• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

For several hundred years Izmailovo Manor belonged to the imperial court. Russian tsars and their attendants hunted in the surrounding groves, and the area received the official status of the Moscow region after the revolution. Eventually factories and workers' settlements would be erected in place of the area’s trees and swamps. One of these factories was not like the others; it produced not machines or equipment, but answers to a number of questions.

The Tsar’s Road

The location of the Higher School of Economics’ modern day building complex was in medieval times the Izmailovo estate near Moscow. The estate’s territory was enormous, which indicated the higher status of its owners. In the XVI century Izmailovo belonged to the brother of one of Ivan the Terrible’s wives – Nikita Romanovich Yuriev. Nikita Romanovich’s son, Ivan Nikitich Romanov, owned the estate until 1640, around which time it was placed under royal ownership. Since that time and up until the middle of the XIX century, there was not a single Russian tsar or emperor who did not devote attention to the location.

The manor itself is located on an island more to the northeast of HSE’s present day Izmailovo complex. The only road that used to go from Moscow to the manor extended almost exactly along today’s Izmaylovskoye Shosse. The manor was mostly in use in the spring and summer, when the court left the city. In winter and autumn, it was used for shorter periods of time, mainly for hunting.

Izmailovo. Emperor Peter II departing for falconry
c. 1727-1729. Artist I.F. Zubov

Another toponym of the area is Sokolinaya Gora (Falcon Mountain). The name is directly related to hunting. A vast grove used to be located near the current metro station Semyonovskaya. A falcon yard was built in the grove for the amusement of Tsar Alexei Mikhailovich, who was an avid hunter. Almost all the Romanovs and their royal attendants loved falconry, hound hunting and hunting in general. Historian M. Khmyrov has a description of one of their typical hunting trips: ‘On the set day, at dawn, the hunting horns were already being blown joyously from the yard of the prince-caesar. Dozens of hound hunters, falconers, and falconer assistants, all on mountain horses, grouped together at the gates of the caesar... On the bows of one of the hunters jumped packs of dogs; others...kept elegant Siberian falcons, in velvet rufter-hoods embroidered in gold, silver and silk, with bells on their necks. The prince-caesar, informed that everything is ready, leaves his gates on an Arabian stallion. Throwing a glance on all the hunt, the makeup of which, with guests, sometimes reached up to 500 people, the prince gave the sign. And everyone went behind him to Kolomensky or Izmailovo, surprising those who cross paths with the shine of a train. The convoy stretched in a long tail behind.’

Based on the descriptions of the hunting trips of Peter II from Izmailovo and Alexei Mikhailovich from the Kremlin, one can imagine all the pomp and grandeur of the event.

Izmailovo had an enormous number of bodies of water, both artificial and natural, including many swamps. One of such swamps was called Blagusha, which was surrounded by a grove and is located in the immediate vicinity of HSE’s present day buildings.

Blagushenskaya Grove was under the protection of the court administration for quite some time. This area was previously not part of Moscow. The territory stretching along the road from the village of Semenovski to Izmailovo Park was not built up and kept its fields and gardens. Only at the beginning of the XX century was this part of the former royal road included in the police boundaries of the city, and the location became a full-fledged district of Moscow in just 1917.

Topographic plan of Moscow. 1838. In the center of the map is Blagusha Swamp. The lower road, running from the west to the east is present-day Izmaylovskoye Shosse. A little to the right of its bend is the Izmailovo Complex of the Higher School of Economics

As the city approached the territory, many factories appeared – factories that mostly produced textiles, brick or tin – as did smaller workshops and clay quarries. Workers lived in barracks and dormitories. The buildings, which were mostly wooden, consisted of one or two floors with no running water or sewerage. At the end of the XIX century the area became a typical working-class suburb. Construction was carried out at random, streets were virtually nonexistent, many water reservoirs were contaminated with industrial waste, and there was no lighting.

A wooden house with carved window casings that stood across the street from HSE’s Izmailovo compleshox also dates back to this time. According to some accounts, revolutionary Pyotr Shcherbakov lived in the workers’ barracks that were located here. He was a member of the Blagusha-Lefortovo Russian Social Democratic Labour Party (B) and created divisions of the Red Guard at enterprises of the Blagushe-Lefortovo district. Shcherbakov died in November 1917 at the age of 30 during fighting on the streets of Moscow. He was buried in the Kremlin Wall Necropolis, and in 1922, the street that lies close to the house was named after him.

