyzed.First, we found out what categories teachers use to differentiate students and how they work with different groups of children. Two models of categorization - exclusive and inclusive ones were described. Second, we explored the students and teachers’ involvement during math lessons. The math lessons video records show how the ways teachers involve students affects their access to educational resources in class. A quantitative analysis of the teachers’ survey shows that the practices of the differential approach are not related to teachers’ characteristics such as routine seeking, years of work experience, qualification, education etc. Third, we analyzed teachers 'views on their role in expanding or restricting students' access to educational resources. Two fundamentally different perceptions of the teacher’ role were described. Some teachers don’t  consider themselves responsible for students’ academic failure. Others understand clearly the locus of their responsibility for every student academic results.

Track 3.  Mechanisms of social inequality at different levels of school were described.In primary school, inequality of educational results in reading is associated with parental teaching before school age. Teaching strategies vary in families with different levels of cultural capital. These strategies have different effects. In the most difficult situation are the kids in low cultural capital families, that do not attend kindergarten. Inequality in educational results in the first grade is not compensated by the end of primary school.Analysis of educational results in the middle and high school revealed a group of low performing students from families with high socio-economic status (SES). In this case, factors of failure are similar across academically ‘weak’ groups of students: low expectations from the teachers, the location of school in the rural areas, the disadvantaged social context of a school, unfavorable school climate. On the other hand, in high school, the relationship between the components of the school climate and the educational achievements of schoolchildren is weak. Academic expectations of teachers are positively correlated with the results of students with high SES only. There is a significant negative relationship between the feeling of alienation students have and their educational performance.By the end of the middle and high school, inequality correlates with the choice of the further educational trajectory. Socio-economic status of the family is more important at the end of the 9th grade. Students from families with high SES choose an academic trajectory while the majority of low SES students choose professional education track. Students who continue their education in the 10 and 11th grades will enter the university with a high probability. At the same time, universities prefer high SES to lower SES students, even if their academic achievements are the same. That confirms the maintained inequality theory.The observed evidences of educational inequality have a regional specificity, weakening or strengthening the actions of the above-described mechanisms. For example, regions with large university centers are characterized by a high proportion of students who embark on an academic track after the 9th grade. In other types of regions vocational school programs are more popular.

Publications:


Dushina A. D., Kersha Yu. D., Larkina T. Y., Provorova D. D. The Legitimation of Commercial Surrogacy in Russia // Russian Education and Society. 2016. Vol. 58. No. 12. P. 789-815. doi
Капуза А. В., Захаров А. Б. Обучение чтению до школы и читательская грамотность детей в первом и конце четвертого класса: роль культурного капитала семьи // В кн.: Образование и социальная дифференциация: коллективная монография / Отв. ред.: М. Карной, И. Д. Фрумин, Н. Н. Кармаева. М. : Издательский дом НИУ ВШЭ, 2017. С. 43-63.
Koroleva D., Khavenson T. Innovators from within and from without the education system, in: Reforms and Innovation in Education - Implications for the Quality of Human Capital / Ed. by A. M. Sidorkin, M. Warford. Springer, 2017. doi Ch. 4. P. 69-83. doi
Larina G., Markina V. M. Teachers’ beliefs about student diversity: exclusive and inclusive models / National Research University Higher School of Economics. Series WP BRP "Basic research program". 2017. No. 43.
Carnoy M., Marotta L., Louzano P., Khavenson T., Recch F., Carnauba F. Intranational Comparative Education: What State Differences in Student Achievement Can Teach Us about Improving Education—the Case of Brazil // Comparative Education Review. 2017. Vol. 61. No. 4. P. 726-759. doi
Пинская М. А., Хавенсон Т. Е., Чиркина Т. А. “Резильентные” школы и школьники. Билет на ковчег: вносит ли школа вклад в резильентность ученика? // В кн.: Образование и социальная дифференциация: коллективная монография / Отв. ред.: М. Карной, И. Д. Фрумин, Н. Н. Кармаева. М. : Издательский дом НИУ ВШЭ, 2017. С. 183-202.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Факторы качества школьного образования в контексте социального неравенства и выбор учащимися образовательных траекторий

Приоритетные направления развития: социология, гуманитарные науки
2017

Цель работы:

Направление 1. проанализировать изменение результатов учащихся в разрезе социальных групп и территории в исследованиях PIRLS, TIMSS и PISA.

