• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

­­ Semantics and Pragmatics of Agency

Priority areas of development: humanitarian
2019
The project has been carried out as part of the HSE Program of Fundamental Studies.

Goal of research

The project aims to develop a unified conceptual framework for formal analysis of agency that combines logical-mathematical and linguistic methods and to detect the source of the normativity of logic as a formal theory of agency.

Methodology

In the theoretical part of the research, traditional logical philosophical and linguistic approaches were supplemented by methodological apparatus of (1) dynamic epistemic logic; (2) game theory; (3) the semantics of possible worlds; (4) constructive type theory; (5) formal phenomenology; (6) category theory; (7) speech acts theory and post-Gricean pragmatics; (8) corpus linguistics; (9) psycholinguistics;

Empirical base of research

The results of linguistic experiments with native speakers of Russian language (with the DMDX platform) and Russian Sign Language (elicitation technique).

Results of research

1) An account of communication has been developed that explains communication in terms of a system of mutual obligations that facilitates the coordination of actions. This account, in turn, has been used to generalize the classical theory of implicatures introduced by P.G. Grice. The main advantage of the proposed generalization is its capacity to avoid using the mentalistic vocabulary and a new perspective that it provides on the process of language acquisition understood in terms of the normative practice of the division of commitments and planning. An original classification of expressives, speech acts that has no propositional content, has been developed on the material of several languages. The proposed classification distinguishes between three types of exclamatives depending on which pronouns they include. The principle of classifying speech acts by the complexity of their constitutive rules has been defended, and a hypothesis has been suggested according to which there are different stages of the development of speech acts (e.g. “proto-asserts”, “proto-commissives”).

2) The advantages of a dynamic interpretation of compositionality for binary semantic phenomena have been shown. A dynamic approach to binary quantifiers and mixed colors based on the interpretation of compositionality as a dynamic formality has been developed. A dynamic extension of modal intuitionistic logic, namely, the epistemic logic of IEL, with a public announcement operator, has been constructed. A game for Abelian logic A has been constructed and the correctness of this game has been proved for standard algebraic semantics for Abelian logic. An interpretation of this game as a game of agents with limited resources has been proposed. Complete axiomatic systems for graded modal logics with transitive dependent modalities have been constructed. The completeness theorem of such axiomatics for Kripke semantics has been proved. A classification of the hierarchies of binary relations has been obtained in terms of the relations of conservative extension. A decidability criterion has been formulated for graded modal logics with transitive and dependent modalities.

3) A category-theoretic semantics of quantum logic based on the modification of its category model has been proposed. The standard category model of quantum logics uses the concept of topos, a special kind of category which employs the Heyting algebra. In the proposed modification of topos, called quantum, Heyting algebra has been replaced by an orthomodular lattice. An interpretation of some systems of orthomodular quantum logic has been proposed. The completeness of these systems for the proposed semantics has been proved. A family of first-order tolerant logic has been constructed that allows formalizing the concept of vagueness.

4) A probabilistic epistemic model of social influence for agents with accurate general information has been proposed. The problems of combining a probabilistic epistemic model with an arbitrary relation of accessibility and function of social influence have been demonstrated. Mechanisms for overcoming these problems involving both a modification of the probabilistic function and an adjustment of the function of social influence have been proposed. The general form of the structural problem of indeterministic theories of action has been proposed. It has been shown that various forms of the argument from luck (rollback argument, promise argument, the argument from the lack of explanation, Hume’s argument) are dependent on the revealed structural problem. It has been proven that the determination of an action by the character of the agent is a necessary condition for the consistent attribution of moral responsibility for this action. It is demonstrated that causal indeterminism does not provide a satisfactory metaphysical platform for libertarian understanding of free will.

5) The necessity of epistemic approaches to the proof theory has been proven. The interpretation of Martin-Löf's theory of types and the homotopy type theory in terms of calculi with epistemically loaded theoretic-proof semantics has been presented. The importance of the balance between an “inductive risk” and the values of tychism, synehism, and uberty in C.S. Peirce's philosophy of science has been demonstrated. It has been shown that, according to Peirce, values help to choose what empirical hypotheses will be tested and to reduce the risk of error while using the inherently risky inductive method. The project of a modular scheme for creating prospective explanatory hypotheses for the interpretation of the data has been developed. A taxonomy of informal operations that are performed by mathematicians “before” and “around” a formal proof of mathematical theorems (thought experiments, work with mathematical bases and platforms) has been proposed.

