• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Monitoring Development of the Intellectual Service Sector

2010

The results obtained in the course of the project show that in 2010 the sector of intellectual services started to show a positive trend.

After the downturnin 2009, most companies of the sector have recovered from the crisis (Figure 1):

Figure 1. Output of the intellectual service sector

 

Growth YoY

TOTAL

Advertizing services

Marketing services

Audit services

IT-services

Recruitment services

Engineering services

Financial services

Legal services

Development services

Design services

2009

-12.5%

-17.2%

-15.2%

-12.8%

-9.3%

-14.3%

-19.8%

-5.2%

0.1%

-17.8%

-14.3%

2010

3.2%

0.0%

2.6%

-0.6%

9.0%

4.3%

-3.9%

12.7%

9.4%

-2.3%

-0.3%

Source: surveys of intellectual service companies

 

The data in Chart 1 demonstrate that many segments of the sector posted positive growth rates. The continued output contraction is registered primarily in the construction-related companies (engineering and development). It is known that the construction industry in general has great inertia, as it was affected by the crisis more slowly than the others; but the crisis for it is more prolonged, and recovery is taking longer. Therefore, the downturn in related intellectual services will also last longer. However, the companies representing this segment are optimistic for the medium-term, noting that before the crisis, the construction industry was the most active consumer of intellectual services - in 2007, 57% of sector companies took advantage of these services. The rebound in construction is expected to bring a revival in the related segments of the intellectual service sector.

Other segments that displayed negative growth rates in 2010 (audit and industrial design) attribute their poor performance primarily to the fact that many Russian companies continue to see such services as “luxuries” - indeed, the survey showed that demand for these services  depends on income, i.e. the revenues of companies-consumers, and the value of the correlation coefficient is above average for the sector. Thus,  expenses for these services amid crisis-related output fall are the first to be reduced.

This conclusion is indirectly confirmed by the fact that the services that show the least dependence on the turnover (i.e. perceived as “vital”), suffered very little in 2009 and significantly increased in 2010. This group includes, in the first place, financial and legal services.

The results of sector monitoring show that the erosion of the policies, which were dominant before the crisis, registered in 2009,  was not overcome in 2010. In pre-crisis years, most companies had a clearly defined target strategy, while during the crisis, intellectual service providers had not yet grasped the optimum strategy. The state of strategic management in the sector is best characterized by the words of experts: “they are trying everything”. This is especially notable in the area of pricing strategies (Chart 2):

Chart 2. Quantitative characteristics of demand, 2010 on 2009

 

TOTAL

Advertizing services

Marketing services

Audit services

IT-services

Recruitment services

Engineering services

Financial services

Legal services

Development services

Design services

Change in the number of customers (+ growth,

- decline)

2.4%

-5.9%

5.9%

-1.9%

6.5%

5.3%

-8.2%

5.6%

10.3%

4.2%

-2.4%

Change in order value

(+ growth,

- decline)

0.8%

6.2%

-3.1%

1.3%

2.3%

-1.0%

4.7%

6.8%

-0.8%

-6.2%

2.2% 

Source: surveys of intellectual service companies

 

Chart 2 shows a full range of pricing strategies:

 - attempts to win over customers through lowering service prices (marketing, HR consulting, development, legal services),

- attempts to offset the contraction in actual demand volume (turnover) by rising prices for the remaining customers (gross) (audit, engineering, industrial design),

- attempts to increase revenue due to low demand elasticity (financial services).

Amid non-obvious optimal pricing strategy, companies that provide intellectual services are beginning to make greater use of non-price competition factors. We noted a significant increase in an attraction to innovative behavior. In 2010, as compared with 2009, more and more companies relied on innovations as the main way out of the crisis (Chart 3):

Chart 3. Propensity to innovate in 2010

Propensity to innovate during the crisis

2009, %

2010, %

We excluded innovations from our priorities for the crisis period

12.9

7.2

Significance of innovations for our company has subsided during the crisis

8.7

10.8

The crisis made no difference to innovation policy of our company

43.2

40.2

During the crisis, significance of innovations for our company increased

25.1

26.3

Our company considers innovations to be the main way out of the crisis

10.2

12.3

Chart 3 indicates that in 2010 as compared with 2009, propensity of intellectual service providers to innovate increased.

 

During the crisis, product innovations that are considered to be the main tool of non-price competition came to the fore. The share of innovation products in  output during the crisis is  growing rapidly (Chart 4):

Chart 4. Share of innovation products in total output of the intellectual services sector, %

Year

Share of innovation products, %

2008

9.2

2009

15.1

2010

19.9

 Source: surveys of intellectual service companies

 

The propensity to  technological innovations, which was the most important area of innovation activity before the crisis, weakened during the crisis, and in 2010 the situation didn’t change compared with 2009. Providers of intellectual services attribute this fact to the expense of technological innovations and very long (compared to other innovations) payback period.

