• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

About the project «Success Builder»

How do you find your place in life? How do you find something to do that both comes naturally to you and makes you happy? The answer is that you have to apply the knowledge you’ve gained from university and from life itself correctly. The Success Builder Project features graduates from the Higher School of Economics who have discovered themselves through an interesting business or an unexpected profession. The protagonists share their experiences, and talk about the big shots they’ve schmoozed and how they’ve made the most of the opportunities they were given.

Sergey Pavlovsky combines a top management position at Renova with teaching at the Moscow State University Faculty of Economics, coupling his academic knowledge with the realities of the investment industry. What does an investment director do? How to start a career in finance? How do graduates contribute to HSE’s future? Sergey Pavlovsky answers these questions from the portal’s news service.

How did you first become interested in economics?

When I was a lyceum student, I saw an announcement for HSE University preparatory courses. I attended an Open House at which Professors Yasin, Shokhin and Kuzminov spoke. I decided to attend HSE and travelled to the university three times a week during my final year of high school. Back then, the Higher School of Economics was not considered a leading Russian university. It was more of a ‘university-type start-up’ and I was game for the experiment. Maybe that’s why I liked economics right from the start: I saw it as one of the practical applications of mathematics and everything about it was understandable and interesting. When I was able to take courses on such subjects as insurance, banking and stock markets as a fourth-year student, I began to get a clear understanding of which direction my career would take.

Why didn’t you pursue a career in academics after earning your master’s degree?

After defending my master’s thesis, I had to choose whether to eventually become a professor or go into business. By that time, I already had experience in consulting and in some of the largest business groups in Russia. I chose a business career. Also, I have always been interested in teaching and am happy to teach at Moscow State University – although I do not have time for research, unfortunately.

Have you always liked the teaching profession?

I have a lot of experience, and this gives me something to share with students – and this seems to come naturally. There was a time when I lectured at HSE also, and the students were really in need of more case studies and applied skills. Of course, the Higher School of Economics provides an extremely important foundation: Irina Ivashkovskaya gave us profound knowledge of corporate finance and how to evaluate companies, and Nikolai Berzon explained stock markets to us. But once you get out and start working in the industry, you have to ‘grub about’ for yourself, and so I wanted to acquaint students with those realities while they were still at the university. Along the way, I became interested in recruiting students, although many HSE graduates already work in the investment field. And in financial departments, you often meet MSU Faculty of Economics graduates.

Photo by Mikhail Dmitriev

What do you think HSE graduates have in common? Why do they seek each other out?

I think we have similar experiences and worldviews, as well as a particular knowledge base. Another advantage is the ability to work under stressful conditions, process a large volume of information and meet deadlines. That’s why HSE graduates achieve the best results in the investment business. The only other place I have seen specialists of that calibre was at the MBA programme at the Skolkovo Business School.

Why did you decide to get an MBA?

The crisis in 2008-2009 made me want to learn about business. Skolkovo was accepting students for its first full-time programme and it was a world-class innovative project. Only four months of the 16-month course were held in the classroom. The rest of the time, students worked in actual consulting firms and business projects in China and the U.S. What’s more, we were taught by instructors from the world’s leading business schools and there was even a short programme at MIT. This kind of global format takes you to a completely new level of understanding business processes.

How did you end up at Renova? How does the investment business work?

It was the result of networking — as is often the case among HSE alumni. Renova offered a new level of challenges that I found very interesting. My current job has two main objectives: develop a strategy for increasing asset value and acquire or sell off assets. In recent years, however, the emphasis in the investment field has shifted from making numerous M&A transactions towards managing existing assets.

As a rule, an investment portfolio contains 10-15 companies in various industries and conditions. Our task is to make about a 300% return on the initial investment in a few years. The assets can be in different conditions — with some companies, it is better not to interfere at all, but simply monitor its management. Individual employees or teams are responsible for overseeing several companies. They become immersed in those structures and industries as a whole, becoming physically involved in management processes. Sometimes this immersion is particularly deep: last year, I spent six months in the Far East where my colleagues and I searched for a CEO for a mining company.

How do you gain in-depth knowledge of a particular industry?

I usually make use of online courses, although it happens that I’ve just graduated from the Moscow Mining Institute. Sometimes it is also useful to take part in various professional and industry-based associations. For example, I am a member of the Mining and Industrial Complex Commission of the Russian Union of Industrialists and Entrepreneurs. That body discusses solutions to systemic industry issues. Every industry is an endless source of interesting information. You become acquainted with interesting people, new technologies and business models. You learn from highly qualified specialists and participate in the creation of new businesses, industries and services.

What are the most promising areas for investment?

This will come as no surprise, but the mining sector is making significant gains. The latest devaluation of the ruble and world prices have boosted profitability, prompting the launch of many capital-intensive projects. The same is true of technology and innovation. Yandex, the Mail.ru Group and Sberbank – all companies that combine technology and commerce – are making substantial investments.

How can a newcomer start a career in the investment business?

