• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

About Success Builder

How do you find your place in life? How do you find something to do that both comes naturally to you and makes you happy? The answer is that you have to apply the knowledge you’ve gained from university and from life itself correctly. The Success Builder Project features HSE University graduates who have discovered themselves through an interesting business or an unexpected profession. The protagonists share their experiences and lessons learnt and talk about how they’ve made the most of the opportunities they were given.

Light is a perfect medium according to Marshall McLuhan, who was the first to seek a deeper understanding of electronic communications. Modern media, however, have become the means not only for conveying facts but also for managing meanings — which is why the current agenda is shaped, to some extent, by the media. Dmitry Elovsky, Deputy Chief Editor at Dozhd TV and graduate of the Applied Politics programme at HSE, told Success Builder about the media’s strength as the so-called ‘fourth estate,’ how journalism is taught in the West, why working in Russian media is the province of the young and why the risk of ‘burnout’ is so great in this country.

Was political science your first choice for university studies?

Actually, I studied law at an HSE preparatory school with the goal of entering the Faculty of Law. Then I just happened to see an announcement at HSE that a department of business and political journalism would be opening for which a creative competition would be held. I had always been good at composition and literature, so I decided to submit my application. As a result, I scored a ‘9’ and raised it to a ‘10’ with my interview. It was clear that there was a reason I should join the department and study journalism.

It was the first class for the programme so I was taking a bit of a risk: there were no graduates or feedback about the curriculum. But it was the early 2000s when instability was still the norm. You could take risks and it was all the more reason to try an unknown. As it turned out, those years of my university studies were a heyday for journalism. Important business magazines appeared that became the new word in journalism, including Kommersant, Expert, Profile, The Firm’s Secret and Russian Life. Because the industry made it possible, part of the educational process included meetings with practising journalists who shared their real-world experiences with us.

At that time, HSE University itself was an innovation against the backdrop of traditional universities. How did students view it?

It was a delightful, promising time in general. Yeltsin had left, and in his place came a young and energetic Putin who, during his first term extended numerous courtesies to the West. It seemed that we were about to become part of the European community. HSE University was very much in tune with this. It opened joint international programmes and gained recognition abroad. Students could study different foreign languages. I understood that HSE taught journalism very differently than at Moscow State University. They had done a lot to overcome the traditional university hierarchy by having journalists and editors from top publications teach classes and giving students direct access to them 24/7. And perhaps the most innovative thing at that time was that they respected our opinions.

Why did you decide to continue your education abroad?

I made an attempt to study for a master’s degree. Then, after a summer internship at Russia Today, I stayed on there to work and did my best to combine the job with my studies, but it didn’t work out. After several years at Russia Today, and later at Dozhd, I decided that I still needed to study and chose a British programme at the University of East London. I wanted to see with my own eyes how media was taught in the West and what they think about media in general.

The journalistic environment of England has its own legendary concepts and laws that have been built up over centuries. I love English culture and London, so that’s where I decided to go. Then I had to get my employer to allow me to combine work and study.

Photo by Mikhail Dmitriev

At that time, the channel’s chief editor was Mikhail Zygar, who recalled asking permission from Andrey Vasiliev of Kommersant to go study in Cairo. 'This is a karma boomerang,' he said in response to my request. 'Of course, you can go.' Thus, I became a Dozhd correspondent in London, and it turned out to be a jaw-dropping year from the standpoint of events in that city. There was the Summer Olympics, the Abramovich v Berezovsky case, spy scandals and my studies — it was unlike anything I had ever known before that.

How did studying in London differ from Russian universities?

It is a completely different paradigm. You can’t earn an undergraduate degree in journalism in Great Britain. You can only earn a master’s or a PhD in it, and those require a colossal volume of independent work. It involves spending hours and days in the library, the study of materials, meetings with people and fieldwork. At the same time, you have access to an incredible number of sources and technical facilities.

For those who work with media, cameras, computers, archives, data and programmes are very important. Curators monitored our work, providing important suggestions and guidance. When working on your thesis, your academic advisor practically becomes your co-author, kindred spirit and partner. It’s a great experience.

British education has a certain ‘craftsmanship’ aspect and focuses heavily on real-world practice. Students are given a global and comprehensive approach to everything they do. From my experience with the West, and with England in particular, I understood one thing: in Russia, journalism is considered a creative profession, so my colleagues here often have problems coming up with an ‘approach’ or realizing their ‘idea’, and can even experience a crisis of ‘inspiration’.