6) Two senses of signification in the logic of W. Occam are clarified. In the first sense, the name or term of spoken language signifies something if the term supposes this thing in a non-modal present tense sentence and if it is truly predicated of this thing. In the second sense, a name signifies something when it can suppose what it signifies in a sentence about the future or past or modal sentence. The interpretation of the first sense of signification as a tripartite relation between term, the object to which the term refers and the moment of utterance has been proposed. 

7) The first systematic description of sentential negation in Russian Sign Language is presented. It was shown that sentential negation in Russian Sign Language is a unique phenomenon among the languages of this linguistic group. The syntactic analysis of the structure of sentential negation in Russian Sign Language is conducted. Two types of negation have been distinguished: universal negation and type negation. This distinction has been employed to solve a series of problems related to the nonsensical sentences.

The project has resulted in 6 articles that have been published in a peer-reviewed journal, indexed in the Web of Science and/or Scopus databases; 4 articles from Additional List of Eligible Journals for Allocation of Academic Bonuses and Research Productivity Assessment at HSE; 1 article was published by publisher included in the list of publishers that are considered relevant for the assignment of a level 3 bonus at HSE; 1 monograph has been prepared for publication in the publishing house URSS.

Two international conferences were organized: «Formal Philosophy – 2019» and «Trends in Logic 19. Current Issues in Philosophical Logic» (in collaboration with the journal “Studia Logica”). All members of the project participated in the project as well as philosophers, mathematicians, linguists from the USA, France, Austria, Great Britain, the Netherlands, Germany, Brazil, Poland, Portugal, Belgium, Spain, Italy, Israel, the Czech Republic, Serbia, various Russian cities (Moscow, St. Petersburg, Novosibirsk, Ulyanovsk, Tomsk). Three seminars were working as a part of the project: the theoretical seminar “Formal Philosophy” (9 meetings), the research seminar “From the Logical Point of View” (24 meetings), the educational seminar “Logical Semantics” (10 meetings). The results of the project were also approbated in 33 reports of its participants at conferences and theoretical seminars at universities and research centers in Russia, France, Great Britain, Norway, Germany, Brazil, Croatia, Portugal, and the Czech Republic. Members of the project took part in a summer school in Latvia and visited research and educational centers in Portugal and France as visiting scholars.

Level of implementation,  recommendations on implementation or outcomes of the implementation of the results

The results of research results are used in the teaching courses on logic, philosophy of language, history of philosophy, theory of language, cross-cultural pragmatics, contemporary Russian language, formal presentation of natural language, corpus methods of studying linguistic processes, formal and experimental pragmatics, formal epistemology. The results were also used in the research seminar “Logic, Epistemology and Methods of Philosophical Research”. The research problematics has been explored in the theses of undergraduate and graduate students of educational programs of the Faculty of Humanities of the Higher School of Economics. The Ph.D. thesis “W. Ockham's conception of supposition and signification” supervised by Elena Dragalina-Chernaya was defended by Anastasia Kopylova (cum laude).

 

Publications:


