• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Efficient Public Procurement and Investment: Incentives and Risks

Priority areas of development: economics
2019
The project has been carried out as part of the HSE Program of Fundamental Studies.

Objective

Studying determinants of incentives for efficient public procurement and identifying risks influencing foreign investors’ decisions.

Methods

Public procurement efficiency indicators and approaches to their studying are based on the contract theory. Analysis of publicly available data on public procurement was conducted by standard statistical and econometric methods. Standard methods of statistical analysis of experiments were used in the study of the survey data. The empirical methodology of the research task “Political Risks Impacting Foreign Investors’ Decisions” is based on the Cox proportional hazards model explaining the length of a firms’ survival period.

Empirical basis of the survey

The line of research aimed at detecting potential opportunistic behavior and factors influencing the frequency of court cases related to public procurement is based on results of the online survey of customers and supplierson problems of functioning under regulation of 44-FL. The effect of responsible officials’ gender on the public procurement performance was analyzed on the basis of data used previously in Detkova, Podkolzina, & Tkachenko (2018): procurement by regional customers in the sphere of public administration in 2011-2013. Those data were supplemented with gender information of officials conducting public procurement. The empirical basis of research task “Political Risks Impacting Foreign Investors’ Decisions” included micro data of companies with foreign ownership in Russia based on accounting reports published in the Ruslana and Amadeus databases and the database of political risks in line of ICRG countries.

Results

The project “Efficient Public Procurement and Investment: Incentives and Risks” produced the following results:

For the task of analysis of the public procurement regulation system in EAEU countries (the Republic of Kazakhstan, Armenia, Belarus), Ukraine, and Eastern European countries (Poland, the Czech Republic, Hungary):

  • Descriptions of the current procurement regulations were made (types of procedures, the order of their conducting, timelines, requirements to participants, possibility of e-auctions, monitoring and audit of procurements), the latest updates to procurement legislation, and the main differences in public procurement regulation in EAEU countries (the Republic of Kazakhstan, Armenia, Belarus), Ukraine, and Eastern European countries (Poland, the Czech Republic, Hungary). National public procurement regulation was also compared to regulation in the Russian Federation and the European Union (Directives 2014/EU).

  • Analytical tools were prepared and contact information of procurement participants (email addresses) for 2017-2019 were formed in order to conduct a survey to emphasize  the existing problems and assess public procurement efficiency in Russia, Ukraine, and the Republic of Kazakhstan.

  • Analysis of the conducted online survey of public customers and suppliers operating under 44-FL:

  • A methodological approach was proposed enabling to detect potential opportunistic behavior of suppliers engaged in regular operations on public procurement market. The presented methodology was tested using data from a large survey of Russian procurers and suppliers.

  • The survey of suppliers revealed that in the event of a conflict with public customers most suppliers prefer to resolve the conflicts out of court through negotiations with the customers, and only 31% of respondents choose court proceedings.

  • It was shown that the procurement-related conflict resolution method depends on the type of supplier behavior. Specifically, suppliers that are actively involved in public procurement and have steady informal engagements with customers rarely apply to court as a formal institution and rarely use negotiations with the customers.

Analysis of publicly available data on public procurement at the bidding and contract execution stages:
  • Approximately 25% of all court proceedings are cases where the claimants are commercial organizations. In addition, organizations at all levels of jurisdiction (federal, regional, municipal) file claims predominantly against commercial organizations although the number of cases and the shares of the contract value differ among them significantly.

  • Analysis of disputes related to construction and repair jobs showed that commercial organizations filing court claims achieve awards in their favor only in 43% of cases, and only 14% of claims are granted in full. Disputes over other products (equipment, goods, services, other works) end up in awards in favor of such organizations only in 40% of cases and merely 20% of the claims are granted in full.

  • Analysis of the gender effect on public procurement efficiency revealed that procurement performed by male officials in regions with high levels of corruption are often associated with a higher frequency of auctions with a single bidder. In addition, the customers’ auctions are also characterized with increased frequency of insignificant price decrease during the auction. However, these effects are no longer valid if the Moscow and St. Petersburg auctions are excluded from the sample, which, according to the literature on connection between gender and corruption, may be the reason for increased regulatory focus on those regions.

  • Analysis of the bias in the value share of the auctions held by different genders revealed decrease in procurement performance in regions with high corruption both for organizations biased toward males and for organizations biased toward females.

The study of influence of political risks on decisions of foreign investors produced the following results:

  • It showed that companies with foreign ownership are extremely sensitive to the level of political risks. The most significant effects are connected with poor democratic subordination, corruption, involvement of the military in politics, and conflicts. Political affinity does not safeguard investments in developing countries: the greater the distance between the country of investments origin and Russia, the less probable is the withdrawal decision.