The Russian journalist is in a never-ending state of creative suffering in search of self, writing style, intonation and hidden meanings

In British journalism, as in any other profession, it is customary to work out a practical approach. That is why universities teach students a particular algorithm — what you need to do, as well as when and why you need to do it in order to make your creative product work. My studies there have helped me a lot, and now, I respect and understand all attempts at systematization and think about how to apply them.

You were part of the industry’s evolution while you worked at leading media outlets. How would you describe the changes you witnessed?

My career took shape during the second half of the 2000s. It was a sort of ‘Victorian era’ of Russian media, before the colossal social, informational and ideological stratification we see now in all areas of life. The list of divisive factors includes the Yukos case and the arrest of former Yukos CEO Mikhail Khodorkovsky, the Russian-Georgian War and the constant detentions of Strategy 31 participants. The battle lines had not yet been drawn — there had not yet been any Crimea, Donbas, Pussy Riot and the other events that led to censorship and the narrowing of journalistic freedoms.

Photo by Mikhail Dmitriev

I was fortunate to spend those years in Russia Today. At that time, RT was a very cool project. It was an expensive and ambitious media startup. It had a young team that made a new product to present Russia to foreign audiences. Dozhd TV appeared a little later. That was an amazing media outlet funded with private money and enjoyed complete independence. It was not associated with any ideology at first. Now, the ‘battle lines’ have been clearly drawn, and this trend has only been growing stronger.

Which journalistic assignment played a key role in your career?

It was probably the interview that my colleague, Anton Zhelnov, and I conducted with Russian oligarch Boris Berezovsky in London. Berezovsky was a very unique person, one in a million. We had the opportunity to learn his opinion about some historical and socio-economic phenomena, and it was unlike anyone else’s. Also, the trip to Maiden in Kiev. That was a unique journalistic experience. The whole world was interested in those events, and it is tough to imagine anything more gripping or exciting. It is important for journalists to get right into the middle of events — happenings that become a part of history, and of you as a professional.

What can you say about the Russian media market in terms of career? Why has it become a place for young people to work?

In addition to the political agenda, investment and technologies influence the market, shifting it away from TV and towards the Internet. It will be a challenge for today’s students to find their place in the industry because the work is now done at the intersection of various competencies — and there are very few places that are truly engaged in journalism. There is some demand for journalistic skills in political PR, where newcomers can expect lots of rules, modest resources and low salaries. All these factors create a high turnover in the Russian journalism industry and make it extremely unstable. The result is that very young specialists usually fill vacancies but don’t stay in the game long enough to reach any real degree of professional skill.

In England, for example, you don’t go onscreen until you have grey hair — television broadcasters should command respect and exude professionalism. In Russia, you can count the number of 50-60-year-old correspondents on one hand.

Already by the age of 35, it is no longer prestigious for a Russian journalist to run around shooting with a camera crew, and if you’re not in the presidential pool by that time, you look suspicious

Because post-Soviet journalism was, in some sense, re-created, and because of the notorious ‘creative’ [read in English with a Russian accent – Ed.] approach that is supposedly peculiar to younger people, a stereotype has developed which says that business trips, ambitious projects and news shoots are for young people, after which you get a job in management. Maybe bureaucratic reasons play a role in that a correspondent with 40 years of experience should not receive the same salary as a newcomer. What’s more, many media professionals simply burn out and cannot cope with the emotional strain, constantly moving between cities and deadlines.

But everything seems to be going well for you. What are you doing now?

I rarely go out on shoots because I lead a more sedentary lifestyle as deputy chief editor. This is management work related to content, editing, planning resources and setting editorial policy. I like system management more than content creation and my experience makes that possible.

How do you avoid burnout?

I have Russia Today and a gradual start to my career to thank for that. It was a very good school. Everything was balanced and extremely professional, which toughened me up while avoiding an overload of work. I am generally very calm and resistant to stress. I remember when I started at Russia Today, I had to look through lots of videos and then tell the editor what our competition — Russian TV channels and agencies — were airing. You sit there and scan, sometimes on fast forward, hundreds of minutes of news agency footage showing terrorist attacks, armed conflicts, natural disasters and deaths. At some point, you simply cease reacting to what this all means, the individual fates, lives and conditions they represent. Such activity becomes just a job and, to some extent, this is what is meant by professionalism.

Photo by Mikhail Dmitriev

You say it was a good school. Where can someone go now to acquire the best skills for this profession?

