About Success Builder

How do you find your place in life? How do you find something to do that both comes naturally to you and makes you happy? The answer is that you have to apply the knowledge you’ve gained from university and from life itself correctly. The Success Builder Project features HSE University graduates who have discovered themselves through an interesting business or an unexpected profession. The protagonists share their experiences and lessons learnt and talk about how they’ve made the most of the opportunities they were given.

When hard times hit the financial industry, economics university graduates gravitated to jobs in the public sector. Denis Deryushkin, head of the Energy Ministry’s Analytical Centre, told Success Builder how an ICEF graduate could wind up in a key role in the energy sector. He also explained how to monetise research skills, why government ministries are being reformed, the latest developments in the fuel and energy sector and what is so appealing about working for the state.

What was your dream job as a high school student?

I went to school in Nizhny Novgorod. In the 10th grade, they began pushing us to choose a future path and I very consciously chose economics. That was the cornerstone of my future career.

After completing a special economics class, it was only logical to continue my studies at HSE University. I spent a long time deciding between two excellent programmes: Finance and Credit or Mathematical Methods in Economics. I ultimately chose the latter, even though it was a highly specialised programme. I have never regretted my choice.

The Mathematical Methods in Economics programme was designed for a small number of smart and talented students. We had a close group of just 20 students. But I had already grown accustomed to the ‘club-like’ atmosphere typical of the ICEF master’s programme from my earliest undergraduate years at HSE. The curriculum reflected the crossover between computing and economics, and both were very in-depth. Keep in mind that this was back in 2006, when nobody was thinking about the rapid growth of IT or how that industry would merge with finance. So the programme turned out to be ahead of its time.

Did you plan to work or continue your studies after earning your bachelor’s?

This question never arose because I had planned from the very start to study full-time for six years and get a master’s degree. At the same time, I had taken steps towards a career while at the HSE campus in Nizhny Novgorod. I did two internships in local banks, but nobody in Nizhny Novgorod knew about the investment banking field back then, and even now, it’s not very popular there. One internship was at BSGV, now called Rosbank. That was very interesting, working in a corporate treasury with a lot of responsibility. This really inspired me, and a speech that an HSE Moscow graduate gave at the Nizhny Novgorod campus sparked my interest in the world of finance.

Photo by Mikhail Dmitriev/ HSE University

He gave an inspiring talk on how great it was to work in investment banking at UBS, which was very unusual at that time. When a guy with ambition and a desire to grow and develop beyond the usual linear track that corporate treasury and business work offer tells you that companies can be sold and bought, that you can work nights and days, fly on business trips, earn big money and gain international recognition, it makes you just burst with the desire to go into finance immediately. This success story inspired me and I began looking for ways to get a foot in this wonderful world of finance.

What made you so sure ICEF was a means to your goal?

At that time, the graduates of my programme had a good reputation at ICEF and some of them were already studying in the Financial Economics Master’s Programme. I first learned about ICEF from Olga Balakina, who now holds a PhD and teachers overseas. I remember how Olga invited me to an Open House event in Moscow. I came and saw how they studied and lived. (There was no dormitory at Dubki at that time, and everyone was staying in the Izmailovo Hotel.) I met several ICEF graduates during that visit and have kept in touch with them to this day.

I was very impressed with the ICEF culture. The master’s programme had a closeness and feeling of ‘family’ with an individual approach to every student, even while the academic demands and workload were very rigorous. This was all very much like what I had experienced in my bachelor’s programme. What finally clinched my decision was learning that all ICEF classes are conducted in English.

Did ICEF meet your expectations? How has the programme’s range of disciplines influenced your professional focus?

The students of the programme whom I had met beforehand were all pursuing a more academic path, but my goal from the very beginning was to work in the industry. While still a bachelor’s student, I was hooked on the story of the guy from UBS, and I was incredibly happy with the large number of applied subjects that ICEF offered. This allowed me to adjust my curriculum accordingly. The people who taught us had made names for themselves in the finance industry. They had direct experience applying the disciplines in which they were experts to real-world business problems. This was unique knowledge that we could not obtain anywhere else and it gave us access to major companies’ actual projects.

