• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Socio-Cultural Studies of Economic Attitudes and Behavior

2010

The main purpose of the researchwas to develop a theoretical concept and culturally-sensitive methodology of studying socio-cultural factors of economic attitudes and behavior.The subject of the research: socio-cultural factors influencing economic attitudes and behavior. 

Methods of the research:   

I. Theoretical analysis of inter-disciplinary approaches to studying economic attitudes and behavior.

II. Method of socio-psychological survey, including the following methods:

1) Schwartz value surveys (SVS57) translated by N. Lebedeva (Lebedeva, 2000).

2) Methods of economic behavior scenarios developed by Scientific-Educational Laboratory of Socio-Psychological Research at SU-HSE.

3) Methods of measuring significance of religious identity (M. Efremova, N. Lebedeva).

4) Social capital was evaluated using questions aimed at measuring inter-personal trust and tolerance that had been tested in previous studies of the International Scientific-Educational Laboratory of Socio-Psychological Research at SU-HSE.

5) Attitudes to innovations were studied using Innovative Quality of Personality methods (Lebedeva, Tatarko, 2009).

6) Economic attitudes were studied using a standardized program of the Laboratory of Social and Economic Psychology of Psychology Institute at RAS (Zhuravlev, 2002).

The theoretical analysis identified 11 bipolar dimensions of economic behavior, which underlies the methodology of behavioral scenarios aimed at measuring attitudes to certain types of economic behavior. With this technique, we carried out a socio-psychological survey in three regions of Russia: Moscow and Moscow region, Chukotka Autonomous District, the North Caucasus federal district (Chechnya, North Ossetia, Kabardino-Balkaria), with a total sample of 630 people.

The results of the empirical study demonstrated:

1. Inter-group (inter-ethnic and inter-religious) differences in economic behavior scenarios.

We identified a large degree of difference between Russian respondents and representatives of the Caucasus peoples in attitudes to different types of economic behavior. Most of the revealed differences reflect stereotypical beliefs about the behavior of people with the same ethnic background in these situations (i.e. in typicality evaluations of the models of economic behavior). Representatives of the Caucasus peoples demonstrate a greater tendency to economic paternalism and economic passivity on an emotional and behavioral level compared to Russians. Distribution of financial benefits on the basis of fairness is more often accepted by Russians than Caucasians on an emotional level, and the willingness to follow this model of behavior is also more often exhibited by Russians. Based on the results of the survey, the religious affiliation of respondents has a weaker impact on their economic behavior than their ethnic background.

Inter-regional comparisons demonstrated that attitudes to economic paternalism have a greater intensity in other Russian regions than in Moscow. Attitudes to a short-term perspective in economic behavior are more characteristic of the inhabitants of Russian regions. Attitudes to economic indifference (a weak interest in economic developments) are also more common among residents of regions than among residents of the Russian capital. Greater economic passiveness and a stronger reluctance to take advantage of bank loans are also shown by residents of these regions. At the same time, the orientation towards greater priority of profit rather than lawful behavior is more characteristic of Moscow residents than those in Russian regions. In allocation of financial remuneration, Moscow residents are more oriented towards the “fairness” principle rather than the “equality” principle.

2. Economic beliefs and monetary attitudes. Analysis of the findings of the study, using methods of economic behavior scenarios demonstrated that Russians, in general, reveal negative attitude to economic paternalism and economic passivity despite high estimates of their typicality in Russia; they prefer distribution of labor compensation in accordance with each other’s contribution (i.e. based on the fairness principle rather than equality), they prefer to save time than money (strive for professionalism), they have a drive for long-term potential in economic behavior. These are favorable phenomena of economic consciousness and behavior which demonstrates the need for economic activity, welfare growth and the desire for fairness in economic relations. In addition, respondents show a preference for making profit rather than obeying the law, are not ready to take advantage of bank loans and give greater priority to the material component of the work rather than its creative part. It demonstrates the greater importance of the material part of life of our contemporaries and some conservatism (distrust in banks, risk aversion and the desire to “have one’s feet on the ground”).

The structure of monetary attitudes of Russians and Caucasians differs. For Russians, it includes the following factors: “Financial anxiety”, “Higher importance of money”, “Extravagance”, “Thrift”.For Caucasians, they include: “High importance of money”, “Money as a source of pride”, “Money as a source of anxiety”, “Unwillingness to spend money”, “Free and easy attitude to money”.The principally new and different factor in the North Caucasus sample is “Money as a source of pride”. This factor demonstrates that for Caucasians, money has a greater personal importance compared with Russians.