Each person should decide this for themselves based on what they read and watch, and on their values. If I were looking for a place to get on-the-job training, I would consider how well and professionally the media outlet works with information and whether it winds up producing fake news. At Dozhd, we even have a programme called Fake News in which we analyse false news and refute for-profit media stories. In the same way, I wouldn’t want to tell students whether they should opt for official or liberal media outlets: some people like Meduza, while others prefer the approach taken by federal and municipal outlets such as Rossiyskaya Gazeta, etc. Try working wherever you feel comfortable, but work with professionals.

Are there any brands in Russian journalism that would make a portfolio worth its weight in gold, the way McKinsey does for consulting?

A young woman recently interviewed at Dozhd who said, ‘Unfortunately, I have worked at Channel One’ [a state-owned television channel – Ed.] I asked, ‘Why “unfortunately”? Why do you take that attitude about your experience?’ I am sure that Channel One is a colossal school, that it provides an enormous amount of experience, has powerful resources, budgets in the billions of roubles, and that it has excellent technical facilities and specialists. This is the only way to approach work experience and internships — any media outlet will appreciate quality experience, regardless of where you got it. Even if someone from Dozhd were to apply for a job with the 60 Minutes programme, I think they would take him without listening to the rest of it. And they would turn it into a PR story of how liberals go over to the side of the good.

As an employer, which plays a greater role in an interview — the diploma or work experience?

This is a paradox. Very often, the people who come to us from non-elite universities turn out to be better workers than those from HSE, MGIMO and MSU. Perhaps this is due to the 'loser syndrome' when you need to prove how cool you are. But yes, we do look at an applicant’s diploma: it’s important for us. It is a good start, but it is no guarantee that the person will do well in practice.

We do not expect new employees to be highly qualified, but rather, to demonstrate a strong interest in what they do, a capacity for work and the ability to work with sources

Unfortunately, it is rare that all three qualities appear in one and the same person. Strong initiative is also important. I often encounter inert staffers who, despite all their positive qualities and knowledge, wait until a storyline is handed to them from above so that they won’t have to think one up or search out leads on their own.

Is it important to start out specializing in just one thing, such as TV or print media?

Basic journalism skills are the same in all areas, whether it is TV, online or radio. But when you work with video, you also need to have visual thinking or at least understand how to construct a story with images. You pick up many professional skills on the job, but in my opinion, what matters most is that you are really interested in the task at hand and that you develop every story thoroughly. And, you should have a huge desire to tell that story.

What do you like most about your work?

It’s important for me to be the first to hear the news; it makes me happy. It’s like the thrill that travellers had during the age of great geographic discoveries. But in my case, I also get a great deal of satisfaction out of reporting that information to others and receiving a response. It gives me the feeling that there is purpose in all of this and the media is the 'fourth estate' after all. People make decisions, make changes in their lives and build values based on our materials.

What is special about Dozhd as a company?

The people there work very hard and passionately and experience strong emotions in the process. That’s why you develop a close bond with the people who have gone through that with you. This is true of those who work in the editorial office, those who broadcast live programming, and when you travel with the cameraman to a hot spot somewhere. This creates the feeling of a community and united family. Dozhd provides lots of opportunities to carry out your ideas and there is always an interest in new projects and creative people. Dozhd really shows respect for people and their ideas.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

О проекте
«Конструктор успеха»

Как найти свое место в жизни, заняться тем, что получается легко и приносит счастье? Для этого нужно правильно применить знания, которые дал университет и сама жизнь. В проекте «Конструктор успеха» мы рассказываем о выпускниках Высшей школы экономики, которые реализовали себя в интересном бизнесе или неожиданной профессии. Герои делятся опытом — рассказывают, какие шишки набивали и как использовали предоставленные им шансы.

По мнению Маклюэна, первым совершившего попытку осмысления электронных коммуникаций, свет – совершенный медиа. Но современные СМИ стали средством не только освещения фактов, но и управления смыслами, отчего нынешняя повестка дня в какой-то мере формируется именно медиа. Дмитрий Еловский, заместитель главного редактора телеканала «Дождь» и выпускник факультета прикладной политологии, рассказал «Конструктору успеха», в чем сила СМИ как четвертой власти, как обучают журналистике на западе, почему работа в российских медиа – удел молодых, а риск «выгореть» здесь так велик.

Вы сознательно выбрали политологию в качестве университетского образования?

Вообще-то я учился в базовой школе Вышки в юридическом классе с целью поступить на факультет права. Случайно в Вышке я увидел объявление о том, что открывается отделение деловой и политической журналистики, и пройдет творческий конкурс. У меня всегда было хорошо с сочинениями и литературой, я решил попробовать и подал документы. В результате получил высокий балл – 9, а на собеседовании поднял его до 10. Стало ясно – есть резон поступать именно сюда и заниматься журналистикой.