However, it is unlikely to lead to a substantial reduction in the role of the intellectual services sector in technological modernization, as capital intensity of these services is quite low, and the main productive resource is skilled labor (accounting for 50-70% of costs). Therefore, physical capital plays a significant role only in the production of those services that are associated with a material product (engineering and IT-services). Thus the fluctuations of investment in technological innovations do not have a significant impact on the role of the sector as a whole because of the low base effect.

Organizational innovation almost lost their significance during the crisis although, according to the experts, almost all companies work in this area. This apparent paradox is resolved quite simply: organizational innovation during the crisis has been greatly downgraded for the majority of producers, as they are reduced to various cost savings (cost cutting) using the easiest ways (moving the office away from the center, lower advertising costs, payroll cuts etc.). It is clear that the significance of these activities for market success is small, although they are performed in one form or another by all providers.

Therefore, the main source of innovation activity because of the crisis became product innovations, i.e.  innovations  directed  at consumers. In this sense, the healing effect of the crisis in the sector of intellectual services is more important than for the economy as a whole - services that suffered from inefficient demand became unnecessary, and the spread of noncompetitive products  virtually ceased due to the crisis. Strengthening of  non-price competition, also stirred by the crisis, established product innovativeness as a key competitive advantage.

Apparently,  intellectual services providers are adequate in their assessment of the crisis shifts, as the level of business sentiment in 2010 compared with 2009 has increased across the market, except for the development of HR services.

Strengthening of business confidence weakened the desire for external support: in 2009, when one third of the companies acknowledged the need for direct government support, while in 2010, 42% of executives said that they need minimum state support (“it’s sufficient if the state doesn’t get in our way”). Another 22% believed that it was sufficient for the government just to create a general environment for business (intellectual property rights protection, improving legal framework etc.). And only a third of producers insisted on the need for the state’s active support for sector companies.

However, in 2011, the outlook can change for the worse. Executives of sector companies have serious concerns about the increase in payroll taxes to 34% as planned for 2011, which means for the companies using the general tax regime an increase of the payroll tax burden by 1.3 times, and for those who use simplified taxation (there is a large number of those in the intellectual services sector, especially in the legal sphere) – by more than three times. Given the fact that in the production of intellectual services, the share of value added is over 60%, and it is almost entirely produced by highly-qualified and therefore highly paid professionals, the growth of social taxes will be a significantly heavier burden than in industrial sectors where wages account for 10-12%. Intellectual services providers do not rule out that in 2011 they will have to shift the focus to such “innovations” as “gray” salary schemes and tax reporting distortions. This will not only weigh on the overall business climate in the sector, but may also undermine its innovation potential.


The project results in three articles.

1. M.E. Doroshenko. Innovative Potential of the Intellectual Services Sector in Russia. Foresight, 2011, No. 4 (forthcoming).

2. Marina Doroshenko and Dmitry Vinogradov. External Benefits from Knowledge Intensive Business Services: Evidence from Russia. In: RESER 2011 Productivity of Services Next Gen - Beyond Output / Input. Conference Proceedings. Walter Ganz, Florian Kicherer, Alexander Schletz (eds.). Hamburg: Fraunhofer IAO, 2011

3. Marina Doroshenko. How Knowledge-Intensive Business Services Upgrade their Customers: Evidence from Russia. In: Exploring Knowledge-Intensive Business Services. Ed. by Eleonora Di Maria, Roberto Grandinetti, and Barbara Di Bernardo. Palgrave, 2012 (forthcoming)

Publications:


Дорошенко М. Е. Инновационный потенциал сектора интеллектуальных услуг в России // Форсайт. 2011. Т. 5. № 4. С. 50-65.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Мониторинг развития сектора интеллектуальных услуг

2010

Полученные в ходе реализации проекта результаты демонстрируют, что в 2010 году сектор интеллектуальных услуг в целом обнаружил положительную динамику.