Направление 2. Проанализировать преподавательские установки, характеристики и практики реализации дифференцированного подхода в обучении математике в контексте неравенства доступа к образовательным ресурсам.

Направление 3. Проанализировать институциональные и индивидуальные факторы и их связь с академическими результатами учащихся на разных ступенях образования и с выбором учащимися образовательных траекторий.

Используемые методы:

Направление 1. В ходе работы проведен описательный анализ динамики результатов учащихся из разных социальных групп. Количественный анализ образовательного неравенства и сегрегации учащихся сделан с помощь расчета индекса D Дункана. Результаты России сопоставлялись с другими странами.

Направление 2.  Для решения исследовательской задачи проведен анализ интервью, основанный на стратегии построения обоснованной теории (the grounded theory approach, [Glaser, Strauss 1968]). Также проведен этнографический анализ видеозаписей уроков математики на предмет эффективности коммуникации. Была сделана глубинная интерпретацию схем ролевого взаимодействия учителя и учеников в ходе урока, изучена вовлеченность учеников и “рабочего” климата в классе. Наконец, проведен количественный сопоставительный анализ характеристик учителей математики в 11 классе, их установок и практик преподавания: использовалась порядковая логистическая регрессия.

Направление 3. Для оценки связи практик обучения чтению и читательской грамотности детей дошкольного и младшего школьного возраста использовались линейная (МНК), логистическая и порядковая логистическая регрессия. Анализ проводился на полной выборке учащихся и на подвыборках по уровню образования матери. Факторы школьного климата в старших классах исследовались с помощью  конфирматорного факторного анализа (КФА) и современной теории тестирования (IRT). Исследование образовательных траекторий детей, а также факторов достижений учащихся из семей с высоким социально-экономическим положением (СЭП) проведено с помощью логистической регрессии и декомпозиции регрессионных коэффициентов на прямые и непрямые эффекты. Для сопоставления динамики траекторий учащихся после 9 класса в российских регионах использован описательный анализ данных.

Эмпирическая база исследования:

Направление 1. Исследование основано на данных PIRLS, TIMSS и PISA России и других стран за период 2000-х гг.  

Направление 2. Использовались данные исследования «Траектории в образовании и профессии» (http://trec.hse.ru/), организованного Институтом образования НИУ ВШЭ, а также данные 30 полуструктурированных интервью, проведенных с учителями математики общеобразовательных школ из девяти регионов России.

Направление 3. Использовались данные международного исследования PIRLS, данные лонгитюдного проекта «Траектории в образовании и профессии», а также информация открытых государственных источников Росстата и ЕМИСС, ЕИСОД Минобрнауки России и портала «Статистика Российского образования».

Результаты работы:

Направление 1. Описана динамика результатов учащихся из разных социальных групп. За последние 15 лет наблюдается небольшой рост результатов российских школьников и снижение социального и территориального неравенства. Однако эти изменения характеризуют не все предметные области и происходят за счет повышения результатов в группах с низким культурным капиталом семей и в небольших населенных пунктах. Баллы учащихся из семей с более высоким культурным капиталом и проживающих в крупных городах не растут. Также показано, что с 2003 по 2012 годы школы в России становились более сегрегированными. Тенденция роста сегрегации подтверждается и сопоставлением с другими странами.

Направление 2. Были проанализированы различные аспекты реализации дифференцированного подхода на уроках математики. Во-первых, удалось выяснить, как учителя сравнивают учащихся, какие категории в результате дифференциации получают и как работают с разными группами детей. Были описаны две модели представлений учителей: эксклюзивная и инклюзивная, основанные на разных способах восприятия многообразия учащихся в классе или их категоризации в зависимости от способностей и уровня мотивации. Во-вторых, была рассмотрена специфика вовлеченности учащихся и учителя на уроках математики в контексте обеспечения доступа к образовательным ресурсам. На материалах видеозаписей уроков математики было показано, как практики вовлечения и активизации учащихся играют роль ограничителя в процессе обучения математики. Количественный анализ опроса учителей показал, что практики дифференцирующего подхода не связаны с характеристиками учителей, такими как склонность к рутине, стаж, квалификационная категория, специальность, длительность преподавания в классе. В-третьих, были проанализированы представления учителей об их роли в расширении или ограничении доступа учащихся к образовательным ресурсам. Было выделено и описано два принципиально разных восприятия роли учителя:  в первом случае учитель не считает себя ответственным за неуспех «слабых» учеников, во втором же случае учитель четко понимает локус своей ответственности за результаты каждого учащегося.

