• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Interdisciplinary Studies of Vision

Priority areas of development: humanitarian
2019

Computational modeling is an important and effective field of research in psychology, that allows us to instantiate and test many popular theories about the brain and cognitive functions. If we consider the brain as an information processing system, then there must be a way by which it select and prioritize information when it exceeds the capacity of that system. This mechanism of selection, inhibition and prioritizing of incoming information is called ‘attention’. With the introduction of computational models as a methodology within cognitive sciences, we are able to combine the results of multiple studies about the brain and cognitive functions, while still being able to predict specific results and generate new hypotheses to be tested.

The purpose of this project is to create and test the first version of an integrated computer model that simulates the operation of the human visual and oculomotor systems. Our goal is to develop a model that simulates the flow of information processing from the “input” of visual information in the form of a retinal image to the “output” in the form of gaze fixations and saccadic eye movements.  The resulting model should maintain biological plausibility of its component parts as well as model known cognitive mechanisms such as early facilitation, inhibition of return and anti-saccadic eye movements.   We believe that combining these goals produce the best of results within computational cognitive neuroscience.

To this end we conducted multiple new experiments using techniques ranging from behavioural, eye tracking, TMS and MEG.  Experimental results are important to understand our key attentional processes, but also to generate data useful for our model.  Four new pilot experiments include:

  • using the search task (number of participants n = 15),
  • research in the paradigm “Space invaders” (n = 15),
  • visual re-mapping (n = 5),
  • motion detection experiment (n = 7).

The first three studies were conducted using eyetracking, and the last included trans cranial magnetic stimulation (TMS). All experiments involved healthy adult subjects with normal or corrected vision.

In addition, we completed data collection for 5 studies with a finalized protocol:

  • study of the latent shift of attention (number of participants n = 20),
  • search task (n = 40),
  • visual re-mapping (n = 20),
  • anti-saccade task (n = 20 Russia + n = 20 Iceland)
  • the task of choosing from two alternatives (n = 20).

For modelling results, we implemented code for 7 different classifiers, two models of early processing of visual information in the visual cortex, two models of abstract (non-spatial) generation of saccades and two models of saccadic generation in two-dimensional space. Two saccade generation algorithms were implementations of our own theory:  a temporal diffusion model and a spatial leaky competing accumulator model.

In general, our results for this year reflect great progress in creating a complete simulation of the processing of visual information. We chose the exact implementation of the spatial component, identified the main shortcomings of most currently existing time models and obtained the first results on our two solutions to the problem of modeling temporal dynamics. We created a full processing stream model and used this model to test three popular conflicting theories of attentional capture. We also successfully tested the predictive power of the model in relation to classical phenomena of attention, such as inhibition of return and programming of anti-saccades, on the data obtained during experimental studies of the Laboratory.

Publications:


Krasovskaya S., Zhulikov G., MacInnes W. Deep Learning Neural Networks as a Model of Saccadic Generation // Российский журнал когнитивной науки. 2019. P. 1-10. 
Krasovskaya S., Кристьянссон А., MacInnes W. Poster Presentations, THE EFFECT OF THE ANTISACCADE TASK ON MICROSACCADE SUPRESSION IN THE POSNER CUEING PARADIGM, in: Book of abstracts: XVI European congress of psychology (ECP 2019) (2‒5 July, 2019, Lomonosov Moscow State University, Moscow). Moscow : Издательство Московского университета, 2019. С. 1866-1866. 
Martinovic J., Paramei G., MacInnes W. Russian blues reveal the limits of language influencing colour discrimination // Cognition. 2020. Vol. 201. P. 104281-. doi
Merzon L., Malevich T., Zhulikov G., Krasovskaya S., MacInnes W. Temporal limitations of the standard Leaky integrate and fire model // Brain Sciences. 2020. Vol. 10. No. 1. P. 1-19. doi
Krasovskaya S., Zhulikov G., MacInnes W. Deep Learning Neural Networks as a Model of Saccadic Generation / Center for Open Science. Series PsyArXiv Preprints. "нет". 2021.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Междисциплинарные исследования зрительного восприятия и внимания

Приоритетные направления развития: гуманитарные науки
2019

Вычислительное моделирование является важной и эффективной областью исследований в психологии, которая позволяет конкретизировать и проверять многие популярные теории о мозге и когнитивных функциях. Этот новый подход широко используется при изучении зрения, движений глаз и внимания. Если рассматривать мозг в качестве органа обработки информации, то должен существовать способ, при помощи которого он отбирает информацию, когда ее количество чрезмерно. Таким механизмом селекции и ингибирования входящей информации является внимание. С введением вычислительных моделей в методологическую базу когнитивных наук мы получили возможность комбинировать результаты исследований, проведенных в различных областях знаний о мозге и когнитивных функциях, сохраняя при этом экспериментальную точность конкретных исследований и создавая новые подлежащие проверке гипотезы.