I hear increasingly often these days that higher education is useless, that it isn’t ‘flexible’ enough and that it’s better to take two-month courses instead. I strongly disagree. I can honestly say that every day in my work I use what I learned from two of my classes. The rest of what I studied in the programme proves useful about once every six months. But that’s the beauty of ICEF — you study a large set of different disciplines that provide a foundation on which you can build a career, without having to limit yourself to this or that specific field. All the other disciplines expand your outlook. The result is that, as a professional, you can find opportunities where different industries overlap, opening up new horizons. Programme graduates can work with quantum computers or become macroeconomists, using the very same knowledge to develop in completely different fields.

How did you start working in the investment industry?

I actually started working while still a student at HSE. Because I wasn’t receiving a student stipend, I had to find part-time work. The programme provided such an opportunity, despite being so challenging and academically demanding. I went to work at the ICEF Financial Economics Laboratory where I helped professors with research projects. I worked with Marie-Ann Betschinger, and some of that joint research served as the basis of my dissertation. Meanwhile, beyond the walls of the university, the Russian economy was going through its second wave of growth.

The financial markets grew uncontrollably in 2010. People in investment banks were earning millions of dollars a year, and even for students it was impossible not to work

The financial industry offered loads of interesting jobs. Banks recruited people at huge salaries. Investment banks and consulting firms were hiring in droves. Big American banks came to ICEF hunting for students for internships. I attended all such career fairs, eagerly spoke with bankers, asked about work, gained a feel for the dynamics of the field and made my first contacts with great pleasure and enthusiasm.

I managed to get an internship in the Equity Research Department of Deutsche Bank and was lucky enough to study companies in almost every sector of the economy to find those I truly found interesting. After graduating from ICEF, I began working in the Analytical Department of Alfa Bank, and with this experience, I later joined Bank of America, where I made a career for myself.

It was 2013, the oil industry was at the top of the stock markets and oil & gas analysts were all the rage. The global demand for them was so high that they had to spend most of their time in negotiations and business trips. When you are offered a job at a leading international bank where you will be working in a key sector of the Russian economy, you say ‘yes’ immediately. That is why I agreed without hesitation to switch over to Bank of America and begin studying the energy sector.

Who usually works in banks’ research departments? Which skills do such jobs require?

Equity Research involves a small team of from one to five people per sector. Such teams have very heavy workloads and, in addition to specialised education, research skills and an understanding of the industry — especially at the start —important criteria are sound logic and analytical skills. It is also very important that research department workers can work independently and have the ability to focus on only one thing over a long period. This is because you don’t have any assistants and must complete a great deal of work singlehandedly. The university does a good job of developing this skill in students.

You said at a webinar that it is normal for people in the investment field to go work for government agencies. How did this happen with you and why is it normal?

For all decisions, context is important. You need to consider the direction in which the country is developing and the geopolitical situation. For example, the investment climate has changed significantly since 2014. Foreign companies have greatly scaled down their branch offices in Russia. For various reasons, at least three major foreign banks have completely ceased operations in Russia. However, their employees, who received excellent training and learned a systematic approach to analytics, have become very popular in Russia’s civil service sector because the government must also adapt to the new conditions.

Photo by Mikhail Dmitriev/ HSE University

Import substitution applies not only to industry but also to specialists, who are a ‘product’ of sorts. Unfortunately, there is almost no reverse migration to Russia, so the import substitution of specialists occurs between sectors. People who held top jobs in Western companies began moving en masse into senior positions in the Russian government. Many of them came from the investment banking field. This is part of a larger trend, the demand for talented and high-quality personnel with a certain set of skills, a deep understanding of the economy, knowledge of finance and the ability to communicate on equal terms with Western business partners.

Western experts view Russia in a somewhat less flattering light now than they did in 2013. Therefore, it takes personnel who can perform at the same level as their foreign partners to overcome that scepticism. I left Merrill Lynch in 2016 after Institutional Investors magazine named me the Best Electricity Analyst in the EEMEA region (Eastern Europe, Middle East and Africa). Thus, two factors played a role in my move to the Ministry of Energy: the trend in which all global banks were cutting staff in Russia and the demand for personnel among Russia’s government agencies.