Шел первый набор на программу, я немного рисковал: нет выпускников и обратной связи об учебе. Но в начале нулевых стабильность еще не наступила, рисковать было можно, и этот факт давал дополнительный мотив к движению в неизвестном направлении. Как раз когда мы учились в университете, пришло время расцвета колумнистики, важных бизнес-изданий – «КоммерсантЪ», «Эксперт», «Профиль», тогда же создавался «Секрет фирмы», начал издаваться журнал «Русская жизнь», который стал новым словом в журналистике. Часть учебного процесса составляли именно практические занятия, индустрия это позволяла, мы встречались с действующими журналистами и получали релевантный опыт.

Вышка в тот момент сама была инновацией на фоне традиционных университетов. Как это воспринималось глазами студентов?

Тогда вообще было красивое, многообещающее время. Ушел Ельцин, пришел молодой и энергичный Путин, который в свой первый срок делал много реверансов в сторону запада, казалось, что мы вот-вот встроимся в европейской сообщество. Вышка чутко на это реагировала – открылись совместные международные программы, новый вуз стали узнавать в мире, мы получали больше возможностей для изучения разных языков. Я понимал, что в Вышке изучают журналистику совершенно не так, как к этому привыкли ребята из МГУ. Высшая школа экономики сделала много в плане преодоления традиционной вузовской иерархии – преподавали журналисты и редакторы топовых изданий, при этом студенты имели к ним прямой доступ практически 24/7. И самым инновационным на тот момент было, пожалуй, то, что наше мнение уважали.

Почему решили продолжить учебу не в России?

Я предпринял попытку учиться в магистратуре. Тогда после летней практики на Russia Today я остался там работать и честно пытался совмещать это с учебой, но не вышло. После нескольких лет на Russia Today, а потом уже на «Дожде» я решил, что учиться все-таки нужно и выбрал британскую программу в University of East London. Хотелось увидеть своими глазами, как на западе преподают медиа и что вообще там думают о СМИ.

В журналистской среде Англии свои легендарные понятия и законы, которые выстраивались столетиями. Я люблю английскую культуру и Лондон, поэтому принял решение поехать именно туда. Предстояло договориться с работодателем о том, чтобы мне позволили совмещать работу с учебой.

Фото: Михаил Дмитриев

Тогда главредом канала был Михаил Зыгарь, он вспомнил, как в свое время просил разрешения у Андрея Васильева из «Коммерсанта» поехать учиться в Каир. «Это кармический бумеранг. Конечно, поезжай», – сказал он на мою просьбу. Так я стал корреспондентом «Дождя» в Лондоне, и это оказался зубодробительный год с точки зрения лондонских событий – летняя олимпиада, дело Абрамовича против Березовского, шпионские скандалы и учеба, не похожая ни на что, знакомое мне до этого.

Чем же не похожа учеба в Лондоне на обучение в российских вузах?

Это совершенно другая парадигма. В Великобритании нет профильного журналистского бакалавриата, эту специальность можно получить, только выбрав магистратуру или PhD, при этом совершая колоссальный объем самостоятельной работы. Это часы и дни в библиотеке, изучение материалов, встречи с людьми, практические занятия. При этом тебе открывается доступ к невероятному числу источников и к технической базе.

Для тех, кто работает с медиа, очень важны камеры, компьютеры, архивы, данные, программы. За нашей работой следили кураторы, которые давали важную критику и направляли. В работе над дипломом твой научный руководитель фактически становится соавтором, единомышленником и партнером, и это крутой опыт.

Британское образование имеет некую черту «ремесленничества» и очень сильно заточено на практику. Студентам дают глобальный и системный подход ко всему, что они делают. Столкнувшись с опытом запада и Англии в частности, я ясно осознал один факт: в России журналистику считают творческой профессией, поэтому у моих коллег часто возникают проблемы с изобретением «подхода», воплощением «идеи» или даже кризисом «вдохновения».

Российский журналист – это непрерывное творческое страдание в поиске себя, почерка, интонации, скрытых смыслов

В британской журналистике, как и в любой другой профессии, принято отрабатывать прикладной подход. Поэтому в университете студентов учат определенному алгоритму – что, когда, почему надо сделать, для того чтобы твой креативный продукт получился. Мне учеба там очень помогла, и сейчас любая попытка систематизации вызывает у меня уважение и понимание, как я это могу применить.

