• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Freelancers survey: monitoring of the Russian-language online labor market (2009-2019)

Priority areas of development: sociology
2019
The project has been carried out as part of the HSE Program of Fundamental Studies.

Goal of research

To identify the main characteristics of self-employed workers and market dynamics in the period from 2009 to 2019.

Methodology

Online survey, quantitative and qualitative sociological methods

Empirical base of research

The empirical base of the study includes quantitative data from four waves of the “Russian Freelance Survey”, conducted according to a common methodology since 2009 at one of the largest Russian-language freelance online marketplaces FL.ru. At the beginning of 2019, the fourth round of the survey was implemented, in which 2410 freelancers took part. The “Russian Freelance Survey” is a unique monitoring study of freelancers and online labor markets which is unprecedented not only in Russia but throughout the world.

Results of research

In 2019, the project explored in detail the geography of the online freelance work, the income of freelancers, the issues of work autonomy and social well-being, especially in connection with non-standard work schedules. The Russian-language online labor market operates across national borders. Freelancers from 39 countries participated in the last wave of the survey. At the same time, the share of Russian citizens in the market is about 75%, and about a quarter of them live in Moscow.

Freelancers are a materially well-off group: their income level is comparable, and in some cases even exceeds the incomes of Russian workers. However, there is a substantial income differentiation among freelancers, in relation to employment status, occupation, skills, work experience etc. The real wages of freelancers over the past few years have not increased. The instability and unpredictability of future incomes are the main problems.

Compared to Russian workers freelancers work much more often in non-standard times, including evenings, nights, weekends and holidays. Non-standard schedules are generally associated with deterioration of the work-life balance. Women, people with a spouse (partner), and freelancers with small children are in a more vulnerable position. As more and more people show interest in self-employment, the task of a balanced assessment of the advantages and disadvantages of freelancing, including the material and subjective well-being of workers, is becoming more relevant.

The project contributes to better understanding of the Russian labor market, helping to make a balanced and empirically based assessment of the advantages and disadvantages of self-employment, including the material and subjective well-being of workers.

Publications:


Стребков Д. О., Шевчук А. В. Ловушка гибкой занятости: как нестандартный график работы влияет на баланс между работой и жизнью фрилансеров // Мониторинг общественного мнения: Экономические и социальные перемены. 2019. № 3. С. 86-102. doi
Shevchuk A., Strebkov D., Tyulyupo Alexey. Always on across time zones: Work schedules in the online gig economy // New Technology, Work and Employment. 2021. P. 1-27.
Aleksynska M., Shevchuk A., Strebkov D. Online platform work in Russia and Ukraine: Gender differences in earnings and work satisfaction, in: Labour Market and Demography in Post-Soviet Countries: Gender Aspects in Empirical Research. Springer, 2021. Ch. 13. P. 1-20.
Shevchuk A., Strebkov D., Bögenhold D. Work values and hybrid careers in the gig economy // Research in Social Stratification and Mobility. 2021. P. 1-41.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта
Версия для слабовидящихЛичный кабинет сотрудника ВШЭПоискМеню

Перепись фрилансеров: мониторинг русскоязычного рынка удаленной работы (2009-2019)

Приоритетные направления развития: социология
2019

Цель работы

Выявление основных характеристик самозанятых работников и динамики рынка в период с 2009 по 2019 годы.

Используемые методы

Онлайн-опрос, количественные и качественные методы социологических исследований

Эмпирическая база исследования

Эмпирическая база исследования включает количественные данные четырех раундов онлайн-опроса «Перепись фрилансеров», проводимого по единой методологии с 2009 года на одной из крупнейших русскоязычных бирж удалённой работы FL.ru. В начале 2019 года в рамках проекта был реализован четвертый раунд опроса, в котором приняли участие 2410 фрилансеров. «Перепись фрилансеров» является уникальным мониторинговым исследованием самостоятельной занятости на рынках удаленной работы, аналогов которому нет, не только в России, но и во всем мире.

Результаты работы

В 2019 году рамках проекта была подробно исследована география рынка удаленной работы, доходы фрилансеров, проблемы трудовой автономии и социального самочувствия, особенно в связи с нестандартными графиками работы. Русскоязычный рынок удаленной работы функционирует поверх национальных границ. В Переписи фрилансеров 2019 года приняли участие фрилансеры из 39 государств. При этом доля россиян на рынке составляет около 75%, а около четверти из них проживает в Москве.

Фрилансеры представляют собой материально обеспеченную группу: уровень их доходов сопоставим, а в ряде случаев даже превышает общероссийские показатели. При этом среди самих фрилансеров существует заметная дифференциация по уровню дохода, особенно в разрезе статуса занятости, сферы деятельности, профессионального мастерства и опыта работы и ряда других характеристик. Реальная заработная платы фрилансеров на протяжении последних лет практически не растет, а нестабильность и непредсказуемость будущих доходов чаще всего отмечаются фрилансерами в качестве недостатков свободной занятости.

На фоне среднероссийских показателей фрилансеры намного чаще трудятся в нестандартное время: ночью, а также в выходные и праздничные дни. При этом нестандартные графики в целом связаны с ухудшением баланса между работой и жизнью. В более уязвимом положении находятся женщины, люди, имеющие супруга (партнёра), и фрилансеры с несовершеннолетними детьми. По мере того, как всё более широкий круг людей проявляет интерес к самостоятельной занятости, актуализируется задача взвешенной оценки преимуществ и недостатков фриланса, включая материальное и субъективное благополучие работников.

Результаты проекта позволяют лучше понять, как функционирует рынок труда в России, формируя взвешенную и эмпирически обоснованную оценку преимуществ и недостатков самостоятельной занятости, включая материальное и субъективное благополучие работников.

Публикации по проекту:


Aleksynska M., Shevchuk A., Strebkov D. Online platform work in Russia and Ukraine: Gender differences in earnings and work satisfaction, in: Gendering Post-soviet space: Demography, Labor Market and Values in Empirical Research.: Springer, 2021. С. 277-299. 
Shevchuk A., Strebkov D., Tyulyupo A. Always on across time zones: Invisible schedules in the online gig economy // New Technology, Work and Employment. 2021. Vol. 36. No. 1. P. 94-113. doi
Shevchuk A., Strebkov D., Bögenhold D. Work values and hybrid careers in the gig economy // RESEARCH IN SOCIAL STRATIFICATION AND MOBILITY. 2021. P. 1-41.