• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Law

HSE University will develop research activities for various fields of legal studies, namely historical/theoretical law studies and sector-specific law.

In the coming years, the activities of professionals in law and legal support will undergo profound changes, and some of the legal professions will disappear completely. Furthermore, legal studies and instruction of future lawyers are shifting towards the use of advanced developments in Computer Sciences, Life Sciences and Genetics. Moreover, the contents of research and educational programmes will become more globally oriented, along with a focus on environmental issues.

The major area of focus of research at the Faculty of Law will be primarily directed towards the solution of issues related to legal regulation in the contemporary post-industrial society, which relates to all spheres of people’s lives (“Post-Industrialization of Law”). The key research fields include the following:  

  • new private law in the context of automation of production processes and transfer of main economic activities to sectors for services and intellectual products, as well as respective aggregation processes (“New Private Law”); 
  • digitization of law, development of artificial legal intelligence, Big Data, e-commerce and the creation of Legal Tech industry (“Digital Law”);
  • universalization of public law in light of a globalized economy and the heightened role of international law (“Global Law”);
  • legal regulation of consumption in light of constant population growth, resource scarcity and environmental pollution (“Biolaw”). 

During the implementation of the “Digital Law” project, the International Laboratory for Information Technology and Intellectual Property Law and the Master’s programme “Intellectual Property and IT Law”, as well as the Institute of Legal Research, will all play central roles. The research subjects at the laboratory will shift from traditional issues related to intellectual property rights to digitization of law in all its forms, i.e., from basic research on AI, Big Data, societal changes stemming from digitization processes, to practical issues related to e-commerce, blockchain systems, use of robotic technologies, Legal Tech, etc.

In addition, the Institute of Legal Research will enhance the practical component of its activities by building long-term relations with clients and widening its pool of experts – starting from staff members at the Faculty of Law and HSE University, to external experts, with whom the institute has long-standing ties.   

As a way to expand the practical aspects in the field of “Digital Law”, a Legal Tech business incubator will be established on a cross-disciplinary basis, where students of Law, together with students majoring in Computer Science, will conduct various business projects with the University’s support. Such efforts will largely pave the way for the implementation of the “Digital Faculty of Law” project, both for the HSE Faculty of Law and other legal universities in Russia and abroad. The business incubator can host courses in Computer Sciences, which will allow lawyers to write simple programs independently, work with AI, etc. 

“Global Law” is set to become an advanced research field. To this end, HSE University can draw upon the already established Laboratory of International Justice, Laboratory for the Study of Public Interest Protection under Economic Sanctions, the Department of International Public Law and Private Law, the Master’s programmes “Law of International Trade, Finance and Economic Integration” and “International Private Law”. Also, research in “Global Law” may help in the creation of an international laboratory regarding globalization and law.

The “Biolaw” field will also progress significantly, relying on the expertise of the HSE-Skolkovo Institute for Law and Development, the Life Sciences Law Department, and the Master’s programme “Legal Regulation of Pharmaceutics and Biotechnologies”. The cornerstone for the provision of distinctly diverse studies (e.g., medical and pharmaceutical law, legal regulation of biotechnologies/reproductive biotechnologies, legal environmental protection, and antitrust regulation) is comprehensive support for real-life activities. This field, which has broad representation globally, will likely see the creation of an international laboratory at the University, which shall be focused on the development of brand new regulatory practices.  

For certain fields at the Faculty of Law, permanent subject-specific committees will be set up, which will be filled with the representatives of respective Faculty’s subdivisions, laboratories and institutes (e.g., “development committees”). These committees will be tasked with coordinating activities in particular fields and developing specific measures for the Development Programme’s implementation for HSE University’s administration.  

Furthermore, efforts will be made to overcome methodological isolation, as is sometimes typical of legal professions. To this end, researchers of legal matters should master methods, drawn from the Social Sciences, namely, at the very least, basic quantitative and qualitative methods.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Юриспруденция

В Университете получат развитие многовекторные правовые исследования в части историко-теоретических и отраслевых юридических наук.

