• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Saint Petersburg
3 Kantemirovskaya


In September 2015, after undergoing a major overhaul, part of the HSE St. Petersburg campus opened at 3 Kantemirovskaya St., Building 1A, becoming the home of the School of Economics and Management. This building was previously the location of a weaving mill that had had several names and owners over its more than 100-year history.

Nikolskaya Textile Mill

The Nikolskaya Textile Mill, owned by the joint-stock company Voronin, Lyutsh, and Chesher, was built in the 1890s on the Vyborg Embankment. This resulted in one of the company’s buildings later housing the HSE St. Petersburg School of Economics and Management.

Construction of the Nikolskaya Textile Mill began on a vast piece of land to the south of Flyugov Lane, the former Kantemirovskaya St. The architect behind the initial building for the spinning division, which includes a forging shop and chimney, was the civil engineer Vasily Kosyakov, while Fyodor Karlovich von Pirvits participated in the design of the main building and workers’ quarters. Later, in 1907, the building was constructed by the architect Katz-Kapelinsky.

The mill had initially belonged to the British subject Osip Chesher, a merchant in Yekaterinburg. By the start of the 20th century, the mill had already become part of the Voronin, Lyutsh, and Chesher concern.

The concern included six enterprises that were located all throughout Petersburg. The Vyborg and Rochensalm mills turned cotton into yarn that was mostly shipped to the Nikolsk and Rezvoostrov weaving mills, where so-called ‘severe fabrics’ were produced. The fabrics were processed further, bleached, dyed, and sanitized, which made them glossy. This was done for chintz, satin, flannelette, madapolam, and more.

At the end of the 19th century, the number of workers at the mill reached 1,200, and in the early 20th century, the plant became one of the most important enterprises in St. Petersburg's textile industry.

Right before the First World War, the Nikolsk mill also started producing upholstery fabrics. The products found consumers not only in the northwest region of the Russian empire, but also in Central Russia, Bukhara, and Samarkand. During the war, the plant produced material to sew soldiers’ uniforms.

In 1919, the company was nationalised before being renamed the Vyborg Cotton Mill in 1922 and the Red Lighthouse (Krasny Mayak) in 1923.

Red Lighthouse

After being nationalized, in 1927 the artist and architect S. Ovsyannikov and the engineer K. Vilyayevsky from the organisation Leningradtextile developed new renovation and plot plans for Red Lighthouse in Vyborg. The buildings belonging to the plant took on a constructivist design and were supposed to be covered in glass to ensure better insolation and to save on energy.

In that same year, the Moscow architects Y. Popov and D. Razov came up with designs for a theatre and club for workers at the textile plants, and this was also carried out in line with the idea of developing and improving the quality of life for workers not only by organising daily life and work, but also by factoring in relaxation, education, and the formation of an orderly and developing atmosphere for daily life.

The plant was restructured several times in the 1930s before becoming a state-union plant, still named Red Lighthouse, in 1940.

During the Second World War, the mill produced camouflage nets, as well as fabrics for clothing, linen, and uniforms. In the post-war period, the plant started finishing an entire range of cotton fabrics produced by other mills in Leningrad. In the 1960s, the enterprise acquired the technology to dye synthetic and mixed fabrics. The plant’s products, like in the imperial period, were distributed across the entire country and even exported. In 1969, the mill was awarded the USSR Badge of Honour for high production figures in the industry.

It was just a few decades later, in 1996, that the mill would declare bankruptcy and cease production.

In 2001, the building of the former fabric mill was named a cultural heritage site and given to the St. Petersburg Higher School of Economics in 2008.

The building's reconstruction began in 2013 and lasted until July 2015. Renovations were carried out by LLC Baltstroy along with LLC Vega, an architectural restoration company.

During the project, the building's façade was restored and the historic window art preserved. The towers’ shingles, as well as the cast-iron columns on the building, were completely restored.

HSE St. Petersburg's campus on Kantemirovskaya St. now consists of:

  • 10,909 square meters of academic and administrative space;
  • 42 auditoriums that hold 1,700 students;
  • 14 linguistics auditoriums;
  • 20 auditoriums for seminars (25-45 seats);
  • 4 auditoriums (45-90 seats);
  • 2 computer-equipped classrooms;
  • 2 lecture halls (150 people +);
  • 1 library; 2 gyms;
  • 1 cafeteria (150 seats).

Prepared by Ksenia Litvinenko, an Undergraduate History Student at HSE St. Petersburg

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

В сентябре 2015 года в Санкт-Петербурге после капитального ремонта открылся корпус НИУ ВШЭ — Санкт-Петербург по адресу ул. Кантемировская, дом 3, корпус 1, литера А. В нем расположилась Школа экономики и менеджмента. Раньше здесь была ткацкая фабрика, которая более чем за век своего существования сменила несколько названий и хозяев.

Никольская бумагопрядильная мануфактура

В 1890-х годах XIX века на Выборгской набережной возводится здание Никольской бумагопрядильной мануфактуры акционерного общества «Воронин, Лютш и Чешер», в одном из корпусов которого впоследствии и разместилась Школа Экономики и менеджмента НИУ ВШЭ в Санкт-Петербурге.

