• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

 

Evgeny Koudryavtsev

Koudryavtsev worked at the London office of international investment bank J.P. Morgan from 2005 to 2008 before joining TPG Capital in Moscow.

He graduated from Harvard Business School in 2012 and immediately began working as the Director of the Direct Investments Department at VTB Capital. In 2012, Koudryavtsev founded the football school Championka.

«Being athletic means being successful»

Success Builder


About the project
«Success Builder»

How do you find your place in life? How do you find something to do that both comes naturally to you and makes you happy? The answer is that you have to apply the knowledge you’ve gained from university and from life itself correctly. The Success Builder Project features graduates from the Higher School of Economics who have discovered themselves through an interesting business or an unexpected profession. The protagonists share their experiences, and talk about the big shots they’ve schmoozed and how they’ve made the most of the opportunities they were given.

In 2012, HSE alumnus Evgeny Koudryavtsev opened the football school Championka for pre-schoolers. At the school, kids are able to develop social skills and a ‘sense of the ball’ using Western methodologies. In the latest edition of Success Builder, Evgeny discusses the advantages to such an approach, as well as how Harvard does athletics and why a businessman should be athletic.

What led you to Harvard Business School?

In 2008, I began working at the private equity investment firm TPG Capital, where I spent three years. This is the largest American fund with a Moscow office, and after you've spent several years with the company, it oftentimes sends you to business school. I got into several business schools, including Stanford and Harvard, but I ultimately decided on Harvard. I wanted to learn something new and expand my horizons using real cases from different companies.

Why did you decide to start your own business?

I got the idea to create my own sports project while I was still at Harvard. They are major proponents of entrepreneurship there, so I also wanted to start something that was in line with my interests, and when I got to Moscow, I thought mostly about football because I had played at the Spartak sports school in Novosibirsk since I was five. I continued playing on the HSE team and then the Harvard team. But when our kids were born, I thought about combining the two – kids and football. So I started looking for various ways to launch a business in this field, and I met with someone from the U.S. who founded the company Soccer Shots, which does exactly what we’re doing today. This is why when I returned to Moscow, I made the decision to start the company after three or four months. That was three years ago.

Photo by Mikhail Dmitriev

Were you involved in sports when you lived abroad?

We had football tournaments at Harvard, and there were student groups as well. We went to play in different cities. I love sports. It’s a part of my life, and I think that sports played a certain role in forming the person I am today. At Harvard, there’s a certain social approach towards sports, and I agree that when people – in my case, children – enter an athletic atmosphere at an early age, especially with team sports, this has a huge impact on the formation of character, social qualities, and on overall development. This is exactly why we tell parents at Championka that we are not an exclusively professional football school; we also instil in children a love for sports from an early age. This is our concept and our message.

What are HSE and Harvard's attitude towards sports overall?

When I was getting my MBA at Harvard, I realised early on that everyone was extremely ambitious, so this might be why they were so active; after all, this impacts business to a certain extent. I played squash and football, but they have nearly every type of sport you can think of there, and this sports culture receives active support. Harvard also has good sports complexes that are totally free. Overall, there’s not a huge difference between Harvard and HSE; it’s just that we don’t yet have a social education, so to speak, which is developed through team sports. This is something that really brings people together. As a way of forming a student and alumni community, this is emphasized at Harvard.

I love sports. It’s a part of my life, and I think sports played a certain role in forming the person I am today

How do you differ from ordinary football schools?

On the one hand, what we do might be viewed as something unprofessional, but our methodology is aimed mostly at teaching a child to feel the football, and we are very effective in developing this sense. We believe that the drills, discipline, and pressure placed on a child at ordinary football schools is not always the most effective teaching method. You should also make learning fun.

