• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Events

International Scholarly Conference "A «Memory Revolution»: Soviet History through the Lens of Personal Documents"

Organizers: International Centre for the History and Sociology of World War II and Its Consequences, National Research University – Higher School of Economics (Moscow, Russian Federation) and The Friedrich Ebert Foundation.


 
The 1990s brought about a revolution in the study of Soviet history. This was symbolized by an “archival revolution”, i.e. the declassification of many official documents from the Soviet period, which were made available to historians. At the same time, through the disclosure of personal texts written during the Soviet period, there was another and no less important “revolution of memory,” allowing for a better understanding and evaluation of the Soviet period. There were diaries, whose existence had been concealed by their owners for many years. There were also memoirs suddenly brought to light that had not been intended for publication. Along with letters, personal photographs, audio recordings and amateur films, these sources from the Soviet period allow for the recreation of a multi-faceted picture of public sentiment in the Soviet Union.

The conference aims to examine the significance and role of personal sources in the study of Soviet history. We want to go beyond an analysis of “Soviet subjectivity,” the construction of the “socialist self,” and related approaches. Above all else, we wish to draw attention to unconventional texts and personal documents, which differed significantly from the official Soviet view of reality. Thematically, we will discuss sources on any period of Soviet history, but the analysis of the history of World War II and the Holocaust in the Soviet Union is particularly welcome.

The working languages of the conference will be Russian and English.
All inquiries should be e-mailed to: worldwar2@hse.ru

Program Committee of the Conference:
  1. Oleg Budnitskii, Professor of History, and Director of the International Center for the History and Sociology of World War II and Its Consequences, National Research University - Higher School of Economics
  2. Michael David-Fox, Professor of History, Georgetown University, and Academic Advisor, International Center for the History and Sociology of World War II and Its Consequences, National Research University - Higher School of Economics
  3. Alain Blum, Research Fellow, School for Advanced Studies in the Social Sciences (CNRS, Paris)
  4. Gennady Estraikh, Professor of Hebrew and Judaic Studies, New York University, and Leading Research Fellow, International Center for the History and Sociology of World War II and its Consequences, National Research University - Higher School of Economics
  5. Oleg Khlevniuk, Leading Research Fellow, International Center for the History and Sociology of World War II and its Consequences, and Professor of History, National Research University - Higher School of Economics
  6. Benjamin Nathans, Associate Professor of History, University of Pennsylvania
  7. Lynne Viola, Professor of History, University of Toronto, and Leading Research Fellow, International Center for the History and Sociology of World War II and its Consequences, National Research University - Higher School of Economics

Organizers:
  • International Center for the History and Sociology of World War II and Its Consequences, National Research University – Higher School of Economics (Moscow)
  • The Friedrich Ebert Foundation
  • With additional support from the Jack, Joseph and Morton Mandel Center for Advanced Holocaust Studies, the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum (Washington, DC), the German Historical Institute (Moscow), the Center for Russian, East-European and Caucasian Studies (Paris), the Franco-Russian Research Center (Moscow) and the Blavatnik Family Foundation

Organizing Committee:

Tatiana Voronina, Vera Dubina, Liudmila Novikova, Valeria Pavlova.

 

This event is intended to build on and extend a series of major international conferences organized by the International Center for the History and Sociology of World War II and Its Consequences of the Higher School of Economics: “World War II, Nazi Crimes, and the Holocaust in the USSR” (2012); “Russia in the First World War” (2014); “Europe, 1945: Liberation, Occupation, Retribution” (2015) and “Stalinism and War” (2016).

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Мероприятия

Международная научная конференция "«Революция памяти»: советская история в источниках личного происхождения"

Мероприятие завершено

7-8 июня 2017 года в Москве состоится конференция "«Революция памяти»: советская история в источниках личного происхождения", организованная Международным центром истории и социологии Второй мировой войны и ее последствий НИУ ВШЭ и Фондом им. Фридриха Эберта



1990-е годы принесли с собой революцию в изучении истории СССР. Ее символом стала «архивная революция», в результате которой историкам оказались доступны многие официальные, бюрократические документы советского периода. Но одновременно произошла и другая, не менее важная для понимания советской истории, но недостаточно оцененная «революция памяти», сделавшая доступными тексты, написанные в советский период «не для печати», и позволяющие лучше понять и оценить советскую эпоху. Это были дневники, существование многих из которых долгие годы скрывали их владельцы; мемуары – написанные «в стол», и теперь неожиданно увидевшие свет. Наряду с письмами, любительскими фотографиями и киносъемкой, рассказами, записанными на магнитофон, эти свидетельства советской эпохи воссоздают многогранную картину общественных настроений в СССР.

Организаторы конференции ставят своей целью проанализировать значение и роль источников личного происхождения в изучении советской истории. При этом мы хотим выйти за рамки анализа «советской субъективности», конструирования «социалистического я» и связанных с ними подходов, и, в первую очередь, обратить внимание на неконвенционные тексты, отличающиеся своим подходом от официальной советской оценки окружающей действительности. Мы предполагаем рассмотреть источники личного происхождения, относящиеся к любым периодам советской истории, однако анализ источников по истории Второй мировой войны и Холокоста на территории СССР особенно приветствуется.

Рабочие языки конференции – русский и английский.
Для заказа пропуска необходимо написать на адрес: worldwar2@hse.ru

Программный комитет конференции:
  1. Олег Будницкий, профессор Школы исторических наук, директор Международного центра истории и социологии Второй мировой войны и ее последствий НИУ ВШЭ
  2. Майкл Дэвид-Фокс, профессор истории Джорджтаунского университета (Вашингтон); научный руководитель Международного центра истории и социологии Второй мировой войны и ее последствий НИУ ВШЭ
  3. Ален Блюм, научный сотрудник Центра по изучению России, Кавказа и Восточной Европы Высшей школы социальных наук (Париж)
  4. Линн Виола, профессор Торонтского университета, ведущий научный сотрудник Международного центра истории и социологии Второй мировой войны и ее последствий НИУ ВШЭ
  5. Бенджамин Натанс, профессор Пенсильванского университета
  6. Олег Хлевнюк, ведущий научный сотрудник Международного центра истории и социологии Второй мировой войны и ее последствий, профессор Школы исторических наук НИУ ВШЭ
  7. Геннадий Эстрайх, профессор Нью-Йоркского университета, ведущий научный сотрудник Международного центра истории и социологии Второй мировой войны и ее последствий НИУ ВШЭ

Организаторы конференции:
  • Международный центр истории и социологии Второй мировой войны и ее последствий Национального исследовательского университета «Высшая школа экономики»
  • Фонд им. Фридриха Эберта
  • При содействии Центра высших исследований Холокоста имени Джека, Джозефа и Мортона Мэндел при Мемориальном музее Холокоста (Вашингтон, США), Германского исторического института в Москве, Центра по изучению России, Кавказа и Восточной Европы (Париж), Центра франко-российских исследований в Москве и Фонда семьи Блаватник

Организационный комитет:

Татьяна Воронина, Вера Дубина, Людмила Новикова, Валерия Павлова.

Конференция является продолжением серии крупных международных конференций, организованных Международным центром истории и социологии Второй мировой войны и ее последствий Высшей школы экономики, таких как «Вторая мировая война, нацистские преступления и Холокост на территории СССР» (2012), «Россия в Первой мировой войне» (2014), «Европа, 1945: Освобождение. Оккупация. Возмездие» (2015), «Сталинизм и война (2016).