Вы застали эволюцию отрасли, работая в топовых медиа. Как можно охарактеризовать происходящие на ваших глазах перемены?

Становление моей карьеры пришлось на вторую половину нулевых. Это своего рода викторианская эпоха российских медиа, когда не было такого колоссального социального, информационного, идеологического расслоения во всех сферах жизни. Из разделяющих факторов: дело ЮКОСа и арест Ходорковского, война России с Грузией и постоянных задержаниях участников «Стратегии-31». Линия фронта еще не была очерчена, не было Болотной площади, Крыма, Донбасса, Пусси Райот и других событий, повлекших за собой цензуру и проблему журналистского выбора.

Фото: Михаил Дмитриев

Мне повезло провести это время в Russia Today. На тот момент проект был очень классным, дорогим и амбициозным медиа-стартапом с молодым коллективом, который делал новый продукт, чтобы на внешнем рынке представлять Россию. Немного позже появился «Дождь», удивительное медиа с частными деньгами и совершенной независимостью, поначалу он никак не ассоциировался с какой-либо идеологической направляющей. Сейчас же «фронт» медиа очевиден, и пока эта тенденция только укрепляется.

Какая журналистская работа сыграла ключевую роль в вашей карьере?

Наверное, интервью с Березовским, которое мы с коллегой Желновым сделали в Лондоне. Березовский – уникальный человек, каких единицы. У нас была возможность узнать его мнение, ни на что не похожее, о некоторых исторических, социально-экономических феноменах. Еще – поездка на Майдан в Киев, которая с точки зрения репортажа была уникальной. Новость об этих событиях интересовала весь мир, сложно представить себе что-то более захватывающее и волнительное. Журналисту важно оказываться в центре событий, которые становятся историей и частью тебя как профессионала.

Что можно сказать про рынок российских медиа в плане карьеры? Почему он стал местом работы молодежи?

Помимо политической повестки, рынок сейчас формируют инвестиции и технологии, которые смещают акценты с ТВ в сторону интернета. Нынешним студентам будет не просто найти себя в отрасли, поскольку работа в ней происходит на стыке различных компетенций, и крайне мало мест, где действительно занимаются журналистикой. Есть запрос на журналистские навыки в политическом пиаре, где новичка ждут каноны, скромные ресурсы и маленькая зарплата. Все эти факторы делают отрасль в России крайне неустойчивой с большой степенью текучки, когда вакансии как правило занимают очень молодые специалисты и попросту не успевают дорасти до какого-либо профессионального уровня.

Скажем, в Англии ты не встанешь в кадр раньше, чем у тебя появится седина – человек, который вещает с экрана, должен вызывать уважение и источать профессионализм. У нас же корреспондентов, которым 50-60-лет, можно пересчитать по пальцам.

Когда ты в России, в 35 лет уже непрестижно бегать по съемкам, а если ты еще не в президентском пуле, то вызываешь подозрения

В силу того, что постсоветская журналистика в каком-то смысле пересоздавалась заново, и из-за пресловутого «творческого» или скорее «креативного» подхода, который будто бы доступен более юным, сложился стереотип: командировки, амбициозные проекты и съемки – для молодых, а потом ты идешь на менеджерскую работу. Может быть, играют роль и бюрократические причины, поскольку 40-летний опытный корреспондент явно не должен получать столько же, сколько новичок. Кроме того, у сотрудников СМИ часто бывает выгорание, многие не справляются с эмоциональной нагрузкой, переездами, дедлайнами.

Но у вас все, кажется, складывается хорошо. Что делаете сейчас?

Я почти не езжу по съемкам, поскольку являюсь заместителем главного редактора и веду скорее оседлый образ жизни. Это управленческая работа, связанная с контентом, редактированием, планирование ресурсов и с определением векторов редакционной политики. Мне больше по душе системное управление, нежели создание контента, и опыт это позволяет.

Как вы избежали выгорания?

Надо сказать спасибо Russia Today и мягкому входу в карьеру. Это очень хорошая школа, где было все сбалансировано и крайне профессионально, так что удалось закалиться, обезопасив себя от перегрузок. Я в целом очень спокойный и стрессоустойчивый человек. Помню, когда пришел на Russia Today, нужно было отсматривать много видео, чтобы потом рассказать редакторам, что есть у конкурентов, российских телеканалов и агентств. Садишься и прогоняешь через свой мозг, порой на перемотке, сотни минут съемок информационных агентств с кадрами терактов, вооруженных конфликтов, стихийных бедствий, жертв. В какой-то момент просто перестаешь рефлексировать на то, что скрывается за этими кадрами, на судьбы, жизни, обстоятельства, которые они показывают. Такое занятие становится просто работой, в каком-то смысле это и есть профессионализм.

