• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

A comparative analysis of public procurement efficiency

Priority areas of development: economics
2013
The project has been carried out as part of the HSE Program of Fundamental Studies.

The subject of the research is the public procurement system in Russia, its framework and mechanisms.

The research is an investigation of the effectiveness of different public procurement procedures for different types of goods purchased by governmental organizations and agencies.

In 2013 the research developed in several directions within the framework of the project. These included:

  • analysis of the effectiveness of public procurement orders placement and performance of contract obligations for simple homogeneous products; investigation of the influence of regional factors and procurement personnel characteristics on the effectiveness of procurement order placement and contract administration;
  • development of a pioneer (in Russia) practice research approach to evaluate the efficiency of various procurement procedures considering the expenses incurred by customers;
  • comparative analysis of the effectiveness of different public procurement regulatory regimes.

The empirical base of the research includes data collected and processed during previous research stages, and also new data obtained in 2013. Firstly, databases on public procurement order placement and contracts for sugar sand and gasoline were expanded, refined and processed during 2013. Among databases of public procurement contracts collected earlier for 5 examples of goods and services representing different types of goods (search goods, experience goods and credence goods) databases on sugar and gasoline contracts were best prepared for econometric analysis in terms of data completeness and quality. Therefore, we made a comprehensive analysis of the effeciency of procurement procedures for these two goods.

Secondly, in 2013 we collected new databases and expanded existing ones on public purchases by several large government funded and autonomous organizations representing the same sphere. Procurements by the first organization were regulated by the 94-FL requirements. Procurements by the second, were initially regulated by the 94-FL until later it introduced its own Procurements Provision as an autonomous organization. A comparative analysis of procurements of these organizations enables us to estimate the impact of different types of regulations on the effectiveness of public procurement.

Finally, within the public procurement expenses research framework we conducted several interviews with procurement unit personnel in a large government funded organization. These interviews allowed us to test the public procurement agent’s expenses estimation and evaluation methodology that was developed within the project framework as a pioneer methodology for the Russian procurement system.

The main results obtained within the project in 2013 include the following:

  • Detection of structural features of public purchase order placement for “search goods” with sugar and gasoline as an example.
  • Investigation of different factors impacting the comparative effectiveness of different procurement procedures (quotation, auction, one-supplier etc).
  • Detection of factors influencing the effectiveness of contract obligation performance for analyzed goods types.
  • Revealing of regional price differentiation in public purchasing of analyzed goods types.
  • Estimation of the impact of different types of regulations (and regulation regime shift) on the effectiveness of public procurement using procurement of three large government funded and autonomous organizations as an example.
  • Developing methodology to estimate and evaluate public procurement expenses for the customer; testing the methodology in interviews with procurement unit personnel in a large government funded organization.
  • Investigation of the degree and nature of some characteristics of procurement personnel and procurement unit which influence public contract administration effectiveness.

The research results obtained within the framework of the project were presented by the project participants at international and Russian conferences, symposiums, workshops etc. These included XIV April International Academic Conference on Economic and Social Development, Moscow, 2-5 April, 2013; International Conference on Applied Research in Economics, Perm, 18-20 September, 2013; Workshop on "Sustainable Public Procurement: Research Trends and New Challenges", Moscow, 4-5 October, 2013 and others.

Moreover, project participants presented a report “An estimation of the benefits and costs in the public procurement system” at the meeting of the “Open Government” Working Group on the Federal Contract System led by A.T. Shamrin on March 1st, 2013. The report contained suggestions on the estimation of public procurement procedures costs for customers, suppliers and regulators based on international experience.

The results of the research may be implemented in the following ways:

  • Empirical analysis of public procurement order placement and contract execution efficiency allows us to better determine how information and analytical functions of the Federal Contract System work and serve as a push for analogous empirical studies of other markets.
  • The approach used for a comparative analysis of procurement by government funded organizations and regulatory regimes effectiveness gives an opportunity to quantify the effect of introducing new regulatory regimes. And this approach may be used by regulators and large governmental organizations and agencies to analyze the results of introducing new regulatory regimes in “pilot projects”.
  • A further stage of research into public procurement costs will include a calculation of procurement costs for the large budget organization whose employees gave interviews. It is also possible to test the methodology on other purchasing organizations and to develop approachs for estimating costs for suppliers and regulators.
  • The results of research on personnel characteristics influencing contract administration problems may help procurement specialists prevent and minimize negative effects of the most common contract administration problems.

Publications:


Bashina Aleksandra. Factors Related to Informal Payments in Public Procurement in Russia // International Journal of Economic Policy in Emerging Economies. 2013. Vol. 6. No. 4. P. 403-430. doi
Yakovlev A. A., Tkachenko A., Demidova O., Balaeva O. An impact of different regulatory regimes on the effectiveness of public procurement / NRU Higher School of Economics. Series PA "Public Administration". 2013. No. WP BRP 08/PA/2013.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Сравнительный анализ эффективности государственных закупок

Приоритетные направления развития: экономика
2013

В роли объекта исследования выступает система государственных закупок, механизмы и принципы ее функционирования.

Цель исследования состоит в определении эффективности процедур закупок применительно к разным группам благ, закупаемых органами государственного управления и государственными организациями.

В ходе реализации проекта в 2013 году было проведено разностороннее исследование эффективности системы государственных закупок в России. Исследование включило в себя следующие направления:

  • анализ эффективности размещения и исполнения государственных заказов на закупку простых однородных товаров и влияния на закупочную деятельность различных факторов (в том числе, региональных факторов и персональных характеристик закупщиков на примере закупщиков США);
  • разработка подхода к исследованию эффективности госзакупочных процедур с учетом издержек на их осуществление, методика расчета которых в российской системе госзакупок отсутствует;
  • исследование сравнительной эффективности различных правовых режимов регулирования закупок.