The results of the interaction between money-related associations and models of economic behavior demonstrate that beliefs about money as an achievement is related to activity and responsibility in economic behavior. People who associate money with fairness are characterized by higher economic independence. Perceiving money as an achievement, comfort, entertainment and freedomis attributed to developing long-term plans in economic behavior, associating money with unscrupulousnesscreates an environment for the short-term potential of economic behavior.

3. The role of perceptions of fairness, innovative qualities, social capital in economic behavior .

When evaluating the fairness of remuneration and social benefit distribution, Russians are predominantly guided by differentiating norms of fairness that take into account the work done by the person and his/her efforts, including years in the profession. Compliance with non-differentiating norms – equality and, especially, distribution according to needs – is usually deemed unfair. This trend is especially pronounced among Russian and Orthodox people of Russia. At the same time, Caucasian peoples and Muslims put a greater emphasis on equality and distribution according to needs.

Personality innovativeness (positive attitudes to innovations), based on the values of Independence, Stimulation and Achievement, are inter-related with the long-term potential; economic independence and activity; interest in economics; economy of time rather than money; priority of creativity over money remuneration in job; desire to distribute financial remuneration according to the fairness principle – i.e. with productive types of economic behavior. These relations are more common in the modernized Russian culture compared with the more traditional cultures of North Caucasus and for representatives of the Russian culture compared with the Muslim culture.

The social capital of Russians and representatives of Caucasian people is mostly related to their attitudes to productive economic behavior: in both groups it is negatively related to profit priority over law, the size of remuneration over creativity in work. For Russians, it is negatively related to economic indifference and among representatives of Caucasus with attitudes to economic paternalism and short-term potential in economic behavior. In both groups, inter-personal trust is negatively related with the attitudes to profit priority over law. Therefore, social capital facilitates law abidance in economic behavior in both cultural groups, i.e. is a universal socio-cultural factor of productive economic behavior for society.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Социокультурные исследования экономического сознания и поведения

2010

Основная цель исследования состояла в разработке теоретической концепции и культурно-чувствительной методологии исследования социокультурных факторов экономического сознания и поведения.
Предмет исследования: социокультурные факторы, влияющие на экономическое сознание и поведение.

Методы исследования:   

I. Теоретический анализ междисциплинарных подходов к исследованию экономического сознания и поведения.

II. Метод социально-психологического опроса, включающий методики:

1) Метод культурных ценностных ориентаций Ш.Шварца (SVS57) в переводе Н.М. Лебедевой (Лебедева, 2000).

2) Методика сценариев экономического поведения, разработанная в Научно-учебной лаборатории социально-психологических исследований ВШЭ.

3) Методика измерения выраженности религиозной идентичности (М.В. Ефремова, Н.М. Лебедева).

4) Социальный капитал оценивался с помощью вопросов, нацеленных на измерение межличностного доверия и толерантности, прошедших апробацию в предыдущих исследованиях НУЛ СПИ ВШЭ.

5) Отношение к инновациям изучалось с помощью методики Инновативные качества личности (Лебедева, Татарко, 2009).

6) Установки экономического сознания изучались с помощью стандартизированной программы исследования Лаборатории социальной и экономической психологии института психологии РАН (Журавлев, 2002).

Проведенный анализ позволил теоретически выделить 11 биполярных измерений экономического поведения, которые легли в основу методики поведенческих сценариев, направленную на измерение установок на определенные виды экономического поведения. С помощью данной методики проведен социально-психологических опрос в 3-х регионах России: Москве и Московской области, Чукотском автономном округе, Северо-Кавказском федеральном округе (Чечня, Северная Осетия, Кабардино-Балкария), общий объем выборки 630 чел.

Результаты эмпирического исследования показали:

1. Наличие межгрупповых (межэтнических и межрелигиозных) различий в сценариях экономического поведения.

Обнаружено значительное количество различий между русскими респондентами и представителями народов Кавказа в установках на различные виды экономического поведения. Большинство выявленных различий отражает стереотипные представления о том, как поведут себя в этих ситуациях представители их этнической группы (т.е. в оценках типичности тех или иных моделей экономического поведения). Представители народов Кавказа демонстрируют большее, по сравнению с русскими, предпочтение экономического патернализма и экономической пассивности на эмоциональном и поведенческом уровнях. Распределение финансового вознаграждения по справедливости на эмоциональном уровне больше принимается русскими, чем представителями народов Кавказа, готовность следовать такой модели поведения также демонстрируют в большей степени русские. Согласно результатам исследования, религиозная принадлежность респондентов слабее влияет на их экономическое поведение, чем этническая.