В ближайшие годы содержание многих юридических профессий подвергнется серьезным изменениям, а некоторые вовсе исчезнут. Правовые исследования и образование юристов смещаются в направлении использования достижений компьютерных наук, биологии, генетики; содержание исследовательских и образовательных программ глобализируется и экологизируется.

Главный фокус научных исследований факультета права будет направлен преимущественно на решение проблем правового регулирования современного постиндустриального общества, которое меняет все сферы жизни людей («Постиндустриализация права»). Основными направлениями исследований станут:

  • новое частное право в условиях автоматизации производства и перенесения основной экономической активности в сферу услуг и сферу интеллектуальных продуктов, а также их агрегации («Новое частное право»);
  • цифровизация права, развитие искусственного юридического интеллекта, большие данные, электронная коммерция и создание индустрии Legal Tech («Право в цифре»); 
  • универсализация публичного права в условиях глобализации экономики и повышения роли международного права («Глобальное право»);
  • правовое регулирование потребления людей в условиях непрерывного роста населения, дефицита основных жизненных ресурсов и загрязнения окружающей среды («Биоправо»).

В реализации проекта «Право в цифре» ключевую роль будут играть международная лаборатория по праву информационных технологий и интеллектуальной собственности, магистерская программа «Право информационных технологий и интеллектуальной собственности», а также Институт правовых исследований. Тематика лаборатории сместится от традиционных проблем права интеллектуальной собственности в сторону цифровизации права во всем его многообразии — от фундаментальных исследований в сфере искусственного интеллекта, больших данных, изменения общества в ходе цифровизации до практических вопросов электронной коммерции, блокчейна, использования роботов, Legal Tech и т.п.

Институт правовых исследований усилит практическую составляющую своей деятельности путем установления долгосрочных связей с заказчиками, увеличения пула экспертов — как сотрудников факультета права и НИУ ВШЭ в целом, так и внешних экспертов, с которыми налажено сотрудничество.

В рамках расширения практических аспектов по направлению «Право в цифре» на междисциплинарной основе будет создан бизнес-инкубатор в сфере Legal Tech, где студенты-юристы вместе со студентами, занимающимися компьютерными науками, будут вести различные бизнес-проекты при поддержке Университета. В первую очередь такие проекты могут быть направлены на реализацию проекта «Цифровой юрфак» — как для факультета права ВШЭ, так и для других юридических вузов России и зарубежья. В рамках бизнес-инкубатора могут быть организованы учебные курсы по компьютерным наукам, позволяющие юристам самостоятельно выполнять несложное программирование, обучение искусственного интеллекта и т.п.

Перспективным научно-исследовательским направлением станет «Глобальное право». Для этого имеется задел в виде Научно-учебной лаборатории международного правосудия, Научно-учебной лаборатории исследований в области защиты государственных интересов в условиях экономических санкций, кафедры международного публичного и частного права, магистерских программ «Право международной торговли, финансов и экономической интеграции», «Международное частное право». Исследования в рамках направления «Глобальное право» могут вылиться в создание международной лаборатории по вопросам глобализации и права.

Хорошие шансы на развитие имеет также направление «Биоправо», задел для которого создают Институт права и развития ВШЭ — Сколково, кафедра биоправа факультета права и магистерская программа «Правовое регулирование в фармацевтике и биотехнологиях». Системообразующим фактором обеспечения внешне разнородных исследований (медицинское и фармацевтическое право, правовое регулирование биотехнологий, репродуктивных технологий, правовая охрана окружающей природной среды, антимонопольное регулирование) является комплексное обеспечение жизнедеятельности человека. В рамках этого направления, которое широко представлено на международном уровне, предполагается создание международной лаборатории, целью которой станет разработка принципиально нового правового регулирования. 

По конкретным направлениям на факультете права будут созданы постоянно действующие тематические советы из представителей соответствующих подразделений факультета, а также профильных лабораторий и институтов («Советы развития»), главными задачами которых станут координация деятельности по направлениям, разработка для руководства НИУ ВШЭ конкретных мер по реализации программы развития.

Значительное внимание будет уделено преодолению методологической замкнутости юристов. Юристы-исследователи должны овладеть методами социальных наук, как минимум, качественными и количественными методами на базовом уровне.