House wherein lived revolutionary P.P. Shcherbakov. View from a building in the Izmailovo Complex of the Higher School of Economics
2014

It was decided in 1897 to build up and bring order to the Blagusha district. The chief of forestry in Izmailovo, Dmitri Ivanovich Mochalsky, was tasked with developing a street plan. He was assisted by Fortunatov (engineer), Mironov (surveyor), Davydov (record keeper), Borisov (foreman) and chief of the Udelnoye Vedomstvo, Velyaminov. The Blagusha district was separated into blocks of perpendicular streets. The main ones ran from the city to the outskirts and were named after great princes: Mikhailovskaya (now Shcherbakovskaya), Alekseyevskaya (Zverinetskaya) and Petrovskaya, which became Kirpichnaya in the Soviet period. And perpendicular to these were streets named after all the planners. Some of them now hold the same name, for example, Velyaminovskaya Street. There is also a Blagusha Street.

Calculation Center

In 1931, under the Central Administration of Economic Accounting of Gosplan, it was decided to create Moscow's first mechanized calculation centre. It opened a year later on Kirpichnaya Street. This led to a change in the entire region's status — it became one of the capital’s scientific centers.

In his book, How Machines Compute, M.S. Tukachinsky writes: ‘In Moscow, on Kirpichnaya Street, stands a four-storey building with large windows. At the entrance is the sign: First Moscow Factory of Mechanized Calculation under the management of ‘Soyuzmashuchyot’ of the USSR’s CSD. A factory of calculation! Its raw materials are numbers as the task; its product – numbers as the solution. In addition, this is a real factory with several hundred different machines that perform millions of calculations per day — a plant in which, as at any factory, each new job is preceded by the process of designing and developing technology.’

One of the tasks of the mechanized calculation centre was to process national census data. All information was received in the computing center in the form of paper documents. The further treatment process was divided into three stages: the primary processing of the documents, the preparation of the computer medium — most often these were punch cards — and the actual data processing, as well as verification and formatting. Enormous machines took up entire rooms and carried out all three stages of the process.

The calculation centre’s current address is Izmaylovskoye Shosse, 44, building 2, and it is now one of the Higher School of Economics’ buildings.

The four-storey façade of the building faces Kirpichnaya Street, and the walls are plastered with imitation stone. The lower level has horizontal corbels and is darker in colour. Several vertical flat blades extend along the centre façade.

Its simplicity, and even a certain severity in its design, is compensated for by the rhythm of similar large square windows placed on the end and on the main façades. It is as if the house is made of cubes of windows. It is through these numerous windows that the building is filled with light and air.

From the yard to the rectangular sections of the building, two additional sections were symmetrically built on, both narrower and higher, with small windows. They had a secondary, utility-based purpose. One of the projections also has a metal boiler tube.

The internal arrangement of Moscow’s first mechanized calculation centre fits its productive purpose. It has extensive halls with several rows of square columns. The light in the rooms comes in from three sides, and the ceilings have low wooden beams. Under multiple layers of wallpaper from various points in time, a fragment of the original design of the interfenestrial wall was found coated with a fine-brush picture. The fragment is too small to say with certainty that the centre’s walls were wallpapered, but the idea itself is extremely interesting.

The freight elevator opens directly into the halls, which was necessary for delivering calculation equipment.

The building still has staircases reminiscent of the 1930s. This includes staircase lattices with curving wooden railing, as well as doors exiting to landings and the floor of the staircase landings themselves. An original mosaic of simple geometric shapes made from granite chips and set in a dyed concrete mix also gives the building a 1930s touch. Similar mosaics were widely used in the interiors of 1930s training and factory buildings.

The building is currently under renovation. There are now completely different requirements for educational facilities.

View of Izmaylovskoye Shosse and GMTs Rosstata (on the right) from a window of the top floor of building No. 33 along Kirpichnaya Street
2014

Next to the main building is a smaller auxiliary building of the former centre. This building is also part of HSE's current Izmailovo complex. The current address is 44 Izmaylovskoye Shosse, building 1. This two-storey building has traces of Soviet times. The first floor entrance door is particularly noteworthy.