Consulting firms and investment banks are good places to get your foot in the door. It’s even better to do an internship abroad and then use that experience to hire on with a good company here. That’s why it’s good for university students to take advantage of offers from the ‘Big Three’ and ‘Big Four’ — especially because reps from those firms often come to HSE to invite students to start their careers with them. Experience with such companies enables you to get a sense of your abilities and strengths, and after that, you can submit your résumé for more specialized areas and develop specific competencies.

Given the rapid pace of the change, it now makes sense to take a break between your bachelor’s and master’s. You can get your MBA or other master’s degree in 5-10 years when new knowledge and skills become necessary.

Photo by Mikhail Dmitriev

How is your relationship with your alma mater?

Like many graduates, I have a desire to do something for HSE. This is common practice in the West but is only now becoming part of the university culture here. I have been a donor and the chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Outstanding Graduates Endowment for several years, and I take part in its initiatives. The university’s endowment now totals 8 million rubles. This mainly represents contributions from graduates who themselves decide how it will be used. Every year, for example, the endowment fund awards 50,000 rubles to each of six winners of the Student Research Paper Competition, sponsors prizes for the winners of HSE Scientific Battles and pays the travel expenses for teams taking part in international competitions.

The endowment has a very long-term impact. Contributions today will help support students 10 years from now and, hopefully, 50 and 100 years down the road. We launched a monthly recurring payment service along the lines of Western charitable foundations. That money accumulates in a special fund and is put primarily into Russian bonds with an average annual yield of about 10% — and only the interest is spent.

Graduates who donate more than 100,000 rubles to the endowment are given Donors Club status. This is an ‘elite business club’ of sorts that holds both formal and informal meetings and discusses pressing economic issues and possible collaboration. It represents a new stage of life after HSE. It is very gratifying that graduates feel involved with their alma mater. It gives us opportunities for networking and mutual enrichment as well as an opportunity to influence the development of Russian education.

О проекте
«Конструктор успеха»

Как найти свое место в жизни, заняться тем, что получается легко и приносит счастье? Для этого нужно правильно применить знания, которые дал университет и сама жизнь. В проекте «Конструктор успеха» мы рассказываем о выпускниках Высшей школы экономики, которые реализовали себя в интересном бизнесе или неожиданной профессии. Герои делятся опытом — рассказывают, какие шишки набивали и как использовали предоставленные им шансы.

Сергей Павловский совмещает руководящую должность в компании «Ренова» с преподаванием на экономфаке МГУ – сводит академические знания с реалиями инвестиционной индустрии. Чем занимается директор по инвестициям? С чего начать карьеру в финансах? Как выпускники вкладываются в будущее Вышки? Сергей Павловский отвечает на вопросы новостной службы портала.

Как в вашей жизни возник интерес к экономике?

Когда я был лицеистом, увидел объявление о подготовительных курсах при ВШЭ. Попал на День открытых дверей, где выступали Ясин, Шохин и Кузьминов. Решил поступать и весь 11-й класс ездил в Вышку три раза в неделю. В те времена Высшая школа экономики еще не считалась ведущим российским вузом. Это был стартап университетского формата, а я решился на эксперимент. Возможно, поэтому мне сразу понравилась экономика, которая воспринималась как одно из практических приложений математики – все в ней казалось понятно и интересно. Когда уже на четвертом курсе в расписании появились такие предметы как страхование, банковское дело, фондовые рынки, я стал четко понимать, в какую сторону повернет моя карьера.

При этом, отучившись в аспирантуре, вы почему-то не остались в науке.

Когда я защитился, пришлось выбирать — преподавать «по-профессорски» или уходить в бизнес. К тому моменту у меня уже имелся опыт работы в консалтинге и крупнейших частных бизнес-группах в России. Я выбрал бизнес-карьеру. При этом мне всегда было интересно заниматься преподаванием – на исследования, к сожалению, нет времени. Сейчас я с удовольствием преподаю в МГУ.

Вам всегда нравилась преподавательская стезя?

У меня большая практика, есть чем поделиться со студентами. И кажется, у меня получается передавать опыт. В свое время я начал читать курсы студентам Вышки – им действительно не хватало кейсов и прикладных навыков. Конечно, в Высшей школе экономики закладывается крайне важный фундамент: глубокие знания корпоративных финансов и оценки компаний нам давала Ирина Васильевна Ивашковская, знания по фондовым рынкам – Николай Иосифович Берзон. Но в процессе погружения в отрасль всегда приходиться «копать» самому, и мне хотелось познакомить студентов с реалиями еще в вузе. Попутно возник интерес к поиску сотрудников среди студентов, хотя в инвестиционной сфере трудится много вышкинцев. А вот в финансовых подразделениях часто встречаешь выпускников экономфака МГУ.

Фото: Михаил Дмитриев

Что, по-вашему, объединяет выпускников Вышки? Почему им комфортно вместе?

Думаю, у нас сходный опыт и мировоззрение, определенная структурированность знаний. Еще одним плюсом является умение работать в стрессовых условиях с большими объемами информации, способность соблюдать дедлайны. Поэтому выпускник Вышки достигает лучших результатов в инвестиционном бизнесе. Со специалистами такого уровня я встретился на МВА в бизнес-школе Сколково.

