• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

­­­Social networks as a socio-psychological and textual phenomenon

Priority areas of development: sociology
2019

Research goal

The project, being a multidisciplinary ensemble, has three parts with distinct yet complementing goals.

(1) The first is to study the relationship between online ego-network features connected with structural online social capital, privacy attitudes, and cognitive limits identified for offline relationship networks in the case of VK users. Then, to formulate research design and a data collection procedure for an in-depth study of the structure of online friendship networks, patterns of online communication, and their limits in the case of VK users.

(2) Improve obtained previously results of automatic detection of ethnic hate speech in informal user messages using linguistic rules on the sentence level.

(3) Adapt methods of the renormalization theory for parameter optimization (the number of topics) in topic modeling.

Methodology

(1) Correlation, multiple regression analysis, path-analysis;

(2) machine learning experiments (SVM, Naïve Bayes, Logistic regression, LSTM/GRU, Word2Vec);

(3) search for necessary mathematical formulations and machine learning experiments (VLDA, LDA with Gibbs sampling, PLSA).

Empirical base of research

(1) First, we used data collected for our subproject in 2017, “Social Capital and privacy online: urban communities on online social networks.” These data were collected in August—October 2017 and include results of a socio-psychological survey (n=357), information on the social network in an urban community (used for computing of structural capital on the friendship networks), data on user ego-networks (a subgraph of the urban network comprised of the survey participants). Second, we constructed a sample of VK users (n=35) and collected survey data on the structure of ego-networks as well as data on the volume of directed communication between participants and their online friends.

(2) First, we used a corpus (n=2.7 mil.) of all messages from Russian-language online social media for an entire year containing at least one ethnonym from a dictionary of post-soviet ethnic groups. These data were collected from the database of social media aggregator IQBuzz. Second, a sample (n=15,000) of the corpus marked up by three independent coders with estimates of author sentiment towards mentioned ethnicity; also, we used verb-ethnicity pairs marked-up by 14 coders.

(3) Experiments were based on three corpora: a Russian corpus (n=8,624) coded by human coders with ten topics; an English corpus (n=15,404) coded by human coders with 15 topics; a French corpus (n=25,000) without any human markups. 

Research results

(1) It was found that propensity to make connections define a user’s social network. In addition, the relationship between several types of privacy behaviors, privacy attitudes and structural capital was found significant. This result contributes to the understanding of the mechanism involved in the formation of online social capital. Moreover, during this project, a new research design and a data collection tool were developed and used for data collection (n=41) for testing hypotheses on patterns of online communication.

(2) The quality of ethnic hate speech detection was improved by 15% compared to results from our project in 2017 while the average quality of detecting all types of sentiment toward ethnic groups – by 16% in terms of F-macro measure. Moreover, the latter is at least 20% higher than the results of similar tasks for similar data, including a solution based on a neural network. Additionally, the neural network solution, when reproduced on our data showed comparable to previous results. This point out that neural networks might not be optimal for similar to our cases with relatively small data.

(3) A renormalization procedure was adapted and applied for parameter optimization of topic modeling, which improved the computation speed of our approach by at least 68% compared to the traditional approach.

Recommendations and area of application

(1) The obtained results could be used for developing a privacy policy of online social networks. Additionally, the results on patterns of online communication of online social network users could be used for marketing purposes.

(2) The new models could be used for automatic ethnic hate speech detection in large collections of informal user messages posted on social media. This could be used for the moderation of user-generated content according to laws on the spread of extremist information.

(3) The developed approach could be used for fast tuning of topic models, which is particularly valuable for social sciences where topic modeling is primarily used for empirical estimation of topics present in data. This approach reduces the time and cost of manual labor for coding data.

Publications:


Sergei K., Ignatenko V., Pashakhin S. Fast Tuning of Topic Models: An Application of Rényi Entropy and Renormalization Theory // Proceedings. 2020. Vol. 46. No. 1. P. 1-8. doi
Koltsov S., Ignatenko V., Pashakhin S. Fast Tuning of Topic Models: An Application of Rényi Entropy and Renormalization Theory, in: Proceedings of the 5th International Electronic Conference on Entropy and Its Applications.: MDPI AG, 2020. С. 1-8. 
Koltsov S., Ignatenko V. Renormalization approach to the task of determining the number of topics in topic modeling, in: Intelligent Computing: SAI 2020: Volume 1. Switzerland : Springer, 2020. С. 234-247.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Социальные сети как социально-психологический и текстовый феномен

Приоритетные направления развития: социология
2019

Цель работы

Будучи междисциплинарным ансамблем, проект включает в себя три части со смежными целями.

(1) Изучить, как свойства эго-сетей пользователей ВКонтакте, отражающие уровень их структурного онлайнового социального капитала, связаны с установками приватности этих пользователей и с когнитивными лимитами, выявленными для оффлайновых отношений. Разработать дизайн исследования и процедуру сбора данных для глубинного изучения структуры онлайновых сетей дружеских связей, паттернов онлайн коммуникации пользователей социальной сети Вконтакте и существующих лимитов, ее ограничивающих.