What was it like to make the transition from the investment business to a state agency?

The transition from banking to government work was difficult, not so much professionally as in adapting to a different corporate culture. Working in analytics, you develop the ability to delve deeply into questions that are new for you. If you don’t do that, at some point you lose your competency. The market will quickly realise this and stop considering you a top specialist. When I joined Bank of America, their oil & gas team was No. 1 in the region and I had to function at that level to remain competitive. In general, banking reminds me a lot of the HSE rating system, which I really appreciated at that moment.

In an international bank, you develop as a specialist within a Western model of well-established mechanisms. There is a clear career track and global tasks that are solved with the help of a perfectly developed system. And then, you suddenly find yourself in what is practically a public administration startup and you need to build everything from scratch.

I moved to the Russian Energy Agency, which is part of the Ministry of Energy. There, my colleagues and I created a new division, the Fuel & Energy Complex (FEC) Analytical Centre. We were essentially building our own energy civilisation and so we were jokingly referred to as ‘Aztecs’ for a while. The core of the team consisted of former investment bankers with extensive experience. They gave me a huge chunk of the work — from project management to building financial models and preparing presentations for the Ministry of Energy’s top management.

Tell us about this Analytical Centre under the Ministry of Energy. What does it do?

This structure has changed quite a bit during my time there. When I joined the FEC Analytical Centre, it dealt strictly with the oil & gas sector. Our team at the time consisted of five analysts. Now the Centre is a full-fledged part of the Ministry of Energy. Our team now has 40 people and covers almost all areas of energy, including petrochemicals, coal, hydrogen and others. Our activities now combine research and consulting. We have two main areas: support and development of reforms in sectors where we have the expertise, as well as providing assistance and advice to leading companies in our industry. In effect, we are the ‘think tank’ of the Ministry of Energy.

In a speech to master’s programme applicants, you said that ‘there is a certain romantic advantage to working for the state’. What did you mean?

The Analytical Centre now has leverage that makes it possible to carry out certain reforms. This makes you a person whose actions can bring about fundamental changes or initiate new lines of development within a specific sector.

Working in an analytical centre enables you to feel a bit like Stolypin, Witte or Gaidar

We do not directly affect the entire national economy, but we can do monumental things within the framework of the fuel & energy sector, including at the initiative of industry representatives. The effects of our actions are sometimes measured in the billions of dollars. One example is the reforms to the petrochemical industry that were designed to solve certain fundamental problems that had accumulated over many years.

The reform was aimed at stimulating the deep processing of gas to increase the state’s revenues through non-primary exports of oil & gas-chemical products. The Russian energy industry and the economy as a whole developed according to the unearned income model, but new challenges such as the transition to other forms of energy, the levelling off of oil demand and the rise of electric transport have compelled the state to diversify its economy.

At the same time, Russia has huge reserves of oil and natural gas. They can and should be used rationally while maintaining maximum added value within the country. To do this, it was necessary to push the petrochemical industry to develop. And we did this — after two years of detailed calculations, working with various ministries, justifying the need to allocate major funding and outlining the prospects for the multiplier effect that the implementation of the reforms would have for the country.

It was not until late 2020 that the project achieved success: the reforms were signed into law and will enter into force in 2022. We can already see how one government decision fundamentally changes the strategic focus of all oil & gas companies. They have started looking for ways to process their resources more deeply, attract additional investment and create new jobs and production. This will contribute to the creation of more added value in the country, which means additional GDP growth.

Ministries themselves are now undergoing reform. Why do specialists with a financial and economic background do so well in these revamped structures?

Many initiatives and reforms are now being proposed at the state level. Fortunately, the government and various federal executive bodies have learned to speak the language of numbers: not a single reform in the country can be implemented without financial and economic justification.

That is, to implement this or that transformation, a detailed study is needed, including an assessment of its influence at the level of companies, the budget and the multiplier effect on the economy. The state often acts as a co-investor, requiring a degree of profitability from the project, or at least a guarantee that it will not lose money on its investment. In any case, a serious and fundamental rationale lies behind every move the government makes, and this consists mostly of the work of economists and analysts.