Historically, Soviet and Russian football schools have been more focused on physically preparing students. A good football player is the one who’s strongest and runs the fastest, the logic goes. At German and Spanish school, the approach is a little different. They give a child their own ball at age three or four so he or she can learn to really feel the football. And this sense gives the child a head start in terms of both competition and technique. Spanish and Brazilian football players are much more technical than Russian because Russia focuses on physique and running. We try to develop children’s skills using a more modern approach, emphasising technique.

 

275 000 

children from 33 U.S. states participated in Soccer Shots last year

Source

 

We borrowed our partner Soccer Shots’ methodology, which is based on the best practices that exist in the U.S. We started with this, but after we gained access to the German methodology that is promoted by the German Football Association, we implemented all these methods into one so that our trainers are able to partially adapt them to the needs of our Russian clients. This is how we ended up with our final product – a smorgasbord of American, German, and Russian techniques. You have to take a special approach with Russian clients, and there are certain things, like social codes, that don’t quite work here. For example, our American colleagues have an exercise called ‘Rob the Bank,’ during which balls are placed in the centre, children encircling them, and upon the coach’s signal, the kids run to the centre, get the balls, and take them back to their ‘homes.’ When we tried this exercise out at a state-sponsored kindergarten, the head of the school watched and became worried: ‘They’re teaching kids to rob banks!’ she said. After that, we decided to make some adjustments.

How did you develop your business plan and take it to investors? It seems like you were successful.

We didn’t have any investors our first two years, and all financing came from my own savings. The business plan changed over time, and we are adding to it and improving it to this day. We initially rented out space and launched a franchise after a year, which is an entirely different business model. But now we are more actively working in gymnasiums, and we’ve found certain ways of working with the state sector. Plus, our main goal has changed. Now we’re building our own football centres. We already have two – one in Tula and one in Bryansk. As a business, we are developing, growing, and testing out various activities. Some things work, and some don’t. In December 2014, we raised our first funds from investors to launch the franchise. We saw that there was huge potential here, but we also believed it would be possible to give some momentum to entrepreneurs in other cities who were excited about this idea.

Surprisingly enough, investors were really interested in our idea, which is why we selected two investors out of five – a foundation controlled by Petr Zhukov, also an HSE alumnus, and Endemic Capital. We liked the idea of working with them most.

There's one type of business, the franchise route, and there's another – renting out gyms and having classes there. Why didn't you start with the first one right off the bat?

A business where you hold your own classes requires fewer financial resources to launch, but at the same time you have to have really good management skills in order not to stop at just 20 locations, but at 50 or even 100. As concern franchising, it’s something much more long-term, and it requires more investments in marketing in order to win the trust of those who might end up acquiring a franchise. But ‘long-term’ is an interesting business plan because you have the backbone of the business, and additional investments into the development of the project will be less significant than initial investments would be. Your main task with a franchise is to make sure all franchises are happy, and then we can use new funds to build an even better product, which will lead to an influx of new franchises. It’s a closed franchising cycle that is aimed at reputation. It is more costly, though.

If we could work in Moscow and St. Petersburg in the same way a school operates, this would be a quicker way to see returns, but it’s important here to build a system that allows you to expand and increase the overall size of your business. Above all, you have to hand select top-notch people and train them. We currently have 10 trainers in Moscow, for example, who have all studied our methodology. A good trainer is one of the rarest resources on the sports market, and in order to grow your business, you have to train people, which takes time.

We have a junior trainer who worked as a salesperson in a store, but always dreamed of becoming a trainer

What kind of investments did the franchise require?

Around 10 million rubles. But sometimes much less is needed. We were just planning to bring a finished product and team to the market in a shorter period of time.

So do your franchises also train the trainers?

As a management company, we help train trainers on our special programme so they are able to carry out classes in any city in Russia. This is a mutual process – together with the franchises, we participate in selecting, training, and monitoring candidates after a trainer starts working, and we make sure they are always improving their qualifications and the quality of their work. We have a ‘secret shopper’ programme, during which one of our ‘agents’ takes their child to a class and evaluates the quality of the lesson. This helps us make the training sessions better and more effective.