Почему вы решили получать МВА?

К получению бизнес-знаний меня подтолкнул кризис 2008-2009 годов. В Сколково шел набор на первую фуллтайм-программу. Это был инновационный проект международного уровня. Из 16 учебных месяцев в аудитории мы провели только четыре. Остальное время студенты работали на реальных консалтинговых и бизнес-проектах в Китае и США. При этом занятия вели преподаватели из топовых мировых бизнес-школ, даже была короткая программа в MIT. Такой глобальный формат выводит тебя совсем на новый уровень понимания бизнес-процессов.

Расскажите, как вы попали в «Ренову»? Как работает инвестбизнес?

Такое часто случается в сообществе выпускников Вышки – сработал нетворкинг. Мне была очень интересна эта компания новым уровнем задач. В моей работе сейчас два основных направления – разработка стратегий для повышения стоимости активов и проведение сделок по приобретению или продаже активов. Правда, в последние годы в сфере инвестиций в России акцент с активных сделок в сфере M&A сместился в сторону управления текущими активами.

Как правило, в портфеле инвестиционного фонда находится 10-15 компаний в разных отраслях и состоянии. Наша задача – за несколько лет вернуть инвестиции в несколько раз больше исходных. Активы могут быть в разных состояниях – порой компании лучше «не мешать», но просто контролировать управление. Отдельный сотрудник или команда курируют несколько компаний, погружаются в их структуру и индустрию в целом, физически участвуя в управленческих процессах. Иногда погружение происходит довольно глубоко: в прошлом году я шесть месяцев провел на Дальнем Востоке, где мы с коллегами искали генерального директора для горнодобывающей компании.

Где вы черпаете знания о промышленности?

Как правило, это онлайн-курсы, но как раз сейчас я закончил обучение в Московском горном институте. Иногда полезно участвовать в различных профессиональных и отраслевых ассоциациях – например, я вхожу в комиссию РСПП по горно-промышленному комплексу, где обсуждаются решения системных отраслевых вопросов. Каждая отрасль — бесконечный интерес. Ты знакомишься с интересными людьми, новыми технологиями, бизнес-моделями, учишься у высококлассных специалистов, участвуешь в создании новых бизнесов, производств и услуг.

Какие сферы считаете наиболее перспективными для инвестиций?

Тут я вас не удивлю. Активно развивается горнодобывающий сектор. Последняя девальвация рубля и мировые цены обеспечивают хорошую рентабельность, поэтому запускается достаточно много капиталоемких проектов. Также — технологии и инновации. Сейчас много инвестиций осуществляются в Яндекс, Mаil.ru Group, Сбербанк, где происходит связка технологий и финансов.

С чего новичку начать карьеру в инвестиционном бизнесе?

Можно зайти через консалтинг и инвестбанки. В идеале – пройти стажировку за рубежом и прийти в хорошую компанию уже с опытом. Поэтому во время учебы стоит воспользоваться предложениями «Большой тройки» и «Большой четверки», тем более представители компаний часто приходят в Вышку, призывая начать карьеру у них. Опыт в таких компаниях дает почувствовать свой функционал и ценность — потом ты уже можешь рассылать резюме в более узкие сферы и расти в конкретных компетенциях.

Учитывая скорость изменений, сейчас разумно закончить бакалавриат и взять паузу перед магистратурой – тот же МВА или другую магистерскую программу можно пройти через 5-10 лет, когда будут актуальны новые знания и умения.

Фото: Михаил Дмитриев

Как продолжаются ваши отношения с alma mater?

У меня, как и у многих выпускников, есть мотивация что-то сделать для Вышки. На западе это вообще нормальная практика, а у нас только входит в университетскую культуру. Последние годы я являюсь одним из дарителей и председателем Попечительского совета Эндаумента выдающихся выпускников Вышки и участвую в его инициативах. Сейчас фонд составляет более 8 млн рублей. По сути, это вклады выпускников, решения об использовании которых принимаются самими выпускниками. Например, ежегодно фонд поддерживает шестерых победителей конкурса НИРС призами в 50 тыс. рублей, спонсирует призы для победителей Научных боев НИУ ВШЭ и оплачивает поездки команд студентов на международные соревнования.

Эндаумент – очень долгосрочная история. Любой взнос сегодня позволит поддерживать студентов через десять и – будем надеяться – через 50 и 100 лет. Мы запустили сервис ежемесячных «дежурных» платежей по примеру западных благотворительных фондов. Поступившие средства аккумулируются в фонде, тратится только доход, полученный от вложений, в основном, в российские облигации со средней доходностью около 10% в год.

Внутри фонда есть «Клуб дарителей» – статус члена клуба получает выпускник, который пожертвовал в Эндаумент более 100 тысяч рублей. Это своего рода «элитный бизнес-клуб», где мы проводим встречи, формальные и не очень, обсуждаем насущные вопросы экономики и возможные коллаборации. Новый этап жизни после Вышки. Очень приятно, что выпускники чувствуют причастность к сообществу родного вуза. Для нас это и нетворкинг и взаимообогащение, а также возможность повлиять на развитие российского образования.