• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Russian academic profession in a comparative perspective

Priority areas of development: economics
2019
The project has been carried out as part of the HSE Program of Fundamental Studies.

Goal of research

The analysis of the structure of the academic profession and an assessment of the impact of the a of set of public policy measures on universities and academic productivity. In addition, the purpose of the study is to analyze the impact of various characteristics of students (school, family factors, including cultural capital) on educational pathways, educational and career choices, as well as on the formation of networks.

The object of the study are economic agents in the higher education market.

Research objectives:

  • Assessment of the characteristics of the Russian academic profession in the context of current reforms;

  • Studying higher education as a field of knowledge;

  • Analysis of scientific collaborations in higher education;

  • Comparative analysis of graduate schools in various countries;

  • Assessment of the impact of parental involvement on educational trajectories and student outcomes;

  • Analysis of the relationship between cultural capital and the network characteristics of students (centrality, popularity, prestige, reciprocity, etc.);

  • Assessment of the determinants of the career choices of the Russian university students.

Methodology

This study employs the assumptions and methods of new institutional economics, statistical methods, econometric modeling (including models with mixed effects for longitudinal data), and network analysis. In addition, bibliometric analysis is used based on the metadata of publications and journals obtained from the Scopus and Web of Science databases and from the websites of peer-reviewed journals. Studies of educational strategies and preferences of students are based on sociological theories of cultural capital, human capital theory, as well as on the interpretation of school and family as formal and informal educational institutions.

Empirical base of research

This project uses statistical data on Russian universities, bibliometric data and metrics from Scopus and Web of Science citation databases. To study the educational strategies of students, the data from the longitudinal study “Trajectories in Education and the Profession” (national panel), and the results of a longitudinal survey of students at the Higher School of Economics – Perm are used.

Results of research

This report presents the results of a study of the external effects of the ‘5-100’ project on the Russian educational system. In particular, the effectiveness of universities that were not part of this program and were not directly affected by such a treatment are considered in the 5-years perspective. The study compares the effectiveness of universities in the regions where participating universities are presented to the universities in regions with no participating higher education institutions. Thus, an assessment of the external effects of the program at the regional level is made. It is shown that proximity to universities participating in the ‘5-100’ project has a significant positive effect on the quality of freshmen in neighboring universities.

In addition, the results of several bibliometric studies are presented. In the context of large-scale reforms in Russian higher education, we study the dynamics of co-authorship networks in Russian universities in the period before and after the introduction of the ‘5-100’ project. The interaction between universities was investigated by analyzing the affiliations and co-authoring networks. It was found that after joining the Project, participating universities expanded their cooperation both with each other, with universities abroad, and with institutes of the Russian Academy of Sciences, especially in the high-quality segment (Q1). At the same time, the structure of scientific cooperation of universities, which are not participating in the Project, has barely changed. With the growth of interaction, the position of the universities of the ‘5-100’ program in the co-authorship network has also changed: these HEIs have become more central to other network participants. This reflects narrowing of the historical gap between the university and academic sectors, and the widening role of universities in knowledge production.

Next, the dynamics of the interaction of scientists from leading Russian universities in the period from 2010 to 2017 is investigated. Based on bibliometric data, we analyze how scientific cooperation with other organizations at the individual level has been changed. There is an increase in scientific cooperation, but individual cooperation is growing to a lesser extent than collaboration between organizations. Interaction with Russian organizations is higher than with RAS and international institutions, but the share of such collaborations is rapidly declining. Universities interact more often in the high-quality segment (Q1) than in the lower-quality segment (Q4). Moreover, interaction with international organizations abroad is typical for a high-quality segment, and with Russian organizations – for a low-quality segment. The largest prevalence of interaction is observed in the physical and technical sciences, the smallest – in the humanities and social sciences.