После провала в 2009 году большинство компаний-производителей оправились от кризиса (табл. 1):

 

Источник: данные опроса компаний-производителей интеллектуальных услуг

Данные табл. 1 свидетельствует, что многие сегменты сектора отмечают положительные темпы роста. Продолжающееся сжатие выпуска отмечают в первую очередь те компании, которые связаны со строительством (инжиниринг и девелопмент). Известно, что строительная отрасль вообще обладает большой инерцией, она медленнее прочих погружается в кризис, но и кризисные явления оказываются более затяжными, а восстановление – более длительным. Так что у сопровождающих ее интеллектуальных услуг спад будет носить более длительный характер. Тем не менее, компании, представляющие данный сегмент, оптимистично смотрят в среднесрочное будущее, отмечая, что до кризиса строительная отрасль была самым активным потребителем интеллектуальных услуг - в 2007 году ими пользовались 57% компаний отрасли. Оживление в строительстве, как ожидается, принесет оживление и в сопровождающих его сегментах сектора интеллектуальных услуг.

Прочие же сегменты, демонстрирующие отрицательные темпы роста в 2010 году (аудит и промышленный дизайн), связывают это обстоятельство преимущественно с тем, что многие российские компании продолжают воспринимать такие услуги как «предметы роскоши», - действительно, спрос на них, по данным опроса, демонстрирует положительную зависимость от дохода, т.е. выручки компаний-потребителей, причем величина коэффициента корреляции выше средней по сектору. Так что расходы на эти услуги в условиях кризисного падения выпуска компаний-потребителей сокращаются в первую очередь.

Данный вывод косвенно подтверждается тем, что услуги, демонстрирующие наименьшую зависимость от величины оборота (т.е. воспринимаемые как «жизненно необходимые»), мало пострадали в 2009 г. и обнаружили значительный прирост в 2010 г. Сюда относятся в первую очередь финансовые и юридические услуги.

Результаты мониторинга сектора показывают, что размывание доминирующих до кризиса стратегий, зафиксированное в 2009 г., в 2010 г. преодолено не было. Если в предкризисные годы большинство компаний имело четко выраженную целевую стратегию, то во время кризиса производители интеллектуальных услуг еще не уловили оптимальную стратегию, так что состояние стратегического управления в секторе лучше всего характеризуют слова экспертов «все пробуют все». Особенно это заметно в области ценовых стратегий (табл. 2):


Источник: рассчитано по результатам опроса компаний-производителей интеллектуальных услуг

По данным таблицы 2 можно проследить практически весь спектр ценовых стратегий:

  • попытки привлечь заказчика за счет снижения цен на услуги (маркетинг, кадровый консалтинг, девелопмент, юридические услуги),
  • попытки компенсировать сжатие физического объема спроса (оборота) за счет повышения цен для оставшихся заказчиков (вала) (аудит, инжиниринг, промышленный дизайн),
  • стремление нарастить выручку за счет низкой эластичности спроса (финансовые услуги).

В условиях неочевидности оптимальной ценовой стратегии производители интеллектуальных услуг начинают все активнее использовать факторы неценовой конкуренции. Заметно усилилось тяготение к инновационному поведению. В 2010 г. по сравнению с 2009 г. большее количество компаний стало делать ставку на инновации как на основное средство выхода из кризиса (табл. 3):

Таблица 3. Изменение склонности к инновациям в 2010 году 

Отношение к инновациям в период кризиса

2009 г., %

2010 г., %

Мы исключили инновации из числа наших приоритетов на период кризиса

12,9

7,2

Значимость инноваций для нашей компании в период кризиса уменьшилась

8,7

10,8

Кризис не внес изменений в инновационную политику нашей компании

43,2

40,2

В кризисный период значимость инноваций для нашей компании выросла

25,1

26,3

В нашей компании инновации считаются основным средством выхода из кризиса

10,2

12,3

Как свидетельствует табл. 3, в 2010 г. по сравнению с 2009 г. склонность компаний-производителей интеллектуальных услуг к инновациям возросла.

Во время кризиса на первый план вышли продуктовые инновации, которые считаются сейчас основным инструментом неценовой конкуренции. Доля инновационной продукции в выпуске во время кризиса стремительно растет (табл. 4):

Таблица 4. Доля инновационной продукции в общем объеме выпуска сектора интеллектуальных услуг, % 

Год

Доля инновационной продукции, %

2008

9,2

2009

15,1

2010

19,9

Источник: данные опросов компаний-производителей интеллектуальных услуг за соответствующие годы

Склонность к технологическим инновациям, которые до кризиса считались наиболее важным направлением инновационной активности, во время кризиса ослабела, и в 2010 г. по сравнению с 2009 г. ситуация не изменилась. Производители интеллектуальных услуг объясняют это обстоятельство дороговизной технологических инноваций и довольно большим (по сравнению с прочими инновациями) сроком окупаемости.

