• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Sociology

HSE University engages in cutting-edge sociological research in a wide variety of areas, demonstrating its global competitiveness in many key fields of this discipline. For instance, the University has consistently appeared in the first places among Russian universities in global ratings (for 2019: ##51-100 in the QS rankings; ##51-75 in the Shanghai Rating, and ##151-175 in THE Rankings for Social Sciences).

Based on the existing specialities at HSE University, latest developments (e.g., newly implemented projects and databases) and research interests of its faculty, as well as with due consideration of new agenda, key areas include:

  • Sociology of Education and Science - a strong theoretical practice is in place, synergy with both the Institute for Educational Studies and Laboratory for Institutional Studies is possible;
  • Comparative Social Research - the International Laboratory for Comparative Social Research has developed a strong personnel and theoretical/methodological base for the comparative analysis of Russian, Eastern European and Asian societies;
  • Sociology of Markets and Economic Sociology is at thecore of sociological studies at HSE University, as evidenced by relevant research and publications by the Laboratory for Studies in Economic Sociology, as well as several other projects and project groups;
  • Urban and Environmental Studies - this field combines urban studies and economic geography, which is particularly relevant today due to the recent trends in social environment development in both Russian cities and rural areas;
  • Migration and Demographic Trends in Modern Societies – this field relies on the theoretical, statistical and expert analyses carried out by the Institute of Demography, which help to identify and monitor trends in population and migration flows inside and outside of Russia;
  • New Methods for Collection and Analysis of Social Data – the development of this area is driven by new opportunities opening up with the advent of Big Data and data mining technologies, in both social sciences and expert analytics;
  • New Social Processes and Phenomena in a Digital Society.

In all these sub-fields, HSE University has cultivated strong ties throughout the global academic community, while also taking active part in prestigious conferences and publishing works in top-tier journals.

In the future, all of the aforementioned fields will regularly contribute to the generation of innovative outcomes, which, in turn, will be instrumental in the analysis of global processes both in modern societies writ large and specifically in today’s Russia. These analyses will also attract the interest of global academia, thereby providing scientific support for state social and economic policy in our country. 

The implementation of multi- and interdisciplinary research will encourage more efficient interaction between colleagues from various Faculty of Social Sciences’ departments and other subdivisions (e.g., Faculties of Computer Science, Humanities, Communications, Media and Design, Urban and Regional Planning), as well as with the St. Petersburg regional campus, through involving their experts in appropriate research projects and centres.

The research carried out at HSE University is useful in assessing critical factors in political decision-making, particularly, readiness of Russian society to meet the challenges of the digital age, changes in the structure of human and social capital, dynamics of labour relations, socio-demographic processes and the situation of socially vulnerable groups and relevant support measures in place for them.

When making projections with respect to the specific points of growth in sociological research over the midterm (up until 2024), the following criteria must be considered:

1)   interdisciplinary and multi-disciplinary approaches (working with other departments and research centres);

2)   opportunities for going outside of the “transition-focused” research;

3)   orientation toward practice;

4)   opportunities for applying synergies with active research subdivisions;

5)   opportunities for launching core degree programmes on the basis of implemented projects / embedding projects in current programmes.

The centres of excellence, now under development, should meet all, or at least two to three, of these criteria and have them embedded from the bottom up. With this in mind, the following fields might serve as centres of excellence up until 2024:

  • “New Methods for Analyzing Data in the Social Sciences”, which meets the first, second, third and fifth criteria (at present, documents are being drawn up for launching the “MA in Digital Sociology of Business Organizations” programme in conjunction with the Faculty of Computer Science);
  • “Methods and Technologies for Enhancing the Reliability of Collected Social Data”, which meets the second and third criteria (this centre will be implemented in conjunction with the All-Russian Centre for Studying Public Opinion); this may be adjusted to the needs of the degree programme (“MA in Applied Methods of Social Analysis of Markets” programme);
  • “Inclusive Development in a Transformative Society”, which shall satisfy first, third and fifth criteria (“MA in Sociology of Business and Public Sphere” programme).

By 2030, these new fields, in combination with the development of the sociology of markets and comparative social research, will serve as key platforms for enhancing competencies among students. By the end of this period, each of these areas will see the creation or development of current international collaborations, e.g., through recruiting postdocs from top foreign centres. In addition, the development of the University’s human resources base will lean on the involvement of students (interns) and doctoral students (researchers). At least two field-specific journals shall join the first and second quartiles of key databases (owing to their transition to the open-access format and their impact factor growth). In addition, by analyzing the best practices in inclusive employment, HSE University shall implement programmes to carry out extensive or express assessments of inclusiveness in organizations (“soft inclusion index”) in the interests of government and business organizations and the non-profit sector.

