• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site
For visually-impairedUser profile (HSE staff only)SearchMenu

Public opening ceremonies of Russian manufacturing facilities of foreign corporations as a phenomenon of cross-cultural communication and the stage of inclusion of manufacturing subsidiaries of multinational corporations into the Russian socio-economic context

Priority areas of development: management
2018
Department: Centre for Fundamental Studies

Goal of research

The purpose of study is exploration of the sense and execution of an important phenomenon of international business – public opening ceremonies of new overseas manufacturing facilities of multinational corporations.  This phenomenon is a mandatory stage of greenfield investment projects. In addition, it is often used to mark the significant expansion of the existing Russian manufacturing facilities of multinational corporations. 

Methodology

The methodology of the study was the analysis of videos devoted to public opening ceremonies of new plants opened by foreign multinational corporations in Russian in 2012-2017. To analyze videos a special codebook was developed which allowed marking the most important elements of verbal and non-vernal communication during the events and the overall design of events. Initially the codebook included more than 20 elements of the ceremonies in all really observed variants (for some elements, up to 6-8 variants), as it was unclear beforehand which elements and in which variant have real importance for the content of a ceremony. Through accumulation of the experience after watching the videos we developed a metrics for the analysis of the ceremony, which included the following elements:

  • Types of attendees of the ceremony (executives of the investors, representatives of Russian local and federal authorities, foreign diplomats, members of the launch team and employees of a newly built facility).

  • To total number of active participants of  ceremonies.

  • The total lengths of speeches, the content and the tone of speeches of active participants of ceremonies.

  • Forms of a symbolic action of putting the facility in motion and the number of participant of that symbolic action.

Empirical base of research

We analyzed 119 videos depicted 56 public opening ceremonies

Results of research

Public opening ceremony of a new manufacturing plant usually executive with attendance of the top management of a parent company and top local and federal officials is “a rite of passage” and indicate the acceptance of a newly opened plant into institutional and business environment of a host country. In a great extend foreign investors try to maintain the corporate-wide standards and patterns of such ceremonies, paying little attention to the specific tradition of such ceremonies in a particular host country. For example, in Russian ceremonies of opening new production facilities of multinational corporations one important elements of the local tradition for such ceremonies was completely missing – we mean here speeches of participants of launch teams and employees of a newly built production facilities, honoring the most distinguished members of the launch team (both local employees and expatriates).

Through the video analysis we distinguished mandatory elements of ceremonies – orientation tour of local (federal) officials through the newly established facilities, speeches of top-ranked participants of a ceremony, performing a symbolic action of putting in motion of a new manufacturing facility. There were also variations in the ceremonies. The analysis of the content of speeches revealed the presence of three major elements – cognitive (transfer of information), affective (expression of emotions), conative (demonstration of the will (intentions) to perform specific types of actions).   The proportion of the indicated components differed in the speeches of representatives of foreign investors and in the speeches of representatives of authorities of the host country. Foreign investors and authorities of the host country have different interests regarding the newly established manufacturing facilities. Investors are mostly interested in technical and financial efficiency (performance) of newly build plants, local authorities put the emphasis of longevity of investments. Each side of the ceremony must accept in its speeches the interests of the other side. Thus, foreign investors stress the long-term character of investors while representatives of authorities emphasize the high technological level and technical efficiency of the newly build manufacturing facilities.

The additional element of 43% of the studied ceremonies was the participation of diplomates from the countries of origin of foreign investors. All diplomates delivered their speeches in Russian, although for some of them there were visible difficulties in dealing with specific terms related to manufacturing operations. All the diplomates who participated in plant opening ceremonies are diplomates of high ranks (Ambassadors or Ministers-Counselors). Speeches of diplomates reinforce the affective elements of the verbal component of ceremonies.    

Starting from the beginning of 2015 the character of speeches delivered by representatives of foreign investors changes drastically. The average length of a speeches increases from 2-3 to 6-8, sometimes 10 minutes. The major content of speeches is the cognitive component – representatives pf foreign investors explains in details to representatives of Russian authorities (and to themselves) the reasons of investments into Russia. This increase of the cognitive component also increases the conative components (assurance of long-term plans of foreign investors) in the communication between foreign investors and Russian authorities.

Level of implementation, recommendations on implementation or outcomes of the implementation of the results

The practical value of the study is the possibility to use its results for the improvement of the overall design and the content of ceremonies in order to increase the positive impact of the ceremony to attitudes of authorities of the host country towards specific direct foreign investors. In particular, the more active role of employees of a newly built production facility (members of the launch team) in a ceremony and the more often participation of foreign diplomates in such ceremonies can be advised.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Торжественные церемонии открытия новых российских производств зарубежных корпораций как феномен кросс-культурной коммуникации и этап встраивания производственных подразделений международных корпораций в российский социально-экономический контекст

Приоритетные направления развития: менеджмент
2018

Цель работы

Целью исследования является анализ малоизученного феномена международного бизнеса – церемоний открытия новых заводов международных корпораций. Данный феномен является обязательным этапом процесса прямых иностранных инвестиций в системе “ greenfield” (строительство завода «с нуля». «в чистом поле»). Кроме того, церемонии открытия достаточно часто применяются к вводу в строй новых очередей уже существующих российских производств западных корпораций.

