• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Adolescents’ risk behavior and school climate: aggression and alcohol consumption

Priority areas of development: sociology
2018
The project has been carried out as part of the HSE Program of Fundamental Studies.

Goal of research was to conduct analytical and methodical work for the study of two main aspects of adolescents’ risk behavior – aggression and alcohol consumption – with regard to the contexts of different levels: familial characteristics, and features of educational institutions and classes.

We mainly applied the quantitative data analysis in this project. We used such methods as factor analysis, multiple logistic and multilevel regressions, spatial modeling, structural equation modeling, item response theory, multiple imputation for longitudinal network data, as well as some special tools design for data structure comparison, such as segregation indexes.

Empirical base of the project contains the data gathered by the Laboratory through the last years: (1) 27 608 students from 247 schools of Kaluga region – 2016-2017; (2) 9000 students from 237 schools in the localities of different types (St.Petersburg and Leningrad region) – 2009-2014; (3) 1450 students of technical colleges in St.Petersburg (waves 3-4 of the longitudinal project on adolescents’ health and risk behavior) – 2017-18.

Results of research

For the part of the project dedicated to the development of new research methods we tested our original complex diagnostics of the school climate. We added new scales on students’ and teachers’ assessment of school climate; all of scales got tested on the data of different types and pupils of different ages. We also analyzed three mechanisms of missingness in longitudinal network data, and evaluated the performance of the multiple imputation procedure based on stationary SAOM for each of them. As a result, we developed a method of treatment of the missings in longitudinal network data. School differentiation is viewed in the study as an important context of climate formation; we developed a method measuring the differentiation between and within schools, which allows capturing the differences between instances based on various characteristics.

Empirical data analysis allowed us to achieve the following results

A. School climate. We demonstrated the dynamics of educational motivation and discovered the factors of educational environment of technical colleges, which are related to motivation’s rise and decline. In particular, we showed that the level of educational motivation at the end of the second year depends on a set of students’ individual characteristics on the one hand, and the support from the teachers and masters (career tutors) – on the other hand.

We conducted an analysis of different components of the school climate, and its relation to other characteristics of the school. The report presents the results of school climate evaluation with regard to socio-economic composition of the group, school’s type and size. We demonstrate: (1) how socio-psychological characteristics of the students differ by age; (2) what changes occur in schools in one year; (3) how the attitudes of and relations between the students of different ages change.

Intraschool and interschool differentiation was measured with the indexes of Theil and Duncan. This way we tested the possible grounds of school differentiation: socio-economic status of student’s family, mother’s higher education, student’s educational aspirations and academic achievements. For these features, we haven’t found any schools or localities with critical or high level of differentiation. In the urban cases of both large and small scale, the differentiation by educational aspirations appears to be low between classes (within schools), but it is much higher between schools. The schools of St.Petersburg are differentiated by maternal education and – to a lesser extent – by socio-economic status; the intraschool selection on these two grounds appears to be higher.

B. Aggression and risk behavior. We studied the specific traits of bullying and victimization in the Russian context, and conducted the comparison of the characteristics of bullying participants of the four types. In particular, aggressors and victims appear to have some common characteristics (like low performance). We prove that there is statistical relationship between aggressor’s sociometric status and the context on the class level.

We prove that adolescents’ alcohol consumption and smoking behavior do not become grounds for their popularity or marginalization, but it does affect friendship ties formation. The effects of influence of the environment of risk behavior differ by the type of risk behavior and the gender of those involved. We demonstrate that parental control decreases the risk of alcohol consumption by adolescents.

Level of implementation, recommendations on implementation or outcomes of the implementation of the results

The developed methodology of school differentiation measurement allows assessing the level of differentiation by various criteria and compare the results from diverse localities. This gives us an opportunity to develop and implement some specific measures in the field of educational policy, which will be adequate to the local context.

Based on the results of the studies, Laboratory continues sending the reports to all the participating educational institutions. These reports contain the information on socio-psychological characteristics of the students, their professional involvement, risk behavior, and its change (on the level of educational institution and on the level of the study groups), holding the anonymity conditions.

The results of the study of risk behavior might be of interest for educational institutions (schools and technical colleges), as well as for the representatives of the education committee. In the future they can be used as a basis for the development of recommendations in  the field of social policy on the prevention of risk behavior.

