• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site
National Research University Higher School of EconomicsStudent ThesesAmerican Stock Market Effectiveness Assessment: testing on S&P500.

Student
Title
Supervisor
Faculty
Educational Programme
Final Grade
Year of Graduation
Elena Grebenkova
American Stock Market Effectiveness Assessment: testing on S&P500.
Finance
(Master’s programme)
2017
This master thesis discusses the hypothesis of the effective market, its main prerequisites, forms and empirical and theoretical criticism of this hypothesis. The hypothesis of the effective market assumes that the market completely reflects all information which is available on the market, at the same time the weak form of EMH assumes that the price of assets reflect all previously known information, the semi-strong form assumes that the price of assets reflect all publicly available information, and the strong form assumes that the price of assets reflect all information, including insider information.

In the master thesis the three forms of efficiency of the stock market of the United States of America were tested on the example of the S&P500. The weak form of efficiency was tested by econometric tests (the test of series and the expanded test of Dickey-Fuller) which have confirmed the efficiency of the American stock market in the weak form. Moreover, the research provides with the study of main types of calendar anomalies. The semi-strong form of efficiency was tested by building up the portfolios of shares on the basis of P/E coefficient and analysis of the profitability of these portfolios. The strong form of efficiency was tested with the help of correlation and regression analysis, which study whether there is the influence between the recommendations of the analytical agencies and shares' profitability. The number of pages in work - 71, there are 25 tables and 8 graphs in the master thesis. 38 sources of literature have been used .

Keywords: effective market hypothesis; behavioral finance; stock market anomalies; USA stock market; S&P500.

Student Theses at HSE must be completed in accordance with the University Rules and Regulations specified by each educational programme.

Summaries of all theses must be published and made freely available on the HSE website.

The full text of a thesis can be published in open access on the HSE website only if the authoring student (copyright holder) agrees, or, if the thesis was written by a team of students, if all the co-authors (copyright holders) agree. After a thesis is published on the HSE website, it obtains the status of an online publication.

Student theses are objects of copyright and their use is subject to limitations in accordance with the Russian Federation’s law on intellectual property.

In the event that a thesis is quoted or otherwise used, reference to the author’s name and the source of quotation is required.

Search all student theses

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта
ФИО студента
Название работы
Руководитель
Факультет
Программа
Оценка
Год защиты
Гребенькова Елена Сергеевна
Оценивание эффективности американского фондового рынка: тестирование на примере S&P500.
Финансы
(Магистратура)
2017
В данной магистерской диссертации рассматривается гипотеза эффективного рынка, её основные предпосылки, формы, эмпирическая и теоретическая критика данной гипотезы. Гипотеза эффективного рынка предполагает, что рынок полностью отражает всю имеющуюся на нём информацию, при этом в слабой форме цены на активы отражают всю ранее известную информацию, в полусильной форме – всю публично доступную информацию, а в сильной форме – всю информацию, включая инсайдерскую.

В работе проведено исследование каждой из трёх форм эффективности фондового рынка Соединённых Штатов Америки на примере индекса S&P500. Тестирование слабой формы эффективности проведено с помощью эконометрических тестов (тест серий и расширенный тест Дики-Фуллера), которые подтвердили эффективность американского фондового рынка в слабой форме. Кроме того в работе проанализированы основные типы календарных аномалий. Полусильная форма эффективности протестирована с помощью составления портфелей акций на основании коэффициента P/E. Сильная форма эффективности проверялась с помощью корреляционного и регрессионного анализа влияния рекомендаций аналитических агентств на доходность акций. Количество страниц в работе - 65, в тексте работы присутствует 25 таблиц, 8 рисунков. Для написания работы было использовано 38 источников литературы.

Ключевые слова: гипотеза эффективного рынка; теория поведенческих финансов; аномалии фондового рынка; фондовый рынок США; S&P500.

Выпускные квалификационные работы (ВКР) в НИУ ВШЭ выполняют все студенты в соответствии с университетским Положением и Правилами, определенными каждой образовательной программой.

Аннотации всех ВКР в обязательном порядке публикуются в свободном доступе на корпоративном портале НИУ ВШЭ.

Полный текст ВКР размещается в свободном доступе на портале НИУ ВШЭ только при наличии согласия студента – автора (правообладателя) работы либо, в случае выполнения работы коллективом студентов, при наличии согласия всех соавторов (правообладателей) работы. ВКР после размещения на портале НИУ ВШЭ приобретает статус электронной публикации.

ВКР являются объектами авторских прав, на их использование распространяются ограничения, предусмотренные законодательством Российской Федерации об интеллектуальной собственности.

В случае использования ВКР, в том числе путем цитирования, указание имени автора и источника заимствования обязательно.

Расширенный поиск ВКР