Никольская мануфактура начала строиться на обширной территории к югу от Флюгова переулка (ныне — Кантемировская улица). Автором первоначального архитектурного и инженерного решения здания прядильного корпуса с кузницей и дымовой трубой был гражданский инженер Василий Косяков, а в проектировании главного корпуса и жилых домов для рабочих принимал участие техник Федор Карлович фон Пирвиц. В 1907 году здание было перестроено архитектором Кац-Капелинским.

Изначально мануфактура принадлежала британскому подданному, екатеринбургскому купцу Осипу Фомичу Чешеру. Уже к началу XX века она вошла в концерн (акционерное общество) «И. А. Воронин, Лютш и Чешер».

В составе концерна находились шесть предприятий, которые располагались по всему Петербургу. Выборгская и Роченсальмская мануфактуры перерабатывали хлопок в пряжу, поступавшую главным образом на ткацкие фабрики — Никольскую и Резвоостровскую, где выпускались так называемые «суровые ткани». Далее ткани обрабатывались: отбеливались, окрашивались и сатинизировались (приобретали глянец). Таким образом «суровье» становилось ситцем, сатином, бумазеей, мадаполамом и пр.

В конце XIX века число рабочих фабрики достигало 1200 человек. В начале XX века комбинат занял одно из ведущих мест в области текстильной промышленности Петербурга.

Накануне Первой мировой войны в числе изделий Никольской фабрики появились и мебельные ткани. Продукция предприятия находила потребителя не только в Северо-Западном регионе Российской Империи, но и в Центральной России, Бухаре и Самарканде. Во время войны на фабрике выпускался материал для пошива солдатского обмундирования.

В 1919 году предприятие было национализировано, в 1922 году переименовано в «Выборгскую бумагопрядильную фабрику», а в 1923 году — в прядильно-ткацкую фабрику «Красный маяк».

Фабрика «Красный Маяк»

После национализации предприятия, в 1927 году для прядильно-ткацкой фабрики «Красный маяк» на Выборгской стороне художником-архитектором С. О. Овсянниковым и инженером-производственником К. Г. Виляевским из организации Ленинградтекстиль был разработан новый генеральный план участка и внутреннего переустройства помещений предприятия. Спроектированные в духе конструктивизма корпуса фабрики должны были иметь большую поверхность остекления — для обеспечения лучшей инсоляции и экономии энергии.

В этом же году московские художники-архитекторы Я. Ф. Попов и Д. В. Разов разработали проекты театра и клуба для рабочих и служащих на текстильных фабриках, которые также были выполнены в русле идей о рационализации и улучшении качества жизни рабочих, предполагавших не только организацию быта и труда, но и отдыха, просвещения, формирования упорядоченной и развивающей среды для повседневной жизни.

В 1930-е годы фабрика несколько раз реорганизовывалась, пока в 1940 году не получила название Государственный всесоюзный кордон-бельтинговый комбинат «Красный маяк».

В годы Второй мировой войны комбинат выпускал маскировочные сети, а также ткани для одежды, белья и обмундирования. В послевоенный период на фабрике начала осуществляться отделка всего ассортимента хлопчатобумажных тканей ленинградских фабрик. В 1960-х годах предприятие освоило технологию окраски синтетических, искусственных и смесовых тканей. Продукция фабрики, как и в имперский период, распространялась по всей стране и даже шла на экспорт. А в 1969 году комбинат был награжден орденом «Знак Почета», государственной наградой СССР, за высокие производственные показатели в промышленности.

Но уже в 1996 г. фабрика обанкротилась, промышленное производство было прекращено.

В 2001 году здание бывшей ткацкой фабрики было отнесено к числу выявленных объектов культурного наследия, а в 2008 году передано Высшей школе экономики в Санкт-Петербурге.

Капитальный ремонт здания начался в 2013 году и продлился до июля 2015 года. Проект был разработан компанией ООО «Балтстрой» совместно с ООО «Архитектурно-реставрационная мастерская «Вега» в части реставрации.

В ходе работ был сохранен и отреставрирован фасад здания, сохранен исторический рисунок оконных заполнений, восстановлена кровля башен и отреставрированы несущие чугунные колонны.

Сейчас корпус НИУ ВШЭ Санкт-Петербург на Кантемировской улице это:

  • 10 909 м2 учебных и административных помещений;
  • 42 аудитории для 1700 студентов;
  • 14 лингвистических аудитории;
  • 20 семинарских аудиторий (25–45 мест);
  • четыре полупоточных аудитории (45–90 мест);
  • два оснащенных компьютерных класса;
  • две лекционных аудитории (более 150 человек);
  • библиотека на 65 человек; два спортзала;
  • кафетерий на 150 человек.

Подготовила Ксения Литвиненко, студентка образовательной программы «История» (НИУ ВШЭ-Санкт-Петербург)