Впрочем, это вряд ли приведет к существенному сокращению роли сектора интеллектуальных услуг в технической модернизации, т.к. капиталоемкость производства таких услуг довольно низка, а основном производственным ресурсом является квалифицированный труд (на него приходится от 50-70% издержек). Так что физический капитал играет сколько-нибудь заметную роль только при производстве тех услуг, оказание которых сопряжено с производством материального продукта (инжиниринг и IT-услуги). Поэтому колебания вложений в технологические инновации не оказывают существенного влияния на роль сектора в целом ввиду изначально низкой базы.

Организационные инновации почти утратили в кризис свое значение, хотя, по мнению экспертов, деятельность в этом направлении активно ведется практически всеми компаниями. Кажущийся парадокс разрешается просто: организационные инновации во время кризиса сильно примитивизировались, у большинства производителей они сводятся к разнообразной экономии на издержках («резке костов») самыми простыми способами (перевод офиса дальше от центра, снижение расходов на рекламу, урезание фонда оплаты труда и т.п.). Понятно, что значимость такого рода деятельности для рыночного успеха невелика, хотя в том или ином виде она проводится всеми производителями.

Так что основным источником инновационной активности благодаря кризису стали продуктовые инновации, т.е. инновации, нацеленные непосредственно на потребителя. В этом смысле оздоровляющее воздействие кризиса в секторе интеллектуальных услуг более значительно, нежели в экономике в целом, - услуги, бывшие объектом неэффективного спроса, стали невостребованными, так что тиражирование неконкурентоспособной продукции кризис практически прекратил. Усиление неценовой конкуренции, также вызванное кризисом, выдвинуло в качестве основного кокурентного преимущества уровень инновационности продукции.

Видимо, производители интеллектуальных услуг здраво оценивают кризисные сдвиги, т.к. уровень предпринимательских настроений в 2010 г. по сравнению с 2009 г. возрос везде, кроме сегментов девелопмента и кадровых услуг.

Укрепление предпринимательской уверенности ослабило стремление получить внешнюю поддержку: если в 2009 г. треть компаний заявляла о необходимости прямой поддержки государства, то в 2010 г. 42% руководителей компаний сектора отметили, что нуждаются в минимальном уровне государственной поддержки, («пусть государство нам просто не мешает»). Еще 22% полагают достаточным для государства ограничиться созданием общих условий для бизнеса (защита интеллектуальной собственности, улучшение правового поля и т.п.). И лишь треть производителей настаивает на необходимости активной помощи государства компаниям сектора.

Однако, в 2011 г. картина может измениться в худшую сторону. У руководителей компаний сектора серьезные опасения вызывает запланированное в 2011 г. увеличение страховых взносов до 34%, что для компаний, применяющих общую схему налогообложения, означает рост налоговой нагрузки на фонд заработной платы в 1,3 раза, а для применяющих упрощенную схему налогообложения (таких в секторе интеллектуальных услуг довольно много, особенно в юридической сфере) – в три с лишним раза. С учетом того, что при производстве интеллектуальных услуг доля добавленной стоимости составляет свыше 60%, и она почти полностью производится высококвалифицированными, а значит, и высокооплачиваемыми специалистами, рост страховых взносов окажется существенно более тяжким бременем, нежели в индустриальных отраслях, где доля оплаты труда составляет 10-12%. Производители интеллектуальных услуг не исключают, что в 2011 году им придется перенести акцент на «инновации» вроде «серых» схем оплаты труда и искажения налоговой отчетности. Это не только ухудшит общий деловой климат в секторе, но и способно подорвать его инновационный потенциал.


По результатам проекта подготовлено три статьи.

1. Дорошенко М.Е. Инновационный потенциал сектора интеллектуальных услуг в России. Форсайт, 2011, № 4 (forthcoming).

2. Doroshenko, Marina E. and Vinogradov, Dmitri V. External benefits from knowledge intensive business services: evidence from Russia. In: RESER 2011 Productivity of Services Next Gen - Beyond Output / Input. Conference Proceedings. Walter Ganz, Florian Kicherer, Alexander Schletz (eds.). Hamburg: Fraunhofer IAO, 2011

3. Doroshenko, Marina E. How Knowledge-Intensive Business Services Upgrade their Customers: Evidence from Russia. In: Exploring Knowledge-Intensive Business Services. Ed. by Eleonora Di Maria, Roberto Grandinetti, and Barbara Di Bernardo. Palgrave, 2012 (forthcoming)

Публикации по проекту:


Дорошенко М. Е. Инновационный потенциал сектора интеллектуальных услуг в России // Форсайт. 2011. Т. 5. № 4. С. 50-65.