Photo by Mikhail Dmitriev/ HSE University

The state has a great need right now for people who are good with numbers and who can evaluate second-order effects, the so-called multiplicative and indirect effects with which the state can provide economic growth, additional investment and new jobs.

Does an international education offer any advantages in working with Russian economic realities?

I wouldn’t single out Russia as a special territory because we are part of the modern geopolitical system along with other countries. Russia is one of the countries playing catch up, which means it needs more world-class specialists to develop effectively. My international experience now plays a huge role because the work of the Analytical Centre is integrating into the international process.

The Analytical Centre continues to accompany the OPEC+ deal, which we calculated from A to Z. A small group of stakeholders in the transaction, that includes the country’s top leadership, makes their decisions based on our calculations. I am personally an active participant in the negotiations as the co-chairman of the OPEC+ Technical Committee, where my counterpart from Saudi Arabia is the chairman and the head of OPEC, Mr Mohammed Barkindo, sits on the praesidium. It is difficult to imagine a job that calls for working on a higher scale than this.

It’s probably nice to leave Russia and boost GDP abroad, but if you have an international education, you can also use that knowledge to benefit your own country

The next wave of projects that we are preparing to do on the world stage concerns climate and everything related to climate policy and the transition of the fuel & energy sector.

Which ‘green’ reforms can we expect to see?

Whereas Europe has already developed a climate policy and has ways to regulate carbon and greenhouse gas emissions, this process is only just beginning in Russia. We stimulate the development of climate-related initiatives and work with the relevant agencies, including the Foreign Ministry that speaks for Russia in the international arena. Together with colleagues from the Ministry of Economic Development who develop Russia’s domestic regulatory frameworks, I am a member of several UN and G20 working groups. This very difficult and complicated work involves many government agencies and will last for at least several years.

О проекте
«Конструктор успеха»

Как найти свое место в жизни, заняться тем, что получается легко и приносит счастье? Для этого нужно правильно применить знания, которые дал университет и сама жизнь. В проекте «Конструктор успеха» мы рассказываем о выпускниках Высшей школы экономики, которые реализовали себя в интересном бизнесе или неожиданной профессии. Герои делятся опытом — рассказывают, какие шишки набивали и как использовали предоставленные им шансы.

Когда финансовая отрасль переживает не лучшие времена, выпускников экономических вузов, как оказалось, ждут на госслужбе. О том, как пройти путь от выпуска МИЭФ до ключевой роли в энергетике, рассказал «Конструктору успеха» Денис Дерюшкин – руководитель дирекции Аналитического центра при Минэнерго. Также в интервью речь пойдет о том, как монетизировать свои исследовательские навыки, зачем реформируются министерства, что происходит в ТЭК и в чем романтика работы на государство.

Кем вы мечтали быть в школе?

Я учился в Нижнем Новгороде, в 10 классе нас начали подталкивать к тому, чтобы мы как-то определились с направлением, и я довольно осознанно выбрал экономику – был заложен первый камень в фундамент моей будущей карьеры.

После специального экономического класса выбор Вышки для дальнейшего обучения был логичен. Я долго размышлял, на какую из двух отличных программ пойти: «Финансы и кредит» или «Математические методы в экономике». В итоге выбрал последнюю, хотя это и узкоспециализированная программа, и подал документы именно туда. Стоит сказать, что потом я ни разу не пожалел о своем выборе.

Программа «Математические методы в экономике» была заточена под небольшое количество умных, талантливых студентов. У нас была довольно камерная группа – всего 20 человек, в этом смысле к «клубной» атмосфере, которая характерна для магистратуры МИЭФ, я привык еще с начала бакалавриата. Программа создавалась на стыке бизнес-информатики и экономики, и оба направления были весьма углублены. Напомню, шел 2006 год, тогда еще никто не помышлял о бурном росте IT и сращивании этой индустрии с финансами, и программа на поверку оказалась очень перспективной.

Что вы планировали делать после окончания бакалавриата: работать или учиться?

