• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Risk behavior of adolescents and school climate: influence of parents and peers

Priority areas of development: sociology
2019
The project has been carried out as part of the HSE Program of Fundamental Studies.

The aim of the project was to study the role of parents and peers in shaping the school climate and reducing risk behavior in several regions of the country with different socio-economic contexts and educational policy features, in urban and rural settlements.

Methods

The project used a combination of qualitative and quantitative methods. In the framework of statistical analysis of quantitative data, the methods of predictive statistics were used: multiple, logistic and multilevel regression; multiple imputation method was applied to restore the missings. As part of qualitative methodology, an analysis of the interview was conducted using the thematic coding method.

The empirical base of the project was the data collected by the Laboratory for the current and previous years: (1) 27,608 students from 249 schools of the Kaluga Region - 2016-2017; (2) 9 thousand students from 237 schools in various types of localities (St. Petersburg and the Leningrad Region) - 2009-2014; (3) 1,450 students of St. Petersburg colleges (wave 1-5 of a longitudinal project on health and risk behavior) - 2017-19; (4) 2,274 parents from 59 schools in St. Petersburg, as well as 200 interviews with school employees and 90 interviews with students of 2008-2009, 2018-2019 in St. Petersburg, Kaluga and Moscow region.

Results

The study of the role of parents and peers in shaping the school climate and reducing risk behavior and well-being mainly consisted of the following tasks. First, we studied: (1) the influence of peers on teenagers' alcohol abuse in student groups, (2) the relationship between the aggressiveness of the educational environment and the social and emotional consequences of victimization, (3) the emotional support of peers and its role in bullying situations, etc.

The results demonstrate that the behavior and local norms in student groups are associated with alcoholization of adolescents, their socio-emotional well-being and successful professionalization. The high level of alcoholization of peers leads to an increase in the frequency of alcohol consumption by adolescents. At the same time, the emotional support from the classmates is necessary for students’ successful education. In the situation of bullying, self-esteem of the effectiveness of mastering the profession drops. The socio-emotional consequences of victimization are smoothed out by local norms regarding the acceptability of aggressive behavior towards peers: the more aggressive is the context, the less traumatizing is the victimization.

Secondly, the role of parental participation in the life of schoolchildren and in their behavior was analyzed. It was found that the practice of parental involvement is significantly different for parents with higher education and higher socio-economic status as compared to other parents. The results obtained reveal the mechanisms reproducing social inequality. One social class seeks to increase cultural capital and encourages children's independence. Another - controls children, e.g., approves the organization of their free time by relevant social institutions even though it reduces their free time significantly.

Thirdly, we developed additional tools for analyzing the school climate. Scales were designed, tested, and added to measure various forms of teacher and parental participation in a child’s life and education, emotional and instrumental support of peers, the consequences of bullying - anxiety and depression, etc.

The role of the family, school and peers in the adaptation process of such a socially vulnerable group as children of migrants was analyzed. Interviews with teachers have shown how teachers differently treat the migrant children, and that their relation is domain-specific. The behavior of adults at school and their support is an important factor for the well-being of students. In the case of migrant children, teachers are the main agent in supporting their adaptation.

Our project allowed to compare the effects of two factors on the emotional well-being and behavior of students: the support of adults and peers. This is the first time such results were obtained on the Russian data. At this stage, new opportunities are opening up for the development of scientifically based programs to create a favorable and comfortable school climate and reduce risk behavior among students.

The degree of implementation, recommendations for implementation or results of implementation of research results

Based on the results of the data analysis, the Laboratory continues to provide the educational institutions, in which the surveys were conducted, with the reports describing various parameters of the socio-psychological characteristics of students, involvement in risky behavior, etc. (in the dynamics, at the level of the educational institution and/or educational groups, with anonymity of individuals preserved). The results obtained may be of interest to educational institutions (schools and colleges), as well as representatives of the education committee.

Publications:


Valeria Ivaniushina, Makles A., Schneider K., Daniil Alexandrov. School segregation in St. Petersburg – the role of socioeconomic status // Education Economics. 2019. Vol. 27. No. 2. P. 166-185. doi
Савельева С. С. Неравенство успехов и притязаний девятиклассников: уровень локальных образовательных систем // Мониторинг общественного мнения: Экономические и социальные перемены. 2020. Т. 2. С. 212-232. doi

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Рисковое поведение подростков и климат школы: влияние родителей и сверстников

Приоритетные направления развития: социология
2019

Цель работы заключалась в изучении роли родителей и сверстников в формировании школьного климата и снижении рискового поведения в нескольких регионах страны с различными социально-экономическим контекстом и особенностями образовательной политики, в городских и сельских поселениях.