Photo by Mikhail Dmitriev

In what capacity do you work with football brands and professional teams? How do you attract PR attention?

Firstly, we work with the Spartak academy. We have an agreement with them under which they accept the best kids from our network for their academy. Spartak also helps us organise various events, as well as excursions to their stadium. We have a similar setup worked out with St. Petersburg’s Zenit. We try to do what both parents and children find interesting, and we bring in well-known authorities in the field so kids can get inspired and interested, so they can develop a deep passion for football. That is the Championka spirit.

You usually see women working with pre-schoolers, but you have men working with them. It’s already great that they are professional football players, but they’re also pedagogues, which seems like a rarity.

 

219

Championka centres have been opened all around Russia.

Source

 

Can you talk a little more about the methodology your instructors use? As I understand, this is the main product of your business.

That’s correct – a requirement we have for our candidates is a pedagogical or physical education background, as well as experience working with pre-schoolers and the ability to play football at the professional level. This is why we opened up an academy that gets trainers to the necessary level. Everyone plays football, but being a trainer is something more – it’s a calling. We have a junior trainer who worked as a salesperson in a store, but always dreamed of becoming a trainer. It’s hard getting work experience at a school, and on top of everything else, they don’t pay well. But we give our staff the opportunity to do what they love for a good salary, and they become an integral part of the project. Now this junior trainer understands children really well, and this is our contribution; we give both children and adults the opportunity to realise their dreams.

Do you still play for HSE?

I don’t play football there anymore, but I’m in regular contact with alumni. A lot of my friends and colleagues are also HSE alumni, and we keep in touch. Sometimes I need my friends’ help as well. For instance, we wanted to bring in a strong marketing specialist, and someone recommended an HSE alumnus who currently works for Pepsi and has helped us tremendously. There is a friendly support network among HSE alumni and students, and it would be great if this could become a sort of university-wide community that everyone knows for its quality. As for Harvard, people really rely on this there. Harvard has a strong alumni database, and people’s responsiveness is much higher because your alma mater is a force you take with you, and you understand why you pay so much for an education.

How does football impact a person’s life? What does it offer?

Before going to HSE, I was training five times a week. I therefore spent a lot of time on a team, meaning there were a lot of conflicts I had to learn to resolve. You have to give up your personal interests sometimes since you don’t want to let the team down. Football is not an individual sport where everything depends only on you. It’s important from the sense of one’s character, discipline, sense of solidarity, and tactic during critical times. And if you remember that a healthy body means a healthy mind, then it becomes clear that sports are an important aspect in business as well. Everyone at work is very active and looks great. Nowadays, this is part of your social status: being athletic means being successful. This is a good trend, and we’ve become part of it.

Other ‘Success Builder’ Stories

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

 

Евгений Кудрявцев

Закончил факультет экономики НИУ ВШЭ (сейчас — факультет экономических наук) в 2005 году.

С 2005 по 2008 год работал в лондонском филиале инвестиционного банка J.P. Morgan, затем перешел в московский офис TPG Capital. В 2012 году закончил Гарвардскую бизнес школу и сразу начал работать директором департамента прямых инвестиций «ВТБ Капитал». В 2012 году основал школу футбола «Чемпионика».

«Быть спортивным — значит быть успешным»

Конструктор успеха


О проекте
«Конструктор успеха»

Как найти свое место в жизни, заняться тем, что получается легко и приносит счастье? Для этого нужно правильно применить знания, которые дал университет и сама жизнь. В проекте «Конструктор успеха» мы рассказываем о выпускниках Высшей школы экономики, которые реализовали себя в интересном бизнесе или неожиданной профессии. Герои делятся опытом — рассказывают, какие шишки набивали и как использовали предоставленные им шансы.