A separate study is devoted to the analysis of international collaborations in the field of higher education research using the Scopus database from 1978 to 2017. It is shown that over time, the factor of the geographical distance between the authors becomes less important. International cooperation in the field of higher education research over the past two decades has grown significantly. We found that the number of international collaborations depends on the geographical distance and the official language of the countries. The influence of geographical proximity varies significantly between different regions of the world: in Europe, the distance between the authors has a smaller impact on the formation of collaborations compared to the authors from North America and Asia.

The project addresses the development of graduate schools, their current position in the international context, and analyzes the institutional features of their organization. We demonstrate the diversity of the world practices by using 14 national and one regional cases. The differences, similarities and features of the countries studied are analyzed in terms the scale of the graduate school system, the degree of its internationalization, the types of graduate school, the features of defending a doctoral theses and the patterns of scientific management, financial models of graduate school systems. We conclude on the current state of the graduate school system in the world in terms of institutional characteristics and make forecasts about the further development of graduate schools.

The analysis of the educational strategies of schoolchildren is devoted to the influence of parental involvement in the educational process on the educational achievements of Russian students and their educational strategies, such as studying in high school and successful admission to university. We argue that the patterns of parental involvement represent a link between the formal (school) and informal (family) educational institutions and can have a beneficial effect on academic performance and contribute to the choice of the educational pathway to higher education. Based on data from the longitudinal study ‘Trajectories in Education and Careers’, it was shown that the results of school state examinations are positively associated with the active participation of parents in school meetings, the employment of tutors (except for the Unified State Exam score in mathematics), and the provision of additional literature for the child. A negative relationship was found between homework control and student success. In general, the factor of ‘rational’ (not excessive) involvement is positively associated with educational achievement and educational choice, which may indicate the non-linear nature of the relationship. Parental involvement itself depends on the family characteristics, such as mother’s education, family income and the number of books at home. In addition, family has a positive impact on educational success and educational strategies, and high school characteristics are especially important for the results of the Unified State Exam and the university choice.

Two aspects are devoted to studying the preferences of students of Russian universities. The first one represents the role of cultural capital in the process of student networks formation. Two hypotheses (on homophilia and attractiveness) are put forward and tested empirically. A methodology for measuring cultural capital was developed and tested. Based on the self-reported data on students’ competence in literature, music, visual arts, theater and cinema, as well as the frequency of attending cultural and art events, a two-level factor model of cultural capital is constructed. The results show that students are more likely to be friends with those who are close to them not only by gender and performance, but also by cultural capital. By extrapolating the results to a more general question about the essence of cultural capital – the Bourdieu ‘elitism’ or the Peterson ‘diversity’ of, the evidence was found in favor of the former.

The second aspect is devoted to studying the preferences of Russian undergraduates regarding further employment in the public or private sector. Based on the data of the longitudinal study ‘Trajectories in Education and Careers’, it was shown that the choice of employment in the public sector is positively related to the importance of such characteristics as the acknowledgement by colleagues or by management, or by society; the proximity of workplace to home; status and prestige of the profession; benefits to the community; the proximity to the government; good social security and state guarantees; the opportunity to change life in the country for the better; and the opportunity to help people. On the other hand, the choice of employment in the private sector is positively associated with the importance of the company's reputation, independence in work, involvement in the development of the company's policy and its implementation, creativeness of work, as well as the ability to receive a high income. Male students are less likely to work in the public sector than female students. Students, who are already receiving or expecting to receive higher wages, tend to choose employment in the private sector.