(2) Улучшить автоматизированное распознавание этнической речи ненависти в неформальных письменных текстах за счет использования лингвистических правил на уровне предложений по сравнению с существующими моделями.

(3) Адаптировать методы теории ренормализации для поиска оптимального числа тем в тематических моделях.

Используемые методы: (1) корреляционный, множественный регрессионный анализ, path-analysis; (2) эксперименты с алгоритмами машинного обучения (SVM, Naïve Bayes, Logistic regression, LSTM/GRU, Word2Vec); (3) поиск необходимых математических формулировок и эксперименты с алгоритмами машинного обучения ().

Эмпирическая база исследования

(1) Во-первых, использованы данные, полученные в рамках проекта 2017 года «Социальный капитал и приватность онлайн: городское сообщество в социальной сети». Данные собирались в период с августа по октябрь 2017 года и включали в себя результаты социально-психологического опроса (n = 357), информацию о сети связей внутри городского сообщества (позволяющей рассчитать показатели структурного капитала на основе сеть дружбы), данные об эго-сетях пользователей (подграф сети городского сообщества включающая только респондента и его друзей). Во-вторых, была сформирована новая выборка пользователей (n = 35) и собраны опросные данные о  структуре эго-сетей пользователей социальной сети и данные  об объеме направленной коммуникации между индивидом и его онлайн друзьями в социальной сети. 

(2) Во-первых, использовался корпус размером (n = 2,7 млн) сообщений всех русскоязычных социальных сетей за один год, содержащих хотя бы один этноним из словаря имен пост-советских этнических групп и собранный из базы данных агрегатора социальных сетей IQBuzz. Во-вторых, выборка из этого корпуса (n = 15 000), размеченная тремя независимыми кодировщиками с оценкой отношения автора к этническому персонажу; также использовалась размеченные на этом подкорпусе 14 кодировщиками пары этноним-глагол.

(3) Для экспериментов использованы три коллекции текстов: русскоязычная (n = 8 624), размеченная пользователями на 10 тем; англоязычная (n = 15 404), размеченная пользователями на 15 тем; франкоязычная (n = 25 000), не размеченная пользователями.

Результаты работы

(1) Обнаружено, что формирование сетевого окружения пользователя определяется его стремлением устанавливать связи. Была установлена взаимосвязь между некоторыми практиками по поддержанию приватности в Сети, установками приватности и показателями структурного социального капитала пользователей социальной сети Вконтакте. Данный результат вносит вклад в понимание механизмов формирования онлайнового социального капитала. Кроме того, в рамках проекта был разработан дизайн нового исследования и с помощью специально разработанного приложения были собраны данные для проверки гипотез о паттернах онлайн – коммуникации (n = 41);

(2) Улучшено качество предсказания речи ненависти по сравнению с результатами 2017 года на 15%, а среднее качество предсказания всех трех типов отношения к этническим группам – на 16%, в терминах меры F-macro.  Кроме того, это последняя мера как минимум на 20% превосходит результаты, полученные на сходных датасетах и сходных задачах, где использовался алгоритм нейронных сетей, при этом попытка воспроизвести такой алгоритм на наших данных приводит к такому же качеству. Это говорит о неоптимальности использования нейронных сетей в нашем и подобных случаях, в частности из-за небольшого размера корпусов, так как нейронные сети чувствительны к размеру.

(3) Разработана и применена процедура ренормализации для оптимизации параметров тематической моделирования, которая минимум на 68% быстрее традиционного подхода.

Рекомендации и область применения

(1) Полученные результаты могут быть использованы как основа для рекомендаций по разработки политики приватности социальных сетей. Кроме того, результаты об особенностях онлайн коммуникации в социальных сетях могут применяться в маркетинговых целях.

(2) Новые модели можно применять для автоматизированного анализа больших коллекций неформальных сообщений на предмет присутствия этнической речи ненависти. Это может быть использовано для модерации производимого пользователями контента в целях соблюдения закона о распространении информации экстремистского характера.

(3) Новый подход может быть использован для быстрой оптимизации тематических моделей, что имеет особое значение для применения тематического моделирования в социальных науках, где особую роль играет воспроизводимость результатов и эмпирическое определение присутствующих в данных там является исследовательской задачей. Таким образом, разработанный подход сокращает затраты времени и ручной работы по кодированию данных.

Публикации по проекту:


Sergei K., Ignatenko V., Pashakhin S. Fast Tuning of Topic Models: An Application of Rényi Entropy and Renormalization Theory // Proceedings. 2020. Vol. 46. No. 1. P. 1-8. doi
Koltsov S., Ignatenko V., Pashakhin S. Fast Tuning of Topic Models: An Application of Rényi Entropy and Renormalization Theory, in: Proceedings of the 5th International Electronic Conference on Entropy and Its Applications.: MDPI AG, 2020. С. 1-8. 
Koltsov S., Ignatenko V. Renormalization approach to the task of determining the number of topics in topic modeling, in: Intelligent Computing: SAI 2020: Volume 1. Switzerland : Springer, 2020. С. 234-247.