Moscow’s first mechanized calculation centre was joined with the Central Statistical Administration of the USSR in 1964. Four years later, construction began on a 110-meter high skyscraper of the main calculation centre of the Central Statistical Administration and was completed in 1980. The vertical structure towered over all the buildings on neighboring streets. A single organization was ultimately created – the Main Calculation Centre of the USSR’s Central Statistical Administration – which after many years of transformations was renamed the Prime Interregional Centre of Information Processing and Dissemination' of the Federal State Service for Statistics (GMC of the ROSSTAT) in 2005. At the same time, construction began on another building – No. 33 on Kirmichnaya Street. This comfortable modern building with its spacious halls and offices completed a complex of compactly located Calculation Centre buildings.

Three of the four buildings currently belong to the Higher School of Economics, including two buildings of the former mechanized calculation centre (44 Izmaylovskoye Shosse, buildings 1 and 2) and the new nine-storey building at 33 Kirpichnaya Street.

 

HSE has had 44 Izmaylovskoye Shosse, building 1, since 2005; 33 Kirpichnaya Street since 2006; and 44 Izmaylovskoye Shosse, building 2, since 2008. The following institutions are situated here:

Business Incubator, Office of Information Technology Office of Postgraduate Studies  International Laboratory for Applied Network ResearchFaculty of Business InformaticsFaculty of ManagementHSE Library.

 

Author: Anastasia A. Solovyova
Art historian, historian of Moscow. Author of Litsa rossiiskoi istorii: kolleksia portretov (Faces of Russian History: A Collection of Portraits); director of a film-walk Ot Kremlya do Novodevichy (From the Kremlin to Novodevichy), 1997; Research editor on Lubiansky Triugolnik (Lubianka Triangle), by A.V. Kolosov. Anastasia Solovyova has studied and written about the bells of Moscow and is a tour guide for ‘Moscow that isn’t there’ and a contributing author to the website ‘Get to know Moscow’.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Измайловский комплекс

Вышка.Фундамент


На протяжении нескольких сотен лет усадьба Измайлово принадлежала императорскому двору. В окрестных рощах охотились русские цари и их приближенные. После революции эта местность получила официальный статус московского района. На месте рощ и болот выросли заводы, фабрики и рабочие поселки. Одна из фабрик не была похожа на другие: она производила ответы на вопросы.

Царская дорога

Место, где расположен комплекс зданий Высшей школы экономики, в древности было подмосковной вотчиной Измайлово. Территория ее была огромна, что говорит о высоком статусе владельцев. В XVI веке Измайлово принадлежало брату одной из жен царя Ивана Грозного — Никите Романовичу Юрьеву. До 1640 года вотчина находилась у его сына Ивана Никитича Романова, а в середине XVII века Измайлово перешло в царские владения. С этого времени своим вниманием его не оставлял ни один российский царь или император вплоть до середины XIX века.

Сама усадьба находится на острове северо-восточнее современного Измайловского комплекса НИУ ВШЭ. Единственная дорога, которая вела из Москвы в усадьбу, проходила почти в точности по нынешнему Измайловскому шоссе. Усадьба использовалась в основном весной и летом, когда двор переселялся за город. А зимой и осенью сюда приезжали на время, в основном для охоты.

Измайлово. Отъезд императора Петра II на соколиную охоту
Около 1727-1729 гг., худ. И.Ф. Зубов

Еще один топоним местности — Соколиная гора. Название непосредственно связано с охотой. Поблизости от нынешней станции метро «Семеновская» была обширная роща. В ней для страстного охотника царя Алексея Михайловича был построен потешный соколиный двор, где содержали птиц. Соколиную охоту, псовую охоту и охоту вообще любили практически все Романовы и их приближенные. У историка М.Д. Хмырова есть описание одного из типичных выездов на охоту: «В назначенный день, на заре, уже весело трубили роги с охотничьего двора князя-кесаря. Десятки ловчих, сокольничих, подсокольничих, поддатней, все на горских конях, сгруппировывались у ворот кесаря… На смычках одной части охотников прыгали своры собак; другие… держали нарядных сибирских кречетов, в вышитых золотом, серебром и шелками бархатных клобучках, с бубенчиками на шейках. Князь-кесарь, извещенный, что все готово, выезжал из своих ворот на арабском жеребце. Окинув глазом всю охоту, личный состав которой, с гостями, доходил иногда до 500 человек, князь подавал знак. И все направлялись за ним к Коломенскому или Измайлову, удивляя встречных и поперечных блеском поезда. Сзади длинным хвостом вытягивался обоз».