Межрегиональные сравнения показали, что установки на экономический патернализмимеют большую выраженность в регионах, чем в Москве. Установка на кратковременную перспективу в экономическом поведении в большей степени характерна для жителей регионов. Установки на экономическую индифферентность (слабый интерес к экономическим событиям) оказались также более характерны для жителей регионов, чем для жителей центра. Большую экономическую пассивность и большее нежелание пользоваться кредитами тоже демонстрируют жители регионов. При этом установки на больший приоритет прибыли, чем на соблюдение законов характерны в большей мере для жителей Москвы, чем для жителей регионов. При распределении финансового вознаграждения жители Москвы в большей степени, по сравнению с жителями регионов, ориентированы на принцип «справедливости», а не на принцип «равенства».

2. Экономические представления и монетарные аттитюды. Анализ результатов исследования с помощью методики сценариев экономического поведения показал, что в целом, у российских респондентов в настоящее время присутствует негативное отношение к экономическому патернализму и экономической пассивности при высокой оценке типичности этих явлений в России; они предпочитают распределение вознаграждения за труд в соответствии с вкладом каждого (т.е. по принципу справедливости, а не равенства), они предпочитают сэкономить скорее время, чем деньги (стремление к профессионализму), у них есть установка на долговременную перспективу в экономическом поведении. Все это – благоприятные явления экономического сознания и поведения, свидетельствующие о потребности в экономической активности, росте благосостояния и желании справедливости в экономических отношениях. Наряду с этим респонденты отдают предпочтение скорее получению прибыли, чем соблюдению законов, не готовы активно пользоваться кредитами, и отдают больший приоритет материальной составляющей работы, чем ее творческой составляющей. Это свидетельствует о большой значимости материальной стороны жизни для наших современников и некоторой консервативности (недоверия банкам, избегания риска и стремлении «твердо стоять на своих ногах»).

Структура монетарных аттитюдов русских и представителей народов Кавказа  различается. У русских она включает следующие факторы: «Финансовая тревожность», «Высокая значимость денег», «Расточительность», «Экономность».У представителей народов Кавказа: «Высокая значимость денег», «Деньги как источник гордости», «Деньги как источник беспокойства», «Нежелание тратить деньги», «Легкомысленное отношение к деньгам».Принципиально новым и отличным в северокавказской выборке является фактор «Деньги как источник гордости». Этот фактор указывает на то, что для представителей народов Кавказа, деньги имеют большую личностную значимость в сравнении с русскими.

Результаты взаимосвязи ассоциаций, связанных с деньгами, и моделей экономического поведения показывают, что представление о деньгах как достижениисвязано с активностью и ответственностью в экономическом поведении. Люди, ассоциирующие деньги со справедливостью, характеризуются более высокой экономической самостоятельностью. Восприятие денег как достижения, комфорта, развлечения и свободы связано с построением долгосрочных планов в экономическом поведении, ассоциация денег с беспринципностью позволяет формироваться краткосрочной перспективе экономического поведения.

3. Роль восприятия справедливости, инновативных качеств личности, социального капитала в экономическом поведении .

Оценивая справедливость распределения денежного вознаграждения и социальных льгот, россияне ориентируются, прежде всего, на дифференцирующие нормы справедливости, учитывающие работу, проделанную человеком и приложенные им усилия, в т.ч. стаж профессиональной деятельности. Соблюдение недифференцирующих норм - равенства и, особенно, распределения по потребностям – чаще всего признается несправедливым. Эта тенденция особенно ярко выражена у русского и православного населения России. В то же время, представители народов Кавказа и мусульмане уделяют большое внимание равенству и распределению по потребностям.

Инновативность личности (позитивные установки по отношению к инновациям), в основе которой лежат ценности Самостоятельности, Стимуляции и Достижения, взаимосвязана с долговременной перспективой; экономической самостоятельностью и активностью; интересом к экономике; экономией времени, а не денег; приоритетом творчества над денежным вознаграждением в работе; стремлением к распределению финансового вознаграждения по принципу справедливости - т.е. с продуктивными видами экономического поведения. Данные связи более характерны для модернизированной русской культуры в сравнении с более традиционными культурами народов Северного Кавказа и для представителей христианской культуры в сравнении с мусульманской.

Социальный капитал русских и представителей народов Кавказа связан, в основном, с установками на продуктивное экономическое поведение: в обеих группах он отрицательно связан с приоритетом прибыли над законом, размером вознаграждения над творчеством в работе. У русских он негативно связан с экономической индифферентностью, а у представителей народов Кавказа - с установками на экономический патернализм и кратковременной перспективой в экономическом поведении. В обеих группах межличностное доверие отрицательно связано с установкой на приоритет прибыли над законом. Таким образом, социальный капитал способствует соблюдению закона в экономическом поведении в обеих культурных группах, т.е. является универсальным социокультурным фактором продуктивного для общества экономического поведения.