Продолжать образование или нет – такой вопрос вообще не возникал. С самого начала учебы я целился в магистратуру и рассчитывал на шесть лет полноценной учебы в перспективе. При этом попытка протестировать карьеру была сделана уже в нижегородской Вышке. Я проходил две стажировки в локальных банках, но в Нижнем Новгороде об инвестиционной банковской деятельности никто на тот момент не знал, как о явлении, да и до сих пор это направление там не особо популярно. Одна из стажировок проходила в BSGV, который сейчас работает под брендом Росбанка, и это было очень интересно – работать в казначействе с большим количеством функционала. Меня это очень вдохновило, тогда же у меня проснулся интерес к миру финансов благодаря выступлению в нижегородской Вышке одного из московских выпускников.

Автор: Михаил Дмитриев/ ВШЭ

Он вдохновенно рассказывал, как классно работать в UBS, в инвестиционно-банковском направлении: это было довольно необычно для того времени. Когда парень с амбициями, желанием расти и развиваться вне линейной истории, которую предлагает то же казначейство и операционный бизнес в целом, рассказывает тебе, что компании можно продавать и покупать, что ты можешь работать ночами и днями, летать в командировки, получать большие деньги и иметь международное признание, ты просто взрываешься желанием немедленно попасть в финансовую отрасль. Меня вдохновила данная история успеха, и я начал искать варианты сближения с чудесным миром финансов.

Чем вам так приглянулся МИЭФ в качестве мостика к цели?

У выпускников моей программы на тот момент была неплохая репутация в МИЭФ, некоторые из них уже учились в магистратуре «Финансовая экономика». Первым человеком, который открыл мне МИЭФ, была Ольга Балакина – сейчас она обладатель PhD и преподает за рубежом. Помню, как Оля пригласила меня на День открытых дверей в Москву. Я приехал, посмотрел, как они учатся, как живут (тогда еще не было общежития в Дубках, и всех селили в гостиницу «Измайлово»). Со многими из выпускников МИЭФ я познакомился в тот самый приезд и общаюсь с ними до сих пор.

Культура МИЭФ мне очень импонировала. В магистратуре царила камерность и «семейность» с индивидуальным подходом к каждому студенту, при этом требования к учебе и в целом нагрузка были довольно жесткими. Все это очень походило на мою бакалаврскую программу и было привычно. Когда я узнал, что преподавание в МИЭФ идет на английском языке, то утвердился в решении окончательно.

Когда стали студентом, ваши ожидания оправдались? Как дисциплинарный ассортимент программы повлиял на ваш профессиональный фокус?

Студенты программы, с которыми я познакомился до поступления, развивались больше в академическом направлении. У меня же такого стремления не было, я с самого начала шел в вуз не для того, чтобы становиться ученым, но хотел построить карьеру в индустрии. Меня еще в бакалавриате зацепила история парня из UBS, и в МИЭФ я был несказанно рад большому количеству прикладных предметов, которые позволяли корректировать свой учебный трек. Нам преподавали люди с именами в индустрии финансов, которые имеют непосредственный опыт приложения той самой дисциплины, в которой являются экспертами, к бизнес-задачам. Это уникальные знания, которые не получить больше нигде, и допуск к реальным проектам крупных компаний.

Сейчас я все чаще слышу, что высшее образование никому не нужно, что оно «не пластично», а вместо этого лучше пройти двухмесячный курс. С этим утверждением я категорически не согласен. Скажу честно, что в работе сейчас ежедневно использую знания буквально двух предметов из пройденной программы. Остальное применимо примерно раз в полгода. Но в том и прелесть МИЭФ – ты получаешь большой набор различных дисциплин, фундамент, на базе которого можешь строить карьеру, не ограничивая себя в направлениях. Все остальные дисциплины расширяют тебе кругозор, в результате ты, как профессионал, можешь находить задачи на стыке индустрий, что открывает тебе новые горизонты. Выпускник программы может стать как квантом, так и макроэкономистом, обладая одними и теми же знаниями, но развиваясь в совершенно разных областях.

С чего вы начали работу в индустрии инвестиций?