Направление 3. Описаны некоторые механизмы проявления социального неравенства на разных ступенях российской школы. В начальных классах неравенство образовательных результатов по чтению связано с родительскими практиками обучения детей до школы. Стратегии обучения различаются в семьях с разным уровнем культурного капитала. Эти стратегии в разной степени эффективны. В менее благоприятной ситуации находятся дети из семей с низким культурным капиталом, не посещавшие детский сад. Неравенство образовательных результатов проявляющееся в первом классе, закрепляется в конце получения начального образования. Анализ в основной школе и старших классах выявил группу слабоуспевающих учеников из семей с высоким СЭП. Факторы неуспешности здесь схожи с аналогичными для любых слабоуспевающих групп – низкие ожидания со стороны учителей, расположение школы в сельской местности, неблагополучный социальный контекст школы. С другой стороны, в старших классах связь между компонентами школьного климата и образовательными достижениями школьников слабая. Академические ожидания учителей показали положительную связь с результатами только для школьников с высоким СЭП. Значимую отрицательную связь с результатами показало чувство отчужденности учащихся. К концу основной и средней школы неравенство проявляется в выборе дальнейшей образовательной траектории. Действие социально-экономического положения семьи в большей мере проявляется в конце 9 класса, когда ученики из семей с высоким уровнем СЭП выбирают академическую траекторию, а большая часть учеников из семей с низким уровнем СЭП уходит в профессиональное образование. Учащиеся, пошедшие в 10-11 классы, с большой вероятностью пойдут в вуз. При этом селективные вузы выбираются учащимися с высоким СЭП значительно чаще, чем учащимися с более низким уровнем СЭП, даже при одинаковой успеваемости, что подтверждает теорию эффективно поддерживаемого неравенства на ступени высшего образования. Наблюдаемые проявления образовательного неравенства имеют выраженную региональную специфику, ослабляя или усиливая действия вышеописанных механизмов.  Так крупные университетские центры, характеризуются высокой долей учащихся, выбравших академический трек после 9 класса, тогда как в других регионах набирают популярность программы профессионального образования.

Публикации по проекту:


Dushina A. D., Kersha Yu. D., Larkina T. Y., Provorova D. D. The Legitimation of Commercial Surrogacy in Russia // Russian Education and Society. 2016. Vol. 58. No. 12. P. 789-815. doi
Капуза А. В., Захаров А. Б. Обучение чтению до школы и читательская грамотность детей в первом и конце четвертого класса: роль культурного капитала семьи // В кн.: Образование и социальная дифференциация: коллективная монография / Отв. ред.: М. Карной, И. Д. Фрумин, Н. Н. Кармаева. М. : Издательский дом НИУ ВШЭ, 2017. С. 43-63.
Koroleva D., Khavenson T. Innovators from within and from without the education system, in: Reforms and Innovation in Education - Implications for the Quality of Human Capital / Ed. by A. M. Sidorkin, M. Warford. Springer, 2017. doi Ch. 4. P. 69-83. doi
Larina G., Markina V. M. Teachers’ beliefs about student diversity: exclusive and inclusive models / National research university Higher School of economics. Series WP BRP "Basic research program". 2017. No. 43.
Carnoy M., Marotta L., Louzano P., Khavenson T., Recch F., Carnauba F. Intranational Comparative Education: What State Differences in Student Achievement Can Teach Us about Improving Education—the Case of Brazil // Comparative Education Review. 2017. Vol. 61. No. 4. P. 726-759. doi
Пинская М. А., Хавенсон Т. Е., Чиркина Т. А. “Резильентные” школы и школьники. Билет на ковчег: вносит ли школа вклад в резильентность ученика? // В кн.: Образование и социальная дифференциация: коллективная монография / Отв. ред.: М. Карной, И. Д. Фрумин, Н. Н. Кармаева. М. : Издательский дом НИУ ВШЭ, 2017. С. 183-202.

См. также

Ключевые слова