• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

 

Daniil Goldman

Graduated from the Faculty of Business and Management before going on to complete his master’s in marketing in 2014. During his time as a master’s student, Daniil got a job as the PR coordinator for Walt Disney Studios Sony Pictures Releasing. In 2011, he cofounded the Dobroe Delo cafeteria at the Moscow State Stroganov Academy of Industrial and Applied Arts (Stroganovka) and opened the Syty Kvant cafeteria a year later at the Kvant plant. In 2013, Daniil cofounded the café Pyure and two years later became a partner of the Mitzva Bar at the Mitzva hummus restaurant in several regions of Moscow.

«Business is about being brave, forming a team, and finding the right niche and money»

Success Builder


About the project
«Success Builder»

How do you find your place in life? How do you find something to do that both comes naturally to you and makes you happy? The answer is that you have to apply the knowledge you’ve gained from university and from life itself correctly. The Success Builder Project features graduates from the Higher School of Economics who have discovered themselves through an interesting business or an unexpected profession. The protagonists share their experiences, and talk about the big shots they’ve schmoozed and how they’ve made the most of the opportunities they were given.

Over the last five years, hummus and falafel have made their way onto the menu of most restaurants in the centre of Moscow, and food trucks have had much better luck selling Middle Eastern dishes than warm Russian pirogies. Daniil Goldman, who is a graduate of the Higher School of Economics and the founder of Mitzva Bar, sat down with Success Builder to talk about what’s fashionable in Israeli culture, why intuition is important in business, and how a bar in Moscow differs from a bar in New York.

When did you first decide to get into business professionally?

I began working in my third year of undergrad. My first serious project came about during the first year of my master’s programme. As a senior, I began working as a PR specialist for Disney in the distribution division. This was my first real job. I probably would have stayed there, but I sat down with my boss and decided that I’d only be promoted when I’m done with school and can devote myself fully to my work. But I decided to go on and get my master’s; I wanted to advance more. He told me that I have to decide between work and school and deal with the fact that nothing would happen career-wise for two years.

I left as a result and got together with my business partners and friends Andrey Osipyants and Dmitry Itskovich to work on our own project – a student cafeteria at Stroganovka. After a year we opened up a second cafeteria at the Kvant factory, and we ultimately ended up selling both projects. This was a coincidence for the most part. We had direct access to Stroganovka’s rector. We live in Russia; this is how things work. The money was there – why not invest in an obvious project?

There’s a legend that Moscow has an overabundance of restaurants and that it’s getting stuffy in the food service industry, but none of that is true actually

After the cafeterias, we teamed up with Anton Privolnov to create the café Pyure near Avtozavodskaya. We opened a bar a year and a half later, and at the end of September 2016 we launched the Mitzva fast food stop with hummus and falafel at the Usachevsky Market. We’re also opening up several other little hummus restaurants soon. I have to admit, practice is the most valuable teacher, and I don’t need any particularly theoretical knowledge for my work. But the institute did give me a nice background.

Why did you choose the food industry?

On the one hand, I’d always been interested in it. The food industry is at the interface of the classical aspects of the services and food industry. On the other hand, it just happened that way. At first glance, the restaurant business involves a very low barrier to entry, which attracts and always will attract a lot of people. We are all restaurant experts, but to go create your own is an entirely separate thing. There’s a legend that Moscow has an overabundance of restaurants and that it’s getting stuffy in the food service industry, but none of that is true actually. There are fifteen times fewer restaurants in Moscow than in New York if you count square meters per person.

Maybe we just don’t have a restaurant culture? Or a bar culture, for example.

In the U.S., the average family at any income level goes out to eat, but if you look at all of Russia, the average family always eats at home. In Russia, people only go out to eat if they’re celebrating something. Everything’s changing though, and new trends and habits are arising. In Moscow, things are already different from the rest of Russia. There is a huge group of people who do not eat at home, and they spend up to 50% of their income on going out to eat. This is normal around the world. Sure, we currently have fewer restaurants than in Paris or New York, but people are gradually realising that it’s not that important to buy the latest television set. They are altering their consumption habits and understand that one’s quality of life is more important and that it depends more on your day-to-day habits than on your most recent purchase.

Photo by Mikhail Dmitriev

To open a bar that serves food is it better to be a chef or a businessman?

