• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Analysis of dynamics and factors of learning outcomes of engineering students in the BRIC countries

Priority areas of development: state and public administration
2018
The project has been carried out as part of the HSE Program of Fundamental Studies.

Goal of research: The objective is to compare the learning outcomes of engineering students across the BRIC countries (Russia, China and India), as well as to study the individual- and institutional-level factors contributing to the quality of engineering training in these countries (and to describe the characteristics of employment of graduates). 

Six tasks encompass this objective:

  1. to ensure the validity and cross-national comparability of instruments used to measure student educational outcomes in Russia, China and India;

  2. to compare the student learning outcomes across Russia, China and India;

  3. to build the special Item Response Theory models to analyze the students learning progress in mathematics in Russia during the university studies;

  4. to identify the institutional- and individual-level factors related to the learning progress of Russian students in mathematics;

  5. to collect survey data on the career paths of engineering graduates who previously participated in the study (in 2015 and 2016) in Spring, 2018;

  6. to describe the characteristics of employment of engineering graduates and their relation to the characteristics of their educational experience at university.

Methodology

In the field of psychometric works (tasks 1 and 3) we applied statistical machinery of Item Response Theory, in particular the paradigm of Rasch measurement. To accomplish the tasks 2, 4 and 6, we used the descriptive analysis, multilevel regression modelling, and t-test. The data on graduates’ employment status were gathered with reliance on the methodology of longitudinal studies (task 5).

Empirical base of research

To compare the student learning outcomes (and to ensure the validity and cross-national comparability of the measures across Russia, China and India; tasks 1 and 2) we used Russian and Chinese data gathered in 2015 on academic achievements in the basic disciplines (cohorts of 1st graders and 3rd graders), as well as data on learning outcomes of Indian students collected in 2018. All the samples are clustered randomized (clusters are universities) and nationally representative. To analyze the learning progress, we used Russian data on student learning outcomes in mathematics gathered in 2015 (at the 1st grade) and in 2017 (at the 2nd grade of the same cohort). The same data were used to analyze the factors of learning progress in mathematics among Russian students (task 4). In 2018, we collected the data on employment status of Russian universities graduates (task 5) and analyzed the relationship between their employment status and the characteristics of their educational experience at university (task 6) measured at their 4th grade (in 2016).

Results of research

The analysis of validity and cross-national comparability of student learning outcomes measures across Russia, China and India (task 1) showed that the collected data can be legitimately used to compare the learning outcomes of engineering students across these countries.

A comparison of the student learning outcomes in the basic disciplines (physics and mathematics, task 2) showed that Russian students demonstrate a lower level of learning outcomes and the smallest progress compared to students from other countries. Though Chinese students show negative progress, they are the most competent professionally in comparison with both Indian and Russian students. At the same time, although Indian students show significant positive progress in mathematics, they do not advance in physics.

A comparison of the results of a special Item Response Theory model (task 3) and the strategy of vertical equating we applied in this study to analyze the learning progress showed that at the group level there is no difference between these approaches.

The analysis of institutional- and individual-level factors related to the progress of Russian students in mathematics (task 4) showed that neither the teaching styles in mathematics, nor the frequency of interactions with math instructors, nor the amount of time spent by students on assignments and attendance, nor the scores of Unified State Exams are related to the progress of Russian students. The only influential factors are the socio-economic status of the students and the type of university they study in (elite or non-elite).

In 2018, we collected the data on the characteristics of employment of graduates (task 5). This data was used to clarify the relationship between their employment status and their educational experience at university (task 6). The analysis results showed that the characteristics of educational experience at university are significantly related to the decision to continue graduate or postgraduate studies but are unlikely to determine the employment status and wage rate of graduates.

Level of implementation, recommendations on implementation or outcomes of the implementation of the results

The methodological solutions obtained in this study can be scaled to other projects and research areas. The obtained empirical results can be used to improve the functioning of the higher education system.