Фото: Михаил Дмитриев

Вы говорите, хорошая школа. Куда можно пойти сейчас за тем, чтобы получить наилучшие навыки для профессии?

Этот вопрос каждый должен решать сам для себя, опираясь на то, что он читает, смотрит, в какие ценности верит. Я бы, выбирая практику, обратил внимание на то, насколько качественно и профессионально СМИ работает с информацией, не случаются ли фейки. У нас на «Дожде» даже есть программа Fake News, мы анализируем ложные новости и опровергаем утверждения СМИ, которые на этом делают кассу. Также я бы не хотел делить выбор студентов на официальные или либеральные СМИ, кому-то нравится Meduza, другим близка повестка федеральных и муниципальных каналов, «Российской газеты» и т. п. Пробуйте там, где вам комфортно, но работайте с профессионалами.

Есть ли в российской журналистике бренды, после которых портфолио станет на вес золота, как после McKinsey в консалтинге?

Недавно к нам на «Дождь» приходила на собеседование девушка, которая сказала: «К сожалению, я работала на Первом канале». Говорю: «А почему к сожалению? Откуда такое отношение к своему опыту?». Я уверен, что Первый канал — это колоссальная школа, огромный опыт, мощные ресурсы, миллиардные бюджеты, это классные технические возможности и специалисты. К опыту работы и стажировкам надо подходить только так – в любом медиа оценят качественный опыт, вне зависимости от того, где ты его получил. Даже если сотрудник «Дождя» придет работать на программу «60 минут», думаю, его примут, не дослушав, и сделают из этого пиар-историю – как либералы переходят на сторону добра.

Вы как работодатель можете сказать: что играет большую роль на собеседовании – диплом или опыт работы?

Тут складывается парадоксальная ситуация. Очень часто ребята, которые приходят к нам не из топовых вузов, оказываются куда более работоспособными, нежели выпускники Вышки, МГИМО и МГУ. Может, тут срабатывает «синдром неудачника», когда нужно доказать себе, что ты крут. Но да – мы смотрим на диплом, для нас он важен. Это хорошее начало, но оно не гарантирует, что на практике сотрудник проявит себя отлично.

Мы ждем от новых сотрудников не высокой квалификации, скорее – заинтересованности, работоспособности и умения работать с источниками

К сожалению, эти три качества довольно редко встречаются у одной и той же персоны. Еще в сотрудниках очень ценится инициативность. Часто я сталкиваюсь с инертными ребятами, которые при всех своих положительных качествах и знаниях ждут, когда им сверху спустят тему, не нужно будет ничего выдумывать и искать самому.

Важно ли изначально специализироваться на чем-то одном – скажем, ТВ или печатных СМИ?

Базовые навыки в журналистике одинаковы для всех направлений, будь то ТВ, онлайн, радио. Но когда ты работаешь с видео, надо обладать еще и визуальным мышлением или как минимум насмотренностью, чтобы понимать, как выстраивать сюжет с картинкой. Многим профессиональным аспектам учишься на практике, по моему мнению, важнее другое – чтобы тебя действительно интересовала задача, и каждая тема разрывала изнутри. Плюс – огромное желание рассказать об этом.

Что вам особенно нравится в вашей работе?

Мне важно узнавать новости первым, от этого я чувствую себя счастливым. Это схоже с восторгом путешественников эпохи великих географических открытий. Но в моем случае я получаю также большое удовольствие от того, что передаю эту информацию людям и получают ответ. Есть ощущение, что все это делается не зря, и СМИ у нас все же – четвертая власть. Люди принимают решения, меняют свою жизнь и строят ценности, исходя из наших материалов.

Что особенного в «Дожде» как в компании для работы?

Здесь очень много и увлеченно трудятся и при этом переживают сильные эмоции. Поэтому те, с кем это переживаешь, становятся тебе близкими людьми. Это касается и работы в редакции, и на выпуске в прямом эфире, и в командировке с оператором, когда едешь в горячую точку. Из-за этого складывается ощущение общности и единой семьи. «Дождь» дает много возможностей для реализации твоих собственных идей, здесь всегда заинтересованы в новых проектах и творческих людях. На «Дожде» действительно с уважением относятся к сотрудникам и к их идеям.