Эмпирическую базу исследования составили не только данные, собранные и обработанные на предыдущих этапах исследования, но и новые данные, полученные в ходе реализации проекта в 2013 году. Прежде всего, происходило пополнение, чистка и формирование баз данных по размещению заказов и реализации государственных контрактов на закупки сахарного песка и автомобильного бензина АИ-92. Из собранных ранее баз данных о госконтрактах по пяти выбранным для проведения эмпирического анализа видам благ различных типов (инспекционных, экспериментальных и доверительных) базы данных по сахарному песку и бензину по полноте и качеству представленной в них информации были в наилучшей степени подготовлены для эконометрического анализа. По этим товарам было проведено развернутое исследование сравнительной эффективности процедур размещения государственного заказа и исполнения контракта.

Кроме того, в 2013 году были дополнены существующие и получены новые базы данных по закупкам нескольких крупных бюджетных организаций сходной сферы деятельности, закупки которых регулируются 94-ФЗ или собственным положением о закупках (предусмотренным для автономных учреждений), что позволило провести сравнительный анализ эффективности процедур госзаказа для различных правовых режимов их регулирования.

Наконец, в рамках исследования издержек осуществления закупочной деятельности была проведена серия интервью с представителями закупочных подразделений крупной бюджетной организации. Это позволило апробировать разработанную в рамках проекта методику оценки и расчета издержек на осуществление закупочной деятельности госзаказчика, концепция учета которых в российской системе государственных закупок на сегодняшний день отсутствует.

Основные результаты проведенного исследования заключаются в следующем:

  • Выявлены структурные особенности размещения государственных заказов на закупки инспекционных товаров на примере сахарного песка и автомобильного бензина.
  • Описано влияние различных факторов на сравнительную эффективность разных способов размещения государственного заказа (котировки, аукционы, закупки у единственного поставщика и т.д.).
  • Выявлены факторы, влияющие на эффективность исполнения контрактов на закупку исследуемых типов благ.
  • Обнаружены значительные региональные ценовые различия государственных закупок исследуемых видов благ.
  • Показан эффект изменения режима регулирования закупочной деятельности (переход автономного учреждения с использования 94-ФЗ на собственное Положение о закупках) на примере сравнительного анализа эффективности закупок трех крупных бюджетных организаций.
  • Разработана методика оценки и расчета издержек осуществления закупочной деятельности госзаказчика, методика апробирована в ходе интервью среди сотрудников закупочного подразделения крупной бюджетной организации.
  • Выявлена степень и характер влияния некоторых персональных характеристик закупщиков и их подразделений на эффективность исполнения контрактов.

Результаты исследований, полученные в рамках проекта, были представлены участниками проекта на международных и российских конференциях, симпозиумах, семинарах и т.д. Среди них XIV Апрельская международная научная конференция по проблемам развития экономики и общества, Москва, 2-5 апреля, 2013 г.; Международная конференция по прикладным исследованиям в экономике (International Conference on Applied Research in Economics), Пермь, 18-20 сентября, 2013 г.; Международный семинар «Устойчивое развитие системы государственных закупок: тенденции исследований и новые вызовы» (Workshop on "Sustainable Public Procurement: Research Trends and New Challenges"), Москва, 4-5 октября, 2013 г. и пр.

Кроме того, участниками проекта на заседании рабочей группы «Открытого правительства» по ФКС под руководством А.Т. Шамрина 1 марта 2013г. был представлен доклад на тему «Оценка выгод и издержек в системе государственных закупок». Доклад отражал предложения по оценке издержек осуществления процедур государственных закупок для заказчиков, поставщиков и регулирующих органов на основе зарубежного опыта.

Полученные в ходе работы над проектом результаты могут быть применены в следующих областях:

  • Результаты эмпирических исследований эффективности размещения и исполнения контрактов, а также факторов, влияющих на эти аспекты, позволят лучше определить функционал информационно-аналитических компонентов создаваемой Федеральной контрактной системы, а также дадут импульс проведению аналогичных эмпирических исследований применительно к другим рынкам.
  • Предложенный подход по сравнительному анализу бюджетных организаций и выявлению эффектов смены режимов регулирования даст возможность количественно измерить эффекты внедрения новых механизмов регулирования закупок. Соответственно, данный подход может применяться на практике регулирующими органами, главными распорядителями бюджетных средств и крупными организациями – государственными заказчиками при анализе результатов «пилотных проектов» по внедрению отдельных элементов ФКС.
  • Следующий этап исследования издержек осуществления закупочной деятельности предполагает непосредственно расчет издержек госзакупок в крупной бюджетной организации, на базе которой проводились интервью, и их анализ, а также распространение данной методики на другие организации-заказчики. Возможна также разработка подхода к оценке издержек, которые несут организации-поставщики и регуляторы.
  • Результаты исследования влияния характеристик государственных закупщиков и закупочных подразделений на возникновение проблем исполнения контрактов, могут быть использованы специалистами по закупкам для предотвращения или снижения негативных последствий проблем исполнения, характерных для администрируемых ими закупочных контрактов.

Публикации по проекту:


Bashina Aleksandra. Factors Related to Informal Payments in Public Procurement in Russia // International Journal of Economic Policy in Emerging Economies. 2013. Vol. 6. No. 4. P. 403-430. doi
Yakovlev A. A., Tkachenko A., Demidova O., Balaeva O. N. An impact of different regulatory regimes on the effectiveness of public procurement / NRU Higher School of Economics. Series PA "Public Administration". 2013. No. WP BRP 08/PA/2013.