Publications:


Loyalka P., Liu O. L., Li G., Chirikov I., Kardanova E., Gu L., Ling G., Yu N., Guo F., Ma L., Hu S., Johnson A. S., Bhuradia A., Khanna S., Froumin I., Shi J., Choudhur P. K., Beteille T., Marmolejo F., Tognattal N. Computer science skills across China, India, Russia, and the United States // Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America. 2019. P. 1-5. doi
Gu L., Liu O. L., Xu J., Kardanova E., Chirikov I., Li G., Hu S., Yu N., Ma L., Guo F., Su Q., Shi J., Shi H., Loyalka P. Validating the Use of Translated and Adapted HEIghten® Quantitative Literacy Test in Russia, in: Assessment of Learning Outcomes in Higher Education. Cross-National Comparisons and Perspectives. Springer, 2018. doi Ch. 13. P. 267-284. doi

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Анализ динамики и факторов учебных достижений студентов инженерных специальностей в странах БРИК

Приоритетные направления развития: государственное и муниципальное управление
2018

Цель работы: Сравнение образовательных достижений студентов инженерных направлений подготовки в странах БРИК (Россия, Китай и Индия), а также изучение индивидуальных и институциональных факторов, связанных с качеством подготовки инженеров в этих странах (включая описание характеристик занятости выпускников).

Эта цель может быть разложена на 6 задач:

  1. Доказательство валидности измерений образовательных достижений студентов России, Китая и Индии и сопоставимости результатов измерений;

  2. Непосредственное сравнение образовательных достижений студентов России, Китая и Индии;

  3. Построение специализированных моделей современной теории тестирования для анализа образовательного прогресса студентов России в течение обучения в вузе;

  4. Исследование факторов институционального и индивидуального уровня, связанных с прогрессом студентов России по математике;

  5. Сбор опросных данных о карьерных траекториях выпускников инженерных направлений подготовки, ранее участвовавших в исследовании (на третьем (в 2015 году) и четвертом курсе (в 2016 году)), после завершения университета в феврале-марте 2018 года.

  6. Описание характеристик занятости выпускников инженерных направлений подготовки на рынке труда в разрезе характеристик их образовательного опыта в вузе.

Используемые методы

В области психометрических работ (задачи 1 и 3) использован математико-статистический аппарат современной теории тестирования, в частности методология Раш-моделирования. В области проведения статистических исследований (задачи 2, 4 и 6) использованы принципы дескриптивного анализа, многоуровневого регрессионного анализа и t-тест. Для решения задач сбора данных (задача 5) использовались социологические практики проведения лонгитюдных исследований.

Эмпирическая база исследования

Для решения задач сравнения образовательных достижений (соответственно, также для предварительного доказательства валидности и сопоставимости измерений образовательных достижений между Россией, Китаем и Индией – задачи 1 и 2) использовались данные об образовательных достижениях по дисциплинам фундаментального цикла российских и китайских студентов, собранные в 2015 (когорта учащихся на первом курсе, и когорта учащихся на третьем курсе), а также данные об образовательных достижениях студентов Индии, собранные в 2018 году (аналогичный дизайн сбора данных – две когорты – 1 и 3 курсы). Все выборки являются кластерными рандомизированными (кластер – университет) и репрезентативными на национальном уровне. Для решения задачи анализа образовательного прогресса студентов с использованием специализированного аппарата современной теории тестирования (задача 3) использовались данные об образовательных достижениях российских студентов по математике, собранные в 2015 году (когда эта когорта находилась на 1 курсе) и в 2017 году (когда эта когорта находилась на втором курсе). Эти же данные использовались для анализа факторов, связанных с образовательным прогрессом студентов российских вузов по математике (задача 4). Для сбора данных о характеристиках занятости (задача 5) и анализа их связи с образовательными опытом студентов (задача 6) были использованы данные, собранные в ходе воны тестирования 2016 года, когда данная когорта (находившаяся в 2015 году на 3 курсе) проходила на последний курс обучения.