Используемые методы

Основой исследовательского дизайна является анализ видеоматериалов, освещающих проведение подобных церемоний в России в 2012-2017 гг. Для анализа видеоматериалов был разработан специальное руководство, включавшее специфические параметры, относящиеся к элементам церемонии торжественного открытия предприятия, содержанию вербальной и невербальных элементов коммуникации. Исходное руководство по анализу видеоинформации было избыточным – оно включало боле 20 основных элементов церемонии в числе вариантов, реально наблюдавшихся на всем массиве данных (в некоторых случаях – до 7-9 вариантов), так как изначально было неизвестно, какие элементы торжественной церемонии являются действительно важными. При сохранении исходного гайда по мере накопления опыта анализа видео была сформирована метрика анализа, включавшая следующие параметры:

  • Тип присутствующих на церемонии и классы присутствующих (представители инвестора, представители российских властей, иностранные дипломаты, сотрудники вновь открытого предприятия)

  • Общее количество активных участников церемонии.

  • Продолжительность речей, содержание и общий тон речей активных участников церемонии.

  • Формы символического действия открытия нового производства и число участников данного действия.

Эмпирическая база исследования

Всего было проанализировано 119 видеоматериалов, посвященных открытию 56 промышленных объектов.

Результаты работы

Церемония торжественного открытия нового российского предприятия иностранной корпорации, происходящая в присутствии высшего менеджмента материнской компании и высокопоставленных представителей региональных либо федеральных властей  представляет собой ритуал «инициации» и подтверждает включенность предприятия в институциональную и бизнес среду принимающей страны. При этом в значительной мере иностранные инвесторы пытаются соблюдать традиции (паттерны) реализации подобных действий в других странах присутствия корпорации и, в гораздо меньшей степени, традиции проведения подобных церемоний в конкретной принимающей стране. Так, в российских церемониях открытия новых заводов западными корпорациями полностью отсутствовал важнейший элемент советской традиции подобных церемоний – торжественные речи участников строительства (членов команды запуска), чествование особо отличившихся в ходе строительства и запуска производства особо отличившихся работников.

В ходе анализа видеоматериалов были выделены обязательные элементы, присутствующих во всех церемониях открытия новых производственных предприятий зарубежными компаниями в России – ознакомительный тур по предприятию для высокопоставленных представителей российских властей, торжественные речи руководителей компании-инвестора и представителей российских властей, совершение символического акта ввода предприятия в эксплуатацию; а также вариативные элементы, наблюдавшиеся в ходе отдельных церемоний. При анализе содержания речей были выделены три основных компонента коммуникации – когнитивный (передача информации), аффективный (выражение эмоций) и конативный (демонстрация доброй воли). Указанные элементы содержались в разных пропорциях в речах руководителей компании-инвестора и представителей российских властей. Поскольку компании-инвесторы и власти принимающей страны имеют несколько различающиеся интересы (инвесторы заинтересованы в технической эффективности открываемого нового производства, а власти принимающей стороны – в долгосрочном характере инвестиций), основное содержание речей каждой из сторон сводится к открытому признанию интересов противоположной стороны: иностранные инвесторы подтверждают долгосрочный характер инвестиции, а представители властей принимающей страны выражают свое восхищение техническим уровнем нового производства.

Дополнительным элементом почти половины церемоний открытия новых производств (43%) являются выступления дипломатов стран происхождения иностранных инвесторов. Все без исключения иностранные дипломаты, выступавшие на данных церемониях, относятся к дипломатам высокого ранга (Чрезвычайный и полномочный посол, министр-советник); все речи, произносимые дипломатами, произносятся на русском языке, не смотря на сложности специфической лексики, относящейся к описанию производства. Выступления дипломатов в целом усиливают аффективный элемент вербальной составляющей церемонии.

Начиная с 2015 г., разительно меняется характер речей, произносимых представителями иностранных инвесторов.  Прежде всего, увеличивается средняя продолжительность речи – с 2-3 до 6-8, а то и до 10 минут. Во-вторых,основным содержание речи становится когнитивный компонент – представители иностранных инвесторов в подробностях объясняют представителям российских властей (и самим себе) резоны инвестирования в Россию. Таким образом происходит усиление когнитивного и, косвенно, конативного компонента (уверений в долгосрочном характере инвестиций) в составе коммуникации между иностранными инвесторами и российскими властями.

Степень внедрения, рекомендации по внедрению или итоги внедрения результатов НИР

Исследование имеет практическую ценность, позволяя улучшить дизайн церемоний и их позитивное воздействие на власти принимающей стороны.