Finding solutions to these wide-ranging issues requires developing academic ties with both top-ranked Russian institutions and the University’s international partners. At the global level, the existing network of partnerships now covers practically all key centres of excellence in the aforementioned fields, especially those engaged in the research of social processes and phenomena in transitional societies (e.g., partners in Europe include: King’s College London; EHESS, Paris; ZOiS, Berlin; Aleksanteri Institute, Helsinki, etc.) Further development of these and other partnerships shall be attained through the following measures:

  • implementation of joint projects (under the following terms: each party shall independently secure resources for research activities);
  • exchange internships for doctoral students and postdocs for the purpose of writing joint articles for high-end journals;
  • joint Master’s programmes and doctoral consortiums.

Integration with Educational Processes

The development of research in Sociology will, in turn, strengthen such educational activities as:

  • instruction in mathematics, e.g., collecting and analyzing data with the use of new methods, as well as developing new Master’s and CPD programmes on this basis;
  • individualization of educational trajectory in order to ensure opportunities for multi-disciplinary and interdisciplinary instruction for students;
  • re-organization of current degree programmes in order to boost flexibility in alumni in the future job markets;
  • enhancing students’ project experience: involvement in social projects, field research, analysis of real-life social processes. This can be achieved by merging degree programmes with current and new centres of excellence in research.

With these trends in mind, next-generation Master’s programmes shall be designed (with expanded project components). Concurrently, double-degree programmes with top foreign universities shall receive active development, along with creating hybrid types of educational programmes. The latter shall combine components of core degree programmes with those from CPD courses.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Социология

В НИУ ВШЭ ведутся социологические исследования передового уровня по широкому фронту, что позволяет демонстрировать глобальную конкурентоспособность по многим ключевым направлениям данной науки. НИУ ВШЭ устойчиво занимает первые места среди российских вузов в международных рейтингах (по итогам 2019 г.: позиции 51–100 в рейтинге QS, позиции 51–75 в Шанхайском рейтинге и позиции 151–175 в рейтинге THE по направлению «Социальные науки»).

Исходя из сложившейся специализации, имеющегося задела (реализованные проекты, базы данных) и кадрового потенциала, а также с учетом формирования новой повестки основными приоритетами будут:

  • социология образования и науки — имеются теоретические заделы и возможна синергия с Институтом развития образования и Лабораторией институциональных исследований;
  • сравнительные социальные исследования — на базе Международной лаборатории сравнительных социальных исследований создана кадровая и теоретико-методологическая база для сравнительного изучения российского и восточноевропейских, а также азиатских обществ;
  • социология рынков и экономическая социология — ядро формирования социологии в НИУ ВШЭ, развитие которого поддерживается разработками и публикациями Лаборатории экономико-социологических исследований и ряда других проектов и проектных групп;
  • городские и энвиронментальные исследования — направление на стыке с урбанистикой и экономической географией, особенно востребованное в связи с актуальными трендами развития социальной среды как российских мегаполисов и агломераций, так и сельских поселений;
  • миграция и демографические тренды в современных обществах — опирается на теоретические, статистические и экспертные заделы Института демографии, позволяет выявлять и анализировать тенденции в области народонаселения и миграционных потоков в России и за рубежом;
  • новые методы сбора и анализа социальных данных — развитие данного направления обусловлено появлением принципиально новых возможностей, связанных с большими данными, а также технологий работы с ними (data mining) в социальной науке и экспертной аналитике;
  • новые социальные процессы и явления в цифровом обществе.

По всем этим направлениям социологи НИУ ВШЭ обладают прочными связями в международном академическом сообществе, активно участвуют в престижных конференциях и публикуются в журналах высокого уровня.

В перспективе все указанные направления позволят регулярно получать новейшие результаты, значимые для анализа как глобальных процессов в современных обществах, так и специфики их протекания в условиях России, в этом смысле обеспечивая как привлечение интереса международного исследовательского сообщества, так и возможность их использования для научного сопровождения государственной социальной и экономической политики в России.

При проведении поли- и междисциплинарных исследований будет усилено взаимодействие с коллегами из других департаментов факультета социальных наук, с других факультетов (факультет компьютерных наук, факультет гуманитарных наук, факультет коммуникаций, медиа и дизайна, факультет городского и регионального развития), а также с Санкт-Петербургским кампусом НИУ ВШЭ на базе привлечения их специалистов в соответствующие исследовательские проекты и центры.