Publications:


Daniel Alexandrov, Karepin V., Musabirov I., Daria Chuprina. Educational Migration from Russia to the Nordic Countries, China and the Middle East. Social Media Data, in: Companion Proceedings of the The Web Conference 2018. Geneva : International World Wide Web Conferences Steering Committee, 2018. P. 49-50. doi
Musabirov I., Bakhitova A. Code-sharing networks of non-STEM students: the case of data science minor, in: Proceedings of the 23rd Annual ACM Conference on Innovation and Technology in Computer Science Education. , 2018. P. 389-389. doi
Баранова В. В. Как возникают новые формы отрицания в калмыцком языке // Урало-алтайские исследования. 2018. Т. 2. № 29. С. 7-17.
Федорова К. С., Baranova V. V. Moscow: Diversity in disguise, in: Urban Sociolinguistics: The City as a Linguistic Process and Experience. L., NY : Routledge, 2018. Ch. 14. P. 220-236. doi
Ivaniushina V. A., Alexandrov D. A. Anti-school attitudes, school culture and friendship networks // British Journal of Sociology of Education. 2018. Vol. 39. No. 5. P. 698-716. doi
Александров Д. А., Воскресенский В. М., Савельева С. С. Роль внеклассной активности в формировании социального неравенства: случай малого города // В кн.: Образование и социальная дифференциация: коллективная монография / Отв. ред.: М. Карной, И. Д. Фрумин, Н. Н. Кармаева. М. : Издательский дом НИУ ВШЭ, 2017. Гл. 4.2. С. 388-416.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Рисковое поведение подростков и климат школы: агрессия и употребление алкоголя

Приоритетные направления развития: социология
2018

Цель работы заключалась в аналитической и методической работе по исследованию преимущественно двух аспектов рискового поведения подростков – агрессии и потреблении алкоголя – с учетом контекста разного уровня: семейных характеристик, особенностей образовательных учреждений и классов.

Используемые методы

В проекте преимущественно применялся статистический анализ количественных данных. Использовались такие методы, как факторный анализ, множественная, логистическая и многоуровневая регрессия, элементы пространственного моделирования, моделирование структурными уравнениями, стахостическая теория тестов, метод множественной импутации в лонгитюдных сетевых данных, а также такие инструменты анализа и сравнения данных, как индекс сегрегации.

Эмпирическую базу проекта составили данные, собранные Лабораторией за текущий и предыдущие годы, о: (1) 27 608 учащихся из 247 школ Калужской области – 2016-2017 гг.; (2) 9 тыс. учащихся из 237-ми школ в локальностях различного типа (г. Санкт-Петербург и Ленинградская область) – 2009-2014 гг.; (3) 1450 учащихся колледжей Петербурга (3-4 волна лонгитюдного проекта по изучению здоровья и рискового поведения) – 2017-18 гг.

Результаты работы

В рамках проекта в направлении развития методик исследования была проведена проверка оригинальной комплексной диагностики школьного климата: методика была дополнена новыми шкалами, все шкалы (на оценку климата учениками и учителями) неоднократно проверены на данных различного типа и учениках разного возраста.Также был проведен анализ трех механизмов возникновения пропусков в лонгитюдных сетевых данных и оценка качества процедуры множественной импутации на основе стационарных SAOM для каждого из них. В итоге была проработана методикаработы с пропущенными значениями в лонгитюдных сетевых данных.  Для измерения школьной дифференциации, рассматриваемой в исследовании в качестве важного контекста формирования климата, была разработана методика измерения сегрегации между школами и внутри школ, позволяющая замерять отличия на основе любых характеристик.

Анализ эмпирических данных помог достичь следующих результатов:

А. Школьный климат. Была показана динамика образовательной мотивации, а также изучены факторы образовательной среды колледжей, которые связаны с ее падением или ростом. В частности, демонстрируется, что уровень образовательной мотивации в конце второго года обучения задается рядом индивидуальных характеристик учащихся, но также важную роль в поддержании интереса к учебе среди подростков играет поддержка преподавателей и мастеров.