  • The hypothesis that a favorable investment climate at the regional level lowers the effects of national political risks was not been substantiated. The only exception from this rule is the city of Moscow. Sanctions intensify the effect of political risks of withdrawal. And the size of the firm and its incorporation in the form of a JV (Joint venture) with a Russian participant safeguard the investor against exposure to political risks.

Recommendations for R&D results application

The findings from the project can be valuable both in terms of further development of public procurement regulation and in terms of understanding the factors behind different efficiency of application of this regulation. The results of applying the methodology of detecting opportunistic behavior and conflict resolution strategies can be used for developing recommendations on mediation of the public procurement system. The resulting empirical assessments of the influence of political risks on foreign investors’ decision to withdraw from the Russian market can be useful for discussion of the volatility of foreign capital in an environment of weak institutions and high political risks in the host country.

Publications:


Gonchar K. R., Kristalova M. How innovation affects performance / Friedrich Schiller University Jena. Series 2019 – 001 "Jena Economic Research Papers". 2019. No. 13.
Yakovlev A. A., Tkachenko A., Rodionova Y. Opportunistic Behavior in Public Procurement, in: Global Encyclopedia of Public Administration, Public Policy, and Governance. Springer, 2020. P. 1-5. doi
Yakovlev A. A., Tkachenko A., Rodionova Y. Who Is Inclined to Hide the Truth: Evidence from Public Procurement // International Journal of Public Administration. 2020. Vol. 43. No. 13. P. 1109-1120. doi

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Эффективные государственные закупки и инвестиции: стимулы и риски

Приоритетные направления развития: экономика
2019

Цель работы

Изучение факторов, определяющих стимулы для эффективного осуществления гос. закупок и определение рисков, влияющих на решения иностранных инвесторов.

Используемые методы

Показатели эффективности госзакупок и подходы к их исследованию сформированы на основе теории контрактов.  Анализ открытых данных по госзакупкам проводился с использованием стандартных статистических и эконометрических методов. В рамках исследования опросных данных, были использованы стандартные методы статистического анализа и анализа экспериментов. Эмпирическая методология направления «Политические риски, влияющие на решения иностранных инвесторов» основана на применении модели пропорциональных рисков Кокса, которая объясняет продолжительность периода выживания фирмы.

Эмпирическая база исследования

Направление исследования, посвященное выявлению потенциального оппортунистического поведения, а также факторов, влияющих на частоту судебных разбирательств в госзакупках, опиралась на результаты проведенного опроса заказчиков и поставщиков в электронной форме о проблемах функционирования в рамках 44-ФЗ. Для проведения анализа влияния гендерных различий ответственных лиц на проведение закупок за основу были взяты данные, прежде использованные в работе Detkova, Podkolzina, & Tkachenko (2018): закупки региональных заказчиков в сфере государственного управления в 2011-2013 гг. Эти данные были дополнены информацией о гендерной принадлежности лиц, проводящих закупки. В качестве эмпирической базы направления «Политические риски, влияющие на решения иностранных инвесторов», использованы микроданные предприятий с иностранной собственностью в России на основе бухгалтерской отчетности, публикуемой в базах данных Руслана и Амадеус, а также база данных о политических рисков в разрезе стран ICRG.

Результаты работы

В результате проведения исследования «Эффективные государственные закупки и инвестиции: стимулы и риски», были получены следующие результаты:

По направлению, посвященному анализу системы регулирования госзакупок в странах ЕАЭС (республике Казахстан, Армения, Белоруссия), Украине и странах Восточной Европы (Республика Польша, Чешская Республика, Венгрия):

  • Было описано текущее регулирование госзакупок (типы процедур, порядок проведения, сроки, требования к участникам, возможность проведения закупок в электронной форме, наличие мониторинга и контроля закупочной деятельности), последние изменения в законодательстве о закупках и основные отличия регулирования госзакупок в странах ЕАЭС (республике Казахстан, Армения, Белоруссия), Украине и странах Восточной Европы (Республика Польша, Чешская Республика, Венгрия). Национальное регулирование госзакупок было также сопоставлено с регулированием в Российской Федерации и ЕС (Директивы 2014/EC).

  • Был подготовлен инструментарий и сформированы базы данных на основе контактных данных (адреса e-mail) за период 2017-2019 гг.  для проведения опроса для анализа существующих проблем и измерения эффективности государственных закупок в России, Украине и Республике Казахстан.