По имеющимся изображениям охотничьих выездов Петра II из Измайлово и Алексея Михайловича из Кремля можно попытаться представить всю пышность и грандиозность этого мероприятия.

В Измайлово было огромное количество водоемов, как искусственных, так и природных, в том числе много болот. Одно из них — Благуша, окруженное рощей, располагалось в непосредственной близости от нынешнего комплекса зданий НИУ ВШЭ.

Благушенская роща долгое время находилась под защитой дворцового ведомства. Тогда эта местность не входила в состав Москвы. Территория вдоль дороги от села Семеновского до Измайловского парка не застраивалась, сохраняя поля и огороды. Лишь в начале XX века эта часть бывшей царской дороги была включена в полицейские границы города, и только в 1917 году стала полноценным районом Москвы.

Топографический план Москвы. 1838 г. В центре карты — болото Благуша. Нижняя дорога, идущая с запада на восток, — нынешнее Измайловское шоссе. Чуть правее его изгиба сейчас находится Измайловский комплекс НИУ ВШЭ

С приближением города здесь появились фабрики, в основном текстильные, заводы — кирпичные, жестяные, а также мелкие мастерские и небольшие карьеры по добыче глины. Рабочие жили в казармах и общежитиях. Дома преимущественно были деревянными в один или два этажа, без водопровода и канализации. В конце XIX века район превратился в типичную рабочую окраину. Застройка здесь велась беспорядочно, улиц практически не существовало, многочисленные водоемы были загрязнены отходами производства, освещение отсутствовало.

К этому времени относится деревянный дом с резными наличниками, стоящий через переулок от Измайловского комплекса НИУ ВШЭ. По некоторым свидетельствам, в рабочих казармах, которые здесь располагались, жил революционер Петр Петрович Щербаков. Он был членом Благуше-Лефортовского райкома РСДРП(б), создавал отряды Красной гвардии на предприятиях Благуше-Лефортовского района и погиб в ноябре 1917 года в возрасте 30 лет во время боев на улицах Москвы. Похоронен в некрополе у Кремлевской стены. В 1922 году его именем была названа улица, пролегающая недалеко от этого дома.

Дом, где жил революционер П.П. Щербаков. Вид из окна дома Измайловского комплекса НИУ ВШЭ
Фото 2014 г

В 1897 году район Благуши было решено упорядочить и благоустроить. Заведующему Измайловским лесничеством Дмитрию Ивановичу Мочальскому было поручено распланировать улицы. Ему помогали инженер Фортунатов, геодезист Миронов, делопроизводитель Давыдов, прораб Борисов и управляющий Удельным ведомством Вельяминов. Район Благуши поделили на клетки перпендикулярных улиц. Главные, идущие от города на окраину, получили имена великих князей: Михайловская (ныне Щербаковская), Алексеевская (Зверинецкая) и Петровская, в советское время ставшая Кирпичной. А перпендикулярно им шли улицы с именами всех планировщиков. Некоторые из них и сейчас носят те же названия, например Вельяминовская улица. Появилась и улица Благуша.

Вычислительный центр

В 1931 году при Центральном управлении народно-хозяйственного учета Госплана СССР было решено создать первую в Москве фабрику механизированного счета. Ее открыли годом позже здесь, на Кирпичной улице.  Это привело к изменению статуса всего района: он превратился в один из научных центров столицы.

Вот что пишет М.С. Тукачинский в книге «Как считают машины»: «В Москве, на Кирпичной улице, стоит четырехэтажное здание с большими окнами. У входа вывеска: 1-ая МОСКОВСКАЯ ФАБРИКА МЕХАНИЗИРОВАННОГО СЧЕТА Управления «Союзмашучет» ЦСУ СССР. Фабрика счета! Ее сырье — числа-задания, ее продукция — числа-ответы. Между тем это самая настоящая фабрика, имеющая несколько сот различных машин, выполняющих миллионы вычислений в день, фабрика, на которой, как на любом производстве, каждой новой работе предшествует процесс проектирования и разработки технологии».

Одной из задач фабрики механизированного счета была обработка данных переписи населения страны. Вся информация поступала в вычислительный центр в виде бумажных документов. Дальнейший процесс обработки делился на три этапа: первичная обработка документов, подготовка машинных носителей, чаще всего это были перфокарты, и собственно обработка данных, их выверка и оформление. Все три этапа производили машины огромных размеров, которые занимали целые залы.