Цель настоящего проекта – создание и тестирование первой версии комплексной компьютерной модели, симулирующей работу зрительной и глазодвигательной систем человека. Поставленная нами цель предполагает разработку модели, симулирующей поток обработки информации от “входа” зрительной информации в форме ретинального образа и до “выхода” в виде фиксаций взгляда и саккадических движений глаз, а также включение в модель имитации таких биологических механизмов, как ранняя фасилитация, торможение возврата и антисаккадические движения глаз.

Мы провели 4 новых пилотных эксперимента:

  • эксперимент на торможение возврата (количество участников  n = 15),

  • исследование в парадигме “Космические захватчики” (n = 15), 

  • зрительное перекартирование (n = 5),

  • эксперимент на обнаружение движения (n = 7).

Первые три исследования были проведены с использованием метода айтрекинга, а последний включал транскраниальную магнитную стимуляцию (ТМС). Во всех экспериментах участвовали здоровые совершеннолетние испытуемые с нормальным или скорректированным зрением.

Кроме того мы завершили сбор данных для 5 исследований с утвержденным протоколом:

  • исследование скрытого сдвига внимания (количество участников n = 20),

  • торможение возврата (n = 40),

  • зрительное перекартирование (n = 20),

  • антисаккадная задача (n = 20 Россия +  n = 20 Исландия)

  • задача выбора из двух альтернатив (n = 20).

Мы реализовали код для 7 различных классификаторов, две модели ранней обработки визуальной информации в зрительной коре, две модели абстрактной (не-пространственной) генерации саккад и две модели саккадической генерации в двухмерном пространстве. Два алгоритма генерации саккад были реализациями нашей собственной теории.

В целом, наши результаты за этот год отражают большой прогресс в создании полной симуляции обработки зрительной информации. Мы выбрали точную реализацию пространственного компонента, определили основные недостатки большинства существующих на настоящий момент временных моделей и получили первые результаты по двум нашим собственным решениям проблемы моделирования временной динамики. Мы создали полную модель захвата внимания и использовали эту модель, чтобы протестировать три популярные конфликтующие теории. Мы также успешно тестируем предсказательную силу модели в отношении таких классических феноменов внимания, как торможение возврата и программирование антисаккад, на данных, полученных в ходе экспериментальных исследований Лаборатории.

Публикации по проекту:


Martinovic J., Paramei G., MacInnes W. Russian blues reveal the limits of language influencing colour discrimination // Cognition. 2020. Vol. 201. P. 104281. doi
Merzon L., Malevich T., Zhulikov G., Krasovskaya S., MacInnes W. Temporal limitations of the standard Leaky integrate and fire model // Brain Sciences. 2020. Vol. 10. No. 1. P. 1-19. doi
Krasovskaya S., MacInnes W. Salience models: a computational cognitive neuroscience review // MDPI Vision, Switzerland. 2019. Vol. 3. No. 4. P. 1-24. doi
Krasovskaya S., Кристьянссон А., MacInnes W. Poster Presentations, THE EFFECT OF THE ANTISACCADE TASK ON MICROSACCADE SUPRESSION IN THE POSNER CUEING PARADIGM, in: Book of abstracts: XVI European congress of psychology (ECP 2019) (2‒5 July, 2019, Lomonosov Moscow State University, Moscow). M. : Moscow University Press, 2019. Ch. 3. P. 1866-1866.
Krasovskaya S., Kristjansson A., MacInnes W. Poster Session I, Poster 06, Microsaccade suppression during antisaccade generation in the posner cueing paradigm, in: European Conference on Eye-Movements ECEM 2019, Alicante, Spain. , 2019. Ch. 3. P. 207-207.
Krasovskaya S., Zhulikov G., MacInnes W. Deep Learning Neural Networks as a Model of Saccadic Generation // The Russian Journal of Cognitive Science. 2019. P. 1-10.