В 2012 году выпускник ВШЭ Евгений Кудрявцев открыл футбольную школу «Чемпионика» для дошкольников, в которой у малышей развивают социальные навыки и по западной методике прививают им «чувство мяча». В рубрике «Конструктор успеха» Евгений рассказал о том, в чем преимущества такого подхода, как занимаются спортом в Гарварде и почему бизнесмен должен быть спортивным.

Что вас привело в Гарвардскую школу бизнеса?

В 2008 году я начал работать в фонде прямых инвестиций TPG Capital, где провел три года. Это крупнейший американский фонд с филиалом в Москве, где после нескольких лет работы сотрудников часто отправляют учиться в бизнес-школу. Я поступил сразу в несколько бизнес-школ — в том числе в Стэнфорд и Гарвард, хотелось узнать что-то новое, расширить свои горизонты знакомством с реальными кейсами различных компаний. Предпочел Гарвард.

Почему вы решили заняться собственным бизнесом?

Идея создания своего спортивного проекта пришла еще в Гарварде. Там активно пропагандируют идею предпринимательства, поэтому мне тоже хотелось запустить что-то по моим интересам, и, когда я приехал в Москву, в первую очередь подумал про футбол, потому что футболом я занимался с пяти лет в ДЮСШ «Спартак» в Новосибирске. И после футбол не забывал — играл за ВШЭ и за Гарвард. А когда родились дети, произошла состыковка интересов: дети и футбол. Тогда я начал искать различные возможности запуска бизнеса в этой области, познакомился в США с основателем компании, которая называется Soccer Shots, которая делает то, что делаем мы сегодня. Поэтому, когда я вернулся в Москву, через 3-4 месяца уже было решено запустить компанию. Это было три года назад.

Фото: Михаил Дмитриев

Пока жили за границей, занимались спортом?

В Гарварде у нас были футбольные турниры, было сообщество ребят-единомышленников, мы выезжали играть в другие города. Я спорт люблю, это часть моей жизни, и мне кажется, что это отчасти сформировало меня как личность. В Гарварде как раз своего рода социальный подход к спорту, и я согласен с тем, что когда люди (и в моем случае — дети) попадают в спортивную среду с ранних лет, особенно в командную, это сильно влияет на становление характера, на развитие, социальные качества, именно поэтому мы в «Чемпионике» говорим родителям, что мы — не исключительно профессиональная футбольная школа, но мы также прививаем детям любовь к спорту с ранних лет, такой у нас посыл и концепция.

Если сравнивать ВШЭ и Гарвард, каково отношение к спорту в этих университетах?

На программе МВА, где я учился в Гарварде, все были такие амбициозные, и может быть поэтому все активно занимались спортом, ведь это влияет и на бизнес в какой-то мере. Я играл в сквош, в футбол, там есть возможности почти для любого вида спорта, и эта культура активно поддерживается, там хорошие спортивные сооружения и посещение бесплатное. В общем, отличие от Вышки не большое, просто у нас пока нет культуры социального воспитания через командный спорт. Это очень объединяющая вещь, и в Гарварде на это делается большой акцент как на качество, формирующее сообщество студентов и выпускников.

Я спорт люблю, это часть моей жизни, и мне кажется, что это отчасти сформировало меня как личность

Чем вы отличаетесь от обычных футбольных школ?

То, что мы делаем, может со стороны казаться не профессиональным, но наша методика направлена в первую очередь на то, чтобы научить ребенка чувствовать мяч, и мы делаем это более эффективно. Мы считаем, что муштра и дисциплинированность, давление на ребенка, привычные в обычных школах футбола,  не всегда эффективный метод обучения. Можно делать обучение приятным.

Исторически советская и российская футбольные школы больше направлены на физическую подготовку — хорошо играет в футбол тот, кто крупнее, кто быстрее бегает. В немецкой и испанской школе подход немного другой, они с 3-4 лет дают ребенку мяч, у каждого ребенка он свой собственный, он с ним ходит, трогает, привыкает его чувствовать. И это чувство мяча дает ему в дальнейшем фору с точки зрения обводки соперника и технических показателей. Испанские и бразильские футболисты намного более техничные, чем российские, потому что в России фокус на физику, на бег, а мы стараемся развивать детей по более современному подходу, чтобы было больше техники.