Проведен анализ различных компонентов школьного климата, а также его связи с другими характеристиками школ. Представлены результаты измерения школьного климата с учетом социально-экономического состава учеников, размера и типа школы. Показывается: (1) как именно различаются социально-психологические характеристики учеников разного возраста, (2) какие изменения происходят в школах за год, (3) как меняются установки и отношения учеников разного возраста.

Измерение межшкольной и внутришкольной дифференциации было проведено при помощи индекса Тайла и индекса Данкана. С их помощью проверены возможные основания школьной дифференциации: социально-экономический статус семьи ученика, наличие высшего образования у матери, образовательные притязания и успехи в обучении школьника. Не обнаруживается критичный и высокий уровень школьной сегрегации по изучаемым параметрам. В городских кейсах большого и малого масштаба складывается невысокая дифференциация по образовательным притязаниям между классами, но не между школами. Школы мегаполиса дифференцированы по уровню образования матери и в меньшей степени по социально-экономическому статусу, тогда как селекция внутри школы по обоим показателям отличается более высоким уровнем.

Б. Агрессия и рисковое поведение. Изучены особенности буллинга и виктимизации в российском контексте и проведено сравнение характеристик участников буллинга четырех типов. В частности, показывается, что агрессоры и жертвы могут иметь общие характеристики (например, низкую успеваемость). Доказывается существование зависимости социометрического статуса агрессоров от контекста на уровне класса.

Доказывается, что алкогольное поведение и курение подростков неявляется основанием для популярности или маргинализации подростков, но значимо для формирования дружеских отношений. Эффекты влияния окружения на рисковое поведение различаются в соответствии с типом рискового поведения и гендерной принадлежностью вовлеченных. Демонстрируются доказательства, что родительский контроль подростков снижает вероятность употребления ими алкоголя.

Степень внедрения, рекомендации по внедрению или итоги внедрения результатов НИР

Разработанная методика измерения школьной дифференциации позволяет измерить ее уровень по различным критериям, и сравнивать результаты, полученные в различных локальностях. Она дает возможность разработки и внедрения мер образовательной политики, адекватных локальному контексту.

По итогам своих исследований Лаборатория продолжает предоставлять всем учебным заведениям отчеты с информацией о социально-психологических характеристиках учащихся, профессиональной вовлеченности, рисковом поведении и их изменении (во временной динамике, на уровне учебного заведения и на уровне учебных групп, с соблюдением анонимности).

Результаты изучения рискового поведения могут быть интересны образовательным учреждениям (школам и колледжам), а также представителям комитета образования. В дальнейшем они могут лечь в основу разработки рекомендаций в сфере социальной политики по профилактике рискового поведения.

Публикации по проекту:


Daniel Alexandrov, Karepin V., Musabirov I., Daria Chuprina. Educational Migration from Russia to the Nordic Countries, China and the Middle East. Social Media Data, in: Companion Proceedings of the The Web Conference 2018. Geneva : International World Wide Web Conferences Steering Committee, 2018. P. 49-50. doi
Musabirov I., Bakhitova A. Code-sharing networks of non-STEM students: the case of data science minor, in: Proceedings of the 23rd Annual ACM Conference on Innovation and Technology in Computer Science Education. , 2018. P. 389-389. doi
Баранова В. В. Как возникают новые формы отрицания в калмыцком языке // Урало-алтайские исследования. 2018. Т. 2. № 29. С. 7-17.
Федорова К. С., Baranova V. V. Moscow: Diversity in disguise, in: Urban Sociolinguistics: The City as a Linguistic Process and Experience. L., NY : Routledge, 2018. Ch. 14. P. 220-236. doi
Ivaniushina V. A., Alexandrov D. A. Anti-school attitudes, school culture and friendship networks // British Journal of Sociology of Education. 2018. Vol. 39. No. 5. P. 698-716. doi
Александров Д. А., Воскресенский В. М., Савельева С. С. Роль внеклассной активности в формировании социального неравенства: случай малого города // В кн.: Образование и социальная дифференциация: коллективная монография / Отв. ред.: М. Карной, И. Д. Фрумин, Н. Н. Кармаева. М. : Издательский дом НИУ ВШЭ, 2017. Гл. 4.2. С. 388-416.