Используемые методы

В проекте применялось сочетание качественных и количественных методов. В рамках статистического анализа количественных данных использовались методы предиктивной статистики: множественная, логистическая и многоуровневая регрессия; для восстановления пропусков применялся метод множественной импутации. В рамках качественной методологии проводился анализ интервью методом тематического кодирования.

Эмпирическую базу проекта составили данные, собранные Лабораторией за текущий и предыдущие годы: (1) 27 608 учащихся из 249 школ Калужской области – 2016-2017 гг.; (2) 9 тыс. учащихся из 237-ми школ в локальностях различного типа (Петербург и Ленинградская область) – 2009-2014 гг.; (3) 1450 учащихся колледжей Петербурга (1-5 волна лонгитюдного проекта по изучению здоровья и рискового поведения) – 2017-19 гг.; (4) 2274 родителей из 59 школ в Петербурге,  а также 200 интервью с работниками школ и 90 интервью с учениками 2008-2009, 2018-2019 гг. в Петербурге, Калужской и Московской области.

Результаты работы

Исследование роли родителей и сверстников в формировании школьного климата и благополучия и в снижении рискового поведения преимущественно состояло из выполнения следующих задач. Во-первых, были изучены: (1) влияние сверстников на алкоголизацию подростков в ученических коллективах, (2) связь агрессивности образовательной среды и социально-эмоциональных последствий виктимизации, (3) эмоциональная поддержка сверстников и ее роль в ситуации буллинга и пр.

Результаты демонстрируют, что поведение и локальные нормы в ученических коллективах связаны с алкоголизацией подростков, их социально-эмоциональным благополучием и успешным освоением профессии. Высокий уровень алкоголизации окружающих сверстников приводит к увеличению частоты употребления алкоголя подростками. При этом, эмоциональная поддержка одноклассников требуется учащимся для успешного получения образования. В случае столкновения с буллингом, самооценка эффективности освоения профессии снижается. Социально-эмоциональные последствия виктимизации сглаживаются локальными нормами относительно приемлемости агрессивного поведения по отношению к сверстникам.

Во-вторых, анализировалась роль родительского участия в жизни школьников и в их поведении. Было обнаружено, что практики родительской вовлеченности существенно отличаются у родителей с высшим образованием и более высоким социально-экономическим статусом. Полученные результаты показывают, за счет каких механизмов воспроизводится социальное неравенство. Один социальный класс (высший) стремится к наращиванию культурного капитала и поощряет самостоятельность у детей. Другой – приучает детей к контролю, в том числе, одобряет организацию их свободного времени соответствующими социальными институтами в ущерб свободному времени.

В-третьих, был расширен инструментарий анализа школьного климата. Были сконструированы, апробированы и добавлены шкалы для измерения различных форм учительского и родительского участия в жизни и учебе ребенка, эмоциональной и инструментальной поддержки сверстников, последствий буллинга – тревожности и депрессии и др.

Была проанализирована роль семьи, школы и сверстников в процессе адаптации такой социально-уязвимой группы, как дети мигрантов. На данных интервью с учителями было показано, как по-разному учителя относятся к детям мигрантов, и что это отношение является домен-специфичным. Поведение взрослых в школе и их поддержка является важным фактором благополучия любых учеников. В случае с детьми мигрантов, учителя являются основным агентом, поддерживающим процесс адаптации детей.

Проведенная работа является продолжением многолетнего проекта и впервые на российских данных позволяет сравнить эффект двух факторов на эмоциональное благополучие и поведение учащихся: участия взрослых и сверстников. Уже на данном этапе открываются новые возможности для разработки научно-обоснованных программ по формированию благоприятного и комфортного школьного климата и снижению рискового поведения среди учеников.

Степень внедрения, рекомендации по внедрению или итоги внедрения результатов НИР

По итогам анализа данных? Лаборатория продолжает предоставлять учебным заведениям, в которых проводились опросы, отчеты с описанием разных параметров социально-психологических характеристик учеников, вовлеченности в рисковое поведение и пр. (во временной динамике, на уровне учебного заведения и/ или учебных групп, с соблюдением анонимности). Полученные результаты могут быть интересны образовательным учреждениям (школам и колледжам), а также представителям комитета образования.

Публикации по проекту:


Valeria I., Makles A., Schneider K., Daniil A. School segregation in St. Petersburg – the role of socioeconomic status // Education Economics. 2019. Vol. 27. No. 2. P. 166-185. doi
Савельева С. С. Неравенство успехов и притязаний девятиклассников: уровень локальных образовательных систем // Мониторинг общественного мнения: Экономические и социальные перемены. 2020. Т. 2. C. 212-232. doi