I’m not in the consulting business; I sell experiences, not chef’s services. In order to work successfully in business, it’s important to have intuition, drive, the right character, and a desire to learn. In the end, you cannot learn business from a textbook. Business is about being brave, forming a team, and finding the right niche and money. You don’t need anything else. Your project does the rest. On the one hand, you have to take a risk, but on the other you have to be very careful. But preferably you’ll still know what investment theory is.

Have you made mistakes? This usually makes success come faster in business.

Each new project is a learning tool and new experience. When you carry something out, you learn, and the next project becomes that much easier. You learn how the whole system works from just one practical example. There are no entrepreneurs who never make mistakes. We never learn the answer to the question, ‘which way is the right way?’ beforehand. At the start of a project, there is a huge amount of risk and a lot of factors that can affect the process. Naturally, what you learn right away is how to be attentive.

The biggest mistake businessmen make is being first. The firsts rarely win. It’s important to be successful, not first

For example, we made a marketing mistake at the beginning – I might call it a PR mistake – that caused half a year of difficult problems with the target audience. At the beginning, we were perceived as a restaurant, not a bar, and the first press release that was issued about the bar included very little information. This was due to a number of factors. The bar menu wasn’t ready in time for the opening, and we would make cocktails, but the team was ill equipped. We didn’t have enough dishes, but we needed to open. This is why the first revenue structure was at 50/50, while it’s currently at 80/20 in the bar’s favour, which is how it should be.

What I understood right away was that the biggest mistake businessmen make is being first. The firsts rarely win. They just remain a part of history. It’s important to be successful, not first.

How do you assess risk?

We are not an investment company, and we don’t have any formulas. We just understand the situation from an experience and intuition standpoint. Now, I can already imagine with a high degree of certainty what the potential revenues and expenses will be for the project, as well as what kind of turnover we’ll make and whether a specific location will be in demand. To do this, you just have to talk with a lot of people. It turned out that all of my forecasts that we started with have more or less proven to be correct.

We found the location for Mitzva Bar nine months before opening, and while the place was being renovated, a renaissance happened in Israeli culture. There were a lot of articles published about kosher products and trips to Israel because Egypt and Turkey were closed off at the same time. The project was initially intended for a well-off audience and people who wanted to experiment and try something new. There’s a new, active and young atmosphere now. The other things stem from there – price, the product mix, and the design conceptions that are aimed at a specific class.

Photo by Mikhail Dmitriev

A year and a half after Mitzva Bar opened, we started selling street food at popular locations where hip urbanites frequent. A large part of our audience at the Usachevsky Market is young, well-off people who think falafel is cool. The subsequent markets will be the same. And while we’re developing our street food business, Mitzva’s hummus menu will consist of food as obvious as burgers. Then we can open up a location at Moscow’s Mega Mall and in other regions after.

How does being located in a pedestrian zone affect the bar’s success?

I would say that of the world’s top 50 bars, no more than 10% are in a pedestrian zone. These zones have chain restaurants, while a good bar should be aimed not at a wider audience, but at a specific class. The majority of people are not prepared to pay that kind of money for drinks because they don’t understand the concept or atmosphere. It’s the opposite actually – extra people are bad for an establishment and it’s bad for business because it’s difficult to work with unsatisfied guests in both the emotional and financial sense. It’s better to sell something for 1,000 rubles less, but to someone who will come back.

A bar is a place where people are starting to go to more habitually. The point and objective of a bar is to become another place people go to after work, before work, instead of work... This is the goal of any establishment, while at the Usachevsky Market we have another objective – service as many people as possible.

A chain establishment will never be the best, and the best will never become a chain. The best has to be unique

What does ‘good bar’ mean?

Mostly ‘classic.’ It’s a combination of equipment, selection, approach, and service. There are clear and distinctive features as well – you can find any classic cocktail here, about 120 of them, and it’s a place with inventive bartenders who know their trade well. It’s a bar that tries to minimize its purchases and maximize its production. It says no to buying syrups, liqueurs, canned items, and instead makes its own. It’s a bar that factors in the time of year, develops unique cocktails, has a spot on an international map, as well as a local one. Our bartenders participate in international competitions; they complete internships and apprenticeships and more. We have guest bartending twice a month, which are global events where bartenders and chefs work at other friendly establishments. We’ve had bartenders from the Czech Republic, Germany, the U.S., and Israel. We’ve really become a part of the international bar community, and we can call ourselves a ‘classic’ bar. At least, we strive to do so.