Сначала я начал работать в родном вузе. Поскольку я не смог получить стипендию на обучение, вопрос подработки был очень важным, и программа давала такую возможность, несмотря на свою сложность и высокие академические требования. Я пошел работать в Лабораторию финансовой экономики МИЭФ, где нужно было помогать в исследовательских проектах профессорам. Я работал с Мари Энн Бетчингер, часть совместных исследований легла в основу моей диссертации. За стенами университета тем временем шла вторая волна роста российской экономики.

2010-й год, финансовые рынки неудержимо росли, люди в инвестбанках зарабатывали миллионы долларов в год – даже студенту не работать было просто нельзя

Финансовая индустрия предлагала массу интересных вакансий, банки набирали людей на огромные зарплаты, инвестиционный банкинг и консалтинг были теми направлениями, куда народ нанимался толпами. Большие американские банки приходили в МИЭФ и хантили студентов на стажировки. Я ходил на все карьерные мероприятия, жадно общался с банкирами, расспрашивал о работе, чувствовал динамику этой работы и завязывал первые знакомства с удовольствием и особым драйвом.

Мне удалось попасть на стажировку в Deutsche Bank в департамент исследований (Equity Research) и посчастливилось изучить компании почти всех секторов экономики, чтобы найти те области, которые меня действительно интересовали. По окончании МИЭФ я начал работу в аналитическом отделе «Альфа-банка» и уже с этим опытом пришел позже в Bank of America, где и сделал себе карьеру.

Это был 2013 год, «нефтянка» разрывала фондовые рынки, и нефтегазовые аналитики были самыми востребованными специалистами. Им приходилось проводить большую часть жизни в переговорах и командировках, потому что они были нужны по всему миру. Когда тебе предлагают работу в ведущем международном банке, притом – предстоит заниматься ключевым сектором российской экономики – решение принимается мгновенно. Поэтому я без каких-либо сомнений тогда перешел в Bank of America и начал вникать в тему энергетики.

Кто вообще обычно работает в департаментах исследований в банках, каких навыков требует такая работа?

Equity Research – это небольшие команды от одного до пяти человек на сектор. В такой команде очень большая нагрузка, и, помимо профильного образования, исследовательских навыков и понимания отрасли, особенно на старте, важным критерием является навык здравой логики и аналитики. Также для сотрудника отдела исследований очень важна возможность автономной работы – умение концентрироваться на чем-то одном на протяжении достаточно долгого промежутка времени в силу того, что у тебя, по сути, нет помощников, когда ты должен один закрывать большие пласты работы. Этот навык хорошо прорабатывается в университете.

На одном из вебинаров вы говорили, что для инвестиционщиков это нормальный трек – перейти в госструктуры. Как это произошло у вас? Почему это – нормально?

Во всех решениях важен контекст. Нужно учитывать, как развивается страна и куда идет геополитика. Так вот, с 2014 года сильно поменялся инвестиционный климат, иностранные компании тотально сокращают свои представительства в России. На текущий момент как минимум три крупнейших иностранных банка полностью прекратили свою деятельность в нашей стране по ряду причин, их сотрудники, получившие прекрасную школу и системный подход к аналитике, стали очень востребованы и на госслужбе, поскольку правительство тоже вынуждено адаптироваться к новым условиям.

Автор: Михаил Дмитриев/ ВШЭ

История с импортозамещением сейчас касается не только промышленности, но и специалистов как своего рода «продукта». К сожалению, обратной миграции в Россию почти не наблюдается, поэтому импортозамещение в плане специалистов было межотраслевым. Люди, которые в западных компаниях занимали топовые позиции, начали массово перемещаться на руководящие должности в российском правительстве. Многие из них пришли именно из инвестиционной банковской сферы. Это обусловлено общим трендом – запросом на талантливые и качественные кадры с определенным набором навыков, с глубоким пониманием экономики, знанием финансов и с возможностью коммуницировать с западными партнерами на одном уровне.

Россия в глазах западных экспертов воспринимается сейчас несколько хуже, чем это было в 2013 году. Поэтому противостоять скепсису иностранных партнеров на международной арене приходится за счет кадров, готовых быть с ними на равных. В 2016 году я покинул Merill Lynch, получив звание лучшего аналитика в секторе электроэнергетики в регионе EEMEA (Восточная Европа, Ближний Восток и Африка) по версии журнала Institutional Investors. Таким образом, у моего перехода в Минэнерго было два фактора: тенденция на сокращение штата в России у всех глобальных банков и запрос на кадры в органах управления страны.