Гёртс Л. Б. Communication as commitment sharing: speech acts, implicatures, common ground // Theoretical Linguistics. 2019. Vol. 45. No. 1-2. P. 1-30. doi
Гёртс Л. Б. Commitments continued // Theoretical Linguistics. 2019. Vol. 45. No. 1-2. P. 111-125. doi
Kuhn J., Lena Pasalskaya. Negative Concord in Russian Sign Language // Natural Language and Linguistic Theory. 2020
Zevakhina N., Pasalskaya E. Number is redundant: Evidence from reference production // Applied Psycholinguistics. 2020
Mendez Martinez J. L. What counts as "a" sound and how "to count" a sound. The problems of individuating and identifying sounds // Synthesis Philosophica. 2019. No. 2
Ma M., Pietarinen A. A Graphical Deep Inference System for Intuitionistic Logic // Logique et Analyse. 2019. Vol. 245. P. 73-114. doi
Vasyukov V. L. Quantum categories for quantum logic // Logical Investigations. 2019. Vol. 25. No. 1. P. 70-87. doi
Zardini E. Instability and Contraction // Journal of Philosophical Logic. 2019. Vol. 48. No. 1. P. 155-188. doi
Mendez Martinez J. L. What counts as "a" sound and how "to count" a sound. The problems of individuating and identifying sounds // Synthesis Philosophica. 2019. Vol. 2
Pietarinen A., Ma M. Peirce’s calculi for classical propositional logic // Review of Symbolic Logic. 2018. P. 1-32. doi
Pietarinen A., Chiffi D., Grecucci A. Meaning and Affect in Placebo Effect // Journal of Medicine and Philosophy. 2018
Pietarinen A. To Peirce Hintikka’s Thoughts // Logica Universalis. 2018 doi
Zardini E. First-Order Tolerant Logics // Review of Symbolic Logic. 2018
Гладышев М. А. Теоретико-игровой подход к определению конвенций Д. Льюиса и проблема выбора равновесия // В кн.: Одиннадцатые Смирновские чтения по логике: материалы Международной научной конференции, 19 – 21 июня 2019, г. Москва. М. : Современные тетради, 2019. С. 11-13.
Драгалина-Черная Е. Г. Внутренние отношения в логическом пространстве Витгенштейна // В кн.: Одиннадцатые Смирновские чтения по логике: материалы Международной научной конференции, 19 – 21 июня 2019, г. Москва. М. : Современные тетради, 2019. С. 103-104.
Carrara M., Chiffi D., Florio C. D., Pietarinen A. We don’t know we don’t know: asserting ignorance // Synthese. 2019 doi
Васюков В. Л. Ситуации, события, факты: формальная феноменология ситуаций. М. : Наука, 2019.
Chiffi D., Pietarinen A. Risk and Values in Science: A Peircean View // Axiomathes. 2019. Vol. 29. No. 4. P. 329-346. doi
Zolin E. The almost necessity operator // Notre Dame Journal of Formal Logic. 2019
Копылова А. О. Пустые термины в логике У. Оккама: к чему отсылают химеры // Логические исследования. 2019. Т. 25. № 1. С. 52-70.
Kuhn J., Lena Pasalskaya. Negative concord in Russian Sign Language (RSL), in: Theoretical Issues in Sign Language Research Conference: Conference Handbook. , 2019. P. 300-302.
Золин Е. Е. Соответствие на счетных структурах и запросы к теориям // В кн.: Одиннадцатые Смирновские чтения по логике: материалы Международной научной конференции, 19 – 21 июня 2019, г. Москва. М. : Современные тетради, 2019. С. 24-26.
Dragalina-Chernaya E. Surprises in Logic: When Dynamic Formality Meets Interactive Compositionality, in: Philosophy of Logic and Mathematics. Proceedings of the 41st International Ludwig Wittgenstein Symposium Vol. 27. Berlin, Boston : De Gruyter, 2019. doi P. 197-212. doi
Maksudova-Eliseeva G. Logical aliens and where to find them // Logical Investigations. 2020

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Семантика и прагматика агентности

Приоритетные направления развития: гуманитарные науки
2019

Цель работы

Цель исследования состоит в формировании единого концептуального поля формального анализа агентности, объединяющего логическо-математические и лингвистические методы, а также выявление источников нормативности логики как формальной теории агентности.

Используемые методы

В ходе теоретического исследования использовались традиционные логико-философские и лингвистические подходы, которые были дополнены инструментарием (1) динамической эпистемической логики;  (2) теории игр;  (3) семантики возможных миров; (4) конструктивной теории типов; (5) формальной феноменологии; (6) теории категорий; (7) теории речевых актов и постграйсианской прагматики,  (8) корпусных методов, (9) психолингвистических методов.

Эмпирическая база исследования

Результаты лингвистических экспериментов с носителями русского языка (с использованием платформы DMDX) и русского жестового языка (метод элицитации).

Результаты работы

1) Разработана трактовка коммуникации как системы взаимных обязательств с целью координации действий. На основе этой трактовки предложено обобщение классической теории речевых импликатур Грайса. Преимущество предложенного обобщения состоит в отказе от установок ментализма и новом взгляде на процесс обучения языку как на нормативную практику разделения обязательств и планирования действий. На материале нескольких языков разработана оригинальная классификация экспрессивных речевых актов, относящихся к непропозициональному содержанию высказывания, а именно, выделено три вида экскламативов, зависящих от того, какие в них употребляются местоимения. На основе экспериментальных исследований показано влияние экстралингвистических знаний на порождение импликатур для шкал, состоящих из кванторов в русском языке.  Обоснован принцип классификации речевых актов по сложности конститутивных правил, а также выдвинута гипотеза о существовании разных стадий развития речевых актов того или иного типа (например, «прото-ассертивов», «прото-комиссивов»).

2) Показаны преимущества динамической интерпретации композициональности для бинарных семантических феноменов. На основе трактовки композициональности как динамической формальности разработан динамический подход к бинарным кванторам и смешанным цветам. Построено динамическое расширение модальной интуиционистский логики, а именно эпистемической логики IEL, с оператором публичного анонсирования. Построена игра для абелевой логики А и доказана корректность этой игры относительно стандартной алгебраической семантики для абелевой логики. Предложена интерпретация этой игры как игры агентов, обладающих ограниченными ресурсами. Построены полные аксиоматические системы для градуированных модальных логик с транзитивными зависимыми модальностями. Доказана теорема о полноте таких аксиоматик относительно семантики Крипке. Получена классификация иерархий бинарных отношений с точки зрения отношения консервативного расширения. Сформулирован критерий разрешимости градуированных модальных логик с транзитивными и зависимыми модальностями.