 

275 000 

детей из 33 штатов США занимаются в школе футбола Soccer Shots

Источник

 

Методику на основе лучших практик, которые есть в США, мы позаимствовали у нашего партнера Soccer Shots. Начинали с ней, после получили доступ к немецкой методике, которую пропагандирует Немецкий футбольный союз, и дополнили наработками наших тренеров, которые частично подстраивали методики под нужды российских клиентов с их спецификой. Так получилась методика — сборная солянка американской, немецкой и российской локальной. К российским клиентам нужен особый подход, и есть какие-то вещи, типа культурных кодов, которые у нас не работают. Например, у американских коллег на тренировке было упражнение «Ограбление банка»: мячики в центре, дети по кругу, по сигналу тренера дети бегут в центр, забирают мячики и несут обратно в свои «домики». Когда мы с этим занятием пришли в государственный сад, заведующая посмотрела и пришла в ужас: они учат детей грабить банки! После этого методику было решено адаптировать.

Как вы разработали бизнес-план и пошли с ним к инвестору? Успешно, кстати говоря.

У нас первые два года не было инвестора — всю историю я финансировал из собственных сбережений. Бизнес-модель со временем менялась, и до сих пор дорабатывается, совершенствуется. Мы сначала арендовали площадки, а через год запустили франшизу, а это совсем другая бизнес-модель, и сейчас мы активнее занимаемся в спортивных залах, нашли некоторые подходы к госсектору. Изменилась и главная задача, сейчас мы строим свои футбольные центры — уже есть два, в Туле и Брянске. Как бизнес мы развиваемся, растем, тестируем разные направления, что-то получается, что-то нет. В декабре 2014 года мы привлекли первые средства от инвесторов, чтобы запустить направление франшизы, потому что мы видели в нем большой потенциал и возможность дать таким же заряженным этой идеей предпринимателям в других городах импульс.

На удивление, у инвесторов был большой спрос на нашу идею, поэтому мы даже выбирали инвесторов из пяти, выбрали двоих, в том числе и фонд Петра Жукова, выпускника НИУ ВШЭ, Endemic Capital — с ними было комфортно.

Есть один тип бизнеса — с франшизой, есть другой — аренда залов и проведение занятий. Почему вы сразу не начали с первого?

Бизнес, где ты своими силами проводишь занятия, требует меньше финансовых затрат на запуск, но в то же время нужно обладать хорошими управленческими навыками, чтобы не остановиться на 20 точках, а сделать 50 или 100. С точки зрения франшизы — это что-то более долгосрочное, требующее больших инвестиций в маркетинг, чтобы завоевать доверие тех, кто может приобрести франшизу. Но долгосрочная перспектива — это интересная бизнес-модель, потому что основной костяк выстроен, и дополнительные инвестиции в развитие проекта будут менее существенными, чем на первом этапе. Задача с франшизой — чтобы все франчайзи были довольны, и тогда мы на новые средства сможем выстроить продукт еще лучшего качества, что приведет к притоку новых франчайзи. Это такой замкнутый цикл франшиз, который направлен на репутацию, он более затратный.

Если работать в режиме школы в Москве и Петербурге — это более быстрый выход на окупаемость, но здесь важно выстроить систему так, чтобы можно было быстро расширить и увеличить масштаб бизнеса. В первую очередь качественно подбирать и обучать людей. Например, у нас сейчас в Москве 10 тренеров, которые все прошли обучение нашей методике. Хороший тренер — это самый редкий ресурс на спортивном рынке, и чтобы увеличить бизнес, нужно воспитать людей, что требует времени.

У нас есть молодой тренер, который работал продавцом в магазине, но все время мечтал тренировать

Каких вложений потребовала франшиза?