Результаты работы

Результаты работ по анализу валидности и установлению сопоставимости измерений образовательных достижений между Россией, Китаем и Индией (задача 1) показали, что собранные данные могут быть правомерно использованы для сравнения образовательных достижений студентов инженерных направлений подготовки вузов.

Результаты работ по сравнению образовательных достижений студентов по дисциплинам фундаментального цикла (физика и математика, задача 2) показали, что студенты российских вузов демонстрируют как в целом более низкий уровень образовательных достижений по сравнению со студентами из остальных стран, так и наименьший положительный прогресс. Китайские студенты демонстрируют отрицательный прогресс, но при этом, все равно демонстрируют, в целом, наибольший уровень профессиональных компетенций по сравнению с индийскими и российскими студентами. В то же время несмотря на то, что индийские студенты демонстрируют значительный положительный прогресс по математике, они демонстрируют отсутствие прогресса по физике.

Сравнение результатов специализированной модели современной теории тестирования (задача 3) и использованной в рамках данного исследования стратегии анализа прогресса с применением процедур вертикального выравнивания показали, что на групповом уровне нет разницы между этими способами анализа прогресса студентов.

Исследование факторов институционального и индивидуального уровня, связанных с прогрессом студентов России по математике (задача 4) показало, что с прогрессом российских студентов не связаны ни стиль преподавания математики, ни частота взаимодействия с преподавателями математики, ни объем времени, затрачиваемый студентами на выполнение заданий и посещений занятий, ни баллы ЕГЭ, полученные до поступления в университет. Определяющую роль имеют социально-экономический статус студента, а также университет, в который они поступили.

В ходе работ в 2018 году были собраны данные о характеристиках занятости выпускников после окончания вуза (задача 5) и была выяснена их связь с образовательным опытом студентов в вузе (задача 6). Было показано, что характеристики образовательного опыта в университете существенно связаны с принятием решения относительно продолжения обучения в магистратуре или аспирантуре, но практически не определяют трудовой статус выпускников, а также размер их заработной платы.

Степень внедрения, рекомендации по внедрению или итоги внедрения результатов НИР

Полученные в ходе работ 2018 года методологические решения могут быть масштабированы на другие проекты и области исследований. Полученные эмпирические результаты могут быть использованы для улучшения функционирования системы высшего образования.

Публикации по проекту:


Gu Lin, Liu Ou Lydia, Xu Jun, Kardanova E., Chirikov I., Li Guirong, Hu Shangfeng, Yu Ningning, Ma Liping, Guo Fei, Su Qi, Shi Jinghuan, Shi Henry, Loyalka P. Validating the Use of Translated and Adapted HEIghten® Quantitative Literacy Test in Russia, in: Assessment of Learning Outcomes in Higher Education. Cross-National Comparisons and Perspectives.: Springer International Publishing AG, 2018. С. 267-284. 
Loyalka P., Liu Ou Lydia, Li Guirong, Chirikov I., Kardanova E., Gu Lin, Ling G., Yu Ningning, Guo Fei, Ma Liping, Hu Shangfeng, Johnson A. S., Bhuradia A., Khanna S., Froumin I., Shi Jinghuan, Choudhur P. K., Beteille T., Marmolejo F., Tognattal N. Computer science skills across China, India, Russia, and the United States // Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America. 2019. Vol. 116. No. 14. P. 6732-6736. doi
Li Guirong, Shcheglova I., Bhuradia A., Li Yanyan, Loyalka P., Zhou O., Hu Shangfeng, Yu Ningning, Ma Liping, Guo Fei, Chirikov I. Large-scale international assessments of learning outcomes: balancing the interests of multiple stakeholders // Journal of Higher Education Policy and Management. 2021. Vol. 43. No. 2. P. 198-213. doi