• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Country Studies and Global Studies

International relations and the world economy, as well as responses to the challenges currently facing international community in an effort to comprehend global trends, are studied by HSE University through the inextricable interconnection between basic and applied research. Assignments received from the Presidential Executive Office and the Government of the Russian Federation (in particular, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Ministry of Economic Development, Ministry of Energy, Ministry for the Development of the Russian Far East, etc.) and the Eurasian Economic Commission are carried out on a regular basis. For instance, subdivisions of the Faculty of World Economy and International Affairs directly authored the concept for Russia’s “pivot” to the East at the end of the 2000s-beginning of the 2010s. This has not only prompted effective convergence of Moscow and Beijing and the rise of Russia’s Far East, tipped the balance of power in relations with the EU and other European countries in Russia’s favour, but also brought about the emergence in the global political discourse of the “Greater Eurasia” project, as conceptualized by the Faculty. Overall, over the past years, the staff members have prepared more than 170 analytical reports for executive government agencies.

HSE University carries out in-depth research on the most pressing issues of today’s world. These include, among others, problems of the current world order (e.g., crisis of the liberal world order, demise of globalization, advent of regionalization, and populism), inequality, sustainable development, the dynamics of the state’s place in the future of international relations, and the economic aspects of climate change. The University is one of the leaders in studies of regional aspects of international relations (processes in the East, South-East, and South Asia, the Middle East, European security, European integration, etc.)  

In this regard, HSE University already has fundamental accomplishments, due to four collective (i.e., fully written by the University’s staff members) monographs and several individual publications, published by leading international (Springer, Palgrave Macmillan, etc.) and Russian publishing houses (Nauka, Publishing House of RAS Institute of Europe, Eksmo, Codex, etc.) over the last two years. In-house academics regularly author publications, which appear in high-ranking international and Russian journals, including Survival, Debate Magazine, Politička misao (Political Thought), Foreign Affairs, World Economy and International Relations, Polis. Political Studies, Economic Issues, etc.

The Faculty of World Economy and International Affairs hosts joint department with the RAS Institute for Far Eastern Studies and joint department with the RAS Institute of Oriental Studies. In addition, Centre for Comprehensive European and International Studies, the International Laboratory on World Order Studies and New Regionalism, the Laboratory for Economics of Climate Change are all based at the Faculty. 

Priority research areas during the next period will include:

  • world order and new regionalism;
  • dynamics and direction of global economic, political, and environmental processes;
  • contemporary political economy;
  • developing the concept to promote Asian studies; studies of modern Asia;
  • relations between Russia and the West, European studies;
  • a new conceptual base for analysis of global processes;
  • new European regionalism, Russian and Chinese initiatives in Eurasia, their political and economic effects;
  • changing role and geometry of global institutions;
  • transit throughout the Post-Soviet space and of Russia’s foreign policy.

In each of the specified topics, HSE University has already put out individual and collective works, which serve as the stepping stone for developing respective fields and the creation of own research schools.  

In order to further enhance the integration of research and educational activities, the Faculty will initiate reforms of Bachelor’s and Master’s programmes, by enlarging “select blocks”, i.e., blocks of country-specific studies, determining groups of young research professionals. The Doctoral School in International Relations and Foreign Regional Studies, established in 2019, will serve as a base, in conjunction with key RAS institutes, for nurturing its own academic staff, who possess a systemic vision of international, regional, and Asian-specific agendas and both traditional and contemporary methods for analysis.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Страноведение и глобалистика

Проблематика международных отношений и мировой экономики, а также ответы на вызовы, стоящие перед мировым сообществом в осмыслении глобальных тенденций развития, разрабатываются в НИУ ВШЭ в неразрывной взаимосвязи фундаментальных и прикладных исследований. На постоянной основе выполняются задания Администрации Президента Российской Федерации и Правительства Российской Федерации (в частности, Министерства иностранных дел, Министерства экономического развития, Министерства энергетики, Министерства Российской Федерации по развитию Дальнего Востока и Арктики и др.), Евразийской экономической комиссии. Так, подразделения факультета мировой экономики и мировой политики непосредственно разрабатывали концепцию «поворота» России к Азии в конце 2000-х — начале 2010-х годов. Это не только обеспечило эффективное сближение Москвы с Пекином, начало подъема Дальнего Востока, изменение в пользу России соотношения сил во взаимоотношениях со странами ЕС и другими европейскими странами, но и подвело к появлению в международном политическом дискурсе концептуализированного факультетом проекта «Большая Евразия». В общей сложности за последние годы сотрудниками подготовлено свыше 170 аналитических записок для органов государственной власти.

Университет активно исследует наиболее острые мировые проблемы современности. Среди них можно выделить проблемы миропорядка (кризис либерального мирового порядка, глобалистского проекта, регионализация, популизм), неравенства, достижения устойчивого развития, динамики положения государства в будущей системе международных отношений, экономические аспекты климатических изменений. Университет является одним из лидеров в изучении региональных аспектов международных отношений (процессы в Восточной, Юго-Восточной, Южной Азии, на Ближнем Востоке, специфика европейской безопасности, европейской интеграции).

О фундаментальном заделе, имеющемся в НИУ ВШЭ, свидетельствуют четыре коллективные (полностью состоящие из работ сотрудников Университета) монографии и несколько индивидуальных, вышедших в ведущих международных (Springer, Palgrave Macmillan) и российских издательствах («Наука», Издательство Института Европы РАН, «Эксмо», «Кодекс» и др.) за последние два года. Сотрудники регулярно публикуют свои работы в высокорейтинговых международных и российских журналах, в том числе в «Survival», «Debate Magazine», «Politička misao» («Political Thought»), «Foreign Affairs», «Мировая экономика и международные отношения», «Полис. Политические исследования», «Вопросы экономики» и т.д. 

На факультете мировой экономики и мировой политики действуют базовые кафедры Института востоковедения РАН, Института Дальнего Востока РАН. Работают Центр комплексных европейских и международных исследований, Международная лаборатория исследований мирового порядка и нового регионализма, научная лаборатория экономики изменения климата.

Приоритетными темами исследований в предстоящий период станут:

  • порядок и новый регионализм;
  • динамика и направление глобальных экономических, политических, экологических процессов;
  • современная политическая экономия;
  • разработка концепции развития востоковедения, изучение современного Востока;
  • отношения России и Запада, европейские исследования;
  • выработка новой концептуальной базы анализа мировых процессов;
  • новый евразийский регионализм, российские и китайские инициативы в Евразии, их политическое и экономическое значение;
  • меняющаяся роль и геометрия мировых институтов;
  • транзит постсоветского пространства и внешняя политика России. 

По каждой из названных тем в НИУ ВШЭ имеются заделы в виде выполненных индивидуальных и коллективных работ, которые заложили основы для развития этих направлений и формирования собственных научных школ. 

Для дальнейшего усиления интеграции исследовательской и образовательной деятельности на факультете будет проведена реформа программ бакалавриата и магистратуры в сторону укрупнения выборных блоков, блоков страноведческой подготовки, выделения групп высокого научного потенциала. Созданная в 2019 г. собственная аспирантская школа по международным отношениям и зарубежным региональным исследованиям станет базой для подготовки совместно с институтами РАН собственных академических кадров, обладающих системным видением международной, регионоведческой и востоковедческой проблематики, владеющих как традиционными, так и современными методами аналитической работы.