Около 10 млн. рублей — но бывает намного меньше, просто мы планировали за короткий срок прийти с готовым продуктом и командой на рынок.

Ваши франчайзи обучают у вас тренеров или ищут их сами?

Мы, как управляющая компания, помогаем обучить тренера по нашей специальной программе, чтобы он мог полноценно вести тренировки в любом городе России. Процесс обоюдный — мы вместе с франчайзи участвуем в отборе, обучении, контроле кандидатов после того, как тренер начнет работать, следим за повышением квалификации, качеством тренировок. У нас есть программа «Тайный покупатель», когда на занятие приходит наш «агент» с ребенком и оценивает качество тренировки, что позволяет нам делать их лучше, развивать.

Фото: Михаил Дмитриев

Как вы взаимодействуете с футбольными брендами, с взрослыми командами, как привлекаете к пиару?

Мы в первую очередь сотрудничаем с академией «Спартак», у нас соглашение, что они берут в академию лучших ребят из нашей сети. При этом «Спартак» поддерживает нас информационно, организует различные мероприятия, экскурсии на стадион. С «Зенитом» в Петербурге похожая история. Мы стараемся делать то, что интересно и родителям, и детям, показываем авторитеты, чтобы дети через восхищение и интерес могли полюбить футбол душой. Это дух «Чемпионики».

С дошкольниками обычно работают женщины, а у вас — мужчины. Мало того, что они профессиональные футболисты, но еще и педагоги. Кажется, найти таких людей вообще невозможно.

 

219

центров «Чемпионика» открыты в России.

Источник

 

Можно подробнее узнать про вашу методику? Как я понимаю, это основной продукт вашего бизнеса.

Да, требование к кандидату в тренеры — педагогическое либо физкультурное образование и опыт работы с дошкольниками, помимо игры на профессиональном уровне. Поэтому мы и открыли академию, где доводим тренера до нужного уровня. В футбол играют все, а быть тренером — это призвание. У нас есть молодой тренер, который работал продавцом в магазине, все время мечтал тренировать, но в детско-юношескую школу попасть сложно, платят там не много, а мы как раз даем возможность заниматься любимым делом за достойную зарплату, быть частью большого проекта. Сейчас он прекрасно ладит с детьми, и это наш большой вклад — дать возможность и детям, и взрослым реализовать свою мечту.

За Вышку все еще играете?

В футбол — уже нет, но с выпускниками общаюсь регулярно и в каком-то смысле мы все выигрываем. Среди моих друзей и коллег много вышкинцев, мы поддерживаем отношения. Иногда требуется помощь друзей, вот мы хотели привлечь сильного маркетолога — и мне порекомендовали человека из Вышки, он работает в «Пепси» и очень нам помог. Дружеская сеть взаимопомощи вышкинцев работает, и хотелось бы, чтобы она стала неким университетским сообществом со знаком качества. В Гарварде на это делают большую ставку, там продвинутая база данных выпускников, и отзывчивость людей там намного больше, потому что общая alma mater — это сила, и ты понимаешь, почему платишь большие деньги за образование.

Как футбол влияет на жизнь, что он дает человеку?

До поступления в Вышку у меня было пять тренировок в неделю, а это постоянная работа в команде — там есть и конфликты, ты учишься их решать, в каких-то случаях приходится жертвовать личными интересами, так как тебе нужно не подвести команду. Футбол — не индивидуальный вид спорта, где все зависит только от тебя. Он важен с точки зрения характера, дисциплины, сплоченности, тактики в критические моменты. И если помнить о том, что в здоровом теле — здоровых дух, спорт — это немаловажный аспект и в бизнесе. Все люди, с кем я общаюсь по работе, активно занимаются спортом и хорошо выглядят, сегодня это часть твоего социального статуса: быть спортивным — значит быть успешным. Это хорошая тенденция, и мы являемся ее частью.

Все материалы рубрики