По направлению, посвященному анализу проведенного опроса представителей госзаказчиков и поставщиков в электронной форме в рамках 44-ФЗ получены следующие результаты:

  • Был предложен методологический подход, позволяющий выявлять потенциальное оппортунистическое поведение поставщиков в устойчивых взаимодействиях на рынке госзакупок. Представленная методология была реализована на примере опроса представителей заказчиков и поставщиков.

  • На данных опроса поставщиков было выявлено, что при возникновении конфликта с госзаказчиками большинство поставщиков предпочитают разрешать конфликты, используя внесудебный механизм переговоров, тогда как к судебному разбирательству прибегают только 31 % респондентов.

  • Было показано, что способ урегулирования конфликтов в госзакупках зависит от типа поведения поставщика. В частности, реже обращаются в суд как формальную инстанцию и реже используют переговоры с заказчиком поставщики, которые активно участвуют в поставках по госзаказам и имеют устойчивые неформальные связи с заказчиками.

По направлению, посвященному анализу открытых данных государственных закупок на этапе проведения торгов и исполнения контрактов были получены следующие результаты:

  • Порядка ¼ всех судебных споров приходится на дела истцом которых выступают коммерческие организации. При этом организации всех уровней подчинения (федеральный, региональный, муниципальный) выступают истцами в первую очередь к коммерческим организациям, хотя количество дел и доля от суммы контрактов значительно варьируется между ними.

  • При рассмотрении споров по строительным и ремонтным работам коммерческие организаций, выступающие в качестве истцов, добиваются положительных решений только в 43% случаев, при этом полностью удовлетворяются иски только в 14% споров. При рассмотрении споров по прочей продукции (оборудование, товары, услуги, прочие работы) такие организаций добиваются положительных решений только в 40% случаев, при этом полностью удовлетворяются иски только в 20% споров.

  • При анализе эффекта гендера на эффективность закупок, показано, что в регионах с высоким уровнем коррупции закупки чиновников-мужчин сопровождаются повышенной частотой возникновения аукционов с единственным участником. При этом для аукционов заказчиков также характерна и увеличенная частота возникновения незначительного снижения цены в ходе торгов. Однако указанные эффекты теряют силу при исключении из выборки аукционов Москвы и Санкт-Петербурга, что, в соответствии с литературой о связи гендера и коррупции, может быть причиной повышенного внимания надзорных органов к этим регионам.

  • Анализ эффекта смещения в доле стоимости проводимых аукционов в сторону одного из гендеров указывает на повышение частоты возникновения негативных показателей в регионах с высокой коррупцией как для организаций, имеющих смещение в сторону мужчин, так и для организаций, имеющих смещение в сторону женщин.

По направлению исследования влияния политических рисков на решения иностранных инвесторов были получены следующие результаты:

  • Показано, что предприятия с иностранной собственностью крайне чувствительны к уровню политических рисков. Наиболее значимые эффекты связаны с низкой демократической подотчетностью, коррупцией, участием военных в политике и конфликтами. Политическая близость, не защищает инвестиции из развивающихся стран: чем выше дистанция между странами происхождения инвестиций и Россией, тем менее вероятно решение о выходе.

  • Не подтвердилась гипотеза о том, что благоприятный инвестиционный климат на уровне региона снижает эффекты от национальных политических рисков. Единственное исключение из этого правила – город Москва. Санкции усиливают влияние политических рисков на выходы. А размер фирмы и организация в форме СП (Совместное предприятие) с российским собственником защищает инвестора от влияния политических рисков

Рекомендации по применению результатов НИР

Полученные в ходе работы над проектом результаты исследования могут иметь значение как с точки зрения дальнейшего улучшения регулирования закупок, так и с точки зрения понимания факторов, определяющих неравномерность эффективности применения этого регулирования.  Результаты применения методологии выявления оппортунистического поведения и стратегий урегулирования конфликтных ситуаций, могут быть использованы для формирования рекомендаций по модификации системы размещения государственного заказа. Эмпирические оценки влияния политических рисков на решение иностранных инвесторов о выходе с российского рынка могут быть полезны для дискуссии о волатильности иностранного капитала в условиях слабых институтов и высоких политических рисках в принимающей стране.

Публикации по проекту:


Gonchar K. R., Kristalova M. How innovation affects performance / Friedrich Schiller University Jena. Series 2019 – 001 "Jena Economic Research Papers". 2019. No. 13. 
Yakovlev A. A., Tkachenko A., Rodionova Y. Who Is Inclined to Hide the Truth: Evidence from Public Procurement // International Journal of Public Administration. 2020. Vol. 43. No. 13. P. 1109-1120. doi
Yakovlev A. A., Tkachenko A., Rodionova Y. Opportunistic Behavior in Public Procurement, in: Global Encyclopedia of Public Administration, Public Policy, and Governance.: Springer, 2020. С. 1-5.