3) Предложена теоретико-категорная семантика квантовой логики, основанная на модификации конструкции ее категорной модели, так называемого топоса – специального вида категории, алгебра подобъектов которой представляет собой алгебру Гейтинга. В данной модификации топоса, получившей название квантоса, алгебра подобъектов оказывается не алгеброй Гейтинга, но ортомодулярной решеткой. Построена интерпретация некоторых систем ортомодулярной квантовой логики в квантосах функторов из ортомодулярной решетки в квантос (а не топос) квантовых множеств. Доказана полнота этих систем по отношению к предложенной семантике. Построено семейство первопорядковых толерантных логик, позволяющих формализовать понятия неопределенности и неоднозначности.

4) Предложена вероятностная эпистемическая модель социального влияния для агентов с общей точной информацией, а также продемонстрированы трудности объединения вероятностной эпистемической модели с произвольным отношением достижимости и функции социального влияния, рассмотрены механизмы преодоления указанных затруднений, предполагающие как модификацию вероятностной функции, так и корректировку функции социального влияния.  Эксплицировано общее затруднение индетерминистических теорий действия, представленное в различных формулировках аргументов от удачи против либертарианских теорий действия: аргументе перемотки, аргументе обещания, аргументе от констративного объяснения, аргументе Юма. Показано, что детерминация действия характером агента является необходимым условием последовательного приписывания моральной ответственности за данное действие. Продемонстрировано, что каузальный индетерминизм не состоятелен в качестве метафизической платформы либертарианского понимания свободы воли.

5) Обоснована необходимость эпистемических подходов к теории доказательств и представлено истолкование теории типов Мартин-Лёфа, а также основанной на этой теории гомотопической теории типов, как исчислений с эпистемически нагруженной теоретико-доказательной семантикой. Показана значимость в прагматизме Ч. С. Пирса баланса «индуктивного риска» и ценностей (тихизм, синихизм и плодоворность) для проверки гипотез и снижения статистических ошибок при использовании индуктивного метода. Разработан проект модульной схемы создания объяснительных гипотез для интерпретации данных с установкой на проспективный характер объяснений. Предложена таксономия ряда операций, которые выполняются математиками «до» и «вокруг» доказательства теорем (мысленные эксперименты, работа с математическими базами и платформами).   

6) Показано наличие двух смыслов сигнификации в логике У. Оккама: в первом смысле имя или термин устной речи сигнифицируют нечто, если термин истинно суппонирует эту вещь в немодальном предложении настоящего времени и истинно предицирован этой вещи; во втором смысле имя сигнифицирует нечто, когда оно обладает возможностью суппонировать то, что оно сигнифицирует в предложении о будущем, прошлом или модальном предложении. Предложено истолкование сигнификации в первом смысле как трехместного отношения термина, объекта, к которому он отсылает, и момента времени в настоящем, в который это происходит.

7) Представлено первое систематическое описание отрицательного согласования в русском жестовом языке, связанного с наличием лицензора (сентенциального отрицания).  На основе эмпирического исследования показано наличие отрицательного согласования в русском жестовом языке, уникальное для этого семейства языков.  Осуществлен синтаксический анализ структуры отрицательного согласования в русском жестовом языке. Введено различие двух видов отрицания: универсального и типового отрицания, позволяющее разрешить ряд парадоксов, связанных с бессмысленными высказываниями.

По результатам проекта опубликовано и принято к печати 6 статей в рецензируемых журналах, индексируемых в базах Web of Science и/или Scopus; опубликованы 4 статьи из дополнительного перечня журналов, публикации в которых учитываются при назначении академических надбавок и оценке публикационной активности в НИУ ВШЭ; 1 статья, опубликованная издательством, входящими в список издательств, учитываемых при назначении надбавки 3-го уровня;  подготовлена к публикации в издательстве УРСС монография.