В чем в реальности была особенность перехода из инвестбизнеса в госструктуру?

Переход из банкинга в госструктуру был сложным скорее не с профессиональной точки зрения, а с точки зрения адаптации к иной корпоративной культуре. Работая в аналитике, ты развиваешь в себе способность глубоко разбираться в новых для себя вопросах. Если ты этого не сделаешь, в определенный момент не сможешь быть компетентным, и рынок это быстро оценит, исключив тебя из состава лучших. Нефтегазовая команда Bank of America на момент моего присутствия была номером один в регионе, и я был вынужден соответствовать определенному уровню знаний, чтобы оставаться конкурентоспособным. Банкинг вообще мне очень напоминает рейтинговую систему Вышки, которую в тот момент я по-настоящему оценил.

В международном банке ты развиваешься как специалист в западной модели с отлаженными механизмами, с понятным карьерным треком и глобальными задачами, решаемыми через идеально отработанную систему, а здесь вдруг оказываешься практически в стартапе на госуправлении, где тебе нужно выстраивать все с нуля.

Я переходил в подведомственную Минэнерго структуру, Российское Энергетическое агентство, где мы с коллегами создавали новое подразделение – Аналитический Центр ТЭК (ТЭК ФГБУ «Российское энергетическое агентство Министерства энергетики Российской Федерации»). По сути мы строили свою энергетическую цивилизацию, поэтому некоторое время нас в шутку называли «ацтеками». Костяк команды здесь составляли бывшие инвестбанкиры, с большим опытом, которые выделили мне огромный кусок работы – от руководства проектами до построения финансовых моделей и подготовки презентаций для высшего руководства Минэнерго.

Расскажите, что это за структура – аналитический центр при Минэнерго и чем он занимается?

Эта структура за время моего там пребывания очень изменилась. Я приходил в аналитический центр ТЭК, который занимался строго нефтегазовым сектором. В команде аналитиков нас было тогда пять человек. Сегодня Центр – полноценная часть Минэнерго, наша команда выросла до 40 человек и закрывает почти все направления энергетики, включая нефтехимию, уголь, водород и другие. Мы объединили в своей деятельности исследования и консалтинг. У нас два основных направления: сопровождение и разработка реформ по секторам, где мы обладаем экспертизой, а также помощь и консультирование ведущих компаний нашей отрасли. По сути, мы являемся «мозговым центром» Минэнерго.

Выcтупая для абитуриентов магистратуры, вы говорили, что «в работе на государство есть некое романтическое преимущество», что вы имели в виду?

Аналитический центр сейчас является рычагом, который позволяет проводить определенные реформы. Ты являешься тем человеком, который может своими действиями сделать фундаментальные сдвиги или задать новый вектор развития внутри определенного сектора.

Работа в аналитическом центре дает возможность почувствовать себя немного Столыпиным, Витте или Гайдаром

Мы не влияем на всю экономику страны напрямую, но в рамках ТЭК можем делать монументальные вещи, в том числе по инициативе представителей отрасли. Эффект от наших действий зачастую исчисляется миллиардами долларов. Как пример могу привести историю реформы нефтехимической отрасли, которая призвана решить определенные фундаментальные проблемы, накопившиеся там на протяжении многих лет ее развития.

Реформа заключалась в стимулировании глубокой переработки газа, чтобы повысить доходы государства за счет несырьевого экспорта нефте- и газохимической продукции. В России энергетическая отрасль и экономика в целом развивались по рентной модели, но новые вызовы (энергопереход, пик спроса на нефть, развитие электротранспорта) сформировали у государства запрос на диверсификацию экономики.

При этом запасы нефти и природного газа в России огромные, поэтому их можно и нужно рационально использовать, сохраняя максимум добавленной стоимости внутри своей страны. Для этого нужно было подтолкнуть к развитию отрасль нефтегазохимии. И мы сделали это – после двух лет детальных расчетов, работы с различными министерствами, обоснования необходимости выделения огромного объема средств и обрисовки перспектив мультипликативного эффекта, который повлечет за собой внедрение реформы, для страны.