Publications:


Prakhov I. The Determinants of Expected Returns on Higher Education in Russia: A Human Capital Theory Perspective / NRU Higher School of Economics. Series EDU "Education". 2019. No. WP BRP 50/EDU/2019.
Matveeva N., Sterligov I., Yudkevich M. M. THE RUSSIAN UNIVERSITY EXCELLENCE INITIATIVE: IS IT REALLY EXCELLENCE THAT IS PROMOTED? / NRU Higher School of Economics. Series EDU "Education". 2019. No. WP BRP 49/EDU/2019.
Avdeev S. International Collaboration in Higher Education Research: a Gravity Model Approach / NRU Higher School of Economics. Series EDU "Education". 2019. No. 54/EDU/2019. doi
Kotomina O., Prakhov I., Sazhina A. Parental Involvement and the Educational Trajectories of Youth in Russia / NRU Higher School of Economics. Series EDU "Education". 2019. No. 53/EDU/2019.
Matveeva N., Sterligov I., Yudkevich M. M. Impact of government intervention on publication activity: case of Russian universities, in: Proceedings of the 17th International Conference on Scientometrics and Informetrics ISSI2019 Vol. 1. Italy: Edizioni Efesto, 2019. P. 896-907.
Yudkevich M. M. Russia: Higher Education, between Survival and Innovation, in: Professorial Pathways: Academic Careers in a Global Perspective. Johns Hopkins University Press , 2019.
Prakhov I., Sergienko D. Matching between Students and Universities: What are the Sources of Inequalities of Access to Higher Education? // European Journal of Education. 2020. Vol. 55. No. 2. P. 261-274. doi

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Российская академическая профессия в сравнительной перспективе

Приоритетные направления развития: экономика
2019

Цель работы

Анализ структуры академической профессии и оценка влияния ряда мер государственной политики на российские высшие учебные заведения и их продуктивность как на микроуровне, так и на уровне взаимодействия между вузами. Помимо этого, целью исследования является анализ влияния различных характеристик учащихся (школьных, семейных факторов, в т.ч. культурного капитала) на образовательные траектории, образовательный и карьерный выбор, а также на формирование сетей дружбы.

Объектом исследования являются экономические агенты на рынке высшего образования.

Задачи исследования

  • Оценка характеристик российской академической профессии в условиях реформ;

  • Изучение функционирования высшего образования как области знания;

  • Анализ научных коллабораций в высшем образовании;

  • Сравнительный анализ аспирантур в различных странах;

  • Оценка влияния вовлеченности родителей на образовательные траектории и учебные достижения учащихся;

  • Анализ взаимосвязи культурного капитала с сетевыми характеристиками студентов (центральность, популярность, престиж, взаимность и т д);

  • Оценка детерминант карьерного выбора учащихся российских вузов.

Используемые методы

В исследовании используется инструментарий институциональной экономики, широко задействованы статистические методы, а также эконометрическое моделирование (в том числе, модели со смешанными эффектами для лонгитюдных данных), а также методы сетевого анализа. Кроме того, применяется библиометрический анализ, основанный на анализе метаданных публикаций и журналов, полученных из реферативных баз Scopus и Web of Science и с сайтов рецензируемых журналов. Исследования образовательных стратегий и предпочтений учащихся основаны на социологических теориях культурного потребления, теории человеческого капитала, а также на трактовке школы и семьи как формального и неформального институтов образования.

Эмпирическая база исследования

В проекте используются статистические данные по российским вузам, библиометрические данные и метрики из баз цитирования Scopus и Web of Science. Для изучения образовательных стратегий учащихся используются данные лонгитюдного исследования «Траектории в образовании и профессии» (национальная панель), а также результаты лонгитюдного опроса учащихся НИУ ВШЭ – Пермь.

Результаты работы

В отчете представлены результаты исследования внешних эффектов проекта «5-100» на систему российского образования в целом. В частности, была рассмотрена эффективность вузов, которые в последние 5 лет не являлись частью этой программы, и не были ей непосредственно затронуты. В исследовании сравнивается эффективность вузов в тех регионах, в которых есть университеты, участвующие в программе повышения конкурентоспособности, с вузами в регионах, где таких университетов нет. Таким образом, дается оценка внешних эффектов программы на региональном уровне. Показано, что близость к вузам, участвующим в Программе повышения конкурентоспособности российских вузов, оказывает значительный положительный эффект на качество первокурсников в соседних вузах.