Организованы две международные конференции: «Formal Philosophy – 2019» и совместно с журналом Studia Logica конференция «Trends in Logic 19. Current Issues in Philosophical Logic». В конференциях приняли участие все исполнители научно-исследовательской работы, а также философы, математики, лингвисты из США, Франции, Австрии, Великобритании, Нидерландов, Германии, Бразилии, Польши, Португалии, Бельгии, Испании, Италии, Израиля, Чехии, Сербии, различных городов России (Москвы, Санкт-Петербурга, Новосибирска, Ульяновска, Томска). В рамках реализации проекта работали три семинара: теоретический семинар «Формальная философия» (9 заседаний), исследовательский семинар «С логической точки зрения» / «From the Logical Point of View» (24 заседания), научно-учебный семинар "Логическая семантика" (10 заседаний). Результаты исследования апробированы также в 33 докладах исполнителей НИР на конференциях и теоретических семинарах в университетах и научных центрах России, Франции, Великобритании, Норвегии, Германии, Бразилии, Хорватии, Португалии, Чехии.  Исполнители НИР приняли участие в летней школе в Латвии, посетили с исследовательскими стажировками научные и образовательные центры Португалии и Франции.

Степень внедрения, рекомендации по внедрению или итоги внедрения результатов НИР  

Результаты исследований включены в учебные курсы логики, философии языка, истории философии,  теории языка, кросс-культурной прагматики, современного русского языка, формального представления естественного языка, корпусных методов исследования языковых процессов, формальной и экспериментальной прагматики, формальной эпистемологии, философии и научно-исследовательский семинар «Логика, эпистемология и методы философского исследования». Проблематика исследований отражена в тематике квалификационных работ студентов и аспирантов образовательных программ факультета гуманитарных наук НИУ ВШЭ. С отличием (cum laude) защищена кандидатская диссертация "Учение Уильяма Оккама о суппозиции и сигнификации" (А. О. Копылова, научный руководитель: Е.Г. Драгалина-Черная).

Публикации по проекту:


Zardini E. First-Order Tolerant Logics // Review of Symbolic Logic. 2018. 
Pietarinen A. Conjectures and abductive reasoning in games // IfCoLoG Journal of Logics and their Applications. 2018. Vol. 5. No. 5. P. 1121-1143. doi
Vasyukov V. L. Quantum categories for quantum logic // Логические исследования. 2019. Vol. 25. No. 1. P. 70-87. doi
G. L. B. W. Commitments continued // Theoretical Linguistics. 2019. Vol. 45. No. 1-2. P. 111-125. doi
Копылова А. О. Пустые термины в логике У. Оккама: к чему отсылают химеры // Логические исследования. 2019. Т. 25. № 1. C. 52-70. 
Mendez M. J. L. What counts as "a" sound and how "to count" a sound. The problems of individuating and identifying sounds // Synthesis Philosophica. 2019. Vol. 2. 
Ma Minghui, Pietarinen A. A Graphical Deep Inference System for Intuitionistic Logic // Logique et Analyse. 2019. Vol. 245. P. 73-114. doi
Chiffi D., Pietarinen A. Risk and Values in Science: A Peircean View // Axiomathes. 2019. Vol. 29. No. 4. P. 329-346. doi
Carrara M., Chiffi D., Florio C. D., Pietarinen A. We don’t know we don’t know: asserting ignorance // Synthese. 2019. doi
Гладышев М. А. Теоретико-игровой подход к определению конвенций Д. Льюиса и проблема выбора равновесия, in: Одиннадцатые Смирновские чтения по логике: материалы Международной научной конференции, 19 – 21 июня 2019, г. Москва. Москва : Современные тетради, 2019. С. 11-13. 
Dragalina-Chernaya E. Surprises in Logic: When Dynamic Formality Meets Interactive Compositionality, in: Philosophy of Logic and Mathematics. Proceedings of the 41st International Ludwig Wittgenstein Symposium. Berlin : De Gruyter, 2019. С. 197-212. 
Драгалина-Черная Е. Г. Внутренние отношения в логическом пространстве Витгенштейна, in: Одиннадцатые Смирновские чтения по логике: материалы Международной научной конференции, 19 – 21 июня 2019, г. Москва. Москва : Современные тетради, 2019. С. 103-104. 
Золин Е. Е. Соответствие на счетных структурах и запросы к теориям, in: Одиннадцатые Смирновские чтения по логике: материалы Международной научной конференции, 19 – 21 июня 2019, г. Москва. Москва : Современные тетради, 2019. С. 24-26. 
Kuhn J., Lena P. Negative concord in Russian Sign Language (RSL), in: Theoretical Issues in Sign Language Research Conference: Conference Handbook., 2019. С. 300-302. 
Zevakhina N., Pasalskaya E. Number is redundant: Evidence from reference production // Applied Psycholinguistics. 2020. 
Maksudova-Eliseeva G. Logical aliens and where to find them // Логические исследования. 2020. Vol. 26. No. 2. P. 160-175. doi
Kuhn J., Lena P. Negative Concord in Russian Sign Language // Natural Language and Linguistic Theory. 2020.