Проект увенчался успехом только в конце 2020 года – закон о реформе был подписан и вступит в силу в 2022 году. Мы уже сейчас видим, как одно правительственное решение фундаментально меняет фокус стратегии всех нефтяных и газовых компаний. Они начинают искать возможности для более глубокой переработки своих ресурсов, привлекают дополнительные инвестиции, создают новые рабочие места и производства, что поспособствует созданию дополнительной добавленной стоимости в стране, а значит – дополнительному росту ВВП.

Министерства сейчас и сами реформируются, почему на ваш взгляд специалисты с финансово-экономическим бэкграундом особенно приживаются в обновленных структурах?

Сейчас на государственном уровне выносится много предложений по различным инициативам и реформам. К счастью, правительство и различные органы федеральной исполнительной власти научились разговаривать на языке цифр: ни одна реформа в стране сейчас не обходится без финансово-экономического обоснования.

То есть, чтобы реализовать ту или иную трансформационную историю, необходима детальная проработка, в том числе для оценки ее воздействия на всех уровнях (компании, бюджет и мультипликативный эффект для экономики). Государство части ставит себя в позицию соинвестора, требуя от проекта определенной доходности или как минимум гарантии безубыточности своих инвестиций.

Автор: Михаил Дмитриев/ ВШЭ

При этом всем участникам сделки нужно понимать, каков будет эффект от субсидий, а значит, за расчетами лежит определенная финансовая модель, на основании которой можно увидеть, как государство будет возвращать вложенные деньги. Это может быть и не напрямую, а за счет смежных отраслей, которые простимулируются за счет предпринятой инициативы. В любом случае за каждым шагом правительства сейчас лежит серьезное фундаментальное обоснование, которое по большей части состоит из работы экономистов и аналитиков.

Государству сейчас очень нужны люди, которые умеют считать и оценивать эффекты второго порядка, так называемые мультипликативные и косвенные эффекты, с помощью которых государство сможет обеспечить экономический рост, дополнительные инвестиции, новые рабочие места.

Какие преимущества дает опыт международного образования в применении к российским экономическим реалиям?

Я бы не стал выделять Россию как некую особую территорию, поскольку мы наравне с другими странами встроены в современную геополитическую систему. Россия сейчас по своей сути является догоняющей страной, значит, ей нужно больше специалистов мирового уровня, чтобы эффективно развиваться. Мой международный опыт сейчас имеет огромную роль, поскольку мы в рамках работы аналитического центра встраиваемся в международный процесс.

Сделка ОПЕК+, которая была просчитана нами от начала и до конца, сейчас все еще продолжает сопровождаться аналитическим центром. Узкий круг интересантов сделки, включая высшее руководство страны, свои решения принимает, основываясь на наших расчетах. Я лично являюсь активной стороной переговоров в качестве сопредседателя технического комитета стран ОПЕК+, где председателем является мой визави из Саудовской Аравии, а в президиуме сидит также глава ОПЕК господин Мохаммед Баркиндо. Мне приходится работать в масштабе, шире которого трудно себе что-то представить.

Уехать и создавать ВВП за рубежом – наверное, это классно, но если ты получил международное образование, то использовать этот багаж знаний можно и на благо своей страны

Следующая волна проектов, которые мы готовимся делать на мировой арене, – это история с климатом и все, что касается климатической политики и энергоперехода в ТЭК.

Каких реформ нам ждать в «зеленом» направлении?

Если в Европе уже разработана климатическая политика, есть способы регулирования выбросов углерода и парникового газа, то в России эта история только зарождается. Мы стимулируем развитие инициатив в климатическом направлении, работаем с ответственными за это ведомствами, в том числе с МИДом, который является голосом России на мировой арене. Я лично являюсь членом нескольких рабочих групп при ООН и G20 наряду с коллегами из Минэкономразвития, которые разрабатывают внутреннюю регуляторику для России. Это очень сложная и комплексная работа многих госструктур, которая будет длиться как минимум несколько лет.