Проводимые в НИУ ВШЭ исследования позволят оценить такие важные для принятия ключевых политических решений факторы, как готовность российского общества к вызовам цифровой эпохи, изменения в структуре человеческого и социального капитала, динамика и характер трудовых отношений; социально-демографические процессы; положение социально ослабленных групп и меры по их поддержке.

При проектировании точек роста в развитии социологических исследований на среднесрочную перспективу (до 2024 г.) необходимо учитывать следующие 5 требований:

  1. междисциплинарность или полидисциплинарность (связка с другими департаментами и исследовательскими подразделениями);
  2. возможность выйти за рамки «транзитологии»;
  3. практико-ориентированность;
  4. возможность синергии с уже работающими научными подразделениями;
  5. возможность развернуть основную образовательную программу вокруг проекта / встроить проект в одну из действующих программ.

Проектируемые центры совершенства должны отвечать или всем, или по крайней мере двум-трем из этих требований и вырастать «снизу». Исходя из сказанного, на перспективу до 2024 г. такими центрами совершенства могут стать:

  • направление «Новые методы анализа данных в социальных науках», которое отвечает первому, второму, третьему и пятому требованиям (в настоящее время готовятся документы к открытию совместно с факультетом компьютерных наук магистерской программы «Цифровая социология бизнес-организаций»);
  • направление «Методы и технологии повышения достоверности собираемых социальных данных», которое отвечает второму и третьему требованиям (будет реализовываться совместно со Всероссийским центром изучения общественного мнения), может быть адаптировано к потребностям образовательной программы (магистерская программа «Прикладные методы социального анализа рынков»);
  • направление «Инклюзивное развитие в условиях трансформационного общества», которое отвечает первому, третьему и пятому требованиям (магистерская программа «Социология деловой и публичной сферы»).

К 2030 г. эти новые направления в сочетании с развитием социологии рынков и сравнительных социальных исследований станут основными направлениями наращивания компетенций. К окончанию данного периода по каждому из этих направлений предполагается создать/расширить имеющиеся международные коллаборации, в том числе за счет привлечения постдоков из ведущих зарубежных центров. Развитие кадровой базы, кроме того, будет опираться на вовлечение студентов (стажеры) и аспирантов (исследователи). Не менее двух профильных журналов войдут в 1-й и 2-й квартили основных баз (на основе превращения в журналы открытого доступа и роста импакт-фактора). В частности, в интересах государственных, бизнес-организаций и некоммерческого сектора и на основе анализа лучших практик инклюзивного трудоустройства НИУ ВШЭ будет осуществлять программы по развернутой и экспресс-оценке инклюзивной культуры организаций («мягкий рейтинг инклюзии»).

Решать столь масштабные задачи предстоит в том числе за счет развития научного сотрудничества как с ведущими российскими учреждениями, так и с зарубежными партнерами. На международном уровне сеть партнерств уже сегодня охватывает практически все значимые центры совершенства в разрабатываемых социологами НИУ ВШЭ областях, особенно центры, занимающиеся изучением социальных процессов и явлений в переходных обществах (в Европе — King’s College London; EHESS, Paris; ZOiS, Berlin; Aleksanteri Institutе, Helsinki, и др.). Развитие партнерств будет осуществляться путем:

  • реализации совместных проектов (на следующих условиях: каждая сторона самостоятельно находит ресурсы для осуществления исследований);
  • перекрестных стажировок аспирантов и постдоков с подготовкой совместных статей в высокорейтинговые журналы;
  • совместных магистерских программ и аспирантских консорциумов.

Интеграция с образованием

Развитие исследований по направлению «Социология» будет поддерживать усиление таких компонентов образовательной деятельности, как:

  • математическая подготовка, в частности в области сбора и анализа данных новыми методами, и создание на этой основе новых магистерских программ и программ ДПО;
  • индивидуализация образовательных траекторий для обеспечения возможности полидисциплинарной и междисциплинарной подготовки студентов;
  • пересборка существующих образовательных программ для повышения гибкости выпускников на рынках труда в будущем;
  • расширение проектного опыта студентов: включение в социальное проектирование, полевые стадии исследований, аналитику реальных социальных процессов, в том числе благодаря сращиванию образовательных программ с имеющимися и новыми центрами совершенства в области исследований и разработок.

В соответствии с этими трендами будут происходить формирование магистерских программ нового поколения (с расширенной проектной компонентой), активное развитие программ двух дипломов с ведущими зарубежными университетами, создание гибридных форм образовательных программ, сочетающих элементы ООП и ДПО.