Is your business not limited by the fact that Mitzva Bar is not a chain establishment?

No, it’s not limited. None of the world’s top 100 bars is a chain, and there is a huge difference between them and chain bars. A chain establishment never becomes the best, and the best never becomes a chain. The best has to be unique. But there are different scaling methods. We chose to develop a street food project under a related brand. The same can happen for a holding or factory; everyone has to resolve the problem of growth their own way.

 

~300 years

is how long the world’s oldest restaurant, Sobrino de Botin (Madrid, Spain), has been continuously in operation

Source

 

A little about money – at what stage does a bar or eatery start earning money?

There are projects that have a positive cash flow from day one. On the first day of operations, a humus restaurant operates in the plus. This is a wonderful metric, but there are few of these projects. Much more abundant are projects whose waiting period can drag on for a really long time.

Do those kinds of project end up closing?

Not always. Everything depends on your goals and objectives, even when the project is knowingly operating in the negative. Bars and restaurants also have image goals. In business, not everything is measured by the results of your financial reports. There are a million different situations in which it’s beneficial to operate without earning anything.

What is the drinking culture in Moscow?

I can’t say that it’s much different from anywhere else. It’s probably more important to ask about certain drinking traditions in Russia, Europe, and the U.S. – traditions are different in different countries. This is especially apparent in Europe. People in Southern Europe drink differently from people in Northern Europe, with Moscow actually being more similar to Northern Europe. Until the large-scale implementation of distillation columns, which were introduced in the early 20th century and allowed for cheaper spirits to be produced, people drank differently than they do now. Distillates, including of the grain variety, weren’t cheap, and vodka was expensive. People drank bread wine, home-brewed beer or wine, and instead of vodka wealthy people would drink polugar [a type of Russian bread wine]. Then the distillation process was introduced, and in Soviet Times the government prohibited distillation completely, which killed the industry.

Photo by Mikhail Dmitriev

Only in 2015 was the distillation ban lifted. This is why we didn’t have Russian whiskey, gin, or brandy. A certain spirit diluted with water – vodka – replaced all of this, and this imposed its own restrictions on drinking culture here. Also, I don’t agree with people who say that vodka is trash. Vodka’s taste-related qualities are obviously pretty low, but vodka is linked to a large cultural stratum of people of the sixties and seventies, which cannot be ignored. Without vodka, we wouldn’t have Dovlatov or Yerofeyev. This unique bit of background is important to understand.

Of course, Russian drinking culture is currently undergoing changes, and less and less vodka is sold each year. There are two active areas that do not differ at all from global trends – the development of craft beer and cocktail culture. Wine is a more elite and ‘leisurely’ product, and there is also a certain intellectual involvement to it. Six years ago, it was harder to find a Negroni in Moscow compared to now. Nowadays, you can even get a cocktail at Shokoladnitsa. But there is a big difference between Shokoladnitsa and Double B as far as coffee is concerned, just like there is a difference when it comes to the quality of a cocktail at a good establishment versus the bar around the corner.

In your opinion, how long can we expect the trend of Israeli culture and Israeli food to continue?

Currently, places like Rynok and Obshchepit Shuk near Novoslobodskaya are opening up. This is a global project that can be replicated. It’s obvious that the trend is expanding. Israeli food is becoming a part of our culture, just like sushi, burgers, and Georgian food has become a part of our culture. When we go to a sushi bar, we don’t expect to get a taste of Japanese culture; we go to eat typical Moscow food. I hope that the same thing will happy with Middle Eastern cuisine.

Other ‘Success Builder’ Stories

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

 

Даниил Гольдман

Окончил факультет бизнеса и менеджмента (сначала бакалавриат, затем в 2014 году — магистерскую программу «Маркетинг фирмы»). Во время учебы в магистратуре начал работу в Walt Disney Studios Sony Pictures Releasing в должности PR-координатора. В 2011 стал соучредителем столовой «Доброе дело» в Строгановке, в 2012 открыл столовую «Сытый Квант» на заводе «Квант». В 2013 стал соучредителем домашнего кафе «Пюре». С 2015 года управляющий партнер проекта Mitzva Bar и хумусии Mitzva на нескольких рынках Москвы.