Кроме того, представлены результаты библиометрических исследований. В контексте масштабных реформ в российском высшем образовании исследуется динамика сетей соавторства российских вузов в период до и после введения Проекта «5-100». Взаимодействие университетов исследовалось с помощью анализа аффилиаций и сетей соавторства публикаций. Было получено, что после присоединения к Проекту университеты-участники расширили сотрудничество как друг с другом, так и с зарубежными университетами и научными учреждениями РАН, особенно в сегменте высокого качества (Q1). В то же время структура научного сотрудничества вузов, не участвующих в Проекте, существенно не изменилась. С ростом взаимодействия, изменилось и положение вузов Программы «5-100» в сети соавторства: они стали более центральными к другим участникам сети, в т.ч. как посредники. Это отражает тот факт, что исторический разрыв между университетским и академическим секторами сокращается и роль университетов в производстве знаний возрастает.

Далее исследуется динамика взаимодействия ученых ведущих российских университетов в период с 2010 по 2017 гг. На основе библиометрических данных о публикациях анализируется, как изменилась научная кооперация на индивидуальном уровне и с другими организациями. В исследуемых университетах наблюдается рост научной кооперации, индивидуальная кооперация растет в меньшей степени, чем между организациями. Взаимодействие с российскими организациями выше, чем с РАН и международными, однако доля таких работ стремительно снижается. В сегменте высокого качества университеты взаимодействуют чаще, чем в сегменте публикаций более низкого качества (Q4). Причем, для сегмента высокого качества типично взаимодействие с иностранными международными организациями, для низкого – с российскими. Наибольшая доля взаимодействия наблюдается в физических и технических науках, наименьшая – в гуманитарных и социальных.

Отдельное исследование посвящено анализу международных коллабораций в области исследований высшего образования при помощи базы данных Scopus с 1978 по 2017 гг. Показано, что со временем фактор географической удаленности авторов друг от друга становится менее важным. Подтверждена гипотеза о том, что международное сотрудничество в области исследований высшего образования значительно выросло за последние два десятилетия. Обнаружено, что количество международных коллабораций зависит от географического расстояния и официального языка стран. Влияние географической близости в значительной степени различается между различными регионами мира: в Европе расстояние между авторами оказывает меньшее влияние на формирование коллабораций по сравнению с авторами из Северной Америки и Азии.

В проекте затрагивается тематика аспирантуры, ее текущее положение в международном контексте и анализ институциональных особенностей её организации. 14 национальных и один региональный кейсы демонстрируют разнообразие мировых практик. Анализируются различия, сходства и особенности изучаемых стран по таким параметрам как масштаб системы аспирантуры, степень её интернационализации, организации, в которых ведётся подготовка аспирантов, процесс обучения в аспирантуре, виды аспирантуры, особенности защиты диссертации и паттерны научного руководства, финансовые модели систем аспирантуры. На основании проведённого анализа делаются выводы о текущем состоянии системы аспирантуры в мире с точки зрения институциональных характеристик и делаются прогнозы о дальнейшем развитии аспирантуры.

Анализ образовательных стратегий школьников посвящен изучению влияния вовлеченности родителей в образовательный процесс на образовательные достижения российских школьников и образовательный выбор, например, на вероятность перехода в старшую школу и поступление в вуз. Предполагается, что вовлеченность родителей в образовательный процесс является связующим звеном между формальным (школой) и неформальным (семьей) институтами образования и может оказывать благоприятное влияние на успеваемость и способствовать выбору траектории получения высшего образования. На основе данных лонгитюдного исследования «Траектории в образовании и профессии» показано, что результаты ОГЭ/ГИА и итоговые результаты ЕГЭ положительно связаны с активным участием родителей в школьных собраниях, наймом репетиторов (кроме результата ЕГЭ по математике) и обеспечением ребенка дополнительной литературой. Было обнаружена отрицательная взаимосвязь между контролем домашних заданий и успехами учащихся. В целом, фактор «рациональной» (не чрезмерной) вовлеченности положительно связан с образовательными достижениями и образовательным выбором, что может говорить о нелинейном характере взаимосвязи. В то же время, родительская вовлеченность сама по себе зависит от ряда характеристик семьи. Помимо этого, семья оказывает положительное влияние на образовательные успехи и образовательные стратегии, а для результатов ЕГЭ и выбора вуза особую важность приобретают характеристики старшей школы.