Современный адрес здания бывшей фабрики счета — Измайловское шоссе, д. 44, стр. 2. Сейчас это один из корпусов Высшей школы экономики.

Четырехэтажный фасад здания тянется вдоль Кирпичной улицы. Стены дома  оштукатурены с имитацией руста, изображающего ложный камень. Нижний этаж отделен горизонтальной тягой и просто оштукатурен более темным цветом. По центру уличного фасада идет несколько вертикальных плоских лопаток.

Простоту, даже некоторую суровость его оформления компенсирует ритмика одинаковых больших квадратных окон, размещенных и на торцевых, и на главных фасадах. Дом словно сложен из кубиков окон. Через эти многочисленные оконные проемы здание наполняется светом и воздухом.

Со двора к прямоугольному объему симметрично пристроены два дополнительных узких и более высоких объема с небольшими окнами. Они имели второстепенное, хозяйственное назначение. На одном из выступов расположена металлическая труба котельной.

Внутренняя планировка 1-й Московской фабрики механизированного счета соответствует своему производственному назначению. Это протяженные залы с несколькими рядами квадратных колонн. Свет в залы поступает с трех сторон. Потолки в помещениях низкие с деревянными перекрытиями. Под многочисленными наслоениями обоев разных времен был найден фрагмент первоначального оформления межоконной стены с нанесенным на штукатурку рисунком тонкой кистью. Фрагмент слишком мал, чтобы с уверенностью сказать, что стены фабрики были расписаны под обои, но сам факт весьма интересен.

Прямо в залы выходят двери большого грузового лифта, необходимого для доставки счетных машин.

В здании сохранились лестницы с признаками оформления 1930-х годов. Это и решетки лестниц с деревянными, изогнутыми на поворотах перилами, и двери, выходящие на площадки, и пол самих лестничных площадок. Это и своеобразная мозаика простых геометрических форм из гранитной крошки, утопленная в бетонную смесь с красителем. Такая мозаика широко применялась в 1930-е годы в интерьерах учебных и фабричных строений.

Сейчас в здании ведется ремонт: к учебным помещениям предъявляются совершенно иные требования.

Вид из окна последнего этажа дома № 33 по Кирпичной улице на Измайловское шоссе и здание ГМЦ Росстата (справа)
Фото 2014 г

Рядом с основным корпусом находится небольшой вспомогательный корпус бывшей фабрики, также входящий в современный Измайловский комплекс НИУ ВШЭ. Его нынешний адрес: Измайловское шоссе, д. 44, стр. 1. Это двухэтажное здание сохранило следы советского времени. Особо примечательна входная дверь первого этажа.

В 1964 году 1-я Московская фабрика механизированного счета была объединена с ЦСМС ЦСУ СССР. В 1968 году рядом начали возводить 110-метровый небоскреб Главного вычислительного центра ЦСУ СССР, строительство которого было завершено в 1980 году. Его вертикальный столб возвышался над всеми постройками соседних улиц. В результате была создана единая организация — Главный вычислительный центр ЦСУ СССР, который в 2005 году после многочисленных преобразований был переименован в Главный межрегиональный центр обработки и распространения статистической информации Федеральной службы государственной статистики (ГМЦ Росстата). Тогда же было начато строительство еще одного дома — № 33 по Кирпичной улице. Это современное удобное здание с просторными холлами и кабинетами дополнило комплекс компактно расположенных построек Вычислительного центра.

В настоящее время три здания из четырех принадлежат Высшей школе экономики. Это два корпуса бывшей фабрики механизированного счета по адресу: Измайловское шоссе, д. 44, стр. 1 и 2, и новый девятиэтажный корпус по адресу: Кирпичная ул., д. 33.

Здание по адресу Измайловское ш., д. 44, стр. 1 находится в оперативном управлении НИУ ВШЭ с 2005 года, ул. Кирпичная, д. 33 — с 2006 г., Измайловское ш., д. 44, стр. 2 — с 2008 г. Здесь располагаются:

Дирекция по корпоративным проектамУчебный бизнес-инкубаторДирекция информационных технологийУправление аспирантуры и докторантуры,  Международная лаборатория прикладного сетевого анализаФакультет бизнес-информатикиФакультет менеджментаБиблиотека.