«Бизнес — это про умение найти правильную нишу и деньги, проявить смелость и создать команду»

Конструктор успеха


О проекте
«Конструктор успеха»

Как найти свое место в жизни, заняться тем, что получается легко и приносит счастье? Для этого нужно правильно применить знания, которые дал университет и сама жизнь. В проекте «Конструктор успеха» мы рассказываем о выпускниках Высшей школы экономики, которые реализовали себя в интересном бизнесе или неожиданной профессии. Герои делятся опытом — рассказывают, какие шишки набивали и как использовали предоставленные им шансы.

За последние пять лет хумус и фалафель проникли в меню большинства ресторанов в центре Москвы, а фудтраки продавали ближневосточные закуски куда лучше, чем горячие пирожки. Выпускник ВШЭ, основатель Mitzva Bar Даниил Гольдман в рубрике «Конструктор успеха» рассказал о моде на израильскую культуру, о том, как важна в бизнесе интуиция, и чем бар в Москве отличается от бара в Нью-Йорке.

Когда вы впервые подошли к бизнесу профессионально?

Я работал начиная с третьего курса бакалавриата. Первый серьезный проект возник на первом курсе магистратуры. На 4 курсе бакалавриата я работал в компании Disney пиарщиком в отделе кинопроката, это была первая настоящая работа. Наверное, я бы там и остался, но мы сели с моим руководителем и решили, что повысят меня, только когда я перестану учиться и смогу полностью посвящать себя работе. Но я решил, что пойду в магистратуру, потому что хочу расти. И он мне сказал, что я должен выбирать между работой и учебой и смириться, что во втором случае два года в моей карьере ничего не будет происходить.

В итоге я ушел, и мы начали делать свой проект с бизнес-партнерами и друзьями Андреем Осипьянцем и Дмитрием Ицковичем — это была студенческая столовая в Строгановке. Через год мы открыли вторую столовую, на заводе «Квант» — и успешно продали оба проекта. Во многом это случайность — у нас был прямой выход на ректора Строгановки, а мы в России живем, тут так делаются дела. Еще были деньги — почему бы не вложить в очевидный проект?

Существует легенда о том, что в Москве избыток ресторанов и на рынке общественного питания духота, на самом деле все не так

После столовых мы вместе с Антоном Привольновым сделали кафе «Пюре» на Автозаводской, еще через полтора года открыли бар, и в конце сентября 2016 года запустили на Усачевском рынке проект точки быстрого питания Mitzva с хумусом и фалафелем, скоро откроем еще несколько хумусий. Должен признать: самые ценные знания дает практика, для моей работы особые теоретические знания не нужны. Но институт дал мне приятный бэкграунд.

Почему вы выбрали сферу питания?

С одной стороны, мне это всегда было интересно — сфера питания существует на стыке классических аспектов бизнеса услуг и продукта. С другой стороны — просто так получилось. На первый взгляд ресторанный бизнес предполагает очень низкий барьер входа, это многих приводит в общепит, и так будет всегда. По ресторанам мы все эксперты, но взять и сделать свое — это совсем другое. Существует легенда о том, что в Москве избыток ресторанов и на рынке общественного питания духота, на самом деле все не так: здесь заведений в 15 раз меньше, чем в Нью-Йорке, если рассчитать в квадратных метрах на человека.

Быть может, у нас просто нет ресторанной культуры? Или барной, к примеру.

В США среднестатистическая семья на любом уровне достатка идет ужинать не домой, а у нас среднестатистическая семья, если брать по России, идет ужинать домой всегда, а не домой — только по праздникам. Но все меняется, возникают новые тренды и тенденции. В Москве все уже не так, как во всей России, возникла большая прослойка людей, которые не едят дома, они тратят до 50% своего дохода на то, чтобы куда-то ходить, и это нормально во всем мире. Да, у нас сейчас меньше ресторанов, чем в Париже или Нью-Йорке, но постепенно люди приходят к тому, что не так важно купить очередной телевизор, перестраивают модель потребления и понимают, что качество жизни важнее, что оно больше зависит от ежедневных привычек, чем от очередной покупки.

Фото: Михаил Дмитриев

Для того чтобы открывать бар с едой, лучше быть поваром или бизнесменом?

Я не делаю экспертный бизнес и не торгую услугами поваров, я продаю опыт. Для того чтобы успешно заниматься бизнесом, важен склад характера, интуиция, стремление и желание учиться. В целом бизнесу тебя не научит классная книжка, бизнес — про умение найти правильную нишу и деньги, проявить смелость и создать команду. Больше не нужно ничего. Дальше проект работает сам. С одной стороны, нужно рисковать, с другой — быть очень аккуратным. Но желательно все же знать, что такое теория инвестиций.