Два сюжета посвящены изучению предпочтений студентов российских вузов. В первом из них изучается роль культурного капитала в процессе формирования студентами сети дружбы. В исследовании выдвигаются и тестируются две гипотезы – гомофилии и привлекательности. Разрабатывается и апробируется методика измерения культурного капитала. Основываясь на само отчетных данных о компетенции студентов в литературе, музыке, изобразительном искусстве, театре и кино, а также частоте посещения студентами мероприятий культуры и искусства, построена двухуровневая факторная модель культурного капитала. Результаты показывают, что студенты более вероятно будут дружить с теми, кто близок им не только по полу и успеваемости, но и по культурному капиталу. Кроме того, студенты с более высоким культурным капиталом не более популярны и не более склонны заводить друзей. Экстраполируя полученные результаты на более общий вопрос о сущности культурного капитала – «элитарность» Бурдье или «многообразие» Петерсона, были найдены свидетельства в пользу первого.

Второй сюжет посвящен изучению предпочтений студентов старших курсов российских вузов относительно дальнейшей работы в общественном или частном секторе. На основе данных лонгитюдного исследования «Траектории в образовании и профессии» показано, что выбор занятости в общественном секторе студентами положительно связан с важностью таких характеристик, как признание коллег, руководства, общества; близость работы к дому; статус и престиж профессии; польза обществу; близость к власти; хорошее социальное обеспечение и государственные гарантии; возможность изменить жизнь в стране к лучшему; возможность помогать людям. С другой стороны, выбор занятости в частном секторе положительно связан с важностью репутации компании, самостоятельности в работе, причастности к разработке политики компании и ее реализации, творческой работой, а также с возможностью иметь высокий доход. Юноши менее склонны к работе в общественном секторе, чем девушки. Респонденты, уже получающие или ожидающие получать более высокую заработную плату, склонны выбирать занятость в частном секторе.

Публикации по проекту:


Prakhov I., Sergienko D. Matching between Students and Universities: What are the Sources of Inequalities of Access to Higher Education? // European Journal of Education. 2020. Vol. 55. No. 2. P. 261-274. doi
Matveeva N., Sterligov I., Yudkevich M. M. Impact of government intervention on publication activity: case of Russian universities, in: Proceedings of the 17th International Conference on Scientometrics and Informetrics ISSI2019 Vol. 1. Italy: Edizioni Efesto, 2019. P. 896-907.
Avdeev S. International Collaboration in Higher Education Research: a Gravity Model Approach / NRU Higher School of Economics. Series EDU "Education". 2019. No. 54/EDU/2019. doi
Yudkevich M. M. Russia: Higher Education, between Survival and Innovation, in: Professorial Pathways: Academic Careers in a Global Perspective. Johns Hopkins University Press , 2019.
Kotomina O., Prakhov I., Sazhina A. Parental Involvement and the Educational Trajectories of Youth in Russia / NRU Higher School of Economics. Series EDU "Education". 2019. No. 53/EDU/2019.
Matveeva N., Sterligov I., Yudkevich M. M. THE RUSSIAN UNIVERSITY EXCELLENCE INITIATIVE: IS IT REALLY EXCELLENCE THAT IS PROMOTED? / NRU Higher School of Economics. Series EDU "Education". 2019. No. WP BRP 49/EDU/2019.
Prakhov I. The Determinants of Expected Returns on Higher Education in Russia: A Human Capital Theory Perspective / NRU Higher School of Economics. Series EDU "Education". 2019. No. WP BRP 50/EDU/2019.

См. также

Ключевые слова