Вы совершали ошибки? Часто в бизнесе это ускоряет успех.

Каждый новый проект — это школа и новый опыт. Когда ты что-то реализовываешь, то учишься, и следующий проект делать куда проще. На одном практическом примере ты понимаешь, как работает вся система. Нет тех предпринимателей, которые не ошибаются, мы никогда не узнаем ответа на вопрос «что правильно?» заранее. В начале проекта есть огромная доля риска и много факторов, которые могут повлиять на процесс. Единственное, чему ты можешь научиться сразу — быть внимательным.

Cамая большая ошибка бизнесменов — быть первыми, первые чаще всего не выигрывают. Важно быть не первым, а успешным

Например, мы сделали одну маркетинговую ошибку на старте, я бы сказал — пиар-ошибку, которая повлекла за собой полгода тяжелых пертурбаций с целевой аудиторией. Вначале нас восприняли как ресторан, а не как бар. В первый пресс-релиз про бар попало очень мало информации. Это было связано с рядом факторов: к открытию не было готово барное меню, мы делали коктейли, но фактически не было укомплектованной команды, у нас не хватало посуды, а открываться было надо. Поэтому первая структура выручки была 50/ 50, тогда как сейчас 80/ 20 в пользу бара, и это правильно.

Что я хорошо понял: самая большая ошибка бизнесменов — быть первыми, первые чаще всего не выигрывают, они просто остаются в истории. Важно быть не первым, а успешным.

Каким образом вы просчитываете риски?

Мы не инвестиционная компания, у нас нет формул, скорее мы просто понимаем ситуацию с точки зрения опыта и интуиции. Сейчас я уже могу с высокой долей вероятности прикинуть, какая у проекта будет потенциальная выручка и затраты, какой можно делать оборот, будет ли формат востребован — для этого нужно общаться с кучей людей. Так получилось, что все мои прогнозы, с которыми мы начинали, более-менее оправдываются.

Мы нашли помещение для Mitzva Bar за девять месяцев до того, как открылись, и пока делали ремонт, случился ренессанс израильской культуры. Было много статей о кошерных продуктах, поездках в Израиль, потому что параллельно закрыли Египет и Турцию. Проект изначально задумывался для обеспеченной аудитории, людей, которые хотят экспериментировать и пробовать что-то новое — это новая активная и молодая среда. Отсюда цена, сочетание продуктов, концепции в оформлении, которые нацелены на определенный класс.

Фото: Михаил Дмитриев

Через полтора года после открытия Mitzva Bar мы запустили уличную еду для модных площадок, где тоже бывают светские горожане. На Усачевском рынке большая часть аудитории — люди обеспеченные, для которых фалафель — это модно. Следующие рынки будут такими же. И пока мы будем развивать направление уличной еды, меню хумусии Mitzva станет такой же очевидной едой, как бургеры. Тогда можно открываться в «Меге», а следом — в регионах.

Как на успех бара влияет локация в пешеходной зоне?

Я бы сказал, что из 50 лучших баров мира, есть такой рейтинг, не более 10% находятся в проходном месте. В проходных местах находятся сетевые заведения, а хороший бар не сможет быть нацелен на широкую аудиторию, скорее на определенный класс. Большинство не готово платить такие деньги за напитки, потому что не врубается в концепт и атмосферу. Наоборот, лишние люди вредят заведению, это отрицательный опыт для бизнеса, потому что работать с недовольными гостями тяжело, в эмоциональном и финансовом плане. Лучше продать на 1000 рублей меньше, но тому, кто вернется.

Бар — то место, поход куда становится привычкой, смысл и задача бара стать третьим местом, куда люди ходят после работы, перед работой, вместо работы. Это цель любого заведения, тогда как на Усачевском рынке у нас другая задача — обслужить как можно больше людей.

Сетевое заведение никогда не станет лучшим, и лучшее никогда не станет сетевым. Лучшее должно быть уникальным

Что значит — хороший бар?

Скорее — классический. Это сочетание техники, ассортимента, подхода и сервиса. Есть четкие отличительные черты — здесь всегда можно выпить любой классический коктейль, их порядка 120, здесь работают изобретательные бармены, знающие свое дело. Это бар, который старается минимизировать закупки и максимизировать производство, отказывается от покупных сиропов, ликеров, консервов в пользу домашних заготовок, это бар, который учитывает сезонность, разрабатывает уникальные коктейли, является точкой на карте международной, а не только локальной. Наши бармены участвуют в международных конкурсах, ездят на стажировки и т.д. У нас два раза в месяц проходят guest bartending, глобальные мероприятия, когда бармены как и повара выступают в дружественных заведениях. У нас бывали бармены из Чехии, Германии, США, Израиля. По сути, мы стали частью международной барной культуры и можем называться «классическим» баром, или по крайней мере стремящимся к этому.

Ваш бизнес не ограничивает тот факт, что Mitzva Bar — не сетевой проект?

Не ограничивает. 100 лучших баров мира — не сетевые, между ними и сетью огромная разница. Сетевое заведение никогда не станет лучшим, и лучшее никогда не станет сетевым. Лучшее должно быть уникальным. Но есть разные способы масштабирования, мы избрали способ проекта уличной еды под родственным брендом. Также это может быть холдинг или какое-то производство, каждый решает проблему роста по-своему.

 

~300 лет

без перерыва работает старейший в мире ресторан «Собрино де Ботин» (Sobrino de Botin) в Мадриде

Источник

 

Немного о деньгах — на каком этапе проект едальни или бара начинает работать в плюс?

Есть проекты, которые с первого дня работают в плюс. С первого дня работы хумусия на рынке работает в плюс. Это отличный показатель, но таких проектов мало. Гораздо больше тех, у кого период ожидания может затянуться надолго.

И такие проекты закрываются?

Не всегда. Все зависит от цели и задач, даже когда проект заведомо убыточен. У баров и ресторанов также есть имиджевые задачи. В бизнесе не все меряется результатами отчета прибылей и убытков. Есть миллион разных ситуаций, в которых выгодно работать в ноль, ничего не зарабатывая.

Как пьют в Москве?

Не могу сказать, что принципиально по-другому, нежели где-то еще. Скорее важно спросить о некоторых традициях пития в России, Европе, США, в разных странах они разные. Особенно это видно в Европе: в Южной пьют не так, как в Северной. Москва больше похожа как раз на Северную Европу. До масштабного введения в эксплуатацию ректификационных колонн, которые позволили делать дешевый спирт (а это произошло в начале ХХ века), в России пили по-другому, нежели сейчас. Дистилляты были не дешевы, включая хлебные, водка была дорогая. Люди пили хлебное вино — брагу, пиво, вместо водки был полугар, который пили люди обеспеченные. Потом ввели ректификационную систему, а при советской власти запретили дистиллировать вообще, чем убили индустрию.

Фото: Михаил Дмитриев

Только в 2015 году был снят запрет на дистилляцию. Поэтому не могло быть российского виски, джина, бренди, все это заменял спирт, разбавленный водой, который называется водкой, и это наложило свои ограничения на культуру пития. И я не соглашусь с тем, кто говорит, что водка — это дрянь. Вкусовые качества водки, очевидно, низкие, но с водкой связан масштабный пласт культуры шестидесятников и семидесятников, который нельзя опускать. Не может быть Довлатова без водки, Ерофеева без водки. Это важно осознавать как уникальный бэкграунд.

Конечно, сейчас меняется российская культура пития — водки продается меньше с каждым годом. Есть два активных направления, которые ничем не отличаются от мировых трендов: развитие крафтового пива и коктейльной культуры. Вино — более элитный и «медленный» продукт и предполагает некую интеллектуальную вовлеченность. Еще шесть лет назад выпить в Москве «Негрони» было сложнее, чем сейчас, когда можно пропустить коктейль, кажется, даже в «Шоколаднице». Но есть пропасть в плане кофе между «Шоколадницей» и «Даблби», точно также есть пропасть между баром на углу и хорошим заведением относительно качества коктейля.

Если говорить о тренде израильской культуры и израильской еды, по вашим прогнозам, сколько он еще продержится?

Сейчас открываются такие места как «Рынок и общепит «Шук» на Новослободской, это уже глобальный проект, вполне тиражируемый, очевидно, что тренд переходит в массовую категорию. Израильская еда просто входит в нашу культуру, так же как вошли суши, бургеры и грузинская еда. Когда мы идем в суши-бар, мы не предполагаем прикоснуться к японской культуре, а идем есть типичную московскую еду. Я надеюсь, что то же самое произойдет